Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 6, 2014
    87
    The Ground Forces expansion makes War Thunder even bigger than it was already, an MMO F2P that lets you choose the war you want: simulation or arcade, air or ground, challenging or relaxing, competitive or cooperative, free or with fee, PC or PS4.
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    85
    Thanks to a wider variety of gameplay and game situations, War Thunder won the scepter of the best free-to-play in the skies of World War II.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    80
    War Thunder delivers a deep, engaging experience, packed with plenty of missions and planes to unlock.
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    While the initial learning curve is daunting, this is one of those games that opens up dramatically the more that you play it, so the time commitment is worthwhile whether you're a laidback dogfighter or a hardcore simmer.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    75
    War Thunder is a free look at beautiful airplanes and intense dogfights, with controls that can be as arcady or realistic as you want them to be. The lack of certain content and the cluttered menu's stand in the way of a higher grade.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    It’s mostly the moments in between battles that bring the whole experience down, as a lack of information and poor menus tarnish this flying ace.
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    70
    Even as a beta release this is an impressively entertaining, and accessible, combat flight simulator, and a welcome break from the shoot ‘em-up norm.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 11 out of 34
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    War Thunder - best combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. Now testing armored vehicles. MostWar Thunder - best combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. Now testing armored vehicles. Most playing. Gaijin`s testing WW2 tanks now. Air-ground combats WW2 in 1 game - very good. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This game will give you literally hours of game play for free. It is not even necessary to subscribe to Playstation Plus to play this gameThis game will give you literally hours of game play for free. It is not even necessary to subscribe to Playstation Plus to play this game online. Tons of tanks and planes to choose from. many customization are available. Just for this game alone it is worth it to get PS4. This game is highly recommended Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    For me, this game is very especially interesting - impressive graphics, authentic sounds.
    It was created for playing between rare outputs AAA
    For me, this game is very especially interesting - impressive graphics, authentic sounds.
    It was created for playing between rare outputs AAA - titles.
    also It playing cool on ps vita
    Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    Кого может затянуть данная игра ? Не меня. Почему ? Да потому что тут все строится на донате. Отличная графика, физика, неплохая веткаКого может затянуть данная игра ? Не меня. Почему ? Да потому что тут все строится на донате. Отличная графика, физика, неплохая ветка развития. Но. Одно большое Но - кроме аркадных боев, в остальные режимы вы играть не будете. Нет, не потому что там сложно, нет упреждения огня и прочее. Просто потому, что это ужасно скучно. Единственный годный режим - аркадные бои : быстрые, насыщенные, вполне и вполне годные, но опять же - все это упирается в донат. Не хотите качаться с месяц до 4 ранга самолетов ? Нет проблем, можете купить деньги(орлы) за реал. валюту. Что ? А как же опыт, его ведь не купишь ! А вот и нет, опыт вы тоже можете купить, проще говоря, вы можете зайти в эту игру, закинуть 2-3к рублей, и вуаля, вы уже на 3-4 ранге самолетов. Ну, а если вы все же честный игрок, который часами просиживал и набивал очки исследований и деньги, вкачивал новые пушки и обработку фюзеляжа в своего крылатого друга, не удивляйтесь, если вас с двух выстрелов убьет самолет врага за донат. Все, что есть в этой игре хорошего, абсолютно все, перекрывается донатом. Ну, а так, годная игра, для тех, кому хочется посрывать нервы. Спасибо. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    5
    Now if you have never played this game on the PC and would be starting from scratch anyways then this is a must play for anyone who likesNow if you have never played this game on the PC and would be starting from scratch anyways then this is a must play for anyone who likes flight sims and or combat.

    But.... If you are already a long time PC player,
    The game will not let you link your existing account. That right their ruins the experience, after sinking countless hours grinding my way in this pay to win game with out spending money I now have to start from scratch. I can do without this game and if you have been playing it on PC you can too.

    3 out of 10 if you already have a PC account

    8 out of 10 if you have never played it before
    Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    3
    War Thunder was a decent game to play when I started during the 1.31 patch, since then it has gotten progressively worse with every patch.War Thunder was a decent game to play when I started during the 1.31 patch, since then it has gotten progressively worse with every patch.
    Unbalanced game play, bad flight models and needless grinding plague this game at all levels, even being a free to play game I would advise against playing it, your valuable time would be best spent on other games.
    With over 400 hours of playing War Thunder I now sincerely regret having started it in the first place.
    Gaijin, the company that produces the game and its employees have no respect for their players and seem to be clueless as to what they want or how to implement it, with every patch it seems as though they take 1 step forward and 2 steps back.
    The only positive thing I can say is that on max settings the planes look pretty.
    I had high hopes for both Gaijin and their War Thunder game but they kept letting me down until I have now at this point lost all trust in either of them.
    I am no longer a War Thunder player and I'm a happier person for it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    2nd 0 rating ever all because the game doesn't work.

    first off, you have a 90% chance of the game not letting you log in because it will
    2nd 0 rating ever all because the game doesn't work.

    first off, you have a 90% chance of the game not letting you log in because it will claim you do not have a connection. if this was the only major problem though it wouldn't be SO bad.

    the biggest issue is, even when you do get to play, the game doesn't let you fly. you cannot Pull up. simply put the controls are broken. no matter how you set them you can't pull up or go down. you basically can only fly straight.

    but that is ok right? because you can customize controls right? NOPE. the game will CRASH the minute you try changing controls. I have tried multiple times.

    completely avoid this game. it just doesn't work.

    now, thankfully, I had a EU account when the game launched so I can actually review what the game is like when it works.

    It's kinda boring. basically take the mediocre world of tanks game and make it with planes. there you go. the controls were still annoying but not unplayable like it is now. the game gets really stupid as you level up since other players can have higher tech planes than you or more unlocks. this wouldn't be so bad but there is no respawns.

    games were determined within 2 minutes of starting. if you have 1 bad player you are at a SEVERE disadvantage.

    the battle damage is probably the only good part about the game, it's cool that you can take damage and your plane will function but be worse off. but this has been done way back in the 90's with combat flight simulator, it's nothing new and it's actually worse in this game than back then.

    overall, when the game worked 3/10 but since the game is unplayable now 0/10 2nd time I ever rated something so low (first was the broken sim city game!) so that should give you an idea how serious I am about this junk game.

    hopefully sony removes it from the playstation store or force them to fix it to be at least playable.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews