Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate is a 2.5-D game developed by Armature Studio that brings the Batman Arkham experience for the first time to Nintendo and Sony handheld systems. A companion game to Batman: Arkham Origins, players can continue the storyline of the console version and discover more detalis of the Dark Knight's past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    It's great when side games take their own direction with design but still maintain the core concepts that define a series. That's just what you'll get with Blackgate. A solid exploration/combat game that is forced to overcome a few flaws.
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    75
    Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate is a good and original attempt at bringing the formula to a handheld. The interesting use of depth in this side-scroller and the implementation of the well known freeflow combat, make Blackgate a joy to play at times. Backtracking loses its appeal after a while though, as do the lack of enemies and the unintuitive map.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    72
    Not quite up to the standard of the console versions of Batman: Arkham Origins, but not a bad game on its own.
  4. 65
    If you can get through the glitches and barebones plot, there is a good game to be played. I had fun with Blackgate. I will be playing through it again because this is the style of game I really like. It certainly could have been better, but Blackgate is still an above average experience.
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    60
    Arkham Origins: Blackgate is an interesting first entry, but it attempts to mimic its console counterpart a bit too much. Some of these elements simply don’t work in a 2D style game, and it hurts the overall experience too much at times.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    50
    Arkham Origins serves to bring Batman back for more in an acceptable, if unbelievable narrative, but Origins Blackgate does nothing for the character, nothing for the player, and nothing to further the Arkham series. It’s not a complete and totally broken mess, but it’s not the portable game Batman deserves and it’s not the Vita game we need right now.
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    30
    The worst problem, however, is all the backtracking is needlessly empty. Once foes are defeated, they're gone for good. I'm never usually a fan of respawning enemies, but running through corridor after corridor of bleak, prison-gray nothingness just gets tedious after a while without something to do other than just traveling.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Im sorry, but this game is being hated on for absolutely no reason. its a pretty game, it has innovative and interesting gameplay and to top it all... it is on a handheld!!! cmon guys... the vita has been suffering from mediocre reviews from critics that are totally not befitting with games that have been groundbreaking... i.e. killzone mercenaries and Uncharted Golden Compass.... I think we can all agree that the critics seem to be swayed by each other's reviews because they themselves have not played the games or know very little of gaming. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    The game has the same environment of previous games, weapons and equipment are also. The detective mode makes you attentive to every room she enters, looking for clues to the extra cases. Fights are in the same style of the previous games, with attack and counter attack. The graphics are beautiful and fluid, just think maybe they have insured the quality a bit for doing with the 3DS version which is much lower. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    After spending some time with this game, I feel like it was definitely worth the pickup. I am not too crazy about the console arkham games. They look and play well, but Don't seem to hold my attention. This version is great as it has similar combat and stealth, but uses a 2D platforming element instead of the 3D open world. I find myself hooked to the beautiful comic book style art in the storyline, as well as the sharp graphics on the vita's screen. Judging this game purely as it's own, and not against the console version, I feel like the developers did a fantastic job creating a portable friendly batman game. The same high quality that the other batman games possess I feel is here as well. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    I liked this game on the Vita, though I am still waiting for console-level games. If Borderlands 2 is in the works for the Vita, then why not the full Arkham Origins for the Vita? Anyway, that being said, I enjoyed the similar combat style to Blackgate's console counterpart. My favorite weapon is the gel launcher, which I thought was a great addition considering the level designs in Blackgate. It's also great fun to snag ammo packs off the backs of enemies. The boss battles are puzzling and challenging, and I love Catwoman's playful banter. Following the map was a bit of a setback for me, presenting frustrating moments frequently. All in all, however, I enjoyed the game, and it's a lot of bang for your handheld buck at about 10 hrs. to complete the campaign. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    I just recently got this for Christmas and at first I wasn't too sure, but after awhile you can see why the user reviews are pretty high! But let me start off by saying...
    - It isn't amazing
    - It isn't revolutionary
    - ...and it isn't a major leap from its downgraded 3ds sister
    + ...but it is good, really good.
    When you first start off its very closed, you don't get a good feel of it, but the more you progress the more it goes to show how well of a game it is.
    + The boss fights are really well done and they do progressively get more challenging and even the easiest is fun.
    + The side scrolling works especially for a batman, surprisingly.
    + The touchscreen controls feel right (and if you get stuck remember it can help).
    + The story is interesting enough, enough to were I sometimes laughed and kept going that little bit extra.
    + The map is separated into 3 main locations, unlocking gadgets in each one and revisiting each occasionally to progress through the story or to find a hidden unlockables, while not feeling to "backtracky" and giving a sense of openness and choice.
    + Enemies don't respawn.
    + Its fun.
    Overall the game is worth an 8 in my eyes, I'm really enjoying it and I'm glad I got it for Christmas hope this helps!
    Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    I think most negative reviews are distorted because they expected a near port of the original arkham series. This is a diferent game, with points of contacts but with interesting turning points that make it something special. More focused on the exploration and stealth. You must solve more puzzles and find your way out out in an entangled prision maze. The 2,5 d perspective with ocassional change to 3d is pretty original. The boss fightings are superlative. The only way to broke down the ones as Grundy or deadeye is more with brain and strategy than with the usual punch and beat. My only criticism is the lack of clearer hints. Sometimes you really get lost and dond know exactly how to follow up and you end searching in a walkthrough. More comprehensive in game hints are needed. In the other part i really prefer this over the last big brother Arkham Origins for PS3 and PC. That was a mere repetition of asylum and arkham city. Armature found a way out to make something strongly bond to the series and pretty refreshing. Kudos for them Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    4
    The reason I give this such a low score is because a 10/10 is a perfect game, and this is no where near perfect. It's still a good get, and the dropped price seems fitting. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews