Assassin's Creed III: Liberation Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1765. 10 years before the American Revolutionary War in the north, Spanish forces plan to take control of the Louisiana Territory in the south...but they have yet to reckon with Aveline, a deadly Assassin who uses every weapon and well-honed skill in her arsenal to win freedom for herIt's 1765. 10 years before the American Revolutionary War in the north, Spanish forces plan to take control of the Louisiana Territory in the south...but they have yet to reckon with Aveline, a deadly Assassin who uses every weapon and well-honed skill in her arsenal to win freedom for her land and her people. Whether silently eliminating her enemies with vicious slow-motion chain kills or luring them into deadly traps, Aveline strikes mortal fear into the hearts of any who stand in her way. As an Assassin, Aveline finds herself on an unforgettable journey that will take her from the crowded streets and voodoo-haunted swamps of New Orleans to ancient Mayan ruins. She plays a pivotal role in the turbulent birth of the new nation and fights for freedom not only for herself, but for her fellow citizens, as well. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed III: Liberation Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    96
    As fully featured as any console game, and every aspect feels like it was given the proper care. Liberation is part of a beloved series, and it can be proud standing beside any other of your Assassin's Creed favorites. If you've been looking for a reason to pick up a PS Vita, this is probably it.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Despite these problems, though, Liberation brings a hugely engaging and interesting gameplay mechanic to the series, one that's informed by the character herself. For that reason alone, it's impossible for me not to recommend this game.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Even though the visuals suffer in their tininess, none of the basic Assassin's Creeding is compromised. This is a full-blown counterpart to Assassin's Creed 3, with its own setting, style, character, and location. Bravo, Ubisoft.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    In many ways, Assassin's Creed III: Liberation is suppressed by Ubisoft Sofia's own outrageous ambitions. The plot meanders between ingenious and incomprehensible, sadly settling on the latter for great chunks of the single-player campaign. The gameplay is recognisable and confidently recreated, and there are moments when Aveline's pocketable adventure threatens to outdo its console counterparts – but the experience is mired by a communicative murkiness that's not entirely unlike its depiction of the Louisiana bayou's bogs.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    70
    A solid and well-produced installment that aims for console heights but delivers more of the same. [Dec 2012]
  6. 65
    If you're a fan of the series or you want to spend time running around stabbing people, Assassin's Creed III: Liberation will suffice, but because it tries so hard to be like a console title, its failure to match the level of depth, breadth or enjoyment you'd expect is all the more heartbreaking.
  7. 50
    The story set-up is good and there are some interesting new gameplay features, but almost all of them are squandered by sloppy design and technical issues.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 81
  2. Negative: 11 out of 81
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    great game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that yougreat game i agree with spacecowboy the load time should be little shorter but the game after 3 hours of game play i c an tell you that you must by the game right now very smooth and very good graphics and insane story **** Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missionsI played the game non stop ever since it arrived (save for a few breaks) and have the story mode (although there are a tonne of side missions to do, as well as unlocking the 'real ending') - and all I have to say is wow. The first 20 or so minutes had me really worried, the graphics were poor, the gameplay felt stiff, but all that changed once the game truely opened up and stopped holding my hand. This is the true AC console experience on the handheld. I will say this much, power through the first couple of mins, it paints a sour picture of the game. The graphics become smooth and beautiful once you get further in, and the frame rate remains consistent. The gameplay is standard AC fare, which is a very good thing ! It's great how the game incorporates AC3s mechanics, keeping it up with the latest entry rather then stripping of features. There is a LOT of content in this game, and I can happily say as a huge fan of the Assassins Creed series, this is up there with its console counterparts rather then the subpar portable games. BUY THIS NOW ! Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other gameI haven't played much this game but I have to say this is what my PS Vita was in need of... The graphics are far superior from any other game in the portable and the controls might not suit everyone but if you are a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan, then this game won't troubles you... Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    hey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put lowhey its a great game not perfect but a great and smooth gameplay, good graphics and storyline, i dont understand why all the reviewers put low critics on goo games Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2017
    7
    While far from the series first handheld entry, Liberation does a remarkable job of bringing the Assassin's Creed console experience toWhile far from the series first handheld entry, Liberation does a remarkable job of bringing the Assassin's Creed console experience to portable gaming. The Vita's control system allows for the climbing, combat, and exploration to feel just like it would if you were playing one it's big siblings at home. It really feels like you're playing a legitimate AC game on the go. Where Liberation stumbles though is in it's technical stability and attempts at doing something new.

    The narrative in Liberation is quite weak. I cared little about the characters or conflict. A shame given that this is the first Assassin's Creed game to feature a female protagonist. Graphically the game can be quite impressive. At least during the gameplay sequences. Some of the cutscenes feature bland character models and environments, both of which lack detail. This is a flaw in the main AC3 game as well. When you're actually playing it though the game looks fantastic and almost as good as the console games. Of course the series strong voice acting and music is present as well.

    One thing you'll notice playing the game is that it doesn't always run that smoothly. The action sometimes has a hard time keeping up when you're running around and platforming. There are also some technical issues and bugs scattered throughout. None of this is game-breaking, and while everything you'll encounter is pretty minor, it's clear that there is a final layer of polish missing from the experience.

    From the gameplay perspective this is very much Assassin's Creed as we know it on home console. Everything you would expect from an AC game is in place and plays just like you think it would. There's something incredibly impressive about that when you consider how previous portable iterations have had to change things up in order to make the jump to handheld. Liberation delivers the core experience ensuring that fans will have plenty of fun here. The game also provides some of the most interesting locations in the series to explore. It even gives you some cool new weapons like the whip and cane knife that I would love to see return at some point or another. Of course, this being a Vita title it tries to make use of the system's unique features. While other titles I've experienced on the Vita have at least done an okay job at this, Liberation might just be the first to implement them poorly. The touchscreen and motion controls, while mercifully used sparingly, are irritating to use as they are so darn unresponsive. It makes those few mini-games where you have to use them a chore. Another issue I had with the single-player side of things is certain side-missions just don't show up on your map. You're fumble and stumble around large open-areas in order to 100% this one. It's unnecessarily tedious. The idea of having different personas for your assassin is interesting and provides a unique twist on the standard experience, but there's little denying that one of these disguises ("The Lady") just isn't much fun to play as do to a limited number of capabilities.

    On the multiplayer side of things, gamers get treated to, well, not much of anything at all. Rather than the tense and fun competitive experience we'd get on consoles, Liberation gives us a confusing and poorly explained experience that feels like something we'd get in a free-to-play mobile game on iPhone, and not a good one. I personally found it to be a worthless experience. One where I have to wonder why they even bothered in the first place.

    So Liberation has it's issues. Yet, when it comes to bringing the console experience to Vita, it succeeds wildly. You'll have to overlook the weak narrative, gameplay shortcomings, and crap multiplayer, but it can still provide a fun experience or fans of the series. Liberation allows you to bring the core Assassin's Creed experience with you on the go, and that's worth something.
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    I love AC saga but this one isnt a very good game of AC..This new female assasin isnt good for that game..better if ubisoft use altair/ezioI love AC saga but this one isnt a very good game of AC..This new female assasin isnt good for that game..better if ubisoft use altair/ezio for AC episode Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This game has no value at all. Worst combat system in the series, lots of bug that breaks the gameplay. I almost smash the ps vita becoz ofThis game has no value at all. Worst combat system in the series, lots of bug that breaks the gameplay. I almost smash the ps vita becoz of it. Now I register as a member here just to express my feelings here, SHAME ON YOU UBISOFT!!!! Expand

See all 81 User Reviews