SteamWorld Dig Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The clock has stopped around the turn of the 19th century, and humankind has prematurely blown itself to bits. The remaining scraps are huddling in caves beneath the surface, and steam-powered robots have taken over the Wild West.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    100
    This is a very, very fun game, and if you missed out on it the first time around, don't make that mistake twice.
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    90
    If you’ve already explored Tumbleton’s depths, the PSN version won’t give you many new or better reasons to buy it again, but if you’ve yet to grab your pickaxe and start digging, SteamWorld Dig has a lot of fun and well-designed ideas buried within.
  3. Addictive and charming in equal measure, and never short of new ideas. [May 2014, p77]
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    On the whole though, Steamworld Dig is a fascinating game and one that will bring plenty of joy. It is a game you can take your time with and enjoy. Taking some elements from other games in the genre and tailoring them to make a wonderful experience. It is just a shame about that Cross-Save
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    A compelling 2D adventure game that resembles the beloved portable incarnations of cult franchises such as Metroid or Castlevania.
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    80
    SteamWorld Dig is a much needed casual game for the PlayStation 4 and the PlayStation Vita that features a very addictive and challenging gameplay.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    A dash of Terraria mixed with a pinch of Dig Dug, SteamWorld Dig is a colourful delight that is equal parts wit and charm.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    If you like Metroid, Motherload, or Terraria, you'll like (or absolutely love) SteamWorld: Dig. I personally loved all three of those games, and the loving combination of them all here by Image & Form was quite the enjoyable experience for me. Taking elements from each of these games, you'll mine to earn upgrades like in Motherload, find upgrades so you can unlock more progression like in Metroid, and have multiple tools for mining and combat like in Terarria. Not to mention the story has some interesting tones and actually leaves a bit of an impact for a short game.

    So yes, it's short. But that's a good thing. It does everything it wants to, and then when it's done that, it leaves you to finish the game. There is no unnecessary fluff. I played through the game, acquiring all upgrades in a single play through the first time in 4-5 hours, and I loved every minute of my time. I even went back and played it again to do a perfect run: Beating the game in less than 2.5 hours without dying and with all upgrades. Then, after that, because I was so in love with the game, I downloaded it on my Vita (Yes, it's cross-buy!) And did it all again, just like on my PS4.

    The only complaint that I have about the game is that the (good) music gets repetitive; There isn't enough variety. Otherwise, the game is flawless. The upgrade progression is great and feels good, the combat is satisfying as intended, mining is addictive, the story is interesting, and the art style looks great. Absolutely worth the price.
    Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    First I must admit that I am definitely a semi-graphics whore. Based on that, the deep level of numbing addiction that I fall into while playing this game is just unreal. It never fails that while playing this game I unknowingly forget to blink enough to keep my eyes lubed, and end up with a stuck eyelid. There a few and very far between games that induce that level of distraction in me. Repetition would be the only negative, except it doesn't generally get to that point. Great value for the asking price! Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    SteamWorld Dig is brilliantly addictive in an old-school fashion. It doesn't have the most elegant visuals but it has something more important, the FUN FACTOR! For the price I got it at (£7 odd on PSN with a PS Plus discount) it is sooooooo WORTH THE PRICE! I implore you to PURCHASE THIS GAME, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT! 9.5/10!!! Expand
  4. May 23, 2014
    8
    What it is about this game, I don't know, but I find it to be fantastic. It's extremely addicting and I have to admit, from the second I started it, I didn't stop until it was finished, except for getting something to eat. It is some kind of mix between spelunky and those free to play games on gaming sites where you have to collect gold and then upgrade some in order to continue. It works like a charm.

    It is also amazing how bugless the game is. I haven't encountered a single one of them. However, it isn't all good. The game is rather short and, to be honest, way too easy. It's nowhere challenging even remotely and eventually you will just go rambo-style because even if you die, you won't lose anything worthwhile. I have to admit that I like the games that are damn near impossible, so it could be just me, but I find it to be the game biggest downside.

    Strangely enough it didn't prevent me from loving it in it's entirely. I feel somewhat sad the ride is already over and the game lacks any replayability. No additional content, which is a shame.

    Overall, I'd give it an 8.5
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    8
    If this game was more like Terraria, it would be a 10 no doubt. Has the same concept as Terraria, but its laid out for you. The game basically tells you excatly what to do next and by the time the final boss comes up, your so strong, that its a joke. Would of liked to see more from this game. Still a good game tho. 4 to 10 hours of game play Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    Got this today and I was surprised to enjoy it as much as I did, it is fun for some but it will not be for everyone and that is for sure, I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys playing indie games Collapse
  7. May 21, 2014
    6
    Fun as any casual/indie game. It doesn't go beyond that. The story is there just to get you by. If this was released on amiga, comodore 64 or supernintendo or in the 80s/90s it will probably get a 9 or 10 but I can't believe this indie games get 9 or anything above a 7 when its not on par with a system like the xbox 1 or ps4. It can't even compete with last generation console games. People keep praising the indie games I think they are just good enough for a few minutes or hours of fun and that's it. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews