Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Borderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem asBorderlands 2 furthers the distinct blending of First Person Shooter and Role Playing genres to create the true evolution of the Role Playing Shooter. Team up with up to three other players for four-player online goodness or go old-school with two-player split-screen couch sharing mayhem as you spend hours leveling up your character and equipping them with one of the millions of badass weapons. Borderlands 2 features a new visually stunning array of procedurally generated guns, shields, grenades, artifacts, enemies and more. Choose one of the four new character classes to be taken through a carefully crafted and connected story to all new and surprising environments across the living planet of Pandora. Make new friends, arm them to the teeth and fight alongside them on your relentless quest for revenge and redemption. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2014
    100
    Borderlands 2 is instantly one of the best games the Vita has to offer, and a sign that maybe, just maybe, those initial promises of it being a portable console in your pocket weren't that far from reality.
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Borderlands 2 is a great game to play in bursts, and the handheld format lends itself to this type of game perfectly.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    It definitely has problems, but Borderlands 2 is still mighty fun on Vita.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    65
    Not so nice to watch, hard to handle and full of glitches, this new entry isn't really what we were waiting for.
  5. Borderlands 2 has been a really bad port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Borderlands 2 is serious fun, but has serious problems.
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    20
    Released and patched, but still not ready for release - Borderlands and the Vita deserve better.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 141
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Excellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, withExcellent, a little dub down but it s a must buy for the Vita. Lots of replay value. The game playable and decent frame rate. Very happy, with this purchase. Sony keep them coming!!! Expand
  2. May 30, 2014
    10
    I have to say I was very sceptical when I read all the negative reviews about this game, but seriously there were always going to be problemsI have to say I was very sceptical when I read all the negative reviews about this game, but seriously there were always going to be problems with this game, the sheer size of it down converted onto a handheld!! Anyway when I made the purchase late last night ( 30th May EU release date ) I was very pleasantly surprised they were able to squeeze this massive game onto the vita, the development team behind this endeavour deserve a round of applause. Well done! So far 3 hours int the game, its easy to point out the short falls, tiny text and map not a lot of enemies on screen at the same time, some noticeable frame drops in heavy combat, but aside from that I like the controls, their easy considering I've mastered the vita's front and rear touch pads from other great games like Killzone Mercenaries and the numerous hours with remote play on the PS4. Borderlands 2 is a joy to play, best purchase since Killzone Mercenaries, this is what i've been waiting for. I've always meant to complete Borderlands 2 a second time with a different character, now I can, but on the go! This is EPIC! Well worth €25. Blown away with the value of this game! Expand
  3. May 17, 2014
    10
    Well, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. ThatWell, in all honesty...I ended up ignoring this review...and got my copy of Borderlands 2. It is not the same as a PC or console version. That is the truth. Getting used to the controls takes some effort...but no more than what's required to get out of bed and get dressed in the morning. Graphics are a noticeable difference as well - but if you really expected the same on the Vita, you really need to get your head examined. The Vita is a great machine, capable of amazing things, but keep it realistic. A hiccup every now and then in frantic moments, and of course the load times are mere speed bumps on the long road to killing Handsome Jack. But it you're looking for another game to populate your collection on your Vita, this is definitely worth the money in the long run. Lack of polish and a bit of tarnish around it's edges makes this Claptrap unit no less spry and sassy. Or if you prefer a number.... Use a calculator.

    Borderlands 2, buy it if:
    You love the game.
    You love and support the Vita.
    You've done your investigating.
    You take my word for it.

    Don't if:
    You prefer renting.
    You mistrust Claptrap.
    You work for Handsome Jack.
    You don't actually own a Vita.

    (Same as what I posted in IGN)
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2014
    9
    I own BL2 on the 360, and PC. I have spent over 500+ hours on the 360 version, and around 300 or so hours on the PC version. I bought everyI own BL2 on the 360, and PC. I have spent over 500+ hours on the 360 version, and around 300 or so hours on the PC version. I bought every piece of DLC (with the exception of the Headhunter packs) the day it came out, and played each of them multiple times. The Vita port of BL2 while not perfect, is still a damn good game. I've seen reviews where people slam on the lowered graphics, or the controls. I do admit, the controls take a moment to get used to, but for me personally I find tapping the back to sprint, or front screen to use my special ability very easy to adjust to. In the case of the sprint on the back touch screen, I actually find that FAR better than traditional controllers, I have broken the joysticks on 5 separate xbox controllers from using sprint by pushing in the joystick, perhaps I simply push to hard, but here that won't happen.

    Anyway, onto the game.

    Graphics:

    The graphics, while a downgrade from the console/PC versions, are still fantastic. The game looks great honestly. My only complaint pertaining to them is that sometimes the textures take a moment to load, though that can happen in the console version as well so I wouldn't hold it against the game.

    Sound:

    The sound is great, same good music, same good one liners. In fact, and I very well could be wrong about this, but I swear I've heard new lines from enemies and psychos during play. There can be an audible hiccup now and then if the action gets intense, but in my experience it's rarely detracts from the gameplay.

    Controls:
    As I mentioned earlier there is definitely a small learning curve to get used to the touch screens for controls (took me maybe an hour to adjust), but after that it's very comfortable, and feels quite fine. The controls themselves are 100% full customizable. Don't like tapping the left front screen to use specials? Change it!

    Enemies:

    1 complaint I have seen in many reviews is about the lowered enemy population. It is in fact true, in some areas the amount of enemies that spawn has been lowered to make the game run smoother. Having spent many hours playing BL2 on PC/360 and reading the gearbox forums, I've seen many MANY people actually complaining the game was too hard on the higher difficulties. So this change in my opinion is a good one! Having 1-2 less enemies here, or 3 less enemies here helps smooth the difficulty in the late game.

    Overall:
    I love BL2, it's a great game. I have already finished normal mode, and am more than half-way through the True Vault Hunter difficulty. I can say without a doubt this game is just as good as it's bigger brothers on the console/PC. If you enjoyed BL2 and you have a Vita, it's worth picking up. I bought my Vita Specifically for this game, and when they announced a bundle I was over-joyed. I don't regret that purchase in the slightest. The only reason I gave this a 9 instead of a 10 was because there are some issues (Gearbox has already put out a patch and solved some of the bugs, hopefully they will continue to support the game and fix any other issues).
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    This game is enormous! A fantastic game to have on a portable console. Almost feels like your taking your home console with you when yourThis game is enormous! A fantastic game to have on a portable console. Almost feels like your taking your home console with you when your playing this on the go. The game isn't without its technical flaws but can easily overlooked when you consider the overall enjoyment of having a game of this calibre on your Vita. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    Played this quite a bit on the XB360, so I was excited to see it came with the PS Vita (plus the first half of the add-ons!!) Game playsPlayed this quite a bit on the XB360, so I was excited to see it came with the PS Vita (plus the first half of the add-ons!!) Game plays quite nicely on the Vita, especially when compared to the performance of other handhelds. One and only complaint is how easy it is to accidentally activate on screen abilities (either throwing a grenade when trying to aim or activating the character abilities while moving.) As a side note, I'm sure some people are upset about it, but I find it rather amusing that every single enemy explodes on death, which I can only imagine is done to prevent the system from being bogged down from rendering 100's of dead bodies at a time. Overall, great port of an amazing game! Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    This game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of theThis game has too many DLCs. Even though it is fun and looks good, the developer or publisher is trying to make the maximum money out of the game with mostly annoying, overpriced and pointless DLCs. Join the Anti-DLC-Force! Expand

See all 141 User Reviews