User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 263

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Um, what game did these "video game critics" play? It couldn't be the one with the most interesting lead character (sans Ezio) in the entire Assassin's Creed legacy in the beautiful but deadly Aveline de Grandpre who alone is almost worth the price of admission. It couldn't be the game that transfers to a handheld but gives a robust amount of gameplay, improved fighting mechanics, different personas to use that effect gameplay, and graphics that are on par to AC:Revelations. This game is incredible. Aveline de Grandpre is instantly one of my favorite video game characters. She's intense, but ladylike. Poised but deadly. A beautiful woman with a poisonous bite if you cross her. I love her. The game is beautiful and fun to play. It's the most fun I've had playing Assassin's Creed....ever. Again, what game did these critics play? This game is awesome. Please Ubisoft, make more of game revolving around AVELINE DE GRANPRE!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Finally something on the vita that looks and plays great. There is some lag but the graphics rock. I only played the first AC, but like this one much better.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    For a handheld the game is great. We have to remember, Vita games do not get the budget of the console big brothers, yes there are some bugs but they are on the console versions too. If your a Vita owner make this a purchase and enjoy...
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    The BEST AC game EVER on a portable system, and it is almost as good as its console brethren. The world is big and detailed, gameplay is refined and polished, and it is a really long game too. However, it does lose points for framerate issues and not-that-great story. Nevertheless, you do get accustomed to the framerate rather soon, and of course for such a vast and detailed game, this kind of framerate was kind of expected. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I don't trust critics anymore, this game is great, i don't know if that's because i'm a fan of the series, but i really really enjoyed this game, i might even go as far and say i enjoyed it more than the console version, mainly because i hated Connor, this game isn't a 10 but i rated it that way because i'm noticing some trolls are rating it 0 without even playing it, pathetic really, my real score is 8.5/10 btw. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Great addition to the franchise, I think Ubi did a great job in both Liberation and ACIII at capturing the times. The game play is extremely enjoyable, graphics are superb, combat is fun, not a lot of gimmicky touch controls. Small in game features cause some annoyance such as the challenge of lower notoriety (knit picking here). My main complaint is the lack of a true AC multi-player experience. If you are fan of the series, this is a must own. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  8. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    As of this writing the user reviews stand at Postitive: 72, Mixed: 6, and Negative:10. In other words, the majority of users really like this game. The Critic reviews currently stand at Positive: 14, Mixed: 13. What's wrong with this picture? Go with the users. The game is amazing. I saw one or two user reviews claim that the graphics weren't up to Vita standards. I'm calling 'troll' on that claim. AC:L is almost as beautiful as Uncharted: Golden Abyss. It's basically Assassin's Creed in your pocket and it's awesome. Is it perfect? No. But it's a phenomenal achievement. It plays like Assassin's Creed on the consoles. It looks like Assassin's Creed. No brainer. Expand
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    How awesome could a handheld game get? This awesome. AC III: Liberation is surely a buy. It has insane graphics, a slow, but well told story, and very good gameplay. A buy for anyone with a vita.
  11. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    I bought this game about 3 weeks ago,and i love it.Controls are just like in "big consoles".Graphics are awesome,animations are sweet.But music is quite bad,each city had each song.The game is worthy of my 9/10.
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, without a shred of doubt, the closest thing to a next gen home console game on any portable device. Stunning graphics, enjoyable gameplay and nice length
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Not quite AC3 on PS3 but a darn sight closer than any of the psp assasin's creed games. A reallly good realization of the AC world filled with NPCs, bringing the setting to life. Must buy IMO
  14. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Alright I do not understand why this has a 71 rating, on the "official reviewers". This game is great. It's quick to jump into the action, compared to AC3 which takes quite a bit of time. The controls, aside from pickpocketing, are all great. Yes there are some glitches but this is a new engine and an open world game...they won't have all the kinks down in one day. Anywho, I really do like the idea of Abstergo making their own game and thus altering the truth as they see fit, as you will see in game. It has a good setting and a great protagonist. The deception that you have under abstergo reaches to characters you know. The persona all have their pros and cons, which is really done well, Assassin being the best fighter but having a minimum of level 1 notoriety. Slave being able to use most weapons and blend easier but accumulating notoriety faster and finally the Lady persona. She cannot free run but she gains notoriety the slowest and has an umbrella gun that poisons your enemies. It's just so much bundled up into a 40$ hand held game. The best part? It feels like a console AC game. Where as the other ones failed this one succeeds. If you like Assassin's Creed and own a vita, a rare combo, do yourself a favor and get this game. Expand
  15. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation is the first legit handheld game in the franchise. While there were Assassin's Creed games on both PSP and DS, none of these offered the console experience in handheld form. Liberation gives you a large sandbox world to explore, along with graphics that are pretty close to the games on the big home consoles. While it may not hit the visual mark of some scenes in Assassin's Creed III, I feel the world feels more alive than some other Assassin's Creed games I've played, as the world is full of pedestrians going about their business, such as sawing wood, working on houses, fishing, etc. You can even interact with the animals. This is a world that feels lived-in. Unlike many handheld games where you feel detached because of its portable style of play, Liberation immerses you in this world. This is Liberation, you should probably buy it.

    In terms of story, I really enjoyed Aveline's tale. There's a good cast of colorful characters here, many brimming with lots of charm. Aveline is a strong protagonist. She walks and acts with a certain style of confidence, even when her race is suffering under slavery, she is a strong female character that is rare in games.

    As far as graphics go, this is one of Vita's best. While it looks as good as Uncharted: Golden Abyss at times, it also sometimes looks a little worse. Like most open world games, Liberation has its highs and lows, but its highs are much higher than its lows are lower, because even at its lows, the world is still brimming with exceptional detail. You want to explore this beautiful world. Liberation's graphics are definitely near the top of Vita's library, especially considering this is an open world.

    Onto the gameplay, personally, I love it. I think the mechanics feel very solid and it plays beautifully on the Vita. Running around the city, climbing buildings, taking down foes, etc. all feels great.

    Despite being an incredible game, it does lack some polish to take it to that next level. Like Assassin's Creed III on home consoles, Liberation also has some glitches and framerate hiccups. I've seen people walk through houses, disappear from the world right in front of me, etc. To be fair, these are pretty minor distractions at best, but I think it's worth mentioning. Onto the framerate, it's usually pretty okay, but sometimes it'll get bogged down.

    If you have a Vita and want a large open world game, I'd highly recommend buying Liberation.
    Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    You will either love this game or merely like it, depending on what kind of gamer you are. If you enjoy exploration of rich environments, deep story-telling, and are willing to think more often than many other games require, you must play Liberation. If you found wandering the Normandy in the Mass Effect series boring, if you often skip cut scenes, or if you want constant action, there is still a great deal for you to enjoy in this game, but there are parts that will frustrate you. The story is tightly packed and is not spoon-fed to the player. It's an amazing tale, but one that requires you pay attention. Also, the persona system delivers a deep level of immersion and an experience that reinforces the narrative. In doing so, this system imposes some limitations that action-oriented gamers may find frustrating. For example, the "Lady" persona cannot climb or even move that fast, but playing as the Lady also makes you feel what it's like to "pass" as a certain type in society and what sacrifices are necessary to do so. It is a brilliant move and plays into the overarching themes of the main story. Technically, Liberation is almost perfect--I say almost because there are minor and infrequent frame rate drops, and free-run is only a hair better than ACII, which means the occasional frustration of a missed ledge or branch. Without giving away too much, I'll say that that some have mistaken a story element related to the animus as glitches in gameplay. For those who play games to deeply experience a story and who love to explore new and interesting virtual worlds, this could be your favorite game this year, console or otherwise. If you are a less cerebral and more relfex-oriented gamer, you'll still enjoy Liberation, but it will not hold the same magic. Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Great game on a handheld. Very smooth and really exciting game. There should be more games like this. Loading could be a little bit shorter but it's not a problem.
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story ****
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    It's apparent right from the first X button press Ubisoft have outdone themselves in tying Liberation to the PS3 game creating two totally different adventures with overlapping timelines. It is clear that there are more than a few similarities in both the design and gameplay. Whilst Connor deals with the Frontier, Aveline has the Bayou. Compared to the PS3 version, Aveline is pitted against fewer hostilities but she deals with them in pretty much the same vein as you fight large predators in Assassins' Creed III, mostly in quick time events. It also had an Arkham Asylum/City combat feel to it, never a bad thing. The Vita swamps provide hours of exploration with treasures aplenty and smugglers dotted around offering you gear.
    Exploring the swampland is so much fun, jumping from branch to branch, swimming stagnant waters, canoeing and wrestling crocs. Apart from the main swampy story of hunting down Acolytes there are also side missions to go at such as curing locals of an intense fever by tracking down special mushrooms.
    So far Aveline might sound a bit of a softy but she is just as agile as Connor. If it
    Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    liberation from first minute full of action and impressive moments i think the game deserves its price because the graphic ,the sounds and the story all work together to give us an amazing game in the palm of our hands so great work ubisoft
  21. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    i think that the best game for a handheld is ac3 liberation every moment of the game amazing i can not stop playing this game i just want to give you my opinion this is my best game in this year for my vita
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game, really enjoying it , just as good as its console counterparts, the vita has come of age with this title !
    Graphics are gorgeous the story is excellent so far and the combat system brings a huge smile to your face as you hack up your foes with extreme prejudice .
    Touch screen and rear panel are used to great effect but not over used like other vita games and work to great
    effect although optional.
    I also like the way your character has three different guises (lady,slave and assassin) which enable you to play the game with three different styles, works very well !

    Highly recommended if you own a Vita , if you don't ? Well, probably good enough a title to warrant buying one !

    A+
    Expand
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I had some doubts about this game when I start playing it. Couple hours later my doubts were assassinated by Aveline.. with machete! And do you know what? I love it. Many may say the game has flaws. Which game doesn't. The most important thing is that I have fun playing it.
  24. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    When this game was announced, my question was "Will it sell vitas?" and the answer is sadly no. The game is good but not great, the story line is going parallel to Assassin's Creed III's whilst not being that close. They could have added more incentives for duo purchase. Also I have noticed at a few point where the frame rate would drop considerably, mostly when many enemies are chasing you which sometimes led up to Aveline dying. For the multiplayer, I was expecting something awful mostly because lots of people were disappointed on various forums but I was rather pleased with it. Being a big chess and risk fan, I really enjoyed the territory aspect although they should have added a bit more strategy to it. Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I think this game is one of the better games that's available on the PS Vita. If you like the assassin's creed series then this is the one for you! I hope the glitches and other things will be patched soon. I say a must buy for all ps vita gamers.
    Sorry for my bad English!

