Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tomb Raider Scavenger Hunt Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  3. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    The visual upgrade might not be a reason to buy this again, but if you haven't played yet, you'll find an outstanding game that will please adventure fans.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    While not as "definitive" of a package as one might hope for $60, thanks to its markedly improved graphics and performance, Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is now the only way I’d want to experience Crystal Dynamics’ rebooting of gaming’s leading lady.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    Tomb Raider is a terrific game, and the Definitive Edition is a gorgeous looking version of it. It's the same game it was in 2013, though, with no further improvements justifying its "definitive" status.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 179
  1. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    after hesistating a long long time I finally bought this game since it was only €15 on the ps-store but I should have bought it way sooner.after hesistating a long long time I finally bought this game since it was only €15 on the ps-store but I should have bought it way sooner. I'm a huge fan of the Uncharted games and wasn't convinced this could be as good as those games but it actually is eventhough the game is a bit diffrent from Uncharted. The graphics are nice n sharp and the 60fps on ps4 really make the game fluid. The story isn't bad but it could be better and that's the only thing Uncharted does a better job at imho. I still give this game a 10 cause it looks good, plays verry verry nice and it's a great adventure game where exploration is verry enjoyable.
    I've played a lot of ps4 games since the launch and this is def in my top 3 after TLOU.
    Just buy this if you were hesitating and I'm sure you wont regret it
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played thisTomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Yep--this is the best version of the best game to ever sport the Tomb Raider name. It's really just a graphical update that increases theYep--this is the best version of the best game to ever sport the Tomb Raider name. It's really just a graphical update that increases the visual fidelity to the mid-level gaming-PC range. Is it a must-buy if you played it on the 360 or PS3? No--but it IS nice for those who, like myself, love the new direction that the reborn Lara Croft is heading in. Honestly, I want to see a truly open-world type thing with no QTEs and something a bit less linear. Oh, and NO frickin' pointless multiplayer.

    If you have no idea who Lara Croft or have yet to raid your first tomb, then this is the best place to start, boys and girls. But don't take my--or anyone's--word for it--go try it for yourself.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    A great game made better. Worth the extra cash if you've already played it? No, but that doesn't take away from how good it is. It justA great game made better. Worth the extra cash if you've already played it? No, but that doesn't take away from how good it is. It just means it isn't for you, so if you played previous versions giving it anything less than you did for the original (if you liked it) is just silly. Disregard the complaints of cash-in and all the zeroes people are giving it for that. If you haven't played it yet, get it and play it now. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2015
    8
    This game does a magnificent job of showing off the potential of what a PS4 could do. Outstanding graphics, addicting adventurous gameplay,This game does a magnificent job of showing off the potential of what a PS4 could do. Outstanding graphics, addicting adventurous gameplay, and RPG elements make this a PS4 title that will be remembered as one of the standout titles on this console. I think Tomb Raider veterans and rookies would both find this game enjoyable Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    I had already bought this game on xbox360,but i though i would give it a try on ps4 since not many games are out for ps4 yet. It content wasI had already bought this game on xbox360,but i though i would give it a try on ps4 since not many games are out for ps4 yet. It content was improved by a long shot, but i did not enjoy playing it again if only they added extra side quests or different content.

    Over all its a quite good start to next gen lineup

    Maki.
    Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2017
    0
    I hate to give this game such a bad review because I enjoyed it a lot... Up until I got Error CE-34878-0, my save got corrupted and I was veryI hate to give this game such a bad review because I enjoyed it a lot... Up until I got Error CE-34878-0, my save got corrupted and I was very close to the end. I hear that there are lot of people who have experienced this issue and I find it appalling that this still hasn't been fixed.

    If it wasn't for this I would have given this game a good score.
    Expand

See all 179 User Reviews