The Pinball Arcade Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This downloadable pinball game features licensed tables from Williams Gottlieb, Bally, and Stern.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    100
    All in all, this is a fantastic version of the best video pinball game around. It looks absolutely gorgeous on the PS4, and the level of detail stands out to me on the tables played in a new and exciting way.
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    With a new lighting system and a better frame-rate, this is Pinball Arcade's best version yet. There are not many new things if you already have it on another platform, but it is arguably the best pinball game ever.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 3, 2014
    85
    A gorgeously produced pinball dream that comes close to besting the real thing. [February 2014, p81]
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    80
    The visual fidelity is a big improvement, though perhaps not a big enough leap to tempt people to upgrade from PS3, and it’s thoroughly enjoyable to play such realistic replications. Table by table, it is becoming the definitive, one stop shop for die hard pinball fans.
  5. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Pinball Arcade is a very good exclusive title for PS4 and at the same time the best pinball game we've seen for years. With 22 playfields (and 35 others to come) amongst the best, you've a huge content at your disposal. Furthermore, the Farsight game successfully retranscripts the sensations, visuals and noises of all those playfields of the past. Old-school.
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    79
    I hate it when I’m right. But games from Farsight can’t seem to show up without bugs or quirk. For example: Who had the idea to exclude worldwide leader boards?
  7. It's a pinball game, it's for a new generation, what more we can say?

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This game brought back great memories of playing pinball. Plus you only have to pay for it one time, not 50 cents every few minutes. I thinkThis game brought back great memories of playing pinball. Plus you only have to pay for it one time, not 50 cents every few minutes. I think the sound, color and themes are just a lot of fun. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    although there is no competition at the moment, this is a great pinball game on ps4.... gameplay is smooth and crisp, graphics are pretty goodalthough there is no competition at the moment, this is a great pinball game on ps4.... gameplay is smooth and crisp, graphics are pretty good and the lighting is pretty cool... overall if you aren't a pinball fan this probably isn't for you, but if you are this will satisfy your hunger Collapse
  3. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    If you love real Pinball games or just like to play a little, either way you can not miss with The Pin Ball Arcade! Farsight takes realIf you love real Pinball games or just like to play a little, either way you can not miss with The Pin Ball Arcade! Farsight takes real Pinball games and recreates them down to every last detail in the tables. The first table Arabian Knights is free, so why not at least try it? They just made and released the Adams Family and it is like the Holy Grail of Pin Ball. There are a total of 56 tables in all and I recommend saving money and buying the table season packs instead of getting the tables individually. There are only a few tables on here that I have had the pleasure to play in real life, like Pin Bot and Tales of Arabian Nights and they play just like they did in real life and even look better. Farsigt is a small company and to really understand what they do just pull them up on youtube. They show exactly how they take a real machine and take it all apart and make models of every part in the game. Really amazing, they also use the original programming from the tables. Expand
  4. May 30, 2015
    9
    Best pinball game available that recreates digitally many great real world pinball tables. Company listens to feedback from customers, anBest pinball game available that recreates digitally many great real world pinball tables. Company listens to feedback from customers, an patches minor user found bugs/glitches. Frequent tables added regularly such as Addams Family. They do Kickstarter campaigns for those high priced hard to get licensed tables fans of the silver ball request if viable. Next best thing to playing real tables, great preservation. It takes skill, not just hitting flippers. Many table goals to achieve on each table, with tips. Some table goals are easy and some are very, very challenging. A game for all ages. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Been waiting for a good pinball sim my whole life I grew up playing Pinball Dreams/Fantasies/Illusions on the Amiga and nothing really hasBeen waiting for a good pinball sim my whole life I grew up playing Pinball Dreams/Fantasies/Illusions on the Amiga and nothing really has beaten them, until now. Ball physics are spot on and the tables are lovingly modelled with spectacular lighting reflections etc, I remember playing these at various arcades. Compared to the other PS4 offering of Zen Pinball, this just blows it out of the water. I'm not sure why this game isn't more popular! The only thing I'd ask to be improved is the strange disjointed menu system, the need to pass the controller for more than one player (really?), the lack of online multiplayer (leaderboards only at this stage). Otherwise this game is perfect. Expand
  6. Nel
    May 2, 2017
    5
    If you are used to play on these machines as a kid you are going to have a blast, however the content is very restricted and I would ratherIf you are used to play on these machines as a kid you are going to have a blast, however the content is very restricted and I would rather have seen a "full game" not a free to play version which makes it far more expensive than it should be, other than that the controls feel very responsive, and the graphics are what you can expect. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    4
    The Pinball Arcade recreates many classic and outstanding tables into the virtual world, and does a kind of okay job of it. Pretty muchThe Pinball Arcade recreates many classic and outstanding tables into the virtual world, and does a kind of okay job of it. Pretty much everything about this game is just okay. The physics are decent, with some weirdness and hiccups and such, the visuals are decent, nothing too outstanding. The problem with this game, however, is the amount of glitches it has. I have frequently had my game crash, or have had strange occurrences on tables. The only reason to be playing the Pinball Arcade is to be able to play those great tables without having to spend the money on the real things, and it's unfortunate that this seems to be the only option. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews