Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 581 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set ofNeed for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set of high-stakes challenges, rewards, pursuit tech and cars. The intensity of the action is enhanced as a result of AllDrive, a feature that destroys the line between single player, co-op and multiplayer. Through AllDrive, friends are connected to one racing world where their races and chases can collide at any time. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    100
    Need for Speed: Rivals takes some of the best features from prior franchise entries and combines them with a seamless single-multiplayer mode to create an absolutely terrific, utterly bonkers race-and-chase game that looks and sounds as good as it drives.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Need for Speed Rivals proves how impressive a PS4 racing game can be by offering a fully realized product that blows past conceptions of what a launch title can offer.
  3. Rivals is a sequel that confidently overtakes 2012’s Most Wanted. No doors are blown off, but needs are very much fulfilled. . [Christmas 2013, p75]
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is very much in the tradition of Hot Pursuit, but that great, familiar gameplay has been infused with enough new elements to make it as thrilling here as it's ever been. It sure is good to hit the open road again.
  5. 80
    Rivals offers thrilling arcade racing of the kind the kind that you can just pick up and play a few rounds of, and has enough graphical prowess for you to show off your new console for your friends. We could do with a little more innovation next time, though.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is one of the most impressive launch games for PS4. It is very pretty visually, and it has enough content to keep players busy for quite some time. There are some drawbacks to its design, but nothing that will derail the fun.
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    50
    The rivalry aspect never gets a chance to bloom as the huge open world only lets in six players at a time. The sound is astonishing and the concept of a huge world just waiting to be explored is an interesting one, but in the end Rivals never climbs beyond mediocrity.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 93
  2. Negative: 24 out of 93
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining.Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining. A small downside, but nothing to make me not to rate this at 10, are the fps lock at 30. EA execceded my expectations with this new NFS. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Since rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turnsSince rivals is the only racing game on ps4, it may take your free time. Open world is large and beautiful, and you can see most turns clearly, unlike in mw2012. Cars are nice, so is their customization. All drive feature is fun, and since the events are randomly generated, you can drive as long as you like without completing the same event again and again. I wish I had Driveclub, but unfortunately it's been delayed, so nfs is a good temporary replacement and 4 day exclusive to ps4)) Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Are good. I'm not interested in car games so true to life that I'm going to drive my Corvette into a wall every time I haveFIRST IMPRESSIONS: Are good. I'm not interested in car games so true to life that I'm going to drive my Corvette into a wall every time I have to turn at 20+MPH. So NFD has always kinda been my racer of choice. But this one feels a bit better. Looks polished, although not so next-gen (I don't know if that's a complaint about my first foray into PS4 or this game). Controls son't take long to get the hang of and in my 2nd hour i'm drifting the length of every tuen and have traded in the brake for the Jake. The best part is that "oh sh*t" feeling when your heat is up, and you're sitting on 100,000 SP and some real-world player in a Lambo cop car comes flying off a side street and you know the only way you're going to get to a safe house and bank your points is by the skin of your teeth! Cruising the streets effortlessly with real world players is quite engrossing. Great fun so far! Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    It's great fun to play but for some strange reason there are only two camera's a behind the car view and a bumper view that's very close toIt's great fun to play but for some strange reason there are only two camera's a behind the car view and a bumper view that's very close to the ground. There is no natural driving view that makes you feel like you're in the car. Nice graphics and meaty engine noises. If it had a decent camera view this game would be awesome instead of just ok Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    5
    Boring map, lifeless driving mechanics, lackluster sound and bad car models. The graphics are not a step up from Most Wanted 2012 despite itBoring map, lifeless driving mechanics, lackluster sound and bad car models. The graphics are not a step up from Most Wanted 2012 despite it running on Frostbite 3 in 1080p. As a sequel to Hot Pursuit 2010, Rivals does a good job in giving the player more freedom by adding more content. You have more choice over how you progress in the career, and you can actually use your speed points to upgrade cars and buy pursuit tech. As a racer, you have an incentive to escape the cops. Unlike Hot Pursuit, this game is open world ,albeit nowhere in the same league as Burnout Paradise in terms of content. However, much of the magic that Hot Pursuit had has been lost. The driving attempts to be less arcade and drifty, and in doing so, it's lost the sense of speed so it's no longer intense. There seems to be no difference between a good and bad driver. You can crash and be as imprecise as you like and still get the gold medal in a time trial. The promise of customisation is poorly realized. Visually all you can do is change the colour and number plate, and performance-wise you can do some basic upgrades but no tuning. Furthermore, there are no tiers of cars. The performance difference is substantial in the menus, but on the road it's difficult to tell apart a Cayman S from a 458. There's just so little excitement in this game. I's just full throttle all the time with no need to be precise or skillful in any way. You can't be bad at this game. So in summary, the attempt to offer more of the same is a sensible idea, but overall Rivals lacks the excitement that Hot Pursuit delivered. The additions are not substantial enough, so I would suggest avoiding this if you have played Hot Pursuit. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2014
    5
    I don't know what it is but there was a lot left to be desired after playing most wanted. The game just didn't seem complete to me. ItI don't know what it is but there was a lot left to be desired after playing most wanted. The game just didn't seem complete to me. It didn't seem very big or very complex. Most wanted made you explore separate areas of a big city while rivals seemed very narrow in drive-able areas. Plus it was almost in possible to go cruising because the cops were on you at every moment and the long stretches of single roads made it impossible to escape them sometimes. I was bored of the game after a few weeks and went back to Most Wanted and Forza Horizon. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** inThis game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** in my opinion. Collapse

See all 93 User Reviews