Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 402 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Transistor is a science-fiction-themed action role-playing game set in a futuristic city where you will take on the role of a young woman who gains control of an extraordinary weapon of unknown origin after a mysterious group of assailants nearly kills her with it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    100
    Anyone who loved Bastion is going to adore Transistor. The storyline is far more compelling and the combat feels like a natural extension of it. Transistor gives you faster and slower-paced ways to play, and that means it’s going to have a broader appeal.
  2. May 20, 2014
    90
    Every once in a while, a game comes along that just feels special and Transistor is one of those games.
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    90
    Transistor is an atmospheric and action-packed sci-fi RPG with excellent combat mechanics and deep customization options. The top-notch audiovisuals are complemented with a gripping storyline. Overall, Transistor is an excellent role-playing adventure. I sincerely hope, that other game companies are smart enough to copy the smartest ideas from this indie pearl. [Aug 2014]
  4. Transistor'a a very beautiful game which has got perfect music and an incredible and different world. If you have played Bastion before, you'll love this game.
  5. A unique creative vision that's not to be missed. [July 2014, p.82]
  6. May 20, 2014
    80
    Bastion certainly wasn’t a fluke. Transistor cements Supergiant Games as one of the sharpest, most stylish, and unique small developers. Though some of its flourishes aren’t quite as fresh the second time around, Transistor speaks with a unique creative identity, mostly successfully refreshes solid RPG mechanics, and tells a poignant story worth experiencing.
  7. May 20, 2014
    50
    In comparison to Bastion, Transistor feels rigid. As its own game, it tells a tightly controlled story with an experimental battle system. While the combat works, it contradicts the idea of thoughtful approach with gameplay that threatens to undermine anything over basic combinations.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 6 out of 68
  1. May 22, 2014
    10
    I craved for an indie game which could satisfy my needs. I waited and waited for one that would prove to be fun, beautiful and gripping.I craved for an indie game which could satisfy my needs. I waited and waited for one that would prove to be fun, beautiful and gripping. Transistor is all this and more. Following the story of a woman who loses her voice and a man who's soul is trapped in a large, blade-like weapon, Transistor is an interesting and stunningly gorgeous game. In fact, since there's simply so much to say about this game, I have divided the main positives of Transistor which make it stand out in the sections below:

    Visuals- Indie games have proved their capabilities graphically. Whilst they may not be extremely realistic or immersive, games such as Child of light and Transistor show gamers how different art styles can evoke different emotions from gamers. The bright colors in the environments I explored as well as the unique design of buildings, objects and enemies had me loving every second of Transistor. As though an artist had painted a beautiful strip of drawings and made it come to life in the form of a game, Transistors visuals shine brightly for their creativity and colors. There were moments where the creepy, dark areas had me wondering what was to come next and forced me to be extra careful of sneaky enemies. On the other hand, rooms with waterfalls of hues exploding around my eyes had me mesmerized and absolutely enthralled. In many ways, transistors visuals are a gift to players.

    Gameplay- Gameplay in transistor is not too complex nor is it game changing. However, it works brilliantly with the idea of the game. The standard rug elements combine extremely well with the variety of skills and attributes unlock able. Players can explore different ways in which to attack enemies, linking moves with magic and different actions. In truth, transistors gameplay can be summed up in one word: different, never before has a game provided me with as many difficult choices and options before yet doing this so simply. There's also a special mode which the game encourages player to engage in where time can be frozen in order to plan and chain out the next few actions and moves of your character, restricted by a large gauge of power.

    Presentation- Transistor is presented to players on a silver platter. With beautiful visuals and gameplay, what more could we expect? What more could we ask? Whether we want it or not, Transistor is giving it to us, Even the finest details are complimented greatly by the amount of effort put into every phase of the game. Menus, environments, special areas, characters, enemies, bosses. Each one is different and diverse in a special way. This, in turn, makes the game special and a joy to play.

    Soundtrack- Not much can be said for Transistors sound track except that it is phenomenal. If anything, one should buy this game just for the music.

    Negatives:

    Story- Transistors story was interesting and great... When I understood it. The plot was complicated and confusing, there was no explanation given to players as to the backstory of the game or it's characters. Players must explore and find all of this out for themselves. This is great for people willing to actually spend large amounts of time digging into the game. However, for people looking for a fun 14.99 ride without too much attention being exerted on simple details, Transistor may not be for you.

    Environments- The environments are one of the best parts of the game when they're not blocking the view of the player or trying to DO TOO MUCH. I enjoyed the simpler and easier to explore areas rather than the ones which had excess detail and unnecessary landscapes. An alteration between these types of areas would have been far more enjoyable, although I would be lying if I said I did not enjoy my time in the world of Transistor.

    For me, this game is a 10.
    For others, depending on their patience, care and ideas towards indie games, this may not appeal as much. Still transistor is one of the best games I have played on nextgen and I enjoyed every moment of it. With all of this and more for just 14.99, Transistor is worth your cash. All of it...
    Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    It's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat systemIt's a beautiful game with a haunting soundtrack- I could listen to the soundtrack alone for hours. I found the turn based combat system allows the user to get used to the strategy before running head long in to complicated battles- a nice addition. The story is intense and builds slowly over time- there is so much to discover in Cloudbank that I know I will be learning things in the game for weeks to come! It is totally the spiritual successor to Bastion, but I like it so much more. Great job Supergiant! Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2015
    9
    A truly engrossing game that should not be missed. Great graphics and haunting music that set the scene for captivating game and story. TheA truly engrossing game that should not be missed. Great graphics and haunting music that set the scene for captivating game and story. The gameplay is solid with many weapon combinations at your disposal.

    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. It is games like this that make gaming enjoyable and worthwhile.

    A great RPG by any standard. Jump in to the transistor world.
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2014
    9
    I was worried going into this game at 20$ for 6 hours, but my fears were unfounded. Yes, it's 6 hours if you rush through without playing theI was worried going into this game at 20$ for 6 hours, but my fears were unfounded. Yes, it's 6 hours if you rush through without playing the optional test courses or exploring the city or your ability tree in detail, but there's also a new game plus playthrough and I found the main game with all extras to be about 9 hours with 17 in total for a new game plus included. What a beautiful and original game it was too.
    A suave jazz vibe with great voice acting through my dualshock speaker as the lightbar lit to each word... it was an awesome experience I recommend to any one looking for a change of pace in their gaming landscape for a week or two. The music and voice acting is top notch and production values are sky high. Sleek is the one word I would use to describe the whole package.
    If you enjoyed Bation you will like this game, but this game is a little deeper and asks more from you in the best ways. What I can say most of all, is that it will stick with you. I only wish there were a real life poll for our forecast.
    Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2015
    8
    Nice little game. Well made. Stable. No bug.
    Great and innovative game mechanics for the power systems, its mixing and levelling. The fact
    Nice little game. Well made. Stable. No bug.
    Great and innovative game mechanics for the power systems, its mixing and levelling. The fact that it breaks once in a while (part of the gameplay) make it even more challenging and force the player to re-balance / re-attribute his powers. Very nice.
    Good storytelling.
    Interesting gameplay also for combat. A mix between real time and delayed strategy.
    Slightly too much voice over for anything and everything (minor point).
    I obtained this game via the monthly free Playstation Plus game: great catch. Thanks.
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    I found myself enjoying Transistor, but also feeling confused about the story.

    When you first get introduced to Cloudbank, immediately you
    I found myself enjoying Transistor, but also feeling confused about the story.

    When you first get introduced to Cloudbank, immediately you can see the beautiful hand-drawn buildings and Red, herself. You are greeted by a mysterious voice, belonging to a dead person who has been stabbed with the 'Transistor'.

    At first the gameplay may seem really complex, but once you get the hang of things and know how to use the Turn(), it becomes more easier, but also more harder because as you progress, the enemies get harder. You will need to plan out your attacks and make strategies.

    The music of Transistor is so amazing that it is a must that you listen to the whole OST. Ashley Barrett's vocals are haunting, but so beautiful at the same time that you get lost while playing into the music. It's just that amazing.

    The story is Transistor's weak spot. While it is interesting, sometimes you just don't know a lot of something and become confused at parts. It almost feels like Supergiant took a fraction of the story and released the final product. The ending is great, but the twist is sort of expected.

    Overall, Transistor is a great and beautiful game and while not a must-buy, it is a nice experience to have for $20.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2015
    0
    I was really disappointed by this game. I played Bastion because it was on sale, and fell so deeply in love with is that I bought TransistorI was really disappointed by this game. I played Bastion because it was on sale, and fell so deeply in love with is that I bought Transistor at full price even though Im flat broke just because I had so much faith in Super Giant Games. But the two games couldnt be more different. Transistor just doesnt have that exciting feel to it that Bastion had. I found myself in agony wishing the 1000th battle would be over already. A feeling I never once felt during their last game. Theres just to much of the same old thing over and over again. And the combat system is interesting in theory, but is terrible in practice. Freezing time is cool, until its over. For people who are fans of the combat system, please sit down and think about this: The process you (pretty much) have to go through to defeat enemies results in you being completely vulnerable for what seems like an eternity in a field of enemies that are faster than you can run away from. The only options you have to defend yourself at this point are A. Jaunt(), which really cripples you if you have to give it a whole attack slot for the entire game. B. One solitary attack that you can use while recharging if you attach Jaunt to it (which of course often means that attack will be the first one you lose through overload) or C. have a dog with you. Thats it. Doing the thing I basically couldnt win without, the main aspect of the combat system, made me feel like I was being punished. There are many video games that will, for example, give you a powerful machine gun that will over heat and be unusable for a bit if you use it too long in one go. But theres a way to avoid it. always. But theres no way to avoid it in Transistor. The combat system is terrible. The only thing worse than that was losing your attacks. Really? They probably picked the single worst punishment for dying in the history of video games: you get to keep fighting, but were taking your best weapon. And even if you win, youre not getting it back for a long while. I would rather go back to my last save point every time I died. That would have been much less frustrating. And again, maybe this would have been better if they used it better. But with the way the time stop system is set up, you can only win by exposing yourself to long periods of defenselessness, and theres no way to restore health other than some terrible health regenerating abilities. So by doing what the game wants you to do, you will inevitably lose your best weapon, and not even have it for the next battle either. And the battles just got so repetitive and boring. Stop time, run behind, use crash, then spam your strongest thing. then run and take as little damage as you can in the recharge period. Repeat. They added nothing really new. New functions maybe. Although it seemed like they actually came up with the functions in the order you receive them in-game, because they ideas kept becoming less and less creative as it wore on and on. Ugh. In Bastion, almost every level had something totally new. A new enemy that did something no enemy before it had done. A new totally unique weapon that was tailored to that levels challenges. But no. Transistor was the same old cybernetic city that then became even more boring whitewashed cybernetic city. The story was nonexistent. I get being subtle, and I love when games are like that. But on one hand, theres dark souls, where the main aspect of the game is the challenge, and the story is completely inconsequential. If you dont want to go out of your way to find it, no big deal. Then theres transistor. A game that is clearly trying so hard to get me engrossed in the games story and become emotionally attached to the characters, and yet refuses to tell me anything about them. Its infuriating. Bastion was somewhat similar, but it wasnt as bad. Its like between making Bastion and Transistor, SuperGiant Games quite literally got a serious allergy to telling the player anything directly whatsoever. And Bastion was simpler. There was a great disaster. the world is falling apart. we need to gather stuff to power this safe haven so we can be safe/fix this. Did I know everything? No. Did I know enough? Yes. In Transistor there was not one point where I had any idea what was happening. They threw around the word Carmanata every 3 seconds without ever telling me what that meant. Were they a radical group? A group of higherups gone rouge? Did two of the four final bosses really kill themselves before I got to them? Why is the city turning white? is there normally giant bone whale beasts flying around? I dont know enough about this universe to be surprised by that. Why could Red just fix everything so easily at the end? Why didnt she try that earlier? Why were they kidnapping famous people? that was never explained? Not to mention the music was awful. Probably one memorable track in this game. I know Bastions track was hard to live up to but come on. Also Royces voice made me want to kill myself. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.