Transistor PlayStation 4

Transistor Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 552 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Transistor is a science-fiction-themed action role-playing game set in a futuristic city where you will take on the role of a young woman who gains control of an extraordinary weapon of unknown origin after a mysterious group of assailants nearly kills her with it.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    100
    Anyone who loved Bastion is going to adore Transistor. The storyline is far more compelling and the combat feels like a natural extension of it. Transistor gives you faster and slower-paced ways to play, and that means it’s going to have a broader appeal.
  2. May 20, 2014
    90
    Every once in a while, a game comes along that just feels special and Transistor is one of those games.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    90
    Transistor is an atmospheric and action-packed sci-fi RPG with excellent combat mechanics and deep customization options. The top-notch audiovisuals are complemented with a gripping storyline. Overall, Transistor is an excellent role-playing adventure. I sincerely hope, that other game companies are smart enough to copy the smartest ideas from this indie pearl. [Aug 2014]
  4. Transistor'a a very beautiful game which has got perfect music and an incredible and different world. If you have played Bastion before, you'll love this game.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    80
    A unique creative vision that's not to be missed. [July 2014, p.82]
  6. May 20, 2014
    80
    Bastion certainly wasn’t a fluke. Transistor cements Supergiant Games as one of the sharpest, most stylish, and unique small developers. Though some of its flourishes aren’t quite as fresh the second time around, Transistor speaks with a unique creative identity, mostly successfully refreshes solid RPG mechanics, and tells a poignant story worth experiencing.
  7. May 20, 2014
    50
    In comparison to Bastion, Transistor feels rigid. As its own game, it tells a tightly controlled story with an experimental battle system. While the combat works, it contradicts the idea of thoughtful approach with gameplay that threatens to undermine anything over basic combinations.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 90
  2. Negative: 6 out of 90
  1. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Short review: It's cheap and worth your time, go buy it.
    Longer review: This game is both ear- and eyecandy. As a lot of other users has
    Short review: It's cheap and worth your time, go buy it.
    Longer review: This game is both ear- and eyecandy. As a lot of other users has told, the soundtrack is simply fantastic, but the game has an amazing art style too!

    But I feel, that one of the most important features in this game is that it's fun. Like a game should be, it tells a story with you looking at something beautiful, hearing something beautiful and having fun on the same time. It also has a kind of strategic gameplay, so you can't sleep while playing it!
    10/10 I'm in love with this game.
    Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    It's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat systemIt's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat system allows the user to get used to the strategy before running head long in to complicated battles- a nice addition. The story is intense and builds slowly over time- there is so much to discover in Cloudbank that I know I will be learning things in the game for weeks to come! It is totally the spiritual successor to Bastion, but I like it so much more. Great job Supergiant! Collapse
  3. Nov 5, 2015
    9
    Еще одна потрясающая игра от Supergiant Games. Начиная от атмосферы и геймплея, заканчивая саундтреком.Еще одна потрясающая игра от Supergiant Games. Начиная от атмосферы и геймплея, заканчивая саундтреком.
  4. May 21, 2014
    9
    I was worried going into this game at 20$ for 6 hours, but my fears were unfounded. Yes, it's 6 hours if you rush through without playing theI was worried going into this game at 20$ for 6 hours, but my fears were unfounded. Yes, it's 6 hours if you rush through without playing the optional test courses or exploring the city or your ability tree in detail, but there's also a new game plus playthrough and I found the main game with all extras to be about 9 hours with 17 in total for a new game plus included. What a beautiful and original game it was too.
    A suave jazz vibe with great voice acting through my dualshock speaker as the lightbar lit to each word... it was an awesome experience I recommend to any one looking for a change of pace in their gaming landscape for a week or two. The music and voice acting is top notch and production values are sky high. Sleek is the one word I would use to describe the whole package.
    If you enjoyed Bation you will like this game, but this game is a little deeper and asks more from you in the best ways. What I can say most of all, is that it will stick with you. I only wish there were a real life poll for our forecast.
    Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    If you like turn-based RPG this is a must-play.

    It has beautiful graphics, and incredible OST and the battle mechanics are amazing. There's
    If you like turn-based RPG this is a must-play.

    It has beautiful graphics, and incredible OST and the battle mechanics are amazing. There's a lot of skill customization and you'll lose access to some skills temporarily, forcing you to try out different setups. It also has a game+ mode, so there's some replay value there.

    The downside of this game is the story, it's kind of boring and you'll probably skip dialogues, etc. after an hour or so.
    Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Overall, I think the game is astoundingly beautiful. Not just the visuals, but the entire composition - most notably the sound design whichOverall, I think the game is astoundingly beautiful. Not just the visuals, but the entire composition - most notably the sound design which allows you to interact with the soundtrack by adding the protagonists humming (always in tune to the current background song) at will.

    But, to get this out of the way, I am not big fan of the hack-and-slash RPG and this is probably the first RPG this decade I actually bought for myself (not including stuff that came free with PS+ or stuff my flatmates bought and I played). This game did not break these genre boundaries to a degree where I could just forget about everything I dislike about the genre but it came very close - especially in the early stages of the game where I was occupied with marveling at the audio-visual design. But especially as the game progresses the novelty of the design decreases and the game quickly becomes a progress-to-next-fight-scene-a-thon.

