Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    96
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    91
    All in all, Assassin's Creed III Liberation is another excellent console-style release for the PlayStation Vita, and fans of the series who own a PS Vita shouldn't overlook it. It's not as full-featured as the console version, but it makes up for it with a more streamlined experience, an interesting main character and story, and plenty of unique gameplay ideas.
  3. This is easily the sexiest looking, smoothest running and features packed open-world game on a portable. Yes, Liberation may not boast as many side-diversions as ACIII, but more than enough DNA from that GOTY contender has made the leap. PS Vita technical limitations are offset by the fact that we think Aveline's tale is slightly superior to the PS3 adventure. [December 2012, p72]
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    Liberation is 100% Assassin's Creed. After the "faux pas" of Bloodlines (PSP) and iOS titles, Ubisoft scores a prefect strike with this PS Vita spin-off, with deep gameplay and stunning graphics. After Uncharted Golden Abyss, Liberation could be one of the most interesting titles in Sony's handheld history so far.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    This game is the next reason to buy a PS Vita – clever gameplay, nice graphics, more than a pure port. With more game like that Sony's handheld could become a success in the end.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    87
    Rough edges aside, it's a genuine portable blockbuster. [Christmas 2012, p.98]
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    84
    While the team has definitely put in a good effort to use all the features of the Vita, a few technical issues weigh it down. Still, it is a unique experience well worth owning, especially for any fan of Assassin's Creed that owns a Vita.
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    81
    For me, the biggest problem with Liberation is the story; it felt underdeveloped and stands as a missed opportunity. Despite that shortcoming, and a few technical issues aside, I really enjoyed being able to take what is essentially a full-fledged Assassin's Creed game on the road with me. While not essential to the canon, this game is worth playing for anyone who is a fan of the series.
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  10. It's not the revolution we were hoping for, bit it's easily the best portable Creed fix yet. [Holiday 2012, p.,70]
  11. 80
    Liberation sounds just as good as it looks, with or without the use of headphones.
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Despite not being quite as expansive as the home consoles versions, this game certainly deserves the attention of Vita owners. If we compare this title to other handheld entries, we can see how ambitious Ubisoft was in trying to translate the full Assassin's Creed experience on a handheld.
  13. 80
    Assassin's Creed: Liberation is without doubt one of the best products on the PlayStation Vita.
  14. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    A nice-looking, interesting Assassin's Creed Experience on Sony's handheld. If not for messy storytelling, random game-overs and a lacklustre multiplayer, it would have been a Vita classic.
  15. 80
    The strength of Liberation is in its favored delivery of the story which truly represents an Assassin's Creed story in a unique and interesting way. Visually and audibly, the game is astounding, showing off the PS Vita's ability to maintain and perform on a similar level to its console cousin. Though the online is a major blemish and it has its fair share of technical issues, Liberation brings to the PS Vita exactly what fans want and more by showing that the hardware is more of a new way to do it rather than a hindrance.
  16. Nov 1, 2012
    80
    At the end of the day, Liberation is the first true portable entry into the Assassin's Creed franchise, and thus, is naturally going to be a little rough along the edges. So long as you can deal with some technical limitations, you should enjoy yourself while you wait for Abstergo to craft more simulations for you.
  17. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Despite these problems, though, Liberation brings a hugely engaging and interesting gameplay mechanic to the series, one that's informed by the character herself. For that reason alone, it's impossible for me not to recommend this game.
  18. 80
    Liberation delivers more of what we know, and mixes it up with new mechanics and an enjoyable minigame.
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    With an original story, sprawling environments, excellent use of the Vita's touch capabilities and tons of bonuses to find, it's sure to be a premiere game of the console for long to come. If the graphics were more refined and the story less disjointed, it would certainly rival the best the series has to offer.
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    78
    An ambitious game which imitates the gameplay elements from the original series. Good graphics, interesting missions, three identities... but less than 10 hours of campaign, a poor multiplayer mode and so many fails in terms of programming. It definitely could have been better.
  21. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    None of the worst problems are embedded into the core gameplay. Combat is fun, climbing and navigation works well, the story feels like a natural part of the AC universe. The tie-ins to Assassin's Creed III are minimal (mainly one mission near the end), but Liberation may hint at what areas the series is exploring next.
  22. Nov 2, 2012
    77
    After Bloodlines, Ubisoft tries it one more time in a portable Sony device with Assassin's Creed III Liberation, hitting the jackpot this time with a faithful version of the saga which keeps its controls, mechanics, playability and open locations to explore with three different identities: Slave, Dame or Assassin. Great voice-over work and duration, it's a shame that its numerous bugs and glitches ruins one of the most impressive visual games on PS Vita.
  23. Nov 30, 2012
    76
    Snappy and satisfying, though it loses something of the epic sweep of the home console Assassin's Creeds. [Issue#225, p.64]
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    75
    The strong core of the Assassin's Creed franchise remains mostly intact here, but the truncated story makes Aveline's character development feel rushed and the twists much more predictable here. Liberation is solid game if you're on the go a lot, but it can't hold a candle to Desmond and his ancestors.
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Liberation isn't the stellar, revolutionary experience I had counted on. They just don't do enough with the story or protagonist, the experience feels somewhat dull and lifeless at times, and the game can chug significantly. Still, I think it's critical to point out that in relation to other portable adventures, this is really very impressive.
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Liberation could have been a fantastic game and a very worthy entry in the overall AC canon if it had been given a couple more months in the oven. As it stands, it's certainly an enjoyable romp and well worth playing for fans of the series, but the technical issues and sub-par narrative exposition really hold it back. Hopefully future handheld entries in the series will learn from the missteps here and create a true masterpiece.
  27. Nov 5, 2012
    75
    For those who can't get enough, Liberation is a handy portable companion to Assassin's Creed III, but it is definitely a lighter experience both in physical form and in terms of content.
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    75
    Great, but not brilliant. It will satisfy the fans of the series or anyone looking for a good adventure, however, the presence of very important bugs and the performance are two unforgivable issues that worsen the general experience.
  29. Doesn't matter which persona you choose, enemies are defenseless. Never before in the history of Assassin's Creed were fights this easy. Countering is optional, not a necessity. Still, we had some fun. Aveline's armory is varied and fun to use. [December 2012, p.86]
  30. Nov 25, 2012
    73
    Assassin's Creed: Liberation is quite the system mover that it had been hyped up to be. The game looks good but does not run very smoothly. It was good to see the touch controls implemented well. This is a solid experience for the hand held but really is up to the same standard as the other releases in the series. This is one for those looking for something for fans of the series and are after something that can be taken away from the television.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    It's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totallyIt's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totally different adventures with overlapping timelines. It is clear that there are more than a few similarities in both the design and gameplay. Whilst Connor deals with the Frontier, Aveline has the Bayou. Compared to the PS3 version, Aveline is pitted against fewer hostilities but she deals with them in pretty much the same vein as you fight large predators in Assassins' Creed III, mostly in quick time events. It also had an Arkham Asylum/City combat feel to it, never a bad thing. The Vita swamps provide hours of exploration with treasures aplenty and smugglers dotted around offering you gear.
    Exploring the swampland is so much fun, jumping from branch to branch, swimming stagnant waters, canoeing and wrestling crocs. Apart from the main swampy story of hunting down Acolytes there are also side missions to go at such as curing locals of an intense fever by tracking down special mushrooms.
    So far Aveline might sound a bit of a softy but she is just as agile as Connor. If it
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    After playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored withAfter playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voices are not in highest quality , but still makes a good impression. Framerate is sometimes low when you are fighting more enemies at once , and controls may get a bit laggy and slow.Jumping from stuff to other stuff may be confusing and reaching your destination can be frustrating sometimes ,mainly in the swamps. But still i give this game an 8/10 because its pretty good in every aspect. Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that yougreat game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story **** Full Review »