Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 574 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set ofNeed for Speed Rivals inserts gamers behind the wheel of both sides of the thin blue line, daring them to cross that line as either a cop or racer in order to gain any advantage in the street’s ultimate rivalry. Players decide between two distinct career experiences, each with its own set of high-stakes challenges, rewards, pursuit tech and cars. The intensity of the action is enhanced as a result of AllDrive, a feature that destroys the line between single player, co-op and multiplayer. Through AllDrive, friends are connected to one racing world where their races and chases can collide at any time. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    100
    Need for Speed: Rivals takes some of the best features from prior franchise entries and combines them with a seamless single-multiplayer mode to create an absolutely terrific, utterly bonkers race-and-chase game that looks and sounds as good as it drives.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Need for Speed Rivals proves how impressive a PS4 racing game can be by offering a fully realized product that blows past conceptions of what a launch title can offer.
  3. Rivals is a sequel that confidently overtakes 2012’s Most Wanted. No doors are blown off, but needs are very much fulfilled. . [Christmas 2013, p75]
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is very much in the tradition of Hot Pursuit, but that great, familiar gameplay has been infused with enough new elements to make it as thrilling here as it's ever been. It sure is good to hit the open road again.
  5. 80
    Rivals offers thrilling arcade racing of the kind the kind that you can just pick up and play a few rounds of, and has enough graphical prowess for you to show off your new console for your friends. We could do with a little more innovation next time, though.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed: Rivals is one of the most impressive launch games for PS4. It is very pretty visually, and it has enough content to keep players busy for quite some time. There are some drawbacks to its design, but nothing that will derail the fun.
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    50
    The rivalry aspect never gets a chance to bloom as the huge open world only lets in six players at a time. The sound is astonishing and the concept of a huge world just waiting to be explored is an interesting one, but in the end Rivals never climbs beyond mediocrity.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 90
  2. Negative: 23 out of 90
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining.Best auto game ever! Works like a charm on PS4. I'm really impressed with the gameplay and the graphics. The multyplayer is very entertaining. A small downside, but nothing to make me not to rate this at 10, are the fps lock at 30. EA execceded my expectations with this new NFS. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Great game love it to play i really like the music :D what makes it more fun to play and the handling is really nice of course if you neverGreat game love it to play i really like the music :D what makes it more fun to play and the handling is really nice of course if you never played NfS before you gonna get into it but its just a regular racing handling Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    This is the most fun I've had with a Need For Speed game since the original Underground came out. The controls are spot on and the gameplayThis is the most fun I've had with a Need For Speed game since the original Underground came out. The controls are spot on and the gameplay is fun and addicting. The only small qualm I have is it seems to switch host often, interrupting the experience. A small price to pay for the fun you can have, seamlessly switching between racer and cop. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    It's great fun to play but for some strange reason there are only two camera's a behind the car view and a bumper view that's very close toIt's great fun to play but for some strange reason there are only two camera's a behind the car view and a bumper view that's very close to the ground. There is no natural driving view that makes you feel like you're in the car. Nice graphics and meaty engine noises. If it had a decent camera view this game would be awesome instead of just ok Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    My favorite racing game on last Gen was EA other racing game Burn out paradise this is noting like it has a lot of downs but a few ups. I likeMy favorite racing game on last Gen was EA other racing game Burn out paradise this is noting like it has a lot of downs but a few ups. I like yet hate this game for many reasons here is the Good and the bad. The game is very Pretty and looks nice I like how all the real cars are in this and feels great also the environment is good. The bad Story mode, Online Play, cops, cop mode and no city. This game feels like it is made for online and is hard to go offline which makes it very difficult if you want to play alone which is better when you want to unlock more cars and bank in cash, on top of that you can not pause the game on single player did the creators think that we don't get phone calls or want to take a 5 min break while playing this game in a race with tons of cash which forces you too lose it if you got to do something important. Really makes you feels like their was no thought in single player and they just want you online. The cops if you are a new to racing games or just haven't play one in a while the cops in here make you want to break your game there is no setting to turn them off, if you just want a joy ride around the game or a street race with just racers this game ruins that and I always have police chasing me while I am doing races time trials and everything else which makes the game feel terrible not that it is hard but it literally makes this game feel terrible. Cop mode is boring I really thought it'd be fun but some how the creators of this game made it terrible all you do is bump into racers which makes it boring. No City in this game makes if feel like a giant suburb, story mode is so boring with terrible voice actors as well as awful cut scenes I did not even realize I was playing story mode until half way threw. OVERALL this game feels like a free to play online tittle, the cars are great, driving is good and racing is good if you don't mind the cops chasing you all the time cop mode is terrible as well as story mode for both cops and racers since this is the only racing game out I still play this and don't mind the cops any more I had this since it came out played about 3 missions and don't car to Finnish it this is truly a 6 out of 10 Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2014
    5
    Nothing about NFS Rivals couldn't have been done on current gen hardware. The game offers nothing new to the series and is almost a lovechildNothing about NFS Rivals couldn't have been done on current gen hardware. The game offers nothing new to the series and is almost a lovechild between 2010's "Hot Pursuit" and 2012's "Most Wanted", both by Criterion games. When the online features work and everyone in your game session is cooperating, the game offers an E3-demonstration-like experience. However, the game's open world always online structure basically turns the game into a haven for trolls. The small car list, lack of any meaningful customization, required grinding, and overpowered top-tier cars means NFS Rivals is best enjoyed in short bursts and definitely not worth full price. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** inThis game is worst racing game that I've ever played. I'm now sorry that I gave GRID 2 score of 1. Even Big Rigs is better then this **** in my opinion. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews