Outlast PlayStation 4

Outlast Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 667 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Investigate the inside of Mount Massive Asylum and live to uncover the mystery. In the remote mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. A long-abandoned home for the mentally ill, it has been recently re-opened by the research and charity branch of the transnationalInvestigate the inside of Mount Massive Asylum and live to uncover the mystery. In the remote mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. A long-abandoned home for the mentally ill, it has been recently re-opened by the research and charity branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation and operates in strict secrecy... until now. Acting on a tip from an anonymous source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility and what he discovers treads a terrifying line between science, religion, nature and something else entirely. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Outlast is a true survival horror experience which shows that the most terrifying monsters of all come from the human mind itself. Are you prepared? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
OUTLAST Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 90
    Jump scares may have your heart racing for a few seconds, however, creeping across that darkened courtyard with your batteries running out while something out there wants you tortured and dead will have you on edge until the experience ends.
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    85
    It's pure horror, as if you were in an IMAX cinema. It will surround you, and terrify you, especially in the very well crafted first hours. Then it gets a bit repetitive, but it's still an adventure you won't easily forget.
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    We would have asked Red Barrels for a little innovation instead of sticking to the new hide & run mechanics, but still, Outlast is an outstanding survival horror that will terrify pretty much everyone.
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    80
    It's not the sort of horror that'll stay with you long beyond the credits, not a quiet and subtle creep fest, but a blunt force shocker. And as such it's effective because it's just so damn drastic.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    76
    For the most part, Outlast lives up to its reputation. Although a little too quick to link gore with horror for my liking, it rests upon wide foundations of creepiness and builds on them with a good amount of tension and urgency.
  6. Play UK
    Mar 10, 2014
    73
    A great example of the new wave of indie horror, Outlast isn't revolutionary or particularly terrifying, but some great jump scares and a fun, cheesy story make it well worth checking out. [Issue#241, p.72]
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    If you already own the PC version, there is absolutely zero reason to purchase this again. On the other hand, Sony is releasing it for free for PS members right off the bat, which is a tough price to argue down.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 118
  2. Negative: 4 out of 118
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing! I have it for both PC and now PS4. Overall this game is probably one of the most spookiest games I've played in awhile!This game is amazing! I have it for both PC and now PS4. Overall this game is probably one of the most spookiest games I've played in awhile! Also if your a PS Plus member it's free! That's the best part, even though I would buy it again if it wasnt. To be honest I first thought this game would be like the rest of the horror genre which is all action now but it isn't..it's a classic! Instead of shooting you actually have to hide which makes the game even scarier! Overall this game is great for people who like horror and challenging games or just for people that want to have some jumpscares and be spooked out! This an amazing game and of you have PS plus don't miss this opportunity! Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2015
    10
    This game is amazing! I have it for both PC and now PS4. Overall this game is probably one of the most spookiest games I've played in awhile!This game is amazing! I have it for both PC and now PS4. Overall this game is probably one of the most spookiest games I've played in awhile! Also if your a PS Plus member it's free! That's the best part, even though I would buy it again if it wasnt. To be honest I first thought this game would be like the rest of the horror genre which is all action now but it isn't..it's a classic! Instead of shooting you actually have to hide which makes the game even scarier! Overall this game is great for people who like horror and challenging games or just for people that want to have some jumpscares and be spooked out! This an amazing game and of you have PS plus don't miss this opportunity Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2017
    9
    I really enjoyed this Outlast, one of the best horror games I have played on PS4. Maybe the feeling of fear decreases as the story unfolds,I really enjoyed this Outlast, one of the best horror games I have played on PS4. Maybe the feeling of fear decreases as the story unfolds, but the constant sensation of oppression and of being continuously chased fits very well within the atmosphere. Some of the scenes will pervade your memory for a long time. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    Outlast is the best Horror game I've played in MANY years. Quite literally horrifying in every sense of the word! It would of been 10 exceptOutlast is the best Horror game I've played in MANY years. Quite literally horrifying in every sense of the word! It would of been 10 except for the fact it gets quite samey. Turn on X amount of valves to turn on the power and get out, etc. It got a little repetitive. Except for that, a game which does exactly what it says it will. Scare the living Jesus out of you. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    8
    I did jump a few times while playing outlast, the sound is good, and the graphics are better, and the story is solid. The ending leaves youI did jump a few times while playing outlast, the sound is good, and the graphics are better, and the story is solid. The ending leaves you ready to play the dlc. Worth your time! Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Outlast is without a doubt one of the, if not the most suspenseful game I have ever played! So much so that I couldn't bring myself to playOutlast is without a doubt one of the, if not the most suspenseful game I have ever played! So much so that I couldn't bring myself to play for more than 45 minutes or an hour at a time because It cause me so much stress! Am I gonna make it through this area alive? Do I have enough batteries to make it to where I need to go? Did the hellish creature like man in chase see me go under this bed? How is this all going to end for me? These are questions that were constantly running through my head during my time with Outlast and I can definitely say It was one dark and crazy ride but without a doubt one worth taking! Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Boring boring boring. Cannot describe how much this game angers me. It isn't scary, it is just incredibly loud when the music kicks in. ABoring boring boring. Cannot describe how much this game angers me. It isn't scary, it is just incredibly loud when the music kicks in. A bit like how adverts between TV programmes are always slightly higher in volume well this game takes that to the extreme.

    I would have turned the music down a tad but guess what you cannot adjust the music. Completely overrated game I wouldn't wish on anyone.

    "ah a FPS with no weapons, must vote it great" really no just don't it is awful. Save your bandwidth.
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Trailers