Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 32
  2. Negative: 23 out of 32
Buy On
  1. 60
    There's fun to be had in Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark, but it's a dialed-in action shooter game, which is a mistake since there was never a chance that this game would compete with the big budget games in the genre, such as Destiny, Call of Duty, or Titanfall.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 25, 2014
    55
    A hard sell even for die-hard Transformers fans, Rise of the Dark Spark brings nothing new to the table. [September 2014, p72]
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    55
    Being a robot that can transform into different shapes and use cartoony weapons to blow up other robots is fun, and maybe story is unnecessary for this kind of play.
  4. Jul 28, 2014
    50
    Although it feels like more than a mere movie tie-in, Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark still isn’t a good enough game to stand on its own.
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    50
    It’s not really good game or a really bad one, it stays somewhere in the middle.
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    50
    Some solid action can’t cover up the fact that Rise of the Dark Spark feels horribly rushed, with massive splotches of shoddy design and a poor plot evident from the opening cinematic to the end credits.
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    50
    Rise of the Dark Spark is a step back from Fall of Cybertron, and that’s an utter travesty.
  8. Jul 2, 2014
    50
    If Activision cares to know, fans are indeed hungry for a new Transformers game – just not one that shamelessly tries to make us trade our hard-earned cash for junk.
  9. Jul 1, 2014
    50
    While far from the worst Transformers game, Rise of the Dark Spark's interesting ideas are eclipsed by bland action and frustrating design.
  10. Jun 27, 2014
    49
    The bland campaign is a slog with uneven difficulty, while vehicle transformations and combat are largely unsatisfying. Without nailing that, you’ve got a bad Transfomers game.
  11. 45
    The absence of the practiced creative hands of previous Transformers developer, High Moon Studios, is keenly felt as Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark has sadly turned out to be both the weakest Transformers licensed title and the most uninspired third-person shooter in sometime.
  12. Jul 18, 2014
    45
    After the good chapters that have preceded this Dark Spark, we were expecting something more. What we find here is a chapter that falls short of all the fun, that amputees the online mode and co-op campaign.
  13. Jul 15, 2014
    45
    Want to race without a proper sense of speed? Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is your game. Feel like playing a game with washed-out graphics and severely disappointing sound effects? Well, you should definitely give Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark a try. Stuck with a craving for clumsy shooting mechanics with a taste of wasted potential? Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark comes highly recommended.
  14. Jul 9, 2014
    45
    Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is a dull, ugly looking and boring third-person shooter, with a confused plot and without a single passage worthy of being remembered. The online co-op slightly uplifts the situation, but other than that there is really very little to save.
  15. Jul 4, 2014
    45
    There are some positive features, but the negative things take over the whole experience creating a game much worse than its predecessor.
  16. Jul 4, 2014
    45
    A third person shooter without any distinctive features, some glitches and a really bad progression.
  17. Jul 1, 2014
    45
    If you're a die-hard fan of the Transformers film series, I would recommend picking up Rise of the Dark Spark when it's heavily discounted (like, under $10) with a group of friends just to play Escalation.
  18. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 26, 2014
    40
    Fleeting moments of fun and an improved Escalation mode aren't enough to save Spark from becoming yet another bland tie-in destined for the bargain bin base. [Sept 2014, p.106]
  19. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 25, 2014
    40
    If only there was a button to transform this game into a GOOD game. This is just a broken mix, designed to lure money out of your pockets. [Issue#244]
  20. Just stay away from it. This game will ruin your entire Transformers memory.
  21. Jul 28, 2014
    40
    Rise of the Dark Spark is a decent enough title, but its failing is that it changes too much. It’s nothing more than a shallow, poorly executed imitation of Fall of Cybertron.
  22. Jul 23, 2014
    40
    Transformers Rise of the Dark Spark is a movie tie-in that doesn’t have much in common with Michael Bays latest explosion, err I mean movie. Instead it’s a Gears of War styled shooter mainly set on Cybertron. Even though that’s not a bad thing at all, everything is half done at best and especially the graphics and story is downright terrible. Even so, it’s still somewhat entertaining for fans.
  23. Jul 21, 2014
    40
    The game is quite dull. It requires the gamers to do nothing, and it gives them nothing at all in return. This is another worthless riding on the movies' coat-tails as well as the usual money trap.
  24. Jul 11, 2014
    40
    Rise of the Dark Spark isn't completely hopeless. The shooting mechanic is alright, the weapons are creative and running around on Cybertron is relatively fun. Unfortunately everything wrapped around the main mechanic is a huge letdown, and the final product feels generic and without any distinguishing features.
  25. Jul 10, 2014
    40
    The storytelling is sloppy, the set-pieces are repetitive - and in some cases stolen from past games - while the visuals are dated. It's redeemed only by enjoyable third-person shooter action, which comes alive in co-op multiplayer when there's no story holding players back.
  26. Jul 3, 2014
    40
    Despite an enjoyable coop mode and some pretty cool weapons, Transfomers: Rise of the Dark Spark is one of the worst and uninspired Transformers' videogame to date.
  27. Jul 16, 2014
    35
    Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is, as the name already suggests, the return of the film game as a monstrosity. Where recent Transformers games excelled in quality, nothing of that is to be found here. The poor script, repetitive levels, boring gameplay and technical shortcomings make this game a disappoint even for the most seasoned Transformers fan.
  28. Play UK
    Aug 21, 2014
    30
    A resounding failure in most respects. [Issue#247, p.68]
  29. Aug 6, 2014
    30
    Rise Of The Dark Spark feels rushed: a mess of half-baked ideas and sloppy execution that’s put Transformers on the same track as the Spider-Man games, approaching the point of no return.
  30. Jul 12, 2014
    30
    As a next-gen title, Transformers Rise of the Dark Spark is an embarrassment
  31. Jun 30, 2014
    30
    It’s not always entirely drab – a bit of mindless blasting is always entertaining in short bursts – but much like the weedy Ultra Magnus, this is still a shadow of the title that it’s trying to replace.
  32. Jun 30, 2014
    30
    A terrible backwards step for Transformers games, and a movie tie-in so cynical it tries to cut corners by ripping off its own predecessors.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    All i can really say is wow, really???? Graphics wise the game is horrendous. The definition in the environment is so substandard i was tryingAll i can really say is wow, really???? Graphics wise the game is horrendous. The definition in the environment is so substandard i was trying to find ways to convince myself it is a game worth playing. Graphically, it is so unfinished i cried inside. I loved the Transformers cybertron games and was really looking forward to seeing what they would do, and disappointment is what i felt. Sure, you have 40 playable characters, plenty of chances to open up lockboxes to up your arsenal and transformer collection. I'm not going to point out the lack of pvp multiplayer that had been available in previous titles. The content and storyline isn't the issue here at all. I was looking forward to ps4 graphic quality, and was handed a ps2 game at best. Handling and control while in vehicle mode is laughable. It reminds me of those old television shows where there is a vehicle and a big screen in the background. A 7 is being GENEROUS.Only because i am a gen1 transformers fan. Finding the positives, it's a transformers game, unlocking all content, and leveling will provide plenty of gametime. There are plenty of weapons to choose from, and a "build your own loadout feature' in escalation mode. As i stated before, i was forcing myself to find the positives within this one, and that isn't a good thing.... Full Review »
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    My son and I started playing TRotDS for the PS4 today. I must say that our fears have been put to rest. The game is more of the same but IMy son and I started playing TRotDS for the PS4 today. I must say that our fears have been put to rest. The game is more of the same but I am so happy about that. Edge of Reality didn't ruin what Highmoon Studios created. This is reminiscent of what WB Montreal did for Batman with Arkham Origins. They took what Rocksteady created and made a great 3rd game. Edge of Reality needs to be commended for this great effort.

    You get to be different characters in the SP than you did in the previous games. The graphics are also better as the character models are more HD with better textures and shinier than WoC/FoC. The story is great so far and the voice work is fantastic. Going to play some Vita Remote Play later tonight as the options show the controls for VRP.

    There are many unlocks as well in the form of boxes. For example, Bronze Box or Iron Box that you unlock from the Pause Menu. I have been unlocking items and power ups through challenges like crazy. For instance, challenge Roach Motel for killing a certain number of Insecticons! It looks like I am unlocking MP characters by completing the SP challenges which is awesome! I haven't played MP or Escalation yet, but will do that after I beat the SP. I am loving that Escalation gives you the ability to create turrets!

    All in all I am having a lot of fun with the game. The PS4 version controls great and has great graphics and sound. I couldn't be happier. I hope this sells well so we get another Transformers game. So far I haven't given the game a 10 because it is very familiar. I would have liked some new weapons as the weapons are exactly the same as WoC/FoC so I docked the game a point for this fact. All though any game with the Combaticons should get a 10! :)
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    This game is GREAT! If you would give it a chance on it's own, instead of comparing it to past games all the time the world would be a greaterThis game is GREAT! If you would give it a chance on it's own, instead of comparing it to past games all the time the world would be a greater place. I am an adult gamer. I've played games most of my life without multiplayer. The co-op isn't bad at all. If you want a death match and have people cheat, camp, and shoot you at respawn, then go play call of duty! Full Review »