War Thunder PlayStation 4

War Thunder Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    87
    The Ground Forces expansion makes War Thunder even bigger than it was already, an MMO F2P that lets you choose the war you want: simulation or arcade, air or ground, challenging or relaxing, competitive or cooperative, free or with fee, PC or PS4.
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    85
    Thanks to a wider variety of gameplay and game situations, War Thunder won the scepter of the best free-to-play in the skies of World War II.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    War Thunder delivers a deep, engaging experience, packed with plenty of missions and planes to unlock.
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    While the initial learning curve is daunting, this is one of those games that opens up dramatically the more that you play it, so the time commitment is worthwhile whether you're a laidback dogfighter or a hardcore simmer.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    75
    War Thunder is a free look at beautiful airplanes and intense dogfights, with controls that can be as arcady or realistic as you want them to be. The lack of certain content and the cluttered menu's stand in the way of a higher grade.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    It’s mostly the moments in between battles that bring the whole experience down, as a lack of information and poor menus tarnish this flying ace.
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    70
    Even as a beta release this is an impressively entertaining, and accessible, combat flight simulator, and a welcome break from the shoot ‘em-up norm.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 51
  2. Negative: 21 out of 51
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    War Thunder - best combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. Now testing armored vehicles. MostWar Thunder - best combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. Now testing armored vehicles. Most playing. Gaijin`s testing WW2 tanks now. Air-ground combats WW2 in 1 game - very good. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Ignore all the negative reviews, console players are just too stubborn when it comes to different games. The game would be just as repetitive as a FPS, but the game goes beyond just the game play. There are all the new planes to collect and special events, there are tons of movements that you can learn to be an Ace pilot. The game isn't as "beautiful" as what some think the amount of work put into the landscape is pretty bad, but from the sky it looks decent enough to enjoy. The controls are great and the different game modes really change up the game play more than you'd expect, warning though game is not made for everyone. which it would explain the negative reviews. It's a free game you'd expect the lower grade of the console community to play it, trust me i play all different kinds of games. I've played over 60 PC games on steam alone, some of the most enjoyable games I've played have had terrible reviews, but all the positive ones were ecstatic about it. So try War Thunder, maybe you'll like it, maybe you weren't not all games are built for everyone, think about that next time you read reviews.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    For me, this game is very especially interesting - impressive graphics, authentic sounds.
    It was created for playing between rare outputs AAA
    For me, this game is very especially interesting - impressive graphics, authentic sounds.
    It was created for playing between rare outputs AAA - titles.
    also It playing cool on ps vita
    Expand
  4. iXF
    Feb 22, 2014
    6
    Совершенно не работает никакой кроссплеи с PC. Не возможно пользоваться старым аккаунтом на PS4, а с новосозданного на PS4 нельзя зайти в PCСовершенно не работает никакой кроссплеи с PC. Не возможно пользоваться старым аккаунтом на PS4, а с новосозданного на PS4 нельзя зайти в PC версию. В меню провалы fps. Само по себе меню игры не адаптированно под геймпад. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2014
    4
    Basicly this is an insult to any WWII enthusiast, FM's and DM's are way too basic and biased towards russian side, graphics are nice butBasicly this is an insult to any WWII enthusiast, FM's and DM's are way too basic and biased towards russian side, graphics are nice but that's all, gameplay is quite chaotic with no clear objective, now the GF part is as unhistorical as the plane parts, with a totally nerfed German side, in every aspect, if you are looking for some realism totally avoid this game, and if you don't avoid it too. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    1
    I think it is bad when I am playing a game and all I am thinking about is playing another. That is what was going on here. I spent the entireI think it is bad when I am playing a game and all I am thinking about is playing another. That is what was going on here. I spent the entire time thinking 'this was better on World of Tanks, or World of Warplanes. And when I thought that for like the 5th or 6th time I just closed War Thunder and went to play those. Expand
  7. May 17, 2016
    0
    PS4 and PC gamers are put together. As result PS4 player will get shot more often. On short distance it's possible to target reasonably fastPS4 and PC gamers are put together. As result PS4 player will get shot more often. On short distance it's possible to target reasonably fast and get a kill, but on mid and long distances it's just impossible to do same macro targeting as mouse users.

    And this game is all about donating. It's really donate to win type of game. And sums required to be on top of food chain are multiple times higher than AAA game price tag.
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews