Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    90
    One of the best action-stealth titles in years and the first serious contender for the “2014 Game of the Year” contest.
  2. 81
    Despite some of Thief’s annoyances, the game is rich in detail and hard to put down.
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    80
    With sharper AI and more considered NPC behaviour, Thief could have been a masterpiece. There are true flashes of brilliance, and they’re not rare, but they’re almost always offset by something that breaks the immersion or otherwise shakes the foundations of the game world.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    It all feels like a brilliant framework held back by a few unsavoury elements. The hub-based world and other problems would’ve been less apparent if there was actually a decent narrative to prop the game up, but instead we’re left with a half-baked tale that feels shallow and dissatisfying by the time you reach the end. Still, there is still plenty to be happy about here, with a wealth of great gameplay flares and a strong aesthetic.
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The return of the master thief Garrett is a mixed bag. Thief builds on its series proud heritage of tactile stealth, focusing on realism but loses some of the way to modern design trends. Thief has some unnecessary padding that smooth out the gameplay as well as some cinematic ambitions that do not reach all the way. Above all, it is plagued by qualitative valleys that appear to be a result of a stressed launch. Nevertheless, Thief gets a weak recommendation because the basic formula is still fun and somewhat unique.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It’s the game world’s attention to detail that makes Thief’s frequent immersion-shattering moments that much more jarring, from A.I. characters who zone out or repeat the same dialogue over and over (yes, guy on the street, you’ve mentioned your favourite whorehouse literally 20 times now) to the fact Garrett can pocket dozens of golden candelabras but can’t carry more than one empty bottle.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    40
    I had more fun making my way up to bed in the dark after playing Thief than I did at any point during its benighted trudge across The City.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 144
  2. Negative: 35 out of 144
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    So awesine, reminds me of Dishonored i love the stealth gameplay in this game thank you Square Enix * Eidos Montreal!!!! cant wait for a Thief 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    Really fun game, I think a lot of people set their expectations far too high. While their are some issues, not being able to jump I find annoying, its still a very fun game and looks great on a decent PC. Dishonored fans will enjoy. I played the original and while there's been some changes it feels very much a Thief game to me. People need to take off their rose coloured glasses when remembering the original. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Really?? A 0, 1 for a score? I have started the game and it is really fun. I guess this is because I did not play the other games, but the game plays well, controls well. The only framerate issues that I could see were during some of the cutscenes and load times after being discovered could be improved but overall the developers did a great job with this game. Ignore the negative reviews and get this game! You won't be disappointed! Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    7
    Thief is entertaining enough for a play through but that's about it, I couldn't see myself going through it anymore than once. The game gives you the option to stay hidden but isn't absolutely necessary I usually went in clubs swinging but that's my style. Thief has a very odd closed off feeling like making you go through a random window to go to the next area. The story was entertaining enough to make me want to know what was next and that was enough to make me complete a play through. Expand
  5. May 24, 2014
    6
    Finishing the game was a chore, not because it wasn't fun but, because the story was boring. Usually for me the story is the most important part in a game but, at times like this I have to look past the story aspect of a game to really see what was good. The best part of this game was level design and gameplay. First off the level design in the game was phenomenal, at one point in the game had to stop and look at the beauty of the amount of detail, specifically the brothel level covered in tapestries, curtains and beautiful furniture. But even better was the gameplay, Thief has some of the best gameplay in a game in recent years. Stealth in this game can be intense and rewarding. The feeling you get after finishing a level all stealth is the best!

    That's all I can really say because I didn't even finish it because the long loading times and boring story turned me against it.
    Expand
  6. May 30, 2014
    5
    If I had to describe Thief in one sentence, that would be: "Well made, but boring"
    Thief is a good paced stealth game, but it is not fun to
    play, which saddened me a lot considering I was a fan of the original Thief. Nice value, with lots of quests and loot to find in The City, but a game must be fun to play, and honestly this game isn't. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 144 User Reviews