Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The stretchy blue blob is all set to go digital in high resolution by way of the critically acclaimed Putty Squad videogame. Cited by many gaming publications as one of the best games of its time, Putty Squad follows the story of unlikely hero Putty in an old-skool platform-adventuring quest for his kidnapped friends. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    You should only pick up Putty Squad if you're a fan of the original, and have an unhealthy affinity towards platformers. Everyone else need not apply unless the game drops to a rightful price of $10 or less.
  2. 50
    Putty Squad is not a bad game, and with the relative lack of titles currently released on the PlayStation 4 it does fill something of a void. Still, platforming enthusiasts with PlayStation 4s do have access to Rayman Legends, rendering it rather pointless to grab Putty Squad unless you're an absolute genre purist.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    45
    What chaos! This is by far the weirdest jump-and-run I have played in a while. Unfortunately it is not as fascinating as it sounds, since the novelty factor soon becomes stale and uninspired.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    40
    Everyone else looking to relive the past may be better off tackling one of the Blue Blur’s adventures, though – and letting this blue blob fester in the pipes beneath the sink.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    30
    It seems very unfair to suddenly thrust such a dated game back into the limelight, but it ready would’ve been better if Putty Squad had stayed in retirement.
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    30
    "Ugly" is not enough to define Putty Squad. It is simply an (almost) unpublished game from 20 years ago, with outdated graphics and gameplay.
  7. There is no way this antiquated nobody is worth this much of your money and attention. [February 2014, p82]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I think that this game is the best game in the world!!! No one can ever make a better game. I think that this game deserves Game of the year. It has the best graphics and fresh new mechanics. Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    this game, its so amazing, its the most confusing and interesting concept in the world!!!!!!!! so many thkings to be confused by, i mean learn!!!!!!!!! This is the most fast pacd game, and its just like sonic!!!!!!!!!! Play this , new 8th generation gaming experience, this is ps4!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 7, 2014
    8
    I think this is an area where Metacritic or perhaps the game review websites fail.
    It feels to me that the game has been reviewed by people
    who are not the target audience.
    My kids love it as much as people loved the original.
    Very good playability and that's what matters, also very casual so good for short sittings and suitable for kids attention spans.
    If you want something more epic, go play Skyrim, but don't destroy a good arcade game just because it's in a different genre.
    Collapse
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    (PT-BR)
    Não é um jogo ruim em si, ele pode ser meio besta mas pode gerar horas de diversão, e para um personagem "morto" que voltou das
    cinzas agora este jogo até que é bem decente

    ( consertado)
    Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    This game is just chaos! Honestly I think the graphics are pretty bad it looks like the gameplay is on the N64. But this isn't any old platformer it is Unique since you can run, jump, and punch. Overall I give this game a 6/10 for being a unique game in the platforming world. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    0
    This game was made in 2014, right? Nope, it was made about 20 years ago. I mean, how could this game ever pass testing? There was not one person that thought: "Hmm, maybe the graphics do look bad..." when this game was about to be published? Expand