User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 263

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    I'm no fan of the Assassin's Creed series and the reasons are many, and one of these is the repetitive gameplay. I liked how the second tried to make it more varied and, all in all, it's NOT a bad series and actually it's one of the most engaging series ever. However, this is NOT a good game at all. First off, I liked how there's a female character for the first very time and I liked how they tried to use this as an advantage by switching the clothes...but the female character really is bland and she seems more like a puppet in our hands than a true heroine: I never felt her more than an avatar and that's really sad because it had potential, a lot of it. The clothes aren't well implemented as well: they change how you contact the people and, basically, your weapons sets (the lady is usually out of sight and her main weapon is the umbrella blowgun; the slave will be marked the more she acts weird and can't use guns and longswords; and the assassin is basically avoided if you don't want nuisances and can use guns also). But here's the big problem: you always have to change them manually for missions that require different sets, which can be a big problem if you didn't know that before hand (the biggest example was a mission where you had to reach a ship in 1:30 minutes, and I was using the lady dress in that moment). These are the small details however, because the big slap in the face are the missions themselves (even main missions)....and holy hell they are BAD. I'll be honest: I liked how they wanted to make the missions more challenging by adding an extra objective (like reaching point X in less time, kill with specific weapons, and so forth), and surely adds variety to a series who hardly had any....but the objectives are completely cheap! The requests for those extra objectives are completely stupid, because they make missions harder than they should be (biggest examples here are the missions where you have to kill a certain target...they'll make it stupidly harder by asking you to kill them in the most weird ways imaginable). And even if you don't do the extra objectives, here comes another big flaw: the game is glitchy and doesn't fit the clothes system. For instance, if a mission tells you to not be seen, and you get spotted by THIEVES, the mission is over. If a mission asks you stalk someone, you can choose which clothes to use...too bad you will fail the mission if you run away, and so you're forced to accept the mission in the right clothes. Sometimes missions aren't very clear and you will easily fail due to some misleading instructions. Also, the puzzles that uses the Vita features are very badly implemented and sometimes they don't work as they should (the letter opening wasn't working; the light trick works randomly; the pickpocket sometimes won't register my movements). The only good thing is the touch screen which works fine and actually better than I thought, but that's really it. More bugs also keep coming up and so far I don't think there were any patch to fix them up yet. Ah and yes, for a Vita game, is very strong and very good looking, even if there are slowdowns now and then...but good graphics never make a good game to me. All in all, I really didn't enjoy this game a single bit. For fans of the series, it's a good addition and they'll probably ignore most of the flaws, but for anyone else, just look for something else... Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    Problems, practically a lot. First you can't be Ezio or a assassin, just a stupid British guy that is nothing like a assassin. It even shown Ezio! The only good thing was a good graphics
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    4
    Very, very, very bad done game. When I played this, I was wondering if did I just buy a prototype beta game: extreme major bugs, very bad performance and very bad sound. The gameplay is the only factor that isn't very bad, but just bad, because it's very boring and repetitive. The game crashes on loading screens while you're on the Animus (yes, you have to re-play the game by scratch), there are invisible walls which make you go underworld and crash the game, the sound seems to be compressed, sometimes the game runs at 10FPS and most of the times it's stable at 25 FPS. Plot isn't deep and intriguing. Giving 4 to this game, is like offending other games which I gave 5 like Silent Hill Homecoming, because its real score should be "2.5", but, since the developers may not be very expert with the VITA, I decided not to give it 2. Anyway, they should have taken more time and fixing a lot of things, before releasing a beta game! (And yes, it is a beta game because there are already big patches, and a new one is coming soon, which means that they haven't test it yet) Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    THE CRITICS REVIEWS ARE FALSE. Don't trust them, they all hate vita. This game is the best game I've ever played on any handheld. Amazing graphics, solid AC gameplay that I expected, and a well processed story. Resistance: BS had poor critic reviews and poor user reviews, but this time, do not trust critics. AC III: Liberation is the best handheld game since peace walker on the PSP.
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    I hate when a vita games dont use the native resolution. The graphics looks so horrible. That is not fair with the player, you watch youtube videos, get crazy to buy and then....
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, my real score is 8.5/10 btw. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation is the first legit handheld game in the franchise. While there were Assassin's Creed games on both PSP and DS, none of these offered the console experience in handheld form. Liberation gives you a large sandbox world to explore, along with graphics that are pretty close to the games on the big home consoles. While it may not hit the visual mark of some scenes in Assassin's Creed III, I feel the world feels more alive than some other Assassin's Creed games I've played, as the world is full of pedestrians going about their business, such as sawing wood, working on houses, fishing, etc. You can even interact with the animals. This is a world that feels lived-in. Unlike many handheld games where you feel detached because of its portable style of play, Liberation immerses you in this world. This is Liberation, you should probably buy it.

    In terms of story, I really enjoyed Aveline's tale. There's a good cast of colorful characters here, many brimming with lots of charm. Aveline is a strong protagonist. She walks and acts with a certain style of confidence, even when her race is suffering under slavery, she is a strong female character that is rare in games.

    As far as graphics go, this is one of Vita's best. While it looks as good as Uncharted: Golden Abyss at times, it also sometimes looks a little worse. Like most open world games, Liberation has its highs and lows, but its highs are much higher than its lows are lower, because even at its lows, the world is still brimming with exceptional detail. You want to explore this beautiful world. Liberation's graphics are definitely near the top of Vita's library, especially considering this is an open world.

    Onto the gameplay, personally, I love it. I think the mechanics feel very solid and it plays beautifully on the Vita. Running around the city, climbing buildings, taking down foes, etc. all feels great.

    Despite being an incredible game, it does lack some polish to take it to that next level. Like Assassin's Creed III on home consoles, Liberation also has some glitches and framerate hiccups. I've seen people walk through houses, disappear from the world right in front of me, etc. To be fair, these are pretty minor distractions at best, but I think it's worth mentioning. Onto the framerate, it's usually pretty okay, but sometimes it'll get bogged down.

    If you have a Vita and want a large open world game, I'd highly recommend buying Liberation.
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I've picked this game along with NFS MW on vita. What comes to mind after playing an hour or so that the game has identity crisis, the story depth is quiet shallow and it has a lot of grey areas which we expect to find answers but unfortunatley most of questions will not be answered, AC games are usually come along with an engaging story. This is where Liberation has lack of work. Beside that Aveline herself is a pretty nice character. Her style, dialogues n everything she has is very impressive but then becuz we love her we want to know about her dark past eventually, but there is no background story either. its shame to see all of these lovely ideas are not very well working to make a real AC game. Beside these the gameplay is a total Assassins Creed. It has a mixture of brilliant ideas and all the cool assassins missions. sometimes it has lack of vraiety which is not very noticeable unless you arent a fan of AC series. But what bothers me a lot that this brilliant Persona content could be really brilliant !!! well the issue is through out the game you are forced to use specific personas n u dun have any choice actually. so it feels like there is no sense of freedom. this is where the gameplay is lacking depth and balance a lot. Anyway .... Vita has a huge potential ... i am assuming developers were in the rush to release the game at same time as AC3 so that they are assured of its high sales. Well performance is poor due to the unbalanced frame rate but then technically the open world of AC3 L is really alive as console version. crowded city, lovely textures and designed areas....huge perspective n good lighting .... in generall from aspect being a console game i am not dissapointed from AC3 L ... its a really good approach n start and hopefully it will be better than what it is ... from aspect being an AC"3" game ... well its still far .... Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    This is a beautiful, and fun Vita game. It dos not feel like a dumbed down version of Assassins Creed but rather another entry in the franchise. The climbing and exploring are tons of fun. Some people find the persona system gimmicky but I thought it added something fresh. I do find the fighting and cameras can be a little tricky at times and the story is somewhat weak but this feels like an Assassin's Creed game. If you want a Vita game that feels like a console game this might be for you. If you don't love the console versions of the franchise this is not going to turn you around on it. Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    this is the first assassins creed game I owned and I didn't think much of it the only thing I liked about it was open world on a hand held device. and why does it have multiplayer I don't know, when I am on the go I don't have time to play online
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    5
    Nice game, good start for AC on Vita.
    Graphics weren't as I expected. Story wasn't that fun. And I couldn't get much out of it. The persona idea was cool.
    I experienced slow downs many times which made the experience awful. I didn't like the protagonist Aveline.
    Multiplayer was just silly and waste of time. They allocated 5 or 4 trophies for multiplayer which was really so silly and
    boring.
    I'm overall satisfied with the game but not excited or impressed. Worst int he series actually. Given that I didn't play Bloodlines to compare it with Liberation.
    Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you can change persona and blend in with people. Different persona have different abilities. People complain how the graphics and sound are really bad, but I didn't find that as a problem for me to lower the rate. Okay...maybe the sound are not that great but the game is still on a PS Vita which leads me to the next point. Graphics are surprisingly good on a PS Vita. It's not a PS4 gamers, portable devices have a limit to it. Sadly, looking at Ubisoft's situation right now, they probably will not make another game about Aveline and her story.... Expand
  14. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    This game does look rather good, though the framerate can be an issue a times. The story is pretty dull, and not one you are likely to remember afterwards, but if you looking for some fast paced action, and don´t care much for the storyline Assassin's Creed III: Liberation could be your pick.
  15. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This is the first portable Assassins Creed game to really feel like an Assassins Creed game to me. The visuals are great, the voice acting is well done, and the atmosphere is very good. The music is good and mostly non-intrusive as well. The story is very well done as well. It fits in the the Assassins Creed 3 theme very well.

    The controls are pretty easy to figure out. There is a level
    of complexity to it all, but it's not over the top, and it's pretty easy to figure out. There's a good variety of places you go to as well.

    The game is far from perfect, but it is still a good game, one that is great to play through once and one that I can easily see myself playing through multiple times.
    Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    In terms of content and core gameplay, for the most part, this is the Assassin's Creed you know and love. It's missing a few bells and whistles from the console versions but stabbing dudes is undeniably fun as always. Given its content, this game should be a 9, but its brought down by too many strange glitches, bugs, and wierd AI oddities. One time the game would not let me progress through a clearly marked door, and I had to restart the mission, wierd clipping problems are a common problem, sound effects can fail to play back, or occasionally music for that matter (actually, sound is generally not is good as it should be, although this game has a great musical score) NPC's occasionally dont render properly and pass through objects in a wierd sort of way, sometimes the circle button indicator strangely doesn't show its function. I could go on more, but im sure you get the idea. Preformance is also quite sluggish, which is a shame. Visually however, the game generally looks really nice. You may notice a couple of uglies here and there, but for the most part, its definatley one of the vita's better looking titles. It's a shame I have to take off a point because of preformance problems and glitches, but I have always found that a large part of what makes assassin's creed so enjoyable it's wonderful animations and visceral looking action, and the these problems do take away from those high points. In some ways I feel like this game was rushed to release alongside with the console AC3. I was going crazy with exitement towards this games release, and all though in some ways it is dissapointing, in many more ways its a good time. Here's to hoping they release many future passes to polish things up a tad. Oh wait, I also forgot to mention how cool some of the new weapons in this game are. They're awesome. Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    After playing all of the previous Assassin's Creed games , i must say i was pretty surprised with this one. I was pretty bored with Brotherhood and Revelations, but this one is another story. I guess mainly because its played on handheld. Graphics are superb (nearly good as first Assassin's Creed on PS3), sound and voices could be better - when im playing with headphones i can hear voices are not in highest quality , but still makes a good impression. Framerate is sometimes low when you are fighting more enemies at once , and controls may get a bit laggy and slow.Jumping from stuff to other stuff may be confusing and reaching your destination can be frustrating sometimes ,mainly in the swamps. But still i give this game an 8/10 because its pretty good in every aspect. Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    It feels like it could do better, but to be honest it's a very entertaining game overal. Only the multiplayer is not really what I expected/like, but I never play AC for the Multiplayer but for the single player modes!
  20. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    As of this writing the user reviews stand at Postitive: 72, Mixed: 6, and Negative:10. In other words, the majority of users really like this game. The Critic reviews currently stand at Positive: 14, Mixed: 13. What's wrong with this picture? Go with the users. The game is amazing. I saw one or two user reviews claim that the graphics weren't up to Vita standards. I'm calling 'troll' on that claim. AC:L is almost as beautiful as Uncharted: Golden Abyss. It's basically Assassin's Creed in your pocket and it's awesome. Is it perfect? No. But it's a phenomenal achievement. It plays like Assassin's Creed on the consoles. It looks like Assassin's Creed. No brainer. Expand
  21. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    The BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, this kind of framerate was kind of expected. Expand
  22. Oct 31, 2012
    5
    If you like smooth games, this isn't for you. If you wan to take my word for it you can stop here but I will elaborate for you skeptics. Yes this is a full assassin's creed game on the Vita and yes the idea alone is amazing but nearly every time you try to sink your teeth in the game shake you loose. The world of Liberation is hard to enter because of the poor graphics (And though I'm not picky about graphics these are not up to par with the vita's potential), the character is hard to relate to because of a jumpy explanation, and the gameplay is hard to be enthralled in due to a random frame rate drops and poor touch controls. I recommend this game only to the die hard fans or desperate vita owners everyone else will have a difficult time joying this. Expand
  23. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Finally something on the vita that looks and plays great. There is some lag but the graphics rock. I only played the first AC, but like this one much better.
  24. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Great addition to the franchise, I think Ubi did a great job in both Liberation and ACIII at capturing the times. The game play is extremely enjoyable, graphics are superb, combat is fun, not a lot of gimmicky touch controls. Small in game features cause some annoyance such as the challenge of lower notoriety (knit picking here). My main complaint is the lack of a true AC multi-player experience. If you are fan of the series, this is a must own. Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story ****
  26. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    i think that the best game for a handheld is ac3 liberation every moment of the game amazing i can not stop playing this game i just want to give you my opinion this is my best game in this year for my vita
  27. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you...
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    For a handheld the game is great. We have to remember, Vita games do not get the budget of the console big brothers, yes there are some bugs but they are on the console versions too. If your a Vita owner make this a purchase and enjoy...
  29. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    This feels less like a AC game, and more like an entire game of quicktime events. There is little to no actual skill required, simply run along the provided paths (which includes jumping from tree to tree), tap repeatedly for combat, then it's on to the next cutscene, rinse-repeat. There is little 'fun' in 'playing' this game, as you are guided so directly down the path to your next objective. Other AC games feel like an open world, but here there's little reason to waver from your objective, and doing so just gets you lost in the jungle.

    Thoroughly disappointing experience!
    Expand
  30. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]