Atelier Totori Plus: The Adventurer of Arland Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The small fishing village of Alanya on the Arland Republic's southern border is home to the young alchemist-in-training Totooria Helmold. She is called Totori by her friends and family, and she wishes to become a great adventurer. One day, she resolves to make the journey to Arland, becomeThe small fishing village of Alanya on the Arland Republic's southern border is home to the young alchemist-in-training Totooria Helmold. She is called Totori by her friends and family, and she wishes to become a great adventurer. One day, she resolves to make the journey to Arland, become an adventurer, and explore the world beyond her hometown. She will make many friends along her journey of discovery - some new, some familiar. When her quest comes to a close, your actions over the course of the game will dictate whether she finds the answers to her questions, forge unbreakable bonds with friends, or take different paths entirely. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    91
    Atelier Totori Plus is one of the deepest, most enjoyable games I've played on the Vita, and that's all there is to it.
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    80
    Anyone with an aversion to cute will likely vomit themselves inside out before they've cleared the intro movie, puking their way into a catatonic state with inhuman haste, but for everyone there's a lot to love in Atelier Totori. It's huge, it's charming and it's just a shame that its strict, poorly defined timeline rubs some of its sheen off. That aside, it's almost ludicrously absorbing, beautiful to bask in, and a joy to play.
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    78
    Atelier Totori was a very good RPG to begin with, but its stylish, technically modest graphics, and focus on bite-sized quests make it an ideal candidate for handheld gaming.
  4. May 3, 2013
    70
    It’s very nearly a very good game, and certainly the best introduction to the series for new starters, but it just misses out on feeling like a must have gem.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    i am loosing hope with the vita recently as its been out in the UK now for just over a year and nothing has really blown my mind like i wantedi am loosing hope with the vita recently as its been out in the UK now for just over a year and nothing has really blown my mind like i wanted it too.
    however. atelier totori plus is the closest one to blowing my mind to date. its graphics are stunning, attention to detail are fantastic and UI and character design are beautiful. this is however a jrpg that only jrpg fans are going to like... im afraid for all you vita owners out there still waiting for that vita experience you were promised that dont get along with staff wielding girls and collecting herbs should stay well away from this. which is a shame because it is by far the best made vita game out there yet, with glorious HD graphics that genuinly (for once) look HD... what more can i say other than if you like your rpg's don't even waste time moaning about the high cost... its worth every penny. (by the way this is on the PSN store now... you may not know because no one told ANYONE!!)
    Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    So far i have played none of the games in the series but I was really excited to see this pop up on the psn. I'm only just beginning the gameSo far i have played none of the games in the series but I was really excited to see this pop up on the psn. I'm only just beginning the game but as a first impression it is amazing to look at and its a port of a ps3 game, (i never played the original) but it doesn't feel like I could possibly be missing anything. Collapse
  3. May 10, 2014
    8
    solo para los amantes de los RPG, música muy buena, gráficos hermosos un sistema de alquimia y misiones simple lo único que la historia essolo para los amantes de los RPG, música muy buena, gráficos hermosos un sistema de alquimia y misiones simple lo único que la historia es algo simplona Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    I've had Vita for 10 months. I am obsessed with JRPGs... I've grown up with ff 7-9, tactics branched out to disgae, duodecim, and persona,I've had Vita for 10 months. I am obsessed with JRPGs... I've grown up with ff 7-9, tactics branched out to disgae, duodecim, and persona, ragnarok. I thought I would have to wait until Soul Odyssey.
    I bought this on a whim, never hear nor played of this series. I will save you the time, just buy this, if you are like me and adore JRPGs you should buy, like now!
    It took a bit to get into the game, I had no idea how to play, tutorial is weak, please look online for a bit better explanation... But the character dev is fantastic. It's a very cheery type game, you will enjoy just randomly battling baddies, to synthing items, collecting, enjoying the great soundtrack. Graphics are phenomenal on the vita, really, I've played everything but here the colors just pop.

    If you like any JRPGs, you just need to suck it up and buy this, it's a unique experience and will put you a bit out of your comfort zone, but rewarding and a great way to kill some time 10 hrs in with 5 days playing...
    Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Bad ending.

    That's what I got when I played for the first and maybe the last time. I was really enjoying the game but it suddenly ended
    Bad ending.

    That's what I got when I played for the first and maybe the last time. I was really enjoying the game but it suddenly ended with many gaps and no way of getting a second chance with the same game progress.

    I always wanted to play a game of the Atelier series but I never priorized it due to other games I still had to play on PS3. Then Atelier Tototi Plus appeared on Vita and I thought it was my chance.

    I loved it since the beggining. Beautiful graphics, memorable characters, simple but admirable story, a turn-based battle that isn't boring, a catchy soundtrack and a great variety of synthesizable items. Seriously, there was nothing to complaint about... until I find out what was behind the time system.

    You know, one of the most common things about RPG is playing at your pace. You take your time to do the quests you want, to fight until you're strong enough to move forward and other things. But with Atelier Totori there's a point in the game where you have to stop everything you want to do just to gather and synthesize some specific items. If you don't do that, it's game over. You will get a bad ending and also a new chance to start the game all over again keeping your money and equipped items only.

    If you don't mind playing the game more than one time or don't care about using a guide, you should play this game. Maybe you can get a good ending all by youself, now that you know the importance of the time system. You'll also have to enjoy the niche JRPG genre.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Atelier Totori is an enjoyable game for those who like to farm craft in a grindy JRPG atmosphere. However, although looking veryAtelier Totori is an enjoyable game for those who like to farm craft in a grindy JRPG atmosphere. However, although looking very casual-friendly, this game is in fact really harsh on new players. Everything is timed, and you very often feel rushed (if you know the deadlines, which the game only vaguely explains). Bad ends can happen very often when you don't really know what you did wrong. My only complaint with this game is that there is no option for an "infinite" play with no deadline, to just enjoy the game.

    Visually the game is very pleasant (as long as you're in the cute anime style), and the characters all have voice acting. There isn't much development in terms of sidekick stories, but they are still fairly interesting to keep around. Not for everyone, but a nice little trip. Slightly short if you aren't into newgame+ when compared to other JRPGs (around 20h?).
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2015
    6
    I will make this clear off the get go, I HATE time limits in games. Passionately. especially in games like this which are soo rich in contentI will make this clear off the get go, I HATE time limits in games. Passionately. especially in games like this which are soo rich in content that i would love nothing more than to spend hours and hours synthing everything and scouring every map.

    That being said the time limit is less restricting on your second playthrough just out of sheer knowlage of the system.

    an awesome game otherwise, the graphics are great, the characters are for the most part fleshed out, there are the standard tropes but the game manages not to fall all over them, and the comedy throughout the game will keep everything rather light and refreshing.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews