Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 544 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    90
    One of the best action-stealth titles in years and the first serious contender for the “2014 Game of the Year” contest.
  2. 81
    Despite some of Thief’s annoyances, the game is rich in detail and hard to put down.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    With sharper AI and more considered NPC behaviour, Thief could have been a masterpiece. There are true flashes of brilliance, and they’re not rare, but they’re almost always offset by something that breaks the immersion or otherwise shakes the foundations of the game world.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    It all feels like a brilliant framework held back by a few unsavoury elements. The hub-based world and other problems would’ve been less apparent if there was actually a decent narrative to prop the game up, but instead we’re left with a half-baked tale that feels shallow and dissatisfying by the time you reach the end. Still, there is still plenty to be happy about here, with a wealth of great gameplay flares and a strong aesthetic.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The return of the master thief Garrett is a mixed bag. Thief builds on its series proud heritage of tactile stealth, focusing on realism but loses some of the way to modern design trends. Thief has some unnecessary padding that smooth out the gameplay as well as some cinematic ambitions that do not reach all the way. Above all, it is plagued by qualitative valleys that appear to be a result of a stressed launch. Nevertheless, Thief gets a weak recommendation because the basic formula is still fun and somewhat unique.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It’s the game world’s attention to detail that makes Thief’s frequent immersion-shattering moments that much more jarring, from A.I. characters who zone out or repeat the same dialogue over and over (yes, guy on the street, you’ve mentioned your favourite whorehouse literally 20 times now) to the fact Garrett can pocket dozens of golden candelabras but can’t carry more than one empty bottle.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    40
    I had more fun making my way up to bed in the dark after playing Thief than I did at any point during its benighted trudge across The City.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 153
  2. Negative: 38 out of 153
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    So awesine, reminds me of Dishonored i love the stealth gameplay in this game thank you Square Enix * Eidos Montreal!!!! cant wait for a ThiefSo awesine, reminds me of Dishonored i love the stealth gameplay in this game thank you Square Enix * Eidos Montreal!!!! cant wait for a Thief 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    I originally rated this game a 4, and compared it to Godfather III. I may have been to hasty. Indeed, the first couple of missions wereI originally rated this game a 4, and compared it to Godfather III. I may have been to hasty. Indeed, the first couple of missions were clunky and did not showcase the game very well. And there are many problems with movement, such as the intermittent availability of the jump command, and periodic crashes, but still, I am now impressed by the vast detailed areas of the city that you can roam around in. I find myself playing for several hours a day, and that should speak for itself. I guess the trick is to keep playing longer than 2 hours- eventually you will discover it's charms. I still wish they used the old voice actor for Garrett. However, If you are like me, you are going to buy this despite the large amount of bad reviews. I now think it was worth it. BTW- unlike others on this post I think it is valid to compare any game of a series to it's previous titles. If they didn't want you to compare it to the previous titles they should have named it something different. While it breaks somewhat with the spirit of the prior 3 games, it is still worthy enough to call itself Thief. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    I have never played the original, but I dig the vibe of this game. If I hold back the urge to run around bashing every one in the head andI have never played the original, but I dig the vibe of this game. If I hold back the urge to run around bashing every one in the head and just play as a sneak, the AI is solid and the levels are challenging. I played it set on "hard". The makers seem to indicate that you can choose a play style. ie., Go nuts or sneak, and you will still have a solid game, like you can in Splinter Cell Blacklist. I disagree. I think this game is definitely designed for those who enjoy sneaking. If that is your thing, I think you'll enjoy it. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    I did enjoy this, technically an impressive game in some nice environments but maybe moreso as my first real taste of next gen dazzle!I did enjoy this, technically an impressive game in some nice environments but maybe moreso as my first real taste of next gen dazzle! ..however once the crappy ending arrived it dawned on me yes; stories in games are indeed now almost as important a feat as the gameplay and build. I am as caught between a 6 or 7 as most! Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    I was really looking forward to this game when it was announced. Now that I have gotten to play it I am really disappointed. The graphics areI was really looking forward to this game when it was announced. Now that I have gotten to play it I am really disappointed. The graphics are great but remind me of the early days of PS3 exclusives when all the titles seemed to be different shades of brown. This game seems to be have 50 shades of grey. The sound is so so and the story is horrible. What really broke immersion for me is the steal loot, to earn money, to then level up. You seem to have bottom less bag to hold the whole world in. But the world is huge and is very easy to get lost in. I only played about 10 hours before I realized I wasn't having fun. I stopped playing. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    At times this is an absolute mess, but others it's fantastic. This is a true stealth game, so do not go into this expecting anything else.At times this is an absolute mess, but others it's fantastic. This is a true stealth game, so do not go into this expecting anything else. Sneaking around corners / roof tops / guttering is heaps of fun, as is trying to get as much loot without being noticed. But there are times when it's a glitchy mess, I noticed frame rate drops to single digits when opening some windows, other times npc communications were talking over the top of a cinematic cut scene. Then there's the open world... What a confusing maze of alleys... Trying to find something only to run into a wall that you can't go around our through is hideously frustrating. Gameplay is great but fundamentally this feels glitchy, unfinished and st points unplayable. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me toI've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 153 User Reviews

Trailers