    But, to its credit, Transistor's battle system is really quite elegant, sort of reminiscent of Fallout 2. Aside from the standard hack-and-slash most of the combat revolves around a turn based attack planning which allows to string together a wide variety of attacks with various combo, backstab and specials modifiers to maximize damage. Especially in conjunction with a very nice upgrade and skill system it does keep the boredom at bay for quite some time. But especially towards the end it does become somewhat tiresome as the game starts throwing more and more enemies at you.

    One more quick word on the upgrade system: It is, like many other things about the game, very elegant. While you can only have four active attacks you will collect multiple possible abilities with XP. Each of these collected abilities can be used as either an active attack, an upgrade to a specific active attack (enabling specific bonuses) or an overall boost (enabling global bonuses). This allows for an extremely flexible skill system which I had great fun experimenting with throughout the game. In addition to upgrades you also earn limiters which allow you to purposefully make the game harder earning you even more XP which I thought was a nice take on allowing for difficulty preferences.

    However, the game does have some shortcomings. As I've mentioned it becomes a bit tedious towards the end where it starts to become a run from battle to battle. While there are a lot of story elements scattered throughout the world (and a large portion which only become visible as you experiment with your skill combinations) I found the story to be somewhat nonsensical in an over-the-top anime-like kind of way.

    So, my basic recommendation is: buy the game if you're into great aesthetic experiences. I imagine if you don't enjoy games for their art-style and design this game will quickly become tedious and unnerving for you. But, for someone who can enjoy games for their style I can only recommend this game even if, like me, you have not into RPGs.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2015
    0
    I was really disappointed by this game. I played Bastion because it was on sale, and fell so deeply in love with is that I bought TransistorI was really disappointed by this game. I played Bastion because it was on sale, and fell so deeply in love with is that I bought Transistor at full price even though Im flat broke just because I had so much faith in Super Giant Games. But the two games couldnt be more different. Transistor just doesnt have that exciting feel to it that Bastion had. I found myself in agony wishing the 1000th battle would be over already. A feeling I never once felt during their last game. Theres just to much of the same old thing over and over again. And the combat system is interesting in theory, but is terrible in practice. Freezing time is cool, until its over. For people who are fans of the combat system, please sit down and think about this: The process you (pretty much) have to go through to defeat enemies results in you being completely vulnerable for what seems like an eternity in a field of enemies that are faster than you can run away from. The only options you have to defend yourself at this point are A. Jaunt(), which really cripples you if you have to give it a whole attack slot for the entire game. B. One solitary attack that you can use while recharging if you attach Jaunt to it (which of course often means that attack will be the first one you lose through overload) or C. have a dog with you. Thats it. Doing the thing I basically couldnt win without, the main aspect of the combat system, made me feel like I was being punished. There are many video games that will, for example, give you a powerful machine gun that will over heat and be unusable for a bit if you use it too long in one go. But theres a way to avoid it. always. But theres no way to avoid it in Transistor. The combat system is terrible. The only thing worse than that was losing your attacks. Really? They probably picked the single worst punishment for dying in the history of video games: you get to keep fighting, but were taking your best weapon. And even if you win, youre not getting it back for a long while. I would rather go back to my last save point every time I died. That would have been much less frustrating. And again, maybe this would have been better if they used it better. But with the way the time stop system is set up, you can only win by exposing yourself to long periods of defenselessness, and theres no way to restore health other than some terrible health regenerating abilities. So by doing what the game wants you to do, you will inevitably lose your best weapon, and not even have it for the next battle either. And the battles just got so repetitive and boring. Stop time, run behind, use crash, then spam your strongest thing. then run and take as little damage as you can in the recharge period. Repeat. They added nothing really new. New functions maybe. Although it seemed like they actually came up with the functions in the order you receive them in-game, because they ideas kept becoming less and less creative as it wore on and on. Ugh. In Bastion, almost every level had something totally new. A new enemy that did something no enemy before it had done. A new totally unique weapon that was tailored to that levels challenges. But no. Transistor was the same old cybernetic city that then became even more boring whitewashed cybernetic city. The story was nonexistent. I get being subtle, and I love when games are like that. But on one hand, theres dark souls, where the main aspect of the game is the challenge, and the story is completely inconsequential. If you dont want to go out of your way to find it, no big deal. Then theres transistor. A game that is clearly trying so hard to get me engrossed in the games story and become emotionally attached to the characters, and yet refuses to tell me anything about them. Its infuriating. Bastion was somewhat similar, but it wasnt as bad. Its like between making Bastion and Transistor, SuperGiant Games quite literally got a serious allergy to telling the player anything directly whatsoever. And Bastion was simpler. There was a great disaster. the world is falling apart. we need to gather stuff to power this safe haven so we can be safe/fix this. Did I know everything? No. Did I know enough? Yes. In Transistor there was not one point where I had any idea what was happening. They threw around the word Carmanata every 3 seconds without ever telling me what that meant. Were they a radical group? A group of higherups gone rouge? Did two of the four final bosses really kill themselves before I got to them? Why is the city turning white? is there normally giant bone whale beasts flying around? I dont know enough about this universe to be surprised by that. Why could Red just fix everything so easily at the end? Why didnt she try that earlier? Why were they kidnapping famous people? that was never explained? Not to mention the music was awful. Probably one memorable track in this game. I know Bastions track was hard to live up to but come on. Also Royces voice made me want to kill myself. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.