Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This downloadable pinball game features licensed tables from Williams Gottlieb, Bally, and Stern.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    100
    All in all, this is a fantastic version of the best video pinball game around. It looks absolutely gorgeous on the PS4, and the level of detail stands out to me on the tables played in a new and exciting way.
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    With a new lighting system and a better frame-rate, this is Pinball Arcade's best version yet. There are not many new things if you already have it on another platform, but it is arguably the best pinball game ever.
  3. A gorgeously produced pinball dream that comes close to besting the real thing. [February 2014, p81]
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    80
    The visual fidelity is a big improvement, though perhaps not a big enough leap to tempt people to upgrade from PS3, and it’s thoroughly enjoyable to play such realistic replications. Table by table, it is becoming the definitive, one stop shop for die hard pinball fans.
  5. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Pinball Arcade is a very good exclusive title for PS4 and at the same time the best pinball game we've seen for years. With 22 playfields (and 35 others to come) amongst the best, you've a huge content at your disposal. Furthermore, the Farsight game successfully retranscripts the sensations, visuals and noises of all those playfields of the past. Old-school.
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    79
    I hate it when I’m right. But games from Farsight can’t seem to show up without bugs or quirk. For example: Who had the idea to exclude worldwide leader boards?
  7. It's a pinball game, it's for a new generation, what more we can say?

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This game brought back great memories of playing pinball. Plus you only have to pay for it one time, not 50 cents every few minutes. I thinkThis game brought back great memories of playing pinball. Plus you only have to pay for it one time, not 50 cents every few minutes. I think the sound, color and themes are just a lot of fun. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This game is great if you like classic pinball in the old school arcades you'll like this game, its not for those who like the flash of sayThis game is great if you like classic pinball in the old school arcades you'll like this game, its not for those who like the flash of say Zen Pinball its more for the people who like REAL pinball tables me and my wife both have a blast playing this and trying to beat each others high scores. Again this is about a more realistic pinball experience vs what Zen Pinball gives you is all flash no substance.... All the pinball machines in this game are based on real life pinball machines. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Excellent pinball game with great gameplay. I've wanted many of these tables IRL but couldn't afford them (who can?) and am thrilled to haveExcellent pinball game with great gameplay. I've wanted many of these tables IRL but couldn't afford them (who can?) and am thrilled to have them in one place. Can't say enough great things about this game. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Been waiting for a good pinball sim my whole life I grew up playing Pinball Dreams/Fantasies/Illusions on the Amiga and nothing really hasBeen waiting for a good pinball sim my whole life I grew up playing Pinball Dreams/Fantasies/Illusions on the Amiga and nothing really has beaten them, until now. Ball physics are spot on and the tables are lovingly modelled with spectacular lighting reflections etc, I remember playing these at various arcades. Compared to the other PS4 offering of Zen Pinball, this just blows it out of the water. I'm not sure why this game isn't more popular! The only thing I'd ask to be improved is the strange disjointed menu system, the need to pass the controller for more than one player (really?), the lack of online multiplayer (leaderboards only at this stage). Otherwise this game is perfect. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    Good game with nice pinball mechanics. I haven't purchased the other pinball machines but the stock one is great. I probably play this gameGood game with nice pinball mechanics. I haven't purchased the other pinball machines but the stock one is great. I probably play this game once or twice a day, but not for long. I would say this is a pretty cool game! Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    The definitive version of Pinball Arcade in my view. Responsive controls (altho better controller customization would be great), beautifulThe definitive version of Pinball Arcade in my view. Responsive controls (altho better controller customization would be great), beautiful tables and challenging...challenges(?). Although there isn't a lot of PS4 players on here yet, I have the disc version, which includes 22 amazing tables, and leaderboards include users from all platforms, which can humble a girl pretty quickly... Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    4
    The Pinball Arcade recreates many classic and outstanding tables into the virtual world, and does a kind of okay job of it. Pretty muchThe Pinball Arcade recreates many classic and outstanding tables into the virtual world, and does a kind of okay job of it. Pretty much everything about this game is just okay. The physics are decent, with some weirdness and hiccups and such, the visuals are decent, nothing too outstanding. The problem with this game, however, is the amount of glitches it has. I have frequently had my game crash, or have had strange occurrences on tables. The only reason to be playing the Pinball Arcade is to be able to play those great tables without having to spend the money on the real things, and it's unfortunate that this seems to be the only option. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews