Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    100
    Because really, Super Mega Baseball is the sort of fun, easy to pick up diversion that video game baseball was at the very beginning of its lifespan — and if it's as great as it is here, there's every reason to believe it can still fulfill that function.
  2. Apr 10, 2015
    90
    The thing is, the core game is so good that the lack of such things is far from a dealbreaker. I’d go as far as calling this a must-play for anyone even remotely interested in sports games. You won’t regret it.
  3. Apr 10, 2015
    90
    Super Mega Baseball is one of the best baseball games out at the moment. Sure it may not be a licensed game like The Show, but the gameplay is as good as the official MLB game.
  4. Feb 21, 2015
    90
    A gem, and perhaps the greatest indie sports game of all time. In fact, it's so good that big-budget sports devs need to take an honest look at it—there's a lot they could learn.
  5. Jan 6, 2015
    90
    An arcade sports video game for the ages, worthy of the likes of Tecmo Super Bowl, NBA Jam, Mutant League Football and Backyard Baseball. No sports video game of 2014 approached its subject with as much imagination as Super Mega Baseball. In such a rigid genre with high barriers to new ideas, this game is a legitimate breakthrough.
  6. May 12, 2015
    88
    Despite being incredibly easy to get into, Super Mega Baseball is built upon an accurate simulation that makes it quick and solid at the same time and places it in the same league as a timeless classic like HardBall!.
  7. Jan 16, 2015
    85
    A simple yet incredibly enjoyable Baseball game that doesn’t take itself too seriously.
  8. Jan 12, 2015
    85
    Super Mega Baseball is one of the most enjoyable, satisfying games I’ve played in a long time.
  9. Jan 12, 2015
    85
    Super Mega Baseball should be your next purchase if you moderately enjoy baseball on any level. Although it doesn't have the bells and whistles you may expect from a recent sports title, you'll be playing for quite some time based on the strength of the core game alone, whether it's by yourself or with friends.
  10. Jan 7, 2015
    81
    A blast to play in short bursts... The lackluster presentation, however, hinders the overall experience, making it difficult to play more than a few games per sitting.
  11. Apr 7, 2015
    80
    Super Mega BaseBall is an excellent surprise because it's a perfect mixture of reachability and high content. This brings a welcomed breath of fresh air to sports games.
  12. Jan 7, 2015
    80
    If nothing else, for me, it’s refreshing to play a sports game that stays true to the sport while not taking itself too seriously.
  13. Dec 23, 2014
    80
    With sound mechanics and some great difficulty tuning options, this should appeal to everyone – whether you're a baseball fan or not.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 73
  2. Negative: 13 out of 73
  1. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    As a lover of both baseball and video games, I am so happy to see a new title in the genre that is easy to learn and, most of all, very *fun*As a lover of both baseball and video games, I am so happy to see a new title in the genre that is easy to learn and, most of all, very *fun* to play. It has a cool arcade-y look, but there is a very solid baseball simulation when you get into actual game play. Perhaps most importantly to me, the game has a very wide difficulty range which can be set separately for each user. This has been fabulous because I can now play the game with or against my 9 year old son and 11 year old daughter and it is fair and balanced for all. Great job by the developers! Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    I bought this last night and have played 6 games so far. The game play is extremely fun and fast paced. You can finish a game in 20 minutes.I bought this last night and have played 6 games so far. The game play is extremely fun and fast paced. You can finish a game in 20 minutes. I have been waiting for a fun arcade style baseball game in the style of old the NES games I grew up playing. The graphics are eye-popping and colorful with cartoon looking characters that are very funny. The most revolutionary thing this game does is add a separate arcade score apart from the actual runs scored per game. There is a difficulty slider from 1-99 called Ego, which increases the multiplier of your earned arcade points. This means you lose a game 18-0 and still get a new high score. As odd as it sounds, it makes losing just as fun because you're competing against your top score.

    The power swing mechanic is really quite neat. You have to charge your swing and let go of the button press at the perfect time when the meter fills up to 100 as the ball crosses the plate. It's challenging but all the more rewarding. The pitching view is fixed behind the pitcher in single player, which at first I was not wild about. After playing a few games, it grew on me and is very fun and challenging on the higher Ego setting.

    My only criticism is the auto-fielding is tied to the Ego setting. I'd really prefer to do my own fielding without any help. As the Ego setting is raise, you get less assistance.... but for me to get no assistance, I have to make the game darned near impossible.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    For a sport that is drowning in super-realism, Super Mega Baseball brings us all back to the early console days where baseball games felt muchFor a sport that is drowning in super-realism, Super Mega Baseball brings us all back to the early console days where baseball games felt much more arcade-like and intending on being fun rather than realistic. The art style is similar to the older Backyard Baseball games and the gameplay is a well-tuned mixture of older arcade-style baseball games as well as taking a little from the current-generation.

    There are only two ways to play in the game, Exhibition and Season mode, the seasons lasting as long as 48 games and playoffs. It's very disappointing to see the game doesn't have an Online component to it, as the game is more than fun enough to handle 2-player online matches. Hopefully this will be something either added on in later updates or in their next game.

    All things considered, it's a solid first attempt at a brand new baseball series. At $19.99 it may seem a little pricey given the small amount of content and no online play, but nevertheless it is a very strong proof of concept and hopefully gets expanded upon in later editions.
    Full Review »