Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new visually stunning array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the four new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2014
    100
    Borderlands 2 is instantly one of the best games the Vita has to offer, and a sign that maybe, just maybe, those initial promises of it being a portable console in your pocket weren't that far from reality.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a great game to play in bursts, and the handheld format lends itself to this type of game perfectly.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    It definitely has problems, but Borderlands 2 is still mighty fun on Vita.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    65
    Not so nice to watch, hard to handle and full of glitches, this new entry isn't really what we were waiting for.
  5. Borderlands 2 has been a really bad port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Borderlands 2 is serious fun, but has serious problems.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    20
    Released and patched, but still not ready for release - Borderlands and the Vita deserve better.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 130
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Excellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, with this purchase. Sony keep them coming!!! Collapse
  2. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    I have never play console or pc so to me this looks great First of all don't listen to all the negative reviews it can lag but later on not so much it has all the same content and 6 dlc packs but it much more cartoony I have had it for 6 hours and I have not stopped in fact i dont have time for grammar there is no crashing or freezing on the game just fun Expand
  3. May 16, 2014
    10
    Best Vita game ever, and I have them all. GET THIS GAME! GET IT GET THE GAME. I AM AMAZED BY THE FACT THAT THEY GOT THIS RUNNING ANG LOOKING SO GOOD ON THE VITA. ITS BORDERLANDS IN YOUR HANDSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    9
    After having played the game on PS3, and PC already, I was thrilled to try it out on the VITA. The first thing I noticed when I created my brand-new Psycho character was that the game looks pretty good on the handheld. So far (I just got to Tundra Express) I have enjoyed the game, of course there were the occasional moments of frustration when I died whilst being crippled, and felt that I missed due to the controls (buts it's probably just me being bad at games :P ), or another moment of rage was the crash in the Bloodshot Stronghold, but the second time I got past the checkpoint without problem. The port itself is astonishing, having played the PS3 version I am familiar with the occasional frame stutters, but so far I haven't noticed any major drops in FPS. The big thing people kept talking about was enemy pop, most of the time you have 3 bug guys, but there are quite a few locations where I got 6 psychos running at me, so its nothing game breaking. I have not tried co-op so I cannot comment on that part of the game, only to say that Borderlands 2 the game itself is very very fun in co-op. The game itself is Borderlands 2, which was a great game, and you get a lot of content in this package with the two DLC, and it's well worth the money. Overall I'm thoroughly enjoying the game, and I highly recommend it, also play the Psycho Character class he is awesome. Expand
  5. May 14, 2014
    9
    The frame rate is not nearly as bad as some reviews lead you to believe certainly playable and lots of fun one of Vitas best. I own it on Pc but this seems like a fine trade off to play it on the go. Kids these days don't remember playing really choppy games like perfect dark. Expand
  6. May 19, 2014
    8
    I wasnt expecting it to look amazing, I mean, it wasnt designed with the Vita in mind, but rather just ported over to the vita in the space of a few months... But I wasnt expecting the performance issues.

    That said, all the content is there and it runs one hell of alot better than the REALY bad vita games like Ratchet and Clank Qforce or Assassins creed liberation... You see, cos while Borderlands 2 can drop frames and even stutter sometimes, at least it averages at roundabout 30fps at native resolution instead of 20fps at a fraction of the resolution like the aforementioned games. Even if its graphics has been dumbed down, and it only has 2 player coop, The entire borderlands 2 game is there with all the content. Wich is great
    Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    This game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of the game with mostly annoying, overpriced and pointless DLCs. Join the Anti-DLC-Force! Expand

See all 130 User Reviews