Warframe PlayStation 4

Warframe Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 80
    Warframe brings a new and addicting experience to the PlayStation franchise. Along with great and fluid combat, this is a free-to-play title that will justify microtransactions in a positive way.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    76
    Simply put, PS4 owners lose nothing by giving Digital Extreme's third-person shooter a try, and may gain an entertaining timesink to enjoy with friends while waiting for the next wave of PS4 games.
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Warframe, which has been out for PC since March, is free-to-play on the PS4, and in spite of its bugs, is worth the no-cost price.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 3, 2014
    70
    Warframe is an enjoyable free-to-play co-op shooter that's held back by confusing interface. [January 2014, p81]
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    With an asking price of nothing, it’s not unreasonable that Warframe charges for things, but when the game’s main hook is getting more loot, it slowly becomes frustrating running into so many roadblocks. Even with your warframe’s athletic prowess, the nondescript missions don’t offer enough to put up with the waiting, and there certainly isn’t a strong reason to part with a credit card.
  6. May 2, 2014
    60
    Warframe is a good free-to-play TPS, but the action is too repetitive to make it an essential.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    40
    It's hard, though, to shake the feeling that the only reason this game is free to play is that nobody would pay money for something so scrappy and generic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 53
  2. Negative: 6 out of 53
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratchesI made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratches that itch for me. It's fun. The co-op matches are varied. Sometimes you have to defend an object, sometimes just survive, sometimes capture, or sometimes kill a target.

    A big part of the fun is leveling up your gear and swapping out mods to suit your playstyle. It might feel like farming/grinding to some, but the maps are different every time. The set pieces are numerous enough that it hasn't felt overly repetitive for me. I'm many hours in and still having fun.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Excellent game and the best part is it's free, has improved much over time to be surprised with what we currently have on the upgrade "SecondExcellent game and the best part is it's free, has improved much over time to be surprised with what we currently have on the upgrade "Second Dream." I'm a big fan and I am very grateful for the generosity of not having to spend money or have an account plus to play online. Good graphics, few bugs ... a great big game. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2016
    9
    for me warframe is unlike anything I have ever played before. for a lot of people, this game may seem daunting. Not very much explanation forfor me warframe is unlike anything I have ever played before. for a lot of people, this game may seem daunting. Not very much explanation for how most of the game works, grinding for materials if you don't for buy micro-transactions, and way too much stuff to know where to begin. For most people those things are a turn-off, but for me personally, that's what makes me love the game.

    I love games that make grinding the cornerstone of their game (destiny, Pokemon, etc.) so this game feels right at home with me, not to mention the interesting flow and combat in the game make it all the more interesting to grind. Other things like the little explanation for how the game works and the vast amounts of things to do may seem over-encumbering to most, but to me, i feel like it gives me an open canvas to paint, to make my adventure feel as unique as i wish to make it.

    Fast combat, a wide variety of guns and characters to grind for, and an open canvas give me all the reason to love this game.

    the only reason i gave it a 9 and not a 10, is that all items that you grind towards to make, are timegated forcing you to wait 12-24 hours to complete
    Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2015
    8
    This is completely free, you do not need to pay to win. I truly admire the developers approach to this game's pay model, as you achieveThis is completely free, you do not need to pay to win. I truly admire the developers approach to this game's pay model, as you achieve anything without paying a penny. However, this means nothing if the game itself is not fun, and I have to say this game is a huge amount of fun.

    There is a lot of variety of classes, missions, weapons, etc. You never play the same game twice since the maps are always different, which is a very clever idea that the developers have used.

    It seems like the game is constantly under development and it has undergone cast improvement since it was released and I really would recommend anyone to try it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    I will start with a detailed description, but if you don't want to read it skip down to the pros and cons.

    Warframe is one of those games
    I will start with a detailed description, but if you don't want to read it skip down to the pros and cons.

    Warframe is one of those games that is a lot of fun, but your going to want the wiki page sitting next to you at all times. As your progress though the game you can customize your characters, weapons, and sentinels with mods. You can add heat or electricity to your weapon igniting or electrifying your foes. You can also add heat and electricity creating radiation damage turning affected enemies against each other. As of update 14 (basically warframe 2.0) you have a choice of 3 warframes (choose volt) melee, side arms, and primary weapons. The part that throws a lot of people off is the market. The market sells weapons, frames and such for platinum. Platinum cannot be earned in game and is very expensive costing real world currency. The market also sells blueprints for weapons, equipment, and such for in game earned credits. Blueprints can also be dropped by enemies and found by other means in game. Once you have a blueprint you need to farm materials needed to build the parts needed. To build a frame you will need to construct the helm, chassis, and systems. This is really what the game is about: unlocking planets farming materials and building new warframes or items to make your warframes better. The problem with building is that each part takes an insultingly long amount of time to build. To build a new warframe the three parts take 12 hours and once they're built turning them into a warframe takes 3 days (the timer will continue ticking if your logged of). You can build parts simultaneously so the three parts won't take 36 hours, but it feels like a slap in the face. The gameplay is fast passed and fun, but can get repetitive. If you have a team of 3 players coordinating it adds depth, but the majority of public squads will just get from point a to point b as fast as possible turning an experience into a chore. The variety in the frames weapons and skills is impressive to say the least. I could go on for hours, but I need to wrap this up.

    Pros:
    -Free to play so you have nothing to loose in trying this game out
    -Your a wall running parkouring space ninja
    -4 player coop
    -Vary wide variety of warframes and weapons
    -The mod system adds to that variety in ways I don't have time to put into text
    -Every item you can buy can also be acquired in game
    -Great balancing; there's really no "best weapon or warframe" each is unique
    -Fast paced gameplay
    -Beautiful visuals
    -Consistent updates adding new levels environments weapons and warframes
    -Can be played with keyboard and mouse

    Cons
    -Slow start; the game really opens up after the 30% mark
    -The tutorial does not explain a lot (you will need to reference the wiki constantly)
    -Crazy expensive market
    -Majority of random created squads will have you racing through most missions as quickly as possible(make friends)
    -The time it takes to build items is a bad joke
    -Although it's not required you will most likely end up spending $10-20 (not bad for a game, but you need to be wise with what you spend it on)
    -A fair share of bugs
    -Updates cannot be preformed in the background (you may be able to watch Netflix or other apps that don't require a lot of ram, but you cannot play games)
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    WARFRAME is a very enjoyable game, but it takes a lot to get into it. I like to think of it as the Diablo of FPS games. The game is anWARFRAME is a very enjoyable game, but it takes a lot to get into it. I like to think of it as the Diablo of FPS games. The game is an over-the-shoulder shooter, and although you may play missions solo, it is designed to be played online multiplayer with up to 4 people per mission.

    The game is VERY Japanese: artwork, narration, animation, etc.

    What makes the game most enjoyable for me is it's rapid pace. Although it is possible to sneak through missions largely undetected, this doesn't produce a very satisfying experience for me. It takes far too long with far too much patience required for groups of enemies to present themselves in such a manner as to allow for assassinations or sneaking. With 4 rough-and-tumble players in a mission, any mission can be completed in 5 minutes or under.

    Where WARFRAME fails to achieve a higher score is in a few aspects:

    1. Load times on the PS4 are fairly atrocious, particularly when compared to the PC version.
    2. The tutorial is basically worthless. Much of my learning was done "on-the-job" by fooling around with various menus and figuring things out on my own; and taking much time to do so.
    3. Although the game is free-to-play, the game tries to make it as inconvenient as possible to do so. You can acquire most items in the game without paying for platinum (ie, the game's pay-currency), but it takes long hours of resource farming and construction; most weapons take 24 hours to construct once you have all of the resources, and additional warframes (ie, characters) take 72 hours to construct. This is further hampered by the limited number of item/warframe slots available to the non-paying player.
    4. It takes several missions before the game gets difficult and therefore interesting.

    This is currently an open-beta version (I believe), and hopefully these aspects get alleviated on final release; but I doubt this will happen, as apparently the game is already experiencing much success as is.
    Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2016
    0
    RIP Warframe. Been playing since PS4 launch day, at the time of writing Mastery Rank 21.7 and all frames. Ive watched as its only gotten worseRIP Warframe. Been playing since PS4 launch day, at the time of writing Mastery Rank 21.7 and all frames. Ive watched as its only gotten worse every month. Or every 3-4 months, since consoles are not even top 10 list of priorities for Digital "PC Masterrace" Extremes. Almost 3 years now and still no "wars" are being fought, no clan based pvp, no working Dark Sectors, no auction/market system for trades, and the same old boring hallway missions and void key grinds. All DE does is add more cosmetics and p2w systems. The raids are actually worse than Destiny and Conclave is a joke - completely disjointed from the main game with separate rules and stats. Archwing could have been a redeeming factor if the Arches played more like Gundams and the enemies were more like Mobile Suits, however you are just a monkey with a rocket pack fighting miners on hovercrafts. DE should have never ported to PS4 (and even worse to xbox) if they had no intentions of running Crossplay. Oh well, Paragon will be the game you wish Warframe could be. Crossplay, PVP focus, AND all frames free? Take notes DE. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers