Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 541 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  3. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    The visual upgrade might not be a reason to buy this again, but if you haven't played yet, you'll find an outstanding game that will please adventure fans.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    While not as "definitive" of a package as one might hope for $60, thanks to its markedly improved graphics and performance, Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is now the only way I’d want to experience Crystal Dynamics’ rebooting of gaming’s leading lady.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    Tomb Raider is a terrific game, and the Definitive Edition is a gorgeous looking version of it. It's the same game it was in 2013, though, with no further improvements justifying its "definitive" status.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 101
  2. Negative: 17 out of 101
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is one of my favorite games of all time. It perfectly balances narrating the adventure with an emotional story and characters, challenges, discovery, upgrading, with the tension of the enemy encounters being at a enjoyable juxtaposition of the beauty you see and enjoy on the island paradise. I give this game a 10, but only because the game deserves it. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Never got the chance too look at the new Tomb Raider at the 'old-gen' consoles or PC. But -- hey! -- now I definitely do not see any possible reason to rant about "Full price?! Are devs are MAD?!?"

    I think that new TR definitely pays all the money I bought it with -- fast paced, interesting story, appealing characters and so on. Never was a fan of old Lara Croft series, but this -- this is a reboot very well done, sirs.

    Maybe, just maybe, if you already finished old gen version with 100% score there is nothing for you in this Definitive Edition. If not -- do not hesitate to give it a chance.
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    9
    This is definitely a great game that no fan of this genre should overlook. The story is pretty good, lasting me about 12-14 hours (yet to complete any extras such as tomb raiding the optional tombs) and I enjoyed every moment of it. The graphics are nothing less than stellar. Gameplay is quite like any other game of this genre like Uncharted for example and the AI is decent, though I am impressed by the amount of bombs/molotovs they are able to carry around. I haven't tried multiplayer mostly because I'm not subscribed to PS+ yet but I have heard that very few to no one are playing it so it will be the point deductor since it seems to be tacked on last minute, just my opinion.
    This game is worth the full price if you have yet to experience it on any previous platforms. But is it worth a repurchase, not really, you're pretty much paying a new game's price for better graphics.
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    1.the develpers said this was just a graphic upgrade from last year. No one would complain if GTA or Skyrim came to the new generations.

    2.This is the first time I have played it and I really like it. It is different from what I normally play, however I enjoyed it.
    Story-8/10
    Graphics-9/10
    game-play-8/10
    "smoothness"-9/10
    controls-9/10
    motion-7/10 (seemed rushed at some parts)

    games it resembles:
    Uncharted series (resembles..not like)
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    This a gritty, dark, fact-paced adventure that doesn't sugar coat the hopelessness of the situation Lara is in. With a story that is full of fluid and brutal combat, intense cut scenes and brilliant visuals you will feel almost as out of breath as Lara is by the end of the story.

    However, having no prior knowledge or experience with the previous games of the franchise i had no idea of the supernatural elements this game had, taking me completely by suprise i am not sure how i feel about it. I came into this game expecting a (somewhat) realistic adventure, but i can't argue with the source material can i? Despite a few frame rate issues this game ran smoothly on my PS4, i recommend this game to any and all PS4 owners.
    Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    the game is mediocre alright, I don't get it, instead of making an 'upscale' port why not just make a new game already? 60 bucks for a port? fan or not I think people would pass on this, I'm not paying just to see the difference in graphics. This game barely has any unlockables or rewarding achievements, I could finish in less than a week for a none gamer! I used to play Tomb Raider games for months lol, this game is so short it hardly worth your time, moreover your MONEY. Expand

See all 101 User Reviews