    Greetings djwille
  26. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you...
  27. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed III: Liberation was such a good game.Not only on VITA,but also for a console game.It has a full open world and the same combat system as Assassin's Creed III.In the game,you can buy or upgrade a lot eqiutment,such as weapons,clothes even ships.The combat system is fantastic and Chain Kill mode is really awesome.Though Liberation is a good game,there are still some fault and bugs.Also,the multiplayer is really awful and useless.I mean,why do we need a ''mobile game like'' multiplayer?Will developers put some IAP into the game too?Sounds like a freaking nightmare!!! Expand
  28. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    It's nice to see so many people giving user scores generously.. Very lucky and am quite surprised to see so many ps vita titles reeking of quality..
    Very impressive graphics.. Controls instantly familiar if your an assasins creed veteran..
    Sounds/voice acting up to a very high standard.. Great gameplay.. Buy it and see For yourself.. Best 39.99 I've spent on psn in a long time.. Thank
    you so much ubisoft keep up the excellent work Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I've picked this game along with NFS MW on vita. What comes to mind after playing an hour or so that the game has identity crisis, the story depth is quiet shallow and it has a lot of grey areas which we expect to find answers but unfortunatley most of questions will not be answered, AC games are usually come along with an engaging story. This is where Liberation has lack of work. Beside that Aveline herself is a pretty nice character. Her style, dialogues n everything she has is very impressive but then becuz we love her we want to know about her dark past eventually, but there is no background story either. its shame to see all of these lovely ideas are not very well working to make a real AC game. Beside these the gameplay is a total Assassins Creed. It has a mixture of brilliant ideas and all the cool assassins missions. sometimes it has lack of vraiety which is not very noticeable unless you arent a fan of AC series. But what bothers me a lot that this brilliant Persona content could be really brilliant !!! well the issue is through out the game you are forced to use specific personas n u dun have any choice actually. so it feels like there is no sense of freedom. this is where the gameplay is lacking depth and balance a lot. Anyway .... Vita has a huge potential ... i am assuming developers were in the rush to release the game at same time as AC3 so that they are assured of its high sales. Well performance is poor due to the unbalanced frame rate but then technically the open world of AC3 L is really alive as console version. crowded city, lovely textures and designed areas....huge perspective n good lighting .... in generall from aspect being a console game i am not dissapointed from AC3 L ... its a really good approach n start and hopefully it will be better than what it is ... from aspect being an AC"3" game ... well its still far .... Expand
  30. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I totally do not understand the people rated this game under 7 8. This game was amazing! The gameplay was fun and easy to understand, with all the new weapons Aveline has compare to all the boys in the main games. Aveline was the first female character that you can control with in the AC series and carry her around whenever you go! Which made this game extra special. I love how you can change persona and blend in with people. Different persona have different abilities. People complain how the graphics and sound are really bad, but I didn't find that as a problem for me to lower the rate. Okay...maybe the sound are not that great but the game is still on a PS Vita which leads me to the next point. Graphics are surprisingly good on a PS Vita. It's not a PS4 gamers, portable devices have a limit to it. Sadly, looking at Ubisoft's situation right now, they probably will not make another game about Aveline and her story.... Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    I scored Assassin's Creed 3 an 8. This game sticks closer to the tried and true Creed game play. The glitch issues that plagues the console counterpart are absent here. You feel like you are controlling a female Ezio, not Connor and that's a good thing for me. All it's missing is the hook blade. The Vita needs more top notch entries like this one.
  32. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, it has nice dialogs and the game seems to be well made and taken care of. It has many negative reviews but after some patches the game fixed many bugs it had. The story mode is not so good since it lacks depth and you pretty much forget what's going on, apart from that, the city is well created and if you like the saga you know what to expect.
  33. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PS Vita!
    -Открытый мир
    -Девушка
    -Разнообразные костюмы
    -Это история!
    -Есть Multiplayer
    -Русские
    Expand
  34. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Firstly, I'm a huge fan of the AC series. For me though, this is the poorest and least enjoyable of all the AC's from the series. Graphically the game is good (but not amazing) but clearly due to hardware restraints within the Vita, it's just not as grand as the other games from a visual point of view (I'm not marking the game down for this). I found that the sound of the game was poor, voices sound like they've been recorded in mono or something? The story is..well...ok. Just ok. Gameplay wise I found it average..sometimes engaging sometimes boring and repetitive. i just found everything really average! What really brings the game down for me is the total lack of polish...this game was rushed rushed rushed! So so so many bugs and glitches everywhere which really frustrated me. In the end, I found that I had to push myself to finish the main story, and I have no intention of ever playing it again. To summarise, an average game at best. A 7 from me. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    72
    A match for its bigger cousins on the surface. But dig deep and liberation starts to unravel. [Jan 2013, p.80]
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  3. It's the glitches and game-breaking annoyances that most let things down. [Christmas 2012, p.96]