Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    87
    The Ground Forces expansion makes War Thunder even bigger than it was already, an MMO F2P that lets you choose the war you want: simulation or arcade, air or ground, challenging or relaxing, competitive or cooperative, free or with fee, PC or PS4.
  2. 85
    War Thunder is a gorgeous-looking and extremely competent flight combat game, though the lack of some of the PC version's game modes means it has yet to reach its full potential.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    85
    Thanks to a wider variety of gameplay and game situations, War Thunder won the scepter of the best free-to-play in the skies of World War II.
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    82
    War Thunder surprised me. I am not very good at it, but I still have a lot of fun playing it. Because it is a free-to-play game, some players will download it on a whim and quit 20 minutes in due to the poor controls. Those that brave the steep learning curve will be rewarded with a realistic combat simulator that could be truly great one day.
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    While the initial learning curve is daunting, this is one of those games that opens up dramatically the more that you play it, so the time commitment is worthwhile whether you're a laidback dogfighter or a hardcore simmer.
  6. Jun 4, 2014
    80
    War Thunder is easily among the best of what is offered on the PlayStation Store. It stands head and shoulders above the other free to play offerings and even over many at cost. The core of this lies in the generous free to play model which allows you to play for hour and hours without paying a dime. Though microtransactions were disabled in the pre-release version, I did get to explore the store and actually make some purchases in the EU release. A pillar of War Thunder’s longevity lies in its generous free to play model that allows you to play for hour and hours without paying a dime. That's the way free to play should be done.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    War Thunder is a game you must play. After all, it's free. Even if you keep crashing, it can absorb you easily and you'll end up creating your own squad with your friends and find out that a flight simulator can be really amusing. Even the information details about planes can be interesting.
  8. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Surprisingly good fun. [Issue#239, p.68]
  9. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    War Thunder delivers a deep, engaging experience, packed with plenty of missions and planes to unlock.
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    With its variety of planes and future plans to expand its warfare, War Thunder delivers fast-paced and spectacular dogfights.
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    75
    War Thunder is a free look at beautiful airplanes and intense dogfights, with controls that can be as arcady or realistic as you want them to be. The lack of certain content and the cluttered menu's stand in the way of a higher grade.
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    74
    War Thunder has some issues here and there, but it’s a very competent flying and ground war game that doesn’t let its microtransaction component get in the way. There’s plenty of tanks and planes to try out and modify to your liking, and just enough visuals to enjoy along the way. It’s not perfect, but it’s a solid game.
  13. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    It’s mostly the moments in between battles that bring the whole experience down, as a lack of information and poor menus tarnish this flying ace.
  14. Easy to get into, difficult to master, and free as a bird. Definitely sample-worthy. [February 2014, p79]
  15. With plans for naval and ground vehicle combat, War Thunder has the potential to become one of PS4’s darkest horses. It’s punishing, sure – but guiding a precious bird to victory causes your chest to swell with imaginary medals every time.
  16. Jan 14, 2014
    70
    There's a neat tactical flight experience here, but the interface still needs work. [Feb 2014, p.73]
  17. Dec 15, 2013
    70
    Even as a beta release this is an impressively entertaining, and accessible, combat flight simulator, and a welcome break from the shoot ‘em-up norm.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    War Thunder - best combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. Now testing armored vehicles. Most playing. Gaijin`s testing WW2 tanks now. Air-ground combats WW2 in 1 game - very good. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. I haven't spent a dime and I still love flying the planes. I will admit its a grind. But regardless, unlocking new planes and playing online is a blast. The game feels very realistic and I love it. You literally have nothing to lose by trying this game. I've played at least 4 hours already and I know I'll play many more. Truly awesome Full Review »
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    3
    What seems to be a great game at first, soon falls short. There are way too many micro-transactions and gimmicks. The graphics are pretty, but that is about all it has. The gameplay is fun at first, but because of no variety in gameplay it becomes repetitive. Full Review »