Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 80
    Warframe brings a new and addicting experience to the PlayStation franchise. Along with great and fluid combat, this is a free-to-play title that will justify microtransactions in a positive way.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    76
    Simply put, PS4 owners lose nothing by giving Digital Extreme's third-person shooter a try, and may gain an entertaining timesink to enjoy with friends while waiting for the next wave of PS4 games.
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Warframe, which has been out for PC since March, is free-to-play on the PS4, and in spite of its bugs, is worth the no-cost price.
  4. Warframe is an enjoyable free-to-play co-op shooter that's held back by confusing interface. [January 2014, p81]
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    With an asking price of nothing, it’s not unreasonable that Warframe charges for things, but when the game’s main hook is getting more loot, it slowly becomes frustrating running into so many roadblocks. Even with your warframe’s athletic prowess, the nondescript missions don’t offer enough to put up with the waiting, and there certainly isn’t a strong reason to part with a credit card.
  6. May 2, 2014
    60
    Warframe is a good free-to-play TPS, but the action is too repetitive to make it an essential.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    40
    It's hard, though, to shake the feeling that the only reason this game is free to play is that nobody would pay money for something so scrappy and generic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratchesI made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratches that itch for me. It's fun. The co-op matches are varied. Sometimes you have to defend an object, sometimes just survive, sometimes capture, or sometimes kill a target.

    A big part of the fun is leveling up your gear and swapping out mods to suit your playstyle. It might feel like farming/grinding to some, but the maps are different every time. The set pieces are numerous enough that it hasn't felt overly repetitive for me. I'm many hours in and still having fun.
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Underrated... Period. AAA Game Studios get your pencils and start taking notes.... Played the game straight for a month and then on/off forUnderrated... Period. AAA Game Studios get your pencils and start taking notes.... Played the game straight for a month and then on/off for another 3 when the PS4 launched. Biggest surprise of a game I've come across. Loved blasting through the procedurally generated maps with my diverse group of Tenno, and their crazy diverse makeup due to the mod system. Love the unique art design, and the game play was great fun. Rusty around some of the edges, but solid. Immediately met more than a few long-term gaming friends via in game chat, and expanded on that with our own personalized "dojo". After months of gaming started to feel a little dab when the grind came.... (What game doesn't have it, at this point :)... ) Needed a change up, so played around on a few other "next gen" offerings. Recently logged back in after Destiny's round 1 wasn't as anticipated. And low and behold; I'm impressed, and playing again. I had to blink twice, graphics looked better and Archwing WHAT!? Love the way this team continues to innovate and introduces new things to do. So what it costs a little coin at some point. I've been used to forking out $180 a yr to Blizzard ($15 a month. WoW sub). Paying $60 for the slots is no big deal. I'll gladly pay it if the $/time value is right. And let me tell you this game delivers that in spades. Just look up the 2yr Warframe summary on Google, enough said. This studio puts out more content than anyone in the PS4 industry right now... Where Arch-wing is going is just genius. The new tile set variations make some of the other reviews on here obsolete. Monthly, daily, and weekly events keep things interesting. Factions with actual rewards. Love it. This game has a lot to be discovered and that is part of the journey. Factions, player hubs (coming), diversified and rewarding events, plentiful true exclusive content that give YOU personality (IE enough content that when someone misses it they don't feel they are left out, because to attain it all is hardly possible), continually evolving universe, again... personalityyyy... This game is were "replay-ability" is happening in the current. Until developers can capitalize on the idea portrayed in No Man's Sky. "This" , in my opinion is the best example yet. To each their own. But as for me, a "sci-fi" lovin, first/third person who gives a lovin, super-power toatin', take soma' my ' _insertfavoriteweapon_ to the... / melee as a primary WHAT! :) ! ... Love this game!

    Gave it a rounded up 9.5. My 10 wish list includes improves improved dual-shock vibration to give a more unique feel to weapons and add polish, continued capitalization on the graphics optimization, keep digging into that story... more immersion, and most importantly.. Keep doing what you're already doing. Re-defining the norm .... and I'll keep giving you my money :)
    Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    honestly this game feels like a improved version of destiny. I mean it is a ton of fun and will definitely keep me entertained untilhonestly this game feels like a improved version of destiny. I mean it is a ton of fun and will definitely keep me entertained until bloodborne comes out. Also if you are a person and you give this game a lower score than destiny, cod, or any given mario series.... just die for me thanks ;*. oh and the pay for stuff you can earn relatively easily so no harm no foul. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    For a free to play game on the PS4 Warframe is a thoroughly in depth game, the only real problem i have is that you can only get to a certainFor a free to play game on the PS4 Warframe is a thoroughly in depth game, the only real problem i have is that you can only get to a certain point then you have to spend money (which i am not willing to do) but exploring for mods and blue prints and building warframes / weapons is a fun alternative way of playing this game. i have spent more time on this than the majority of full games such as Killzone Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2014
    7
    I'm not a huge fan of in game purchases, but it doesn't make this any worse for having them. You might need to rely on those who do from timeI'm not a huge fan of in game purchases, but it doesn't make this any worse for having them. You might need to rely on those who do from time to time, but overall this is quite a fun game. Only things that let it down is that you can sometimes get lost and it's not too clear where to go, and if a player gets lost and can't find the exit, you can be stood around waiting for a while.

    Can't complain for a freebie though.
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    An extremely promising and interesting early access with a free to play demo that is masqueraded as the full experience. In a rather literalAn extremely promising and interesting early access with a free to play demo that is masqueraded as the full experience. In a rather literal sense, you get what you pay for in warframe, so long as you're smart about how you pay for what.

    there is an importand distinction to be made between pay to win and pay to progress. Warframe's nature as a co-op shooter prevents it from falling into the P2W trap on the basis that if players with vastly superior gear to yours blitz through a mission, you will still receive XP and thus level up. In similar manner you will also still receive the mission rewards upon said mission's conclusion. However this is where the pay to progress comes in and.

    I have put a good amount of time and money into the game so both the buying and earning parts have been amply used. Now let's be clear here, you will not get better weapons or warframes as a starting player without buying them, period. Warframe can be considered free as a demo, but to properly experience the game requires that you at least purchase a $20 Platinum pack and use it very judiciously.

    The main argument that is always made is that you can earn everything that can be bought in the game, thus never having to pay anything. What you are not told however is that the materials, components and blueprints required cannot even be obtained until you have progressed so significantly in the game to the point where you can no longer be called a new player. You cannot progress in the game without better gear, thus we have a vicious cycle that forces spending to be able to even use the 'free' option.

    You will have to be extremely careful with your spending as well, $20 will get you a single warframe if you aren't careful or not even a single warframe. Prices range from 75p for the excellent volt to 375p for the abysmal Ash. weapons tend to fall into a range of 100-275p. You must also purchase warframe and weapon slots and special orokin components to improve your warframes and weapons. be aware that all store bought gear comes pre-installed with these components which will run you about 20p a piece.

    If you do get the materials required then you can craft the item in the foundry. the shortest wait time for the sweet, sweet reward to all your efforts is 12 hours....the longest wait is 72...you can pay up to 60p to rush the process. Most of the things you can buy as new player are crap, you need to be at least mastery rank 2 before you are even 'allowed' to purchase anything of reasonable strength. You can buy a booster pack that will make the grind for ranking up go twice as fast. You can only try the rank up test once every 24 hours, you cannot pay platinum to speed it up if you fail.

    Coming back to the pay to progress part, certain weapons and warframes have unreasonable resource requirements that no sane person will want to have to deal with. The Zephyr warframe for example demands 600 oxium, which drops in sets of 1 or 2 from a relatively rare specific enemy that is heavily armoured and will suicide if you get in its general proximity. you can buy oxium 30p for 300 on PC, not on PS4. Zephyr is 275p in the store. In case it weren't obvious by now, Digital Extremes wants your money, they want it really bad and are not ashamed to make this abundantly clear in as blatant a manner as possible. The store prices are horrifically inflated and you will build a high end gaming PC for the money it would cost to buy everything from their in game store....

    But what happens when you do give them your money? well...For one thing the customization and art direction in warframe are nothing short of stellar. premium warframes like Rhino Prime or Zephyr not only look stunning and exquisitely detailed but the 75p colour packs allow you to perfectly tailor a warframe to your tastes. The same applies to weapons and the little sentinel pets that go for 75p a piece. Also, bisecting a dozen enemies with a single swing of your Galatine greatsword is sweet.

    If you join a good, active clan you will be rewarded with a very enthralling social dynamic. the camaraderie and bromance an display in a good clan kind of approximates Monster Hunter in the whole, bonding over a quest to get parts for a desired item, kind of way. You do need a clan to provide you with interesting and meaningful goals though...as is, warframe's gameplay is both generic and repetitive. it comes closest to Mass effect 3 multiplayer in that you have a character with 4 powers, a primary weapon, secondary weapon and in warframe's case a melee weapon. The thing is that the enemy variety is very, very low and they are all exceedingly dumb (though some have stellar marksmanship) the game is at its best during its imitation of horde mode.

    Warframe is a potentially fantastic, evolving game, crippled by an identity crisis. It wants the ease of spending and the player count of free to play's, but prices single items as full games,whilst actively sabotaging free players at every turn
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    The only thing that DE managed to work properly on PS4 port is micro-transactions. The rest of the game is a giant mess with unplayableThe only thing that DE managed to work properly on PS4 port is micro-transactions. The rest of the game is a giant mess with unplayable framerate that dips below 25fps A LOT and it looks like a slideshow. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers