User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 63
  2. Negative: 7 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2014
    9
    In a world of regenerating health and 2 weapon limits this is EXACTLY what we need. reminders of the 90s where shooters raised us to expect great things of them. Shadow warrior Isn't perfect and if nostalgia isn't a factor for you you can drop my score from a 9 to an 8 easy, and its a bit too long (try saying that to a triple A title) but the weapons are unique and its fun to kill thingsIn a world of regenerating health and 2 weapon limits this is EXACTLY what we need. reminders of the 90s where shooters raised us to expect great things of them. Shadow warrior Isn't perfect and if nostalgia isn't a factor for you you can drop my score from a 9 to an 8 easy, and its a bit too long (try saying that to a triple A title) but the weapons are unique and its fun to kill things and and thats what counts, its still not quite oldschool tot he extent i want it to be, levels tend to be series of long arena battles tied together, although not always and you wont be too botherd by it because the combat is fun Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    Not sure why the rating is a 70, since this game is basically an old school shooter, with cutscenes.

    The story is fun, the combat is fun and mostly everything about this game is fun. The humor is a little bland, but doesn't really hurt the game at all.

    If you are considering buying this game, I'd give my full recommendations.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    Fun hack & slash FPS. Bright colors, big explosions, and gory demons. Gameplay feels smooth and the throwback style makes for good quick entertainment. (pick it up on a sale)
  4. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    I am really digging the game. I played the original many years ago and the developers made sure they placed some subtle nuances into this version. Shooting the rabbits to reveal the black rabbit is a definite cross-over. The tongue and cheek comments from Wang aren't as funny, but I enjoy the conversations between him and the demon mask.

    I do find it quite difficult at times, trying
    I am really digging the game. I played the original many years ago and the developers made sure they placed some subtle nuances into this version. Shooting the rabbits to reveal the black rabbit is a definite cross-over. The tongue and cheek comments from Wang aren't as funny, but I enjoy the conversations between him and the demon mask.

    I do find it quite difficult at times, trying to cast magic while running for my life gets a little confusing at times, for me at least.

    The hidden women from the original game are in there as well, and I am saying the original 16 bit women. :-) Just listen for the music and singing and you will find them.

    For $40.00 it's a good solid game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    Old school FPS fun, great humor and so many enemies to kill. Surely underrated, I had to pick it on a psn sale as I wasn't sure what to expect. If you find it at a good price and like killing things with various cool ways, just get it.
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    Surprise of the Year!
    You go on a Massacre Killing Spree with brutal Weapons + Upgrades.
    The story is nothing to talk about its about the easy Gameplay and Weapon Handling what is great. When the crowds of Demons or sometimes Human arrive from nowhere i became a smirk on my face;) cause you can Shredder them with you Katana like Pinatas or blow them, toast them or use the
    Surprise of the Year!
    You go on a Massacre Killing Spree with brutal Weapons + Upgrades.

    The story is nothing to talk about its about the easy Gameplay and Weapon Handling what is great.

    When the crowds of Demons or sometimes Human arrive from nowhere i became a smirk on my face;) cause you can Shredder them with you Katana like Pinatas or blow them, toast them or use the environment explosion Kills.

    Definitely watiing for Shadow Warrior 2.
    Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    I had a blast with this game. It offers an old school feeling, fun sword combat, and a variety of guns that'll have a blast shooting demons to bits with. With a $40 price tag, you can't go wrong. If you like 3D realms humor, you need to play this just for that. The graphics aren't great, but they are good. The game is a little long, some parts feeling stretched out.. but that's a goodI had a blast with this game. It offers an old school feeling, fun sword combat, and a variety of guns that'll have a blast shooting demons to bits with. With a $40 price tag, you can't go wrong. If you like 3D realms humor, you need to play this just for that. The graphics aren't great, but they are good. The game is a little long, some parts feeling stretched out.. but that's a good thing in hindsight. As it gives you even more bang for your buck. Add that with searching for all the secrets and running new game +, what you have is a fairly good game. Not great. But good. Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2015
    7
    This game is incredibly fun and colourful, although many of face models look like they belong on the ps2, the world is detailed and vibrant. You will find yourself mainly using the sword because it is easily the most fun to use, being able to chop off individual limbs. The rest of the weapons I found weren't good at all and terrible to use, I found myself only ever using them when I wasThis game is incredibly fun and colourful, although many of face models look like they belong on the ps2, the world is detailed and vibrant. You will find yourself mainly using the sword because it is easily the most fun to use, being able to chop off individual limbs. The rest of the weapons I found weren't good at all and terrible to use, I found myself only ever using them when I was forced. The story is fairly average as well, same with the characters constantly making sarcastic remarks and dated references. If you're looking for a fun H&S game this is an easy buy. Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2015
    8
    Para quem gosta de jogos da década de 90, este é um ótimo jogo.
    Um jogo que lembra muito da atmosfera old-school. Simplesmente viciante e apaixonante.
    Zerei recentemente em meu ps4 e pretendo zerar outras vezes.
    8,5/10
  10. Oct 22, 2014
    8
    awesome, lots of awesome. too much awesome for $40. its old school fun, a la serious sam and wolfenstein. the graphics are decent, but not amazing. the colors are nice and the frame rate is a nearly consistent 60 though. the guns feel right, the upgrades are interesting, and the level design is simple with a few rewarding secrets scattered through out. did I mention it's hilarious?awesome, lots of awesome. too much awesome for $40. its old school fun, a la serious sam and wolfenstein. the graphics are decent, but not amazing. the colors are nice and the frame rate is a nearly consistent 60 though. the guns feel right, the upgrades are interesting, and the level design is simple with a few rewarding secrets scattered through out. did I mention it's hilarious? if you have 40 bucks to drop and you want to return (however briefly) to the world of old school PC shoot em ups, then this game is for you. aweeeeeeeeesome! Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2014
    6
    Underneath all of that unnecessary and blinding bloom on your screen, Shadow Warrior is definitely a functional FPHS (First Person Hack and Shoot). Best described as a modern homage to shooters of old, where characters could hold all the weapons they wanted and waypoints weren't in the vernacular, Shadow Warrior does what it sets out to do mildly well and provides a demon-slayingUnderneath all of that unnecessary and blinding bloom on your screen, Shadow Warrior is definitely a functional FPHS (First Person Hack and Shoot). Best described as a modern homage to shooters of old, where characters could hold all the weapons they wanted and waypoints weren't in the vernacular, Shadow Warrior does what it sets out to do mildly well and provides a demon-slaying experience that's more about running around like a madman than hiding behind cover. The game provides the standard FPS-fare for weapons but the undeniable star is Wang's katana, which players will probably use to paint the walls red 70% of their experience with the game.

    Unfortunately, Shadow Warrior suffers pretty terribly from pacing issues, or perhaps simply overstays its welcome. Near the last quarter of the game, gameplay noticeably degenerates into walking into a room or corridor, killing the exact same enemies en masse, looking for the gold-tinged door that leads to a room that was copy-pasted from the room you just left, and repeating the massacre. Not only does this leave a pretty bad taste in one's mouth, it also makes you realize that maybe chopping demons up with a katana is neither as fun nor as memorable as you want it to be.

    3/5
    Expand
  12. Oct 22, 2014
    0
    meh, lots of meh. Too much meh for $40. Need more characters to pad this review out. That's how meh. meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh.
  13. dpc
    Nov 5, 2014
    8
    Great game, especially if you played and loved the original. As a huge FPS and RPG fan, I was looking for something that had great action and fun upgrades and leveling. I was planning on this, but went with Lords of the Fallen to satisfy my Skyrim itch. It sucked. I returned it and got this. Should've gone with it originally like I planned! Great upgrading and leveling, amazing gameplayGreat game, especially if you played and loved the original. As a huge FPS and RPG fan, I was looking for something that had great action and fun upgrades and leveling. I was planning on this, but went with Lords of the Fallen to satisfy my Skyrim itch. It sucked. I returned it and got this. Should've gone with it originally like I planned! Great upgrading and leveling, amazing gameplay and action, interesting and engaging story. The graphics are good (definitely next-gen), but nowhere near the level of AAA games. That doesn't take away from the enjoyment. Plus it's long, very challenging and very funny. Well worth the 40 bucks. Expand
  14. Oct 25, 2014
    2
    I like my first person shooters, a lot. Every so often its nice to play a mindless shooter, but this game is just far too sh1t to recommend anyone to play. The graphics are like last generation. The physics are slow to respond. The voice over is just lazy and the actual old school gameplay is boring. I turned this off when I came across an exploding bicycle cart and vending machines. II like my first person shooters, a lot. Every so often its nice to play a mindless shooter, but this game is just far too sh1t to recommend anyone to play. The graphics are like last generation. The physics are slow to respond. The voice over is just lazy and the actual old school gameplay is boring. I turned this off when I came across an exploding bicycle cart and vending machines. I felt as though you had to put time and effort into this game to see any sort of enjoyment out of it. The first 2 hours of gameplay just dragged along, by far the worst game I have played on the PS4. I'm surprised Devolver Digital had anything to do with this game. Hotline Miami is such a great game, Shadow Warrior however, is not. 2/10 for a lazy effort. Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2015
    7
    Overall, good fun to play. Games are meant to be fun after all. All these crap comments about story or colours or how many friends on their friend list are just nonsense. This game was on special on Playstation store for $25 and I got at least $50 worth of fun out of it.
  16. Mar 18, 2015
    0
    The game proper? 7/10 The developer and publisher? Big fat 0/10.
    There is a bug on PS4 where if you have too many friends in your Friends list (I think over 100?) the game will crash unless you stay signed out of PSN when you launch it and the whole time you are playing. I have sent countless e-mails, tweets, and Facebook posts to the developers and publishers but they have made clear
    The game proper? 7/10 The developer and publisher? Big fat 0/10.
    There is a bug on PS4 where if you have too many friends in your Friends list (I think over 100?) the game will crash unless you stay signed out of PSN when you launch it and the whole time you are playing. I have sent countless e-mails, tweets, and Facebook posts to the developers and publishers but they have made clear they are simply "not interested" in fixing this massive bug in both the retail and digital copies because "few people" are affected. Yeah right! New posts pop up on Facebook all the time with people having this same problem. I even told them its related to the friends list and how someone deleted all their friends to fix the issue. And how my alt account with 0 friends doesn't have the issue. But they still have no interest in fixing it. So, I have no interest in buying any more of their games or in giving them a fair review. SHAME ON YOU Devolver Digital and Flying Wild Hog. SHAME ON YOU.
    Expand
  17. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    I had a blast playing this game. The closest thing i'd compare it with is perhaps, Bulletstorm, very over the top. Old school feel, lots of inside jokes, kinda silly humor, throw backs to 90s gaming nostalgia. Tons of secrets - and usually straying from the main path will yield a reward. The story is pretty good - not gonna blow you away, but it's good enough. Art is well done, likeI had a blast playing this game. The closest thing i'd compare it with is perhaps, Bulletstorm, very over the top. Old school feel, lots of inside jokes, kinda silly humor, throw backs to 90s gaming nostalgia. Tons of secrets - and usually straying from the main path will yield a reward. The story is pretty good - not gonna blow you away, but it's good enough. Art is well done, like the cut scenes - liked the end, For such a cheesy premise you do care about the characters a bit. Overall it's worth a buy especially if you snag it on sale. My main criticism is that sometimes it can feel a bit long, there is a bit of a pacing issue with a few of the levels, sometimes it can be confusing to figure out where you need to go. (perhaps an arrow like bioshock would solve this? but it might break the oldschool feeling they created) Overall if you're in the mood for a shooter/slasher it's worth your time and money. Certainly one of the top FPS on PS4 as far as FUN factor is concerned. Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2014
    8
    A very welcome addition to the PlayStation 4 game library. At first i was going to buy this one from Steam-store, but for reasons unknown i did not. I enjoyed the original a lot when it came out back in the days, and this remaster shares a lot of the same magic the original had. Graphics and audio are nice enough, lots of gore, game-play is golden and the humor is alright. So nothing mindA very welcome addition to the PlayStation 4 game library. At first i was going to buy this one from Steam-store, but for reasons unknown i did not. I enjoyed the original a lot when it came out back in the days, and this remaster shares a lot of the same magic the original had. Graphics and audio are nice enough, lots of gore, game-play is golden and the humor is alright. So nothing mind blowing, but for a old-school games fans a guaranteed good time. There are some performance problems occasionally tough, some levels even drop down to a crawl. And i use a 1Tb 840 EVO SSD in my PS4, so i usually get slightly better performance than the gamers with stock 5400 rpm hdd. In this case however the problem seems to lie deep inside the game (engine?) itself i think, so hopefully future patches fix these issues. Without the problems i would give this a 8.5 easily, for the sake of memories and nostalgic reasons. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It's undeniably simple. [Christmas 2014, p.88]
  2. Dec 21, 2014
    66
    The 'humour' occasionally feels flat. [Christmas 2014, p.78]
  3. It may need help to stand tall, but when it's pumped with blood, it rocks. [Christmas 2014, p76]