Warframe PlayStation 4

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 80
    Warframe brings a new and addicting experience to the PlayStation franchise. Along with great and fluid combat, this is a free-to-play title that will justify microtransactions in a positive way.
  2. May 11, 2014
    79
    Warframe is a decent grind-based F2P shooter. [Feb 2014]
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    78
    When a mission is underway, Warframe is at its best. Getting to that point is a challenge of menu navigation, unexplained features, and a lack of crucial stat comparisons when choosing weapons. Right now, Warframe is definitely worth your time, but a UI tune-up would make it worth your money.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    76
    Simply put, PS4 owners lose nothing by giving Digital Extreme's third-person shooter a try, and may gain an entertaining timesink to enjoy with friends while waiting for the next wave of PS4 games.
  5. Dec 4, 2013
    75
    The core gameplay, including the variety of suits and weapons, is terrific, and it’s reason enough to play this sci-fi shooter. But the boring story, too-similar missions, and aggressive payment model hold it back from what it could be.
  6. 75
    It’s not a groundbreaking game, and it’s not in contention for game of the year, but that doesn’t mean it’s not a fun.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Fun game for about an hour, then you realize you're not going to level up or get any better without dropping real money on this "free to play"Fun game for about an hour, then you realize you're not going to level up or get any better without dropping real money on this "free to play" game. Missions seem very repetitive. Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    2
    This game is potential. I mean the characters are cool, the system is ok, the plot can be well extended and the world setting is fashionable.This game is potential. I mean the characters are cool, the system is ok, the plot can be well extended and the world setting is fashionable. Now, it is far from mature. The graphic is awful, the gameplay is extremely boring. No wonder it is free, I have remembered the game.

    SONY, invest your money into it!! I may back.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratchesI made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratches that itch for me. It's fun. The co-op matches are varied. Sometimes you have to defend an object, sometimes just survive, sometimes capture, or sometimes kill a target.

    A big part of the fun is leveling up your gear and swapping out mods to suit your playstyle. It might feel like farming/grinding to some, but the maps are different every time. The set pieces are numerous enough that it hasn't felt overly repetitive for me. I'm many hours in and still having fun.
    Full Review »