Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trine 2 is a sidescrolling game of action, puzzles and platforming where you play as one of Three Heroes who make their way through dangers untold in a fantastical fairytale world. Join Amadeus the Wizard, Pontius the Knight and Zoya the Thief in their adventure full of friendship, magic andTrine 2 is a sidescrolling game of action, puzzles and platforming where you play as one of Three Heroes who make their way through dangers untold in a fantastical fairytale world. Join Amadeus the Wizard, Pontius the Knight and Zoya the Thief in their adventure full of friendship, magic and betrayal. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    92
    The PS4 version touts some nice presentation boosts while maintaining the excellent gameplay that you would expect from Trine 2. If you don't currently on Trine 2, this version is a great one to get.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    90
    Trine 2: Complete Story is still a brilliantly charming game, and the PS4 version is the definitive iteration by some distance, but it’s hard to shake the feeling that Frozenbyte need to move on now and work on number 3 – or something new altogether.
  3. 90
    Trine 2: Complete Story is a grand embellishment of one of the most charming and accomplished adventure platformers in recent years. Bolstered by a wealth of additional content, multiplayer modes and the gorgeous 1080p/60 fps veneer that PlayStation 4 allows, this should be the next game to find a home on your PlayStation 4.
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    80
    There’s a strong variety of unique puzzles, and with the gorgeous world that can be taken-in, Trine 2 ends up being a luscious adventure. If you haven’t had the chance to pick it up on the many platforms it has been released on, then now is the best time.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    Overall, Trine 2: The Complete Story is a solid puzzle platform game which offers stunning vistas and co op play to boot.
  6. Minor control updates and all the DLC included. Looks gorgeous, still plays great. [February 2014, p83]
  7. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Even on PS4 Trine 2 shines: this complete edition is a great bargain for platform lovers.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Wow. Just wow. I downloaded this for free two nights ago on my PS4 as part of June's free PS Plus games, having never even heard of TrineWow. Just wow. I downloaded this for free two nights ago on my PS4 as part of June's free PS Plus games, having never even heard of Trine before. It looked interesting so I figured that I would give it a try. In my 30+ years of gaming, this is hands down the most beautifully stunning game that I have ever seen. The lighting and visuals are absolutely breathtaking. It looks like you are looking at some kind of wonderful live painting. The colors are so unique and vivid that it just comes to life off of your screen. And the amount of sheer detail in these environments is just mindblowing. I am constantly stopping just to look around and try to see all that there is to see. Even though it's a 2d side scroller, it must be rendered in 3d. The depth of the backgrounds is incredible and there is constantly something going on in the background at all times. I found myself always wanting to journey INTO the scenes, instead of just ACROSS the scenes because of the amount of depth and detail in the background. You honestly cannot see everything because there is just too much. My wife, who cares 0.0% about video games, was sitting in the room with me last night while I was playing. Now she has seen bits and pieces of every game that I have played in the past 10 years just from walking through the room while I have been playing and glancing at the screen. But she has never stopped to look at a game ever. Last night she was like "Oh my god, what is this game? It's absolutely beautiful!" And I have not even touched on the gameplay yet which is addictively fun. The character models look amazing, the physics are top notch, and the music draws you right into it's fantasy world. If you are even remotely considering this game, do not wait for one more second... get Trine right now. I cannot wait to get home tonight to play it again. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I loved this game! Great environments, cool characters, platforming, leveling and cool enemies. I really did enjoy this game alot! If you likeI loved this game! Great environments, cool characters, platforming, leveling and cool enemies. I really did enjoy this game alot! If you like puzzle/platformers then buy this! Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    A 10/10 score is virtually impossible really, but Trine 2 on the PS4 is so good that a 9 is simply not enough!

    Without writing a huge
    A 10/10 score is virtually impossible really, but Trine 2 on the PS4 is so good that a 9 is simply not enough!

    Without writing a huge review, here are the simple facts:

    Beautiful graphics - if you have a good 3D TV then Trine 2 on PS4 is the best 3D experience to date. I've had the fancy 3D Vision on my PC and Just Cause 2 and Metro 2033 really impressed me. Trine 2 in 3D on PS4 surpasses it. Truly amazing.

    Sublime game play - switching between characters is easy and fluid. Each have their own unique abilities to get you through the picturesque levels. Nice little puzzle elements, simple enough combat, just fun.

    The audio isn't great, but I'm not going to remove points because of it. It's nicely adequate.

    The price makes Trine 2 a bargain. I'd happily pay £30. In fact, I've enjoyed it far more than games that have cost me £50.

    Get it.

    Now.
    Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I actually don't like playing puzzle games. But, Trine 2 is completely different of what i played. Starting from the nice visuals and sound,I actually don't like playing puzzle games. But, Trine 2 is completely different of what i played. Starting from the nice visuals and sound, makes the game more attractive and fun. The gameplay is awesome, you manage 3 type of classes, which each one has a different role by doing the puzzles, but everyone can manage a hard situation by attacking enemies or using objects around to throw them to the enemies.

    The best way to play this is with friends. On the PS4, it's one of the best games that have local coop up to 3 persons. There aren't many local multiplayer game on the PS4 and Trine 2 is a great choice!
    Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    This looks absolutely awesome in 3D on my 60 inch plasma, if you wanna show off your ps4 ,and have a 3D tv, this is the freaking game. theThis looks absolutely awesome in 3D on my 60 inch plasma, if you wanna show off your ps4 ,and have a 3D tv, this is the freaking game. the game itself is cool and all that, I just wanted to let everyone know this is in 3D , and looks unbelievable. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    Available as a free game for PlayStation Plus subscribers a few months back Trine 2 is a fun, and very nice looking, little puzzle platformerAvailable as a free game for PlayStation Plus subscribers a few months back Trine 2 is a fun, and very nice looking, little puzzle platformer that can be played single player or with up to two friends. With three different characters to play as (a mage, a knight and an acrobatic thief) that can be switched between at any point the puzzles often have multiple solutions and, thanks to the solid controls, the platforming is challenging without ever becoming frustrating.

    By the end of the game things do start to become a little repetitive but Trine 2 is well worth picking up if you have a friend or family member to play alongside.
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Boring..I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it.................... Expand

See all 27 User Reviews