Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new visually stunning array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the four new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2014
    100
    Borderlands 2 is instantly one of the best games the Vita has to offer, and a sign that maybe, just maybe, those initial promises of it being a portable console in your pocket weren't that far from reality.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a great game to play in bursts, and the handheld format lends itself to this type of game perfectly.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    It definitely has problems, but Borderlands 2 is still mighty fun on Vita.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    65
    Not so nice to watch, hard to handle and full of glitches, this new entry isn't really what we were waiting for.
  5. Borderlands 2 has been a really bad port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Borderlands 2 is serious fun, but has serious problems.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    20
    Released and patched, but still not ready for release - Borderlands and the Vita deserve better.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 127
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Excellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, with this purchase. Sony keep them coming!!! Collapse
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    This is the best ps vita port of any console game ever. Do not believe any of the reviews from ign, gamespot etc It is mental to think that some of the major game review sites have slated this game because of the GRAPHICS! there are not that bad! there are good enough and you have the whole game in this package on the go, on the bus on the train etc anyway you want! so it is an amazing deal!!! Expand
  3. May 16, 2014
    10
    Best Vita game ever, and I have them all. GET THIS GAME! GET IT GET THE GAME. I AM AMAZED BY THE FACT THAT THEY GOT THIS RUNNING ANG LOOKING SO GOOD ON THE VITA. ITS BORDERLANDS IN YOUR HANDSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    Other than a few bugs here and there the game is excellent, I see no reason why critics gave it a low score. There is no problems with frame rate and I have no problems with the back touch panel.

    This game is a must buy for Vita owners, honestly forget what critics say and try for yourself.
    Expand
  5. May 14, 2014
    9
    The frame rate is not nearly as bad as some reviews lead you to believe certainly playable and lots of fun one of Vitas best. I own it on Pc but this seems like a fine trade off to play it on the go. Kids these days don't remember playing really choppy games like perfect dark. Expand
  6. May 16, 2014
    8
    I have been pretty pumped for this game for some time. I heard about rough first drafts but I remained optimistic. I scoured the internet for reviews after the release of the early edition ( I had to wait) I was pretty worried when I saw IGN's review but then I noticed that the Metacritic critic reviews were all over the place it sounded like they were playing different games. I took heart that most of the user reviews were positive. (actually there wasn't a single negative review until the critics started trashing it.) I've been playing it a few days and I'm happy with it. The visuals aren't as crisp and the controls aren't quite as tight as console play but since it is not being played on a console it's hard to hold that against it. One of the big complaints are about the use of the screen and touch pad which I have found to be a non issue, maybe because I'm used to using them on the Vita also I have trigger grips (which I would highly recommend to anyone) and they make accidental swipes less frequent. the sound and gameplay are the same fun I loved from the consoles. If you are on the fence at all pick this game up it's tons of fun and they tossed in lots of DLC. I only wish I had a PS3 so I could cross play. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    This game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of the game with mostly annoying, overpriced and pointless DLCs. Join the Anti-DLC-Force! Expand

See all 127 User Reviews