Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 588 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    90
    One of the best action-stealth titles in years and the first serious contender for the “2014 Game of the Year” contest.
  2. 81
    Despite some of Thief’s annoyances, the game is rich in detail and hard to put down.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    With sharper AI and more considered NPC behaviour, Thief could have been a masterpiece. There are true flashes of brilliance, and they’re not rare, but they’re almost always offset by something that breaks the immersion or otherwise shakes the foundations of the game world.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    It all feels like a brilliant framework held back by a few unsavoury elements. The hub-based world and other problems would’ve been less apparent if there was actually a decent narrative to prop the game up, but instead we’re left with a half-baked tale that feels shallow and dissatisfying by the time you reach the end. Still, there is still plenty to be happy about here, with a wealth of great gameplay flares and a strong aesthetic.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The return of the master thief Garrett is a mixed bag. Thief builds on its series proud heritage of tactile stealth, focusing on realism but loses some of the way to modern design trends. Thief has some unnecessary padding that smooth out the gameplay as well as some cinematic ambitions that do not reach all the way. Above all, it is plagued by qualitative valleys that appear to be a result of a stressed launch. Nevertheless, Thief gets a weak recommendation because the basic formula is still fun and somewhat unique.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It’s the game world’s attention to detail that makes Thief’s frequent immersion-shattering moments that much more jarring, from A.I. characters who zone out or repeat the same dialogue over and over (yes, guy on the street, you’ve mentioned your favourite whorehouse literally 20 times now) to the fact Garrett can pocket dozens of golden candelabras but can’t carry more than one empty bottle.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    40
    I had more fun making my way up to bed in the dark after playing Thief than I did at any point during its benighted trudge across The City.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 164
  2. Negative: 41 out of 164
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    So awesine, reminds me of Dishonored i love the stealth gameplay in this game thank you Square Enix * Eidos Montreal!!!! cant wait for a ThiefSo awesine, reminds me of Dishonored i love the stealth gameplay in this game thank you Square Enix * Eidos Montreal!!!! cant wait for a Thief 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    I originally rated this game a 4, and compared it to Godfather III. I may have been to hasty. Indeed, the first couple of missions wereI originally rated this game a 4, and compared it to Godfather III. I may have been to hasty. Indeed, the first couple of missions were clunky and did not showcase the game very well. And there are many problems with movement, such as the intermittent availability of the jump command, and periodic crashes, but still, I am now impressed by the vast detailed areas of the city that you can roam around in. I find myself playing for several hours a day, and that should speak for itself. I guess the trick is to keep playing longer than 2 hours- eventually you will discover it's charms. I still wish they used the old voice actor for Garrett. However, If you are like me, you are going to buy this despite the large amount of bad reviews. I now think it was worth it. BTW- unlike others on this post I think it is valid to compare any game of a series to it's previous titles. If they didn't want you to compare it to the previous titles they should have named it something different. While it breaks somewhat with the spirit of the prior 3 games, it is still worthy enough to call itself Thief. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    I have never played the original, but I dig the vibe of this game. If I hold back the urge to run around bashing every one in the head andI have never played the original, but I dig the vibe of this game. If I hold back the urge to run around bashing every one in the head and just play as a sneak, the AI is solid and the levels are challenging. I played it set on "hard". The makers seem to indicate that you can choose a play style. ie., Go nuts or sneak, and you will still have a solid game, like you can in Splinter Cell Blacklist. I disagree. I think this game is definitely designed for those who enjoy sneaking. If that is your thing, I think you'll enjoy it. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    It's a good game but the world and its stories are poorly realised meaning your time is mainly spent going through the motions. A little moreIt's a good game but the world and its stories are poorly realised meaning your time is mainly spent going through the motions. A little more thought on the story and side quests could have saved it from some nasty backlash from long time fans, but it's still worth your money for an alternative stealth-em-up till Metal Gear 5. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    A game that barely lives up to the expectations of a classic Thief fan, though as a difficult stealth game, a blast to play through.
    The
    A game that barely lives up to the expectations of a classic Thief fan, though as a difficult stealth game, a blast to play through.
    The voice acting of Thief is banal, and is most apparent with Garret's voice actor that does not convey emotion well, as does the rest of the cast.
    Characters are underutilized, especially Madam Zhao Zhao, who I was expecting to play and important role in the story, but only makes it for a couple of letters and cut scene in which she/he didn't even get to interact with Garret.
    The villains are laughably evil, aside from the Baron , who at least has a bit of characterization with his motives.

    Gameplay is extremely tense at times, but controller snapping frustrating, especially the very much out of place two final boss battles at the end which are almost impossible if you were to collect all loot without being detected.
    Levels are unoriginal most of the time, aside from the excellent Bank Heist mission, which has been taken out for a preorder bonus.
    Though the game is just good, it is very uneven and a clusterf**k. For every positive, there is a negative holding it back.
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    5
    This game looked meh, to begin with. The only reason brought it is because I am a PS4 owner and it is the only new game out at the moment. IThis game looked meh, to begin with. The only reason brought it is because I am a PS4 owner and it is the only new game out at the moment. I thought it would tide me over until Infamous second son. Well no its on ebay already. The game oozes with just average everything, game-play, story. So just be patient and get a game that is worth your time. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me toI've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Trailers