Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 99
  2. Negative: 1 out of 99
Buy On
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 3, 2017
    100
    A magnificent, deeply personal tale of a boy and his monster. Smart, subversive and emotionally enriching, this is one of the most evocative games to grace PlayStation in the last decade. Clearly, you can't rush genius. [Jan 2016, p.102]
  2. 100
    It all adds up to a terrific relationship that’s further reinforced by a terrific story. It’s a tale too good to give away, with an tremendously worthwhile ending...This is a tremendously worthwhile game, of course, because of the relationship that demands to be experienced.
  3. Dec 9, 2016
    100
    We should all thank the corporate suits at Sony for not abandoning hope. The end result is a masterpiece.
  4. Dec 8, 2016
    100
    What a pleasure it is to find a video game with such warmth and fascination with companionship. And what a joy it is for it to be found in a game with such an elegant sense of exploration. Some of its technical quirks cannot be ignored -errant frame-rates and inept camerawork especially- and some may find Trico’s capriciousness anathema to seamless adventure. But that is also what makes him and The Last Guardian so remarkable. Things that any animal lover can relate to - it is beautiful, heartfelt, unique and infuriating. And I adore it.
  5. Dec 6, 2016
    100
    As with its predecessors, it has some issues with controls and performance, but these are easily outweighed by the astonishing grandeur of its scale and the lifelike connection with Trico. Like the bond that grows between you and the beast, the farther you get, the more memorable and dramatic it all becomes. The Last Guardian isn’t a perfect game, but it’s a mesmerizing adventure that we’ll never forget.
  6. 100
    When the journey comes to an end, you’ll find yourself in shock, emotionally-drained, and appreciative The Last Guardian stayed in development this long and still made it to release. The entire game’s pace is perfect. The difficulty and challenge is high, and completely reliant on how observant and explorative the player is. Every section of the game is stunningly gorgeous – a real work of art. The gameplay is pure perfection (aside for some clunky controls).
  7. Dec 5, 2016
    100
    Here is an exquisite gem, the brightest in Ueda’s enviable clutch.
  8. Dec 5, 2016
    100
    In its finished form, the game tells a story with uncompromising vision and engrossing emotional heft. The resulting experience comes off as delicately prepared, and the mythical nature of the game’s development only enhances the fantastical tale at its core. Imagining the missteps the game could have taken if released in an unpolished rush is easy, but bickering about the build-up to The Last Guardian’s release will be long outlived by its success as an emotionally evocative masterpiece in the annals of modern gaming.
  9. Dec 5, 2016
    100
    In The Last Guardian, Fumito Ueda is showing us how to bang out another kind of tune that makes something else move, something perhaps higher. It feels momentous, a design breakthrough I wasn’t expecting, and an experience that seems more likely to stand the test of time than others we like to point to. It calls out some of what’s crass about this industry while showing us another way forward, the shape of things to come.
  10. Dec 5, 2016
    100
    The Last Guardian is Team ICO’s magnum opus. Everything they learned from the prior games in this semi-series has been put to use here and allowed them to craft their greatest adventure yet. Trico’s tale is one of sadness and joy, and something that everyone who enjoyed the team’s prior work should partake in as soon as possible. Newcomers will want to come in with an open mind for exploration and puzzle-solving, but if they do, they will be rewarded with the finest gaming experience yet on the PlayStation 4. Its sense of scale is unmatched and it features the best graphics yet on the console. Minor flaws do exist, but they don’t detract from the overall experience enough to make it anything less than a masterpiece.
  11. 100
    Because I was so emotionally invested in the game, I started to lose time while I was playing it. I don’t think it’s an overly long game, but I do think that its length will be wholly dependent on how good you are at understanding its logic and puzzles. It wouldn’t matter if it was over in an hour, though. The game is deep, meaningful, and powerful. It’s reflective, different, and beautiful. It may well end up being more divisive than Ueda’s previous masterpieces, but that doesn’t mean it’s not a masterpiece, from one of the industry’s true auteurs. Play this game. Even if you hate it, it’s going to broaden your horizons around what games are truly capable of.
  12. Dec 5, 2016
    100
    Fumito Ueda and his team confirms they did not lose their magic during the long and painful development of The Last Guardian. What we have here is an amazing video game with stunning characters and clever puzzles, a masterful piece of art that depicts one of the most touching stories ever told in this medium.
  13. Dec 5, 2016
    93
    The Last Guardian is not perfect, but those issues are nothing compared to its wonderful gameplay and its beautiful setting. This game and its soundtrack will live forever in the gaming world.
  14. Dec 8, 2016
    91
    Too often pioneering in the games industry is based on technical achievements: bigger, faster, more polygons. But true magic begins behind the obvious – when the artistic vision starts taking shape in a virtual creation. Trico for me is the most fascinating creature in video game history. The Last Guardian is the counterpoint to the loud and hectic game design that tries to show off its bling on every corner.
  15. Dec 5, 2016
    91
    Even if it will likely not live up to nine years' worth of bottled-up expectations for everyone, The Last Guardian was honestly worth the wait for me, and I expect that most Fumito Ueda/Team Ico fans will agree. The journey is a special and unique one, and very much worth taking for any and all PS4 owners.
  16. CD-Action
    Jan 13, 2017
    90
    The Last Guardian is definitely not to everyone’s liking, but everyone should play it at least for a moment, because it is an extraordinary game. [01/2017, p.62]
  17. Dec 19, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian is proof -- for anyone who doubts it -- that video games can be a unique and emotionally powerful form of participatory storytelling. On top of that, The Last Guardian's visuals and creature design give it a timeless, mythic quality that both call to mind the sweet-natured Ico and the towering scale of Shadows of the Colossus. Exciting, challenging, and full of heart, The Last Guardian is unforgettable.
  18. Dec 9, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian isn’t perfect — its mechanical slips are present if occasional — but the experience is so very special, and uniquely beautiful to the end.
  19. Dec 8, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian can be frustrating gameplay-wise, but the connection you'll feel to its beautifully-realised yet intractable companion creature leaves no room in your heart for such concerns. Somehow, this game was worth the wait.
  20. Dec 7, 2016
    90
    Even though some of its mechanics are indeed stuck in an older era of gaming and the camera can sometimes be painful, The Last Guardian is a unique and almost monumental game in its narration and in the way it bonds the gamer with the two protagonists. Just like it happened a long time ago with Ico and Yorda.
  21. Dec 7, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian is a modern masterpiece, and a worthy addition to Team ICO's already flawless track record. Some will be unable to look past the mechanical shortcomings, but they'll be missing out on one of those most meaningful and truly original experiences in years.
  22. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    Details are a golden currency in Ueda’s games, and The Last Guardian greatest puzzle is their ultimate assembly. The impact in its final act is both somber and spirited, and it’s the pinnacle of the ideas it tries to put forward. I knew where The Last Guardian was going and I still couldn’t help but respond with deluge of raw emotion.
  23. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian is one of a kind and very difficult to compare to anything else in video games, perhaps besides Ico on PlayStation 2. You can feel the touch of developers who previously managed to offer something this unique and special. This adventure invites you into a fantastic world and impresses on every step, even if it sometimes also tests our patience.
  24. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    I can state without hesitation that the wait has been more than worth it. The awe-inspiring living creature that is Trico carries this title, which would have otherwise just been a good puzzle platformer into an instant classic that I’m sure to visit time and time again, just to say hello to my new best buddy, one more time.
  25. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian does show the battle scars of its long and troubled development. It has problems maintaining a stable framerate, and the controls can be stiff and unrelenting. But the game also shares a warming, heartfelt tale of friendship. A tale so strong and confident in its telling, that most of its negative elements fade away.
  26. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian lands (at last) and the years of development are more than noticeable in the final product. Fumito Ueda shows once again that games can make you feel something else and that we are, perhaps, kind of used to trivial, hollow experiences. The worst part is the camera, your main enemy during this game where Trico will be the main conduit for the feelings. A creature that you will love from the very beginning, that you will hate to split from and that will comfort you as well as make your heart shatter in pieces.
  27. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    A brave vision that communicates a unique message —almost anachronic—. In a sea of contemporary explosions, noise and violence, The Last Guardian is a pause that contributes to videogames with something special despite some design annoyances.
  28. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    After ICO and Shadow of the Colossus is another masterpiece from Team ICO with a new brilliantly-crafted and aesthetically-pleasing adventure. Only its technical side could be improved.
  29. 90
    Despite colossal expectations, The Last Guardian is a triumph. The tale of Trico and the boy is profound—a beautiful, affecting journey grounded by their relationship.
  30. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    For some The Last Guardian's iffy controls, awkward camera, and glitches might be hard to overcome. Others won't care as they experience one of the most incredible relationships in video game history.
  31. 90
    The Last Guardian is a marvelous achievement in a number of ways. Its story is subtle, but beautiful. Its world is fascinating and mysterious. And Trico will go down as one of the best characters ever made for a video game. Players are in for a wonderful treat, but that quality comes at a cost. The game struggles to run well at times, and the controls can be a chore.
  32. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    A moving adventure starring an extraordinary companion. Framerate issues intrude, but don't let them stop you from finishing this wonderful game.
  33. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    The Last Guardian is a blast from the past. From when Fumita Ueda marveled us with the relationship between Ico and Yorda, or the fights against the colossi. Trico is his new achievement and it lives up to his reputation. Some technical issues muddle the work, but at least it's one with a lot of heart.
  34. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    When the book closes on their story, it's hard not to open it up again and begin anew. The trials you overcome endear you to both characters, but the emotions Trico elicits make you want to give it another chance--to be the patient, effective partner it truly deserves.
  35. Dec 5, 2016
    89
    The Last Guardian is an incredible journey with an unforgettable friend... plagued by a poor camera and some frustrating moments.
  36. Dec 17, 2016
    88
    The Last Guardian takes you on an experience to see and feel things that no other game can. Essential for anyone who wants to see a game which pushes boundaries and genres.
  37. Containing the classic Team ICO dynamics, The Last Guardian lives up to the hype and turns into a fairy tale imbued with adventure. When you eat a cake, and you are left with the desire to eat more you get a feeling similar to the Last Guardian.
  38. Dec 5, 2016
    88
    The long wait is over. After almost a decade of development, The Last Guardian is ready. This epic and touching adventure has a lot of great moments, but important issues with the camera stop it from being a perfect video game.
  39. Dec 5, 2016
    88
    Just as the huge creature protagonist of his story, The Last Guardian is a unique game, with an unusual and fascinating shape. It is an adventure in some way out of time, which retains a glimmer of distant memories. It is a noble game, yet inexplicably fragile.
  40. Dec 5, 2016
    86
    The Last Guardian has some technical issues and some rough mechanics, but it is a unique experience, as beautiful as ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. It is a game from the past, but released in 2016, in a good way. Trico will touch your heart if you adopt him.
  41. Dec 5, 2016
    86
    The Last Guardian has lived up to his hype offering a great adventure and some iconic moments between Trico and the boy. The first hours are less impressive, the camera could be better and the graphics have some highs and lows.
  42. Jan 15, 2017
    85
    The Last Guarding is a unique experience that might not suit every gamer. It is a slow based game that requires you to indulge in its amazing world and once you do you will fall in love with it. The heart of the game is the emotion and connection you build with Trico that turns into trust that will take you forward. If only it had a better camera system maybe it would have really been one of the greatest games of this generation.
  43. Dec 5, 2016
    85
    Highly anticipated The Last Guardian is finally here and its technical condition is so poor that I will not be surprised if someone decides to ask for a refund. Still, after a dozen hours I'm certain that my time spent with Trico was truly moving and really unique. There were moments of true agony (in terms of smoothness of gameplay and other technical aspects) but I'm willing to pay such a price for a beautiful story and an experience unlike any other.
  44. The Last Guardian is, in the end, a game of enormous ambition, unique vision, and substantial risk-taking. It was never going to be perfect. But it’s well worth enduring the problems. My year in gaming was enormously enriched for having experienced this one-of-a-kind adventure, which – like Ueda’s other works – stands as a beacon for other game designer who would dare to be bold. It’s far from flawless and its appeal will not be universal, but the medium of games is wealthier for its existence.
  45. Dec 5, 2016
    85
    The Last Guardian has finally arrived after a 10 year long wait. Fumito Ueda manages to offer a game with its own soul, but at the same time has some mistakes that were more common on the games launched 10 years ago like its camera issues and the control inaccuracies.
  46. Dec 5, 2016
    85
    The final product doesn’t feel like a 2016 game. Instead, it’s this strange adventure that invites you to get lost in its world. I love that, and I think anyone who loved Team Ico’s previous games will appreciate what they find here.
  47. Dec 5, 2016
    85
    For now, I'm confident in saying that although it isn't their best work, there really aren't too many directors out there like Fumito Ueda, and I hope for our sake, he continues to keep making games.
  48. Dec 5, 2016
    84
    An unique and special game: beautiful, charming yet imperfect: every videogame lover should play it.
  49. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 19, 2016
    82
    A contradictory, heart-wrenching, sometimes even harsh, yet still stunning story about friendship, duty and honor, about deceptive freedom of choice in your actions, and true freedom in choice of your morals – which is both a blessing and an ordeal. [Issue#215, p.64]
  50. 80
    Whether or not you feel the mechanical issues will be enough to ruin this sweet, impeccably realised, emotive game is up to you. For me, they're annoying but ephemeral. There were a hundred games released this year that are more fluid and fun to play minute-to-minute, and dozens that perform with a silky smooth frame rate, yet I'll remember this adventure with Trico long after I've forgotten those.
  51. Dec 25, 2016
    80
    I still thoroughly enjoyed my time with The Last Guardian and in retrospect I believe a friend put it best – 'it’s a flawed masterpiece’ he said and I truly believe that. The essence and meaning of the game is in tact but it’s presented in a cracked vessel.
  52. Dec 18, 2016
    80
    Because of its gigantic chief character The Last Guardian is an atmospheric experience, despite all of its shortcomings.
  53. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    The Last Guardian is heartbreakingly beautiful in its best moments, but it can also be a frustrating game at times.
  54. Dec 15, 2016
    80
    The Last Guardian is filled with bouts of frustration, but it's also proof that gaming is the most powerful medium for creators. I got to experience a genuine bond with Trico over the course of the game, and that can't be replicated elsewhere as it's dependent on actual interaction. Ueda's third title as a director is filled with flaws and some straight-up bad design in spots, but it manages to overcome its shortcomings to be something truly special.
  55. Dec 12, 2016
    80
    It's a masterpiece in terms of creating a living, breathing AI partner who is a wild and dangerous beast. The atmosphere, the environments and the puzzles are a delight. It's impossible to get around the fact that the game is built with frustration as a feature, and your enjoyment of it will depend on whether you're enough of a cat person to mind spending 10 minutes solving a three-second puzzle. It's a remarkable game that is all the more remarkable for almost living up to 10 years of hype.
  56. Dec 11, 2016
    80
    If you can go into The Last Guardian with an understanding that its most important piece is the story of the boy and Trico then you will adore it. If you’re the type to trumpet gameplay over narrative no matter what then you’ll have a hard time forgiving this game its plethora of quirks.
  57. 80
    The Last Guardian’s seven-year development cycle is evident in antiquated design, but ultimately, it isn’t enough to spoil this charming fantasy tale.
  58. Dec 11, 2016
    80
    I have never, in my three decades plus of gaming been as motivated to save another video game character as I was during the last act of The Last Guardian.
  59. Dec 10, 2016
    80
    Despite its problems, The Last Guardian is an incredible piece of imaginative world-building. As a game, it mostly succeeds. As something we’ve been anticipating for nine years… well, that might be too tall an obstacle for even a giant flying dog to get over.
  60. Dec 9, 2016
    80
    Despite its roughness, The Last Guardian is absolutely worth experiencing for the beautiful relationship at its heart, and for the flawless manner in which the adventure closes. Ueda’s ability to develop smoothly-running games may remain in question, but his expertise in crafting ravaging narratives and developing deep bonds with minimal dialogue remains nearly unmatched. He’s one of gaming’s premier storytellers, and of the three experiences he’s created, this may be my favorite yet.
  61. Dec 7, 2016
    80
    A truly wonderful - some might even call it "transcendent" - experience, unnecessarily hampered by an annoying camera and clunky controls.
  62. Dec 6, 2016
    80
    Be prepared for some huge irritations but buy The Last Guardian despite these. It's the kind of game you won't forget.
  63. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Despite an appalling technical aspect with camera troubles and a wacky handling, The Last Guardian is a very good story-based puzzle game that makes you feel immersed in the relationship between the boy and Trico.
  64. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    The Last Guardian has a few huge technical issues, but it’s still an amazing experience. When art meets poetry and love, you can’t focus on something as cold and trivial as the framerate and the textures. Enjoy this game, and grow up as a better gamer.
  65. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    The Last Guardian closed Ueda's trilogy with an important signal: the poem before the content, but the poetry tends toward the vacuum, leaving a beautiful picture to see, but not beautiful to live.
  66. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Despite its lingering flaws and often frustrating pacing, The Last Guardian rises above expectation to deliver an engrossing adventure. Team Ico have brought together everything they’ve learnt over their past two games to present a heartfelt tale wrapped in an often-bewildering platformer – even if it took nearly a decade to make it here.
  67. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Playing The Last Guardian reminds me a lot of playing Half-Life games: The actual moment-to-moment of working my way through the game involves an enormous amount of frustration and annoyance... but when I look back at it, all I see are the happy memories of the experience. That's due in large part to the incredible design of Trico, and also to the spectacular emotive ending. Make no mistake, though, you will want to tear your hair out throughout your journey with Trico... but patient players will find the payoff justifies the suffering.
  68. 80
    Not quite up to the same standards of its predecessors, but this is still an emotionally draining and beautifully realised story of friendship against the odds.
  69. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    The Last Guardian feels meticulously pieced together and is easily one of the PlayStation 4’s stronger exclusive titles. It’s risky and unconventional, flouting modern design practices in a way that few other AAA game would dare to in 2016. Although far from perfect and a little worn from age, it’s a one of a kind experience and hopefully won’t be the last we see from Fumito Ueda and this enchanting world.
  70. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Ultimately The Last Guardian isn’t about pulling switches or leaping over gaps. It’s about your smile when you see Trico doing something silly, your compassion when you watch it struggle, and your relief when the creature shows up at just the right time. That’s what you get here that you can’t find anywhere else, and it is enough to make The Last Guardian worth playing.
  71. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    The most beautiful and touching friendship this year, in spite of somewhat unstable game mechanics.
  72. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    After over seven years it feels surrealistic to finally play The Last Guardian. Has it been worth the wait? No idea – some players will complain about the unpolished controls, the graphics and the bad camera angels. On the other hand the story is beautiful and the world is as stunning as it was in Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. For us, this is one of the best adventures in recent years.
  73. Dec 7, 2016
    78
    Despite the overwhelming quality of its emotional storytelling and the fantastic characterization of the game's protagonists, every frustrating puzzle, every quirk of the controls, and every graphical hitch will leave you wondering why, after such a painfully long wait, this was all The Last Guardian could shape up to be.
  74. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    Yes, there are many frustrating elements, amplified by the fact they feel unnecessary and out of character for the series, but the journey this game takes you on is a worthwhile one. Unlike any other series of games I know, Ico, Shadow of the Colossus and now The Last Guardian each give you a real sense of place in a foreign landscape and you always come away from that feeling, “you were there.” In this day and age, that is still special I think but I genuinely hope the next game in this series doesn’t take another decade to make.
  75. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    In its best moments, The Last Guardian pulls off feats that could only be done on modern hardware; at its weakest, it's not just "like a PlayStation 2 game," but like a particularly rough, unpolished PlayStation 2 game, one that recalls the legacy of its forebears, but can't quite recreate it.
  76. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    A heartwarming story, a mysterious world, and a slowly-growing bond between two unlikely companions ensure that fans of Team Ico’s past work won’t be disappointed. Clunky controls and a handful of graphical issues, however, mean that The Last Guardian may not be an enjoyable game for everyone—though, either way, Trico is adorable.
  77. Dec 12, 2016
    74
    If you can forgive the technical issues of the game and if you enjoyed Ico or Shadow of the Colossus, it’s still an interesting experience that is a thoroughly enjoyable and emotional narrative on this console.
  78. Dec 8, 2016
    73
    The Last Guardian might feel timeless, it did arrive way too late to the party. Even though the game looks great, there are not many reasons to buy this game for the full amount. It just feels outdated.
  79. Dec 8, 2016
    70
    The Last Guardian is a loveletter to those who loved ICO/Shadow of the Colossus, but also, more generally, to anyone who loves this amazing interactive medium. Unfortunately, the development hell is real, and The Last Guardian does not impress as much as the first games.
  80. Dec 6, 2016
    70
    Its mysterious world, artful narrative and moving character work is the reason we play games. It’s depressing that its singular vision is hampered by the most basic video game building block — the ability to control your experience — but beneath its finicky handling and aggravating programming lies the same magical hoodoo you find in great Pixar films. It’s fitting, really, that a game this difficult to birth would be equally difficult to enjoy. But if you take the time to love it, it will love you right back.
  81. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    The unresponsive controls, sub-par optimization and frustrating, extraneous gameplay elements shackle The Last Guardian to the past, while the emotional story and awe-inspiring imagery beg to be unleashed. It succeeds on the strength of its imagination alone, with no help from any other aspect.
  82. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    Yes, The Last Guardian’s controls are incredibly archaic and at times can be entirely broken, but two days after finishing it, the story has stuck with me. Studio Japan has continued to show how it can do so much while saying so little. The environment, characters and everything about the narrative captivated me. In spite of the controls I still thoroughly enjoyed the game overall. The story is a simple one, but powerful nonetheless.
  83. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    In The Last Guardian players form an incredible bond with Trico, tested in an adventure worthy of Fumito Ueda's vision. The challenge of not just the puzzle-platforming obstacles, but of understanding this otherworldly creature, creates a connection more genuine than any players are likely to have experienced in other games. Everything that would make the game a beautiful and unique classic to match or even surpass its predecessors is here, but like its captivating star the game doesn't always perform as you'd hope. We hope the developers are able to remedy the bitterly disappointing frame-rate problems, but until such a time they cannot be ignored.
  84. 70
    Even if The Last Guardian can sometimes get straight to our hearts, we cannot turn a blind eye to the frustrating gameplay. Its narrative fails to truly immerse the player, as the game mechanics lack to convey emphasis and empathy.
  85. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    Story wise and visually the game has a lot going for it, but mechanically there are some genuinely troubling areas. Everything works, but it is nowhere near as polished as it should be, and occasionally that lack of polish hurts the overall experience. The Last Guardian is going to be a memorable release; there’s no doubt about that. But its legacy won’t be quite what fans had hoped.
  86. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    The divide between the highs and lows of The Last Guardian is staggering. For every wonderful moment of absolute beauty and emotional attachment to its lifelike companion, there’s an equal and opposite baffling moment that ruins the mood with frustrating controls and camera angles. But I found myself willing to put up with all of these hiccups if it meant experiencing any of its multitude of incredibly-beautiful moments.
  87. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    The Last Guardian offers some nice puzzles. However the gameplay mechanics are too outdated. Therefore, the game is not as good as it could have been.
  88. Dec 23, 2016
    65
    The Last Guardian is an interesting and frustrating game that can’t decide if it wants to be modern or retro, and that constant argument brings the entire experience down a notch. While I was willing to deal with the limits of the previous era to enjoy the perks of the current one, I can understand where others might grow weary of the experience.
  89. Dec 11, 2016
    65
    It was a good idea all along, but even after all these years of waiting and waiting a bit more, this third chapter in the series comes across as the weakest part.
  90. Dec 5, 2016
    65
    I wish I could say I love the game, that its plagued by only minor setbacks, but I cannot honestly do that. I can’t look back at how much time was spent not enjoying myself, at how much time was spent actively wrestling with the game to wring anything worthwhile from it, and say I played the masterpiece many are going to say it is. Maybe, a long time ago, that’s something I’d have been able to say. Not today though. Not today.
  91. Dec 5, 2016
    65
    The world is stunning, the bond between the boy and Trico is a beautiful example of love and friendship, and the story is gripping, it’s just a shame there are so many technical issues holding it back.
  92. Dec 5, 2016
    65
    Somewhere underneath the broken gameplay and terrible camera controls lies a lot of potential for a great game.
  93. 60
    There is artistry behind The Last Guardian's concept, but in stumbles in execution, creating a journey that is far less fascinating than the relationship that lies at its story's core.
  94. Dec 5, 2016
    60
    While some parts of its narrative had me emotionally invested in the relationship between boy and beast, constantly fighting against the game’s broken mechanics left me unimpressed. My frustrations with Trico often ignoring my commands made interacting with the world more difficult and time-consuming than I wanted it to be. There are moments in The Last Guardian with potential, but ultimately, it’s more flawed than the authentic experience I was hoping for.
  95. Dec 5, 2016
    60
    Figuring out The Last Guardian's puzzles—like the one in which a broken wheelbarrow must be used as a makeshift catapult—isn't nearly as difficult as getting Trico to cooperate. Timed sections are the worst; miss the narrow window in which Trico chooses to cannonball into a lake, temporarily raising its water level, and it's anybody's guess how long it may be before he willingly does so again. The game also poorly defines its objectives, so much so that sometimes the best thing for you to do is simply climb aboard Trico and see if he'll leap to some new perch, carrying you forward.
  96. Dec 5, 2016
    60
    The Last Guardian’s story is moving and beautifully told, but the poor execution of its dated mechanics hold it back from the greatness of its predecessors.
  97. 55
    The Last Guardian is a beautiful experience that I have no desire to actually control again. If it released a decade ago I might have felt differently...I hate that such a beautiful game is so unbelievably infuriating to actually play.
  98. Dec 14, 2016
    50
    The Last Guardian is a ten-year-old game that had somehow emerged on store shelves recently. Though it does undoubtedly have a big heart, it stands no chance compared to today's titles. Moreover, even if you were a fan of the old action adventure games, brace yourself for the plain frustration from the crappy controls, mad camera and unclear game design.
  99. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    40
    Outdated and flat gameplay mechanics, poor controls, technical issues. The Last Guardian couldn’t be saved even by the extreme efforts from Sony to finish the game no matter the time. As you will love Trico for sure, the game itself you will certainly not. [Issue #270]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 5, 2016
    The world of The Last Guardian is an architectural and graphical masterpiece that you'll want to explore every inch of, with well-animated characters that can evoke some real emotion without a word. So when you're stuck for 15 minutes at a time wondering where to go and fighting with an uncooperative Trico to go there, rather than exploring that wonderful world, it can be pretty grating...The Last Guardian is beautiful enough that it might be worth the struggle. But I also wouldn't blame anyone for giving up on this flawed masterwork partway through.
  2. Dec 14, 2016
    It's a great game that would have been a blast to play no matter when it eventually debuted. Does it seem dated in 2016? For sure. But this really feels like an excellent follow-up and a masterful balance of Team Ico's two legendary games.
  3. Jan 12, 2017
    By many standards, Guardian isn’t an exceptional game. It bears the scars of its nearly decade-long development with an almost perverse sense of pride. The game's performance often struggles, overwhelmed by its own transcendent beauty. Its environment puzzles are mostly fun, but can be rage-inducingly opaque. It's not a journey meant for everyone – but those who heed its call will find themselves sadder, wiser, and maybe just a little better when they’ve seen it through to the end.
  4. Dec 5, 2016
    Eschewing the spare storytelling of previous Team Ico games, The Last Guardian’s plot unfolds in a series of easily digestible cutscenes. It’s a dark fairy tale that probably isn’t quite what anyone expected, but ultimately serves to make the friendship at the core of the game even more remarkable. The Last Guardian is about two lost souls becoming one, and the strength and joy found in that conjunction.
  5. Dec 21, 2016
    I finished The Last Guardian with no small amount of hatred in my heart for its lousy execution. But even with all that baggage, I found myself forgiving of its frustrations...Blame Trico. Thank Trico. That creature is so infuriatingly easy to love. The Last Guardian gives you so many reasons to dislike it, and one, impossibly endearing reason to love it...Don't understand? Try raising a puppy. Then you will.
  6. Dec 5, 2016
    This is such a beautiful, naturalistic creation—in aesthetic and spirit—and this tendency to help the player along feels like some outside force that’s latched onto it and exerted its control. After waiting nearly a decade to play this captivating labor of love, it would’ve been safe to assume its audience has the patience needed to appreciate it.
  7. Dec 5, 2016
    The miracle of The Last Guardian is not that it escaped development hell, but that it did so with an unwavering vision as clear and uncompromised as it was on its first day. Not only is there a game available this week called The Last Guardian, that game is The Last Guardian.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1395 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 263
  1. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    It was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed toIt was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed to always drift back to this fantasy world. If you've played and enjoyed ICO and Shadow of the Colossus then the Last Guardian will not disappoint. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    It's an amazing game with an amazing story. If you like face paced Call of duty games you won't like this game.

    This game is about the
    It's an amazing game with an amazing story. If you like face paced Call of duty games you won't like this game.

    This game is about the story, about emotion and about your friendsship with Trico. A must have for fans of the genre.

    It's funny to see all those Xbots giving this game 1 score, because they are jealous. They only see a new Forza, Halo and gears every now and then, no Original games like The Last Guardian.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    Amazing game! Interesting story, charming graphics, cool animations and tons of emotions... this is The Last Guardian! This unique game! IfAmazing game! Interesting story, charming graphics, cool animations and tons of emotions... this is The Last Guardian! This unique game! If you like ICO and Shadow of the Collossus - buy The Last Guardian, you will love this game. Full Review »