Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 488 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Investigate the inside of Mount Massive Asylum and live to uncover the mystery. In the remote mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. A long-abandoned home for the mentally ill, it has been recently re-opened by the research and charity branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation and operates in strict secrecy... until now. Acting on a tip from an anonymous source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility and what he discovers treads a terrifying line between science, religion, nature and something else entirely. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Outlast is a true survival horror experience which shows that the most terrifying monsters of all come from the human mind itself. Are you prepared? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 90
    Jump scares may have your heart racing for a few seconds, however, creeping across that darkened courtyard with your batteries running out while something out there wants you tortured and dead will have you on edge until the experience ends.
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    85
    It's pure horror, as if you were in an IMAX cinema. It will surround you, and terrify you, especially in the very well crafted first hours. Then it gets a bit repetitive, but it's still an adventure you won't easily forget.
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    We would have asked Red Barrels for a little innovation instead of sticking to the new hide & run mechanics, but still, Outlast is an outstanding survival horror that will terrify pretty much everyone.
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    80
    It's not the sort of horror that'll stay with you long beyond the credits, not a quiet and subtle creep fest, but a blunt force shocker. And as such it's effective because it's just so damn drastic.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    76
    For the most part, Outlast lives up to its reputation. Although a little too quick to link gore with horror for my liking, it rests upon wide foundations of creepiness and builds on them with a good amount of tension and urgency.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    73
    A great example of the new wave of indie horror, Outlast isn't revolutionary or particularly terrifying, but some great jump scares and a fun, cheesy story make it well worth checking out. [Issue#241, p.72]
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    If you already own the PC version, there is absolutely zero reason to purchase this again. On the other hand, Sony is releasing it for free for PS members right off the bat, which is a tough price to argue down.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 88
  2. Negative: 5 out of 88
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing! I have it for both PC and now PS4. Overall this game is probably one of the most spookiest games I've played in awhile! Also if your a PS Plus member it's free! That's the best part, even though I would buy it again if it wasnt. To be honest I first thought this game would be like the rest of the horror genre which is all action now but it isn't..it's a classic! Instead of shooting you actually have to hide which makes the game even scarier! Overall this game is great for people who like horror and challenging games or just for people that want to have some jumpscares and be spooked out! This an amazing game and of you have PS plus don't miss this opportunity! Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    Free at the time I got it, I am not a huge fan of really scary games and this game is one of those. Boy, was I taking each corner slowly, jumped at each noise, and used up all camera batteries. An amazing game that will probably play a few more times. The story is semi simple, you will meet crazy enemies, and explore the inside, outside, and under an asylum. Maybe a 6-10 hour game, but I surely recommend this game to all Horror genre fan!

    -Game_Row
    Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    I really love this game! It was very different, a game one of its own. I got it free as a PlayStation plus member and will gladly pay for it! But as the way the game is built it is not really a game you can play over and over because the "monsters" walk the same path and the scary parts is on the same places but other then that a great game! Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Best game out there on the PS4 in my opinion, at least while we all wait for "that game that's going to blow our minds"!

    Based on the fact
    the game is free, it should get a 10 by default but in the intrest of fair play, and the fact that i wanted to review the game in its own right and not just the fact that its free I have given it an 8.

    Graphics: 8 genuinely realistic, especially in night vision mode.

    Sound/ atmosphere: 9 doesn't matter how big and brave you are, this game WILL give you the fright in many places.

    Story: 7 The characters are interesting but it does not really go into any detail with any of them. The story isn't incredible but there is enough about it that will make you want to play until the end to see what happens.

    Replay Value: 6.5 You cant really do anything differently enough to make a big impact 2nd or 3rd time round.

    Over all: Solid 8. The game is out to scare you, and it will. Graphics, sound, location, all of these things are well thought of and well delivered. Just a shame the characters who all seem very interesting do not play a bigger role than being obstacles to overcome.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    Awsome game, alot scary, its really good, except for the end part thats don't keep up with the rest of the game, dropping the tension from the beginning of game!! Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    Outlast is an oppressive game until the end. You have no weapon but only your camera. Graphics 7/10 Music 5/10 Gameplay 8/10 Scenario 7/10

    My overall score is 7
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Boring boring boring. Cannot describe how much this game angers me. It isn't scary, it is just incredibly loud when the music kicks in. A bit like how adverts between TV programmes are always slightly higher in volume well this game takes that to the extreme.

    I would have turned the music down a tad but guess what you cannot adjust the music. Completely overrated game I wouldn't wish on anyone.

    "ah a FPS with no weapons, must vote it great" really no just don't it is awful. Save your bandwidth.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers