Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 80
    Warframe brings a new and addicting experience to the PlayStation franchise. Along with great and fluid combat, this is a free-to-play title that will justify microtransactions in a positive way.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    76
    Simply put, PS4 owners lose nothing by giving Digital Extreme's third-person shooter a try, and may gain an entertaining timesink to enjoy with friends while waiting for the next wave of PS4 games.
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Warframe, which has been out for PC since March, is free-to-play on the PS4, and in spite of its bugs, is worth the no-cost price.
  4. Warframe is an enjoyable free-to-play co-op shooter that's held back by confusing interface. [January 2014, p81]
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    With an asking price of nothing, it’s not unreasonable that Warframe charges for things, but when the game’s main hook is getting more loot, it slowly becomes frustrating running into so many roadblocks. Even with your warframe’s athletic prowess, the nondescript missions don’t offer enough to put up with the waiting, and there certainly isn’t a strong reason to part with a credit card.
  6. May 2, 2014
    60
    Warframe is a good free-to-play TPS, but the action is too repetitive to make it an essential.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    40
    It's hard, though, to shake the feeling that the only reason this game is free to play is that nobody would pay money for something so scrappy and generic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratchesI made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratches that itch for me. It's fun. The co-op matches are varied. Sometimes you have to defend an object, sometimes just survive, sometimes capture, or sometimes kill a target.

    A big part of the fun is leveling up your gear and swapping out mods to suit your playstyle. It might feel like farming/grinding to some, but the maps are different every time. The set pieces are numerous enough that it hasn't felt overly repetitive for me. I'm many hours in and still having fun.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    This is completely free, you do not need to pay to win. I truly admire the developers approach to this game's pay model, as you achieveThis is completely free, you do not need to pay to win. I truly admire the developers approach to this game's pay model, as you achieve anything without paying a penny. However, this means nothing if the game itself is not fun, and I have to say this game is a huge amount of fun.

    There is a lot of variety of classes, missions, weapons, etc. You never play the same game twice since the maps are always different, which is a very clever idea that the developers have used.

    It seems like the game is constantly under development and it has undergone cast improvement since it was released and I really would recommend anyone to try it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    Warframe is not only a game that looks polished and gorgeous, but it is a fair opportunity for players to revive Killzone type fun, but forWarframe is not only a game that looks polished and gorgeous, but it is a fair opportunity for players to revive Killzone type fun, but for free. The free to play model is unconvincingly good, with extra weapon mods and in game currency to be bought, but I played Warframe without spending a single penny. There is no energy bar, so you can spend hours looting and grinding for items with your friends for no cost. But, then there are the really boring missions, with a bland story and really bad A.I help. But you can ignore that and jump straight into social multiplayer with a Destiny-Like MMO hub, where players can chat and become friends. I found more friends in Warframe than the godforsaken Destiny, where every player countsand is treated as a total sh*tbag. So, you find no classy jerks like the ones in Destiny's hub and you get to play for free. And as an icing on the cake, the game itself runs smooth. With fast paced 3rd Person Shooter mechanics, smooth leg tricks and an awesome katana that slices you enemies in half. I played as a Tenno, who can use force fields and bullet attractors to magnetically pull bullets out of other's guns! It's that awesome. There are some pther free to play games on PS Store and Loadout and DC Universe Online are downloading in my queue, but I'd rather play another round of Warframe with my friends than crazily shooting lunatics in Visceral's Battlefield Hardline. And the PS4 version is the best version to experiance Warframe. Now, if you will excuse me, I want to feed my addictive itch of shooting more robots and aliens and slashing them in half with my katana. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Having played the game since PS4 launch and initial impressions were not all that great I now find myself a big fan and wanted to write aHaving played the game since PS4 launch and initial impressions were not all that great I now find myself a big fan and wanted to write a review based on version 14 as I feel a lot of earlier critical reviews whilst accurate at pointing out issues at the time do not reflect the game as it stands today.

    When I first played the game I found it pretty boring. Levels all looked the same, seemed too big and empty, single player was too hard and not fun and I had no idea how to progress other than just leveling up naturally. Framerate was highly variable but in some defense missions could crash into single frame territory. Graphics were okay but very flat and loading times were not good. After spending a few hours on Mercury I gave up and moved on to other launch titles.

    A month or so later I threw it on again one day for something different to play. There had been an update. I noticed the levels seemed a little more varied and joining some games with random players I saw new weapons and abilities that seemed interesting even if I didn't have them. I also found you need to play the games with others as the game is not aimed at the single player. I started to read up on how you upgrade your weapons and get better equipment and other warframes. That lead to a bit of grind to unlock more planets to access more resources needed, but I enjoyed the game whilst grinding.

    Over the following months update after update came, introducing new content, extra game modes, and improved graphics. Now on version 14 Warframe loads faster, has much nicer graphics, has much more varied environments, a silky smooth framerate with none of the drops you used to see and for the new player a better set of tutorial levels, free upgrades to get you started and a whole set instructions on how the game works to save you having to trawl the internet.

    Switching between this and recently released Destiny makes me really appreciate how far the game has come, and the first thing you notice is how much smoother the framerate is on Warframe than Destiny. Also how in many ways Warframe appears to offer more of the variety people have complained is absent from Destiny.

    Not to say this game is for everyone mind. You have to endure a bit of grind to unlock stuff, especially earlier in the game but the more you progress the easier it becomes. You don't have to pay any money but having clocked over 160 hours and it being my most played game I have spent around £15 on it to open up slots to keep my new weapons and Warframes and in the close on a year I've been playing I have only spent half the in game platinum that purchased.

    Looking forward I can only imagine that future updates will continue to add more and more to this game which is one of the main reasons I recommend it as it just keeps getting better and offering something new. It is not without fault although many of the technical issues have been addressed. People looking for competitive multiplayer aren't catered for.

    In summary Warframe now is a solid game experience that will continue to grow and improve. It has been dramatically improved over the last year and offers a great experience to those who are willing to put the time in. Im would strongly recommend giving it a try, after all it is free so what have you got to lose.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    I will start with a detailed description, but if you don't want to read it skip down to the pros and cons.

    Warframe is one of those games
    I will start with a detailed description, but if you don't want to read it skip down to the pros and cons.

    Warframe is one of those games that is a lot of fun, but your going to want the wiki page sitting next to you at all times. As your progress though the game you can customize your characters, weapons, and sentinels with mods. You can add heat or electricity to your weapon igniting or electrifying your foes. You can also add heat and electricity creating radiation damage turning affected enemies against each other. As of update 14 (basically warframe 2.0) you have a choice of 3 warframes (choose volt) melee, side arms, and primary weapons. The part that throws a lot of people off is the market. The market sells weapons, frames and such for platinum. Platinum cannot be earned in game and is very expensive costing real world currency. The market also sells blueprints for weapons, equipment, and such for in game earned credits. Blueprints can also be dropped by enemies and found by other means in game. Once you have a blueprint you need to farm materials needed to build the parts needed. To build a frame you will need to construct the helm, chassis, and systems. This is really what the game is about: unlocking planets farming materials and building new warframes or items to make your warframes better. The problem with building is that each part takes an insultingly long amount of time to build. To build a new warframe the three parts take 12 hours and once they're built turning them into a warframe takes 3 days (the timer will continue ticking if your logged of). You can build parts simultaneously so the three parts won't take 36 hours, but it feels like a slap in the face. The gameplay is fast passed and fun, but can get repetitive. If you have a team of 3 players coordinating it adds depth, but the majority of public squads will just get from point a to point b as fast as possible turning an experience into a chore. The variety in the frames weapons and skills is impressive to say the least. I could go on for hours, but I need to wrap this up.

    Pros:
    -Free to play so you have nothing to loose in trying this game out
    -Your a wall running parkouring space ninja
    -4 player coop
    -Vary wide variety of warframes and weapons
    -The mod system adds to that variety in ways I don't have time to put into text
    -Every item you can buy can also be acquired in game
    -Great balancing; there's really no "best weapon or warframe" each is unique
    -Fast paced gameplay
    -Beautiful visuals
    -Consistent updates adding new levels environments weapons and warframes
    -Can be played with keyboard and mouse

    Cons
    -Slow start; the game really opens up after the 30% mark
    -The tutorial does not explain a lot (you will need to reference the wiki constantly)
    -Crazy expensive market
    -Majority of random created squads will have you racing through most missions as quickly as possible(make friends)
    -The time it takes to build items is a bad joke
    -Although it's not required you will most likely end up spending $10-20 (not bad for a game, but you need to be wise with what you spend it on)
    -A fair share of bugs
    -Updates cannot be preformed in the background (you may be able to watch Netflix or other apps that don't require a lot of ram, but you cannot play games)
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    WARFRAME is a very enjoyable game, but it takes a lot to get into it. I like to think of it as the Diablo of FPS games. The game is anWARFRAME is a very enjoyable game, but it takes a lot to get into it. I like to think of it as the Diablo of FPS games. The game is an over-the-shoulder shooter, and although you may play missions solo, it is designed to be played online multiplayer with up to 4 people per mission.

    The game is VERY Japanese: artwork, narration, animation, etc.

    What makes the game most enjoyable for me is it's rapid pace. Although it is possible to sneak through missions largely undetected, this doesn't produce a very satisfying experience for me. It takes far too long with far too much patience required for groups of enemies to present themselves in such a manner as to allow for assassinations or sneaking. With 4 rough-and-tumble players in a mission, any mission can be completed in 5 minutes or under.

    Where WARFRAME fails to achieve a higher score is in a few aspects:

    1. Load times on the PS4 are fairly atrocious, particularly when compared to the PC version.
    2. The tutorial is basically worthless. Much of my learning was done "on-the-job" by fooling around with various menus and figuring things out on my own; and taking much time to do so.
    3. Although the game is free-to-play, the game tries to make it as inconvenient as possible to do so. You can acquire most items in the game without paying for platinum (ie, the game's pay-currency), but it takes long hours of resource farming and construction; most weapons take 24 hours to construct once you have all of the resources, and additional warframes (ie, characters) take 72 hours to construct. This is further hampered by the limited number of item/warframe slots available to the non-paying player.
    4. It takes several missions before the game gets difficult and therefore interesting.

    This is currently an open-beta version (I believe), and hopefully these aspects get alleviated on final release; but I doubt this will happen, as apparently the game is already experiencing much success as is.
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    The only thing that DE managed to work properly on PS4 port is micro-transactions. The rest of the game is a giant mess with unplayableThe only thing that DE managed to work properly on PS4 port is micro-transactions. The rest of the game is a giant mess with unplayable framerate that dips below 25fps A LOT and it looks like a slideshow. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers