User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Great, hectic fun that'll keep both single and multiplayer Call of Duty fans entertained for hours, with fast-paced, closed in maps for multiplayer and the great, cinematic feel of the console CoD games.
  2. May 19, 2014
    7
    Don't know why too much bad reviews for this game. It's not the best game of the series, but I think it's a good game. It's very alike the Call of Duty Black Ops (PS3), but it has a very quick campaign, but if you try it in veteran you can maintain yourself playing it for hours. And about the multiplayer mode, I haven't experienced any lag matches, since my network isn't any good. ^_^
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    1
    CoD: BOD is a horrible mash up of bad story telling, bad A.I., clunky gunplay, and repetitiveness. The story telling is flat like the soda that's half finished in the back of my fridge. The A.I. is like trying to make a puppet have good movements. The gunplay is akin to trying to untie both your hands with a triple know. The repetitiveness.....is like CoD. See a pattern here? CoD is showing its sloppiness. While I liked Ghosts and BO2 (to an extent), I can't give any merits to the game other than the graphics which are flat out gorgeous for a 3D shooter handheld game. Overall, don't buy it. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    Я могу сказать одно. Кампания, это не для шутеров. Игру спасает отличный мультиплеер. Если вам нужен именно он, тогда берите КоД.
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    1
    This Call of Duty is one of the worst game of the psvita.Well,I think it's the worst.It's a failure,a fail production in game industry.People just buy it because of it's a Call Of duty,but men,it's awful.If you want a game like this and many,many times better buy Killzone Mercenary.
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    4
    There is indeed a game here. It IS fun. It IS indeed a COD game on a handheld. However, Its as though they've never actually played their own finished product. There are so many niggling refinements that need to be made and without them it makes for a VERY frustrating experience. The AI know where you are at ALL times. They are already shooting you before you come around the corner. On top of that, whenever you are shot, your aim jumps 20 feet up so its impossible to bring it back down to shoot the guy that is shooting you. There are invisible objects, and things you just get stuck on. If you are an achievement hunter, this game will frustrate you beyond anything imaginable. Unfortunately, trophy hunting is the only way to keep playing the single player. Its VERY short. It takes longer to get through all of the annoying slow motion "cut-scenes" at the beginning when you have to repeat play for 3 stars. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Call of duty is gaming biggest series that sell about more than a million copies at launch. I have been a fan of the series for just two years and I think the series is best known on consoles like the Xbox 360, PS3, Wii (no one plays on it anymore), Wii U, and recently on the Xbox One and PS4. There were also ports of the games on the Nintendo DS, but they unique end up being bad for most of them. In 2012 (I think) Activision announce a new Call of Duty game for the vita later that year. It could be the best Call of Duty game on a handheld and when it was released the game got negative reviews both from fans and critics getting fours to even a one out of ten. I purchase the game to the reason why it consider bad first the campaign if you call it that is incredibly short it would take forty-five minutes to complete the campaign making it the short to play through and plus the story doesn't make any sense having the Black Ops characters go through missions with no sense at all. The voice acting is horrible minus Frank Wood's voice actor is still here and the checkpoint system is completely gone making levels hard to complete levels on higher difficulty. The positives the gameplay is the same like other games in the series and the multiplayer is good to come back and play. The last thing a need to say the game was developed in five months and that a fact. Don't play this game, play the new killzone on the Vita instead. Also the game come with Call of Duty Road to Victory for PSP downloadable making the game fifty dollars it's better than this game. Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2013
    3
    What was originally planned to be the Vita's "big break" in todays competitive market ultimately resulted in what I can only see as one of the most disappointing games of the generation. Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified, while occasionally guilty fun, is the epitome of disappointment. Declassified's single player content is broken up into three modes: Contracts, Hostiles, & Time Trials. Operations mode is nothing more than a series of uninspired missions. Additonally, these missions can be completed in under an hour on the preset difficulty. Oddly enough, players can earn XP from completeing these missions. Unfortunately, this XP cannot be transferred to multiplayer. This bears the question of why this was even added in at all. This really is a sorry excuse for a campaign. Next is Time Trials mode, which is definitely the odd one of the bunch. Time Trials is basically just target practice with a timer. This is undoubtedly the least interesting of Declassified's modes, as well as the easiest. The last of the single player content is Hostiles. In Hostiles, players face off against endless waves of enemies. This mode had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it falls flat. The lack of co-op support means players will have to go in solo. Without anyone to play with, this mode was outright boring. This is easily the best of the single player modes, but that isn't saying much. Unfortunately, things don't get much better in multiplayer. Maps are just inferior rehashes from previous games. Also, accuracy plays practically no part in Declassified. Simply spraying your weapon is the best way to go. Finally, connection in general is horrid. Every two out three matches will crash, even with a perfect connection. Declassified developer Nihilistic clearly had a "quantity over quality" mindset when creating Declassified. Overall, Declassified feels rushed, boring, and broken. Its one redeeming value is it's multiplayer, at least when it works. Expand
  9. Dec 2, 2013
    1
    This sorry excuse for a game made me waste my time and waste 60 bucks. It has a 30 MINUTE campaign mode full of bugs and glitches, a poor A.I. and a unplayable multiplayer. Ignore the positive reviews, they're people paid by Treyarch to give good reviews OR CoD fanboys that can't admit that there is a bad CoD game. Don't dare touch a copy of this game, if it even can be called a game!
  10. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    I am a fanboy of CoD and I love it, I know that is worst than other Call of Duty and other game but think that you are playing it in a portable and is not the same as a PS3 or XBOX 360 for example.
  11. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This game is not as bad as everyone says it is, the story mode does not make sence but it is fun. Hostiles mode is very fun but once you've played on all the maps it gets boring. The multiplayer is the best thing about this game. Its 4vs4 online with modes like team deathmatch, kill confirmed and two other modes, but once again it gets boring with only 5 maps, they should have atleast added another 4 maps with DLC. Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    NOTE: I'm reviewing the game in its final patched state, which is really quite fun. Early reviews are based on the unpatched version, which apparently was absolutely awful. This is stripped-down Call of Duty, with an accelerated campaign, a truncated survival mode (here called "Hostiles") and a mostly-intact multiplayer. Graphics and AI both take an understandable hit. What the game lacks in features, though, it makes up for in the Call of Duty magic. This really actually feels like a Call of Duty game you can play in between classes or on the bus, and that (for me) makes up for all the cut corners. Expand
  13. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is really fun.Yea the single-player isnt that great,but if you like multiplayer fps games,this game is for you.I am telling you this game is really fun.
  14. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    I sold my other Vita before this came out, so I just got another Vita, and this game was one of the top had to plays on my list. So I really only play multiplayer so that is what I am reviewing. This is the first COD I have played since Black Ops 1 that doesn't lag in multiplayer, it's simple, gameplay is fun, it's just not overdone with too much extras, the big minus is the maps are too small. I like tight maps but that's all there is here, some diversity would have been nice. Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    For the love of Sakaguchi-sensei, if you don't have something constructive to say, stay homeg. Such bitterness over a simple piece of software... It's just shameful. We are gamers. We use our minds to solve problems more often than encyclopedia brown. Frkn act like it.

    Going bat-pile over the casual trivializing and glamorization of war i'd fully understand. I think the more
    contemporary war games have an obligation to touch on the horror and brutality of warfare as more than just a set piece. It breaks my heart that so few developers truly take this obligation seriously.

    Now, on the flip side, NOBODY CARES how you feel about Sony, the Vita, how CoD compares to MoH, or if you had dinner for breakfast and pounded the cat while yer mom watched, all the while shouting encouragement in perfect aramaic.

    Frankly, it just comes off as petty and small. Review the game or stay home. Please?

    Seriously, for the love of Carl Sagan, if you must act the viturpative child, at least keep the spiritual anemia and whining ON topic.

    I digress. On to business:

    CoD:BOD is a well made, if comparatively basic, kill 'em all shooter. I haven't bothered with online multi-player, but even if it was comparable to cleopatra in a hot tub with helen of troy, I still wouldn't buy it with my own money. Not right now, anyway.

    It just costs way too much. As of today, it's still a $49.99 download. Far too expensive for what it is. On the other hand, at $24.99, i'd prolly scoop it right up.

    But as is, spend the money on 3 or 4 other games.

    Love and Battlefield Infections,
    the Doctor.
    Expand
  16. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    this is one of the worst games i ever play its is so bad that i cried hint hint big black ops fan so yeah. the worst thing is the whole game they need a whole new storyline
  17. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    I know that people hate the Call of Duty games (for little to no good reason), but if there's one game that deserves every bit of hate it gets, it's this one. I like the Call of Duty games, but this game is just GARBAGE.
  18. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This is a buggy horrible mess!

    The 1 hour long campaign lacking a story line bored me to death.

    Nearly unplayable due to massive look acceleration.

    Nauseatingly low FOV.

    Random crashes.

    Can only play multiplayer if you have a NAT type 2 Internet connection.

    FPS Issues.

    Good

    The create a class system is just the same.

    Has kill streaks.
  19. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    The series of Call of Duty has always been about multiplayer and co-op and Declassified is exactly the same. Call of Duty: Declassified is a fantastic display of the fact that the PS Vita can play big name games like Need for Speed and in this case Call of Duty. The game plays and feels like your usual Call of Duty games and will definably quench your thirst for some run and gun, high action multiplayer thrills.The game is a steal in the UK for only £20 (I brought mine for £35 at release) and will probably stay at that price till Killzone. I highly recommend this game and in fact can even say that i have had more fun on this game than COD: MW3! The game does contain some flaws such as: no more support, glitched killstreaks, dumb AI and few invisible walls during Hostiles mode. Expand
  20. Jul 13, 2013
    2
    i just don't understand how Activision could fund such a disasters. Bugs and everywhere. players getting stuck on a door, a respawn point puts you behind enemy lines. controls don't feel good just yuck
  21. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good game.

    It's without question the best FPS shooter I have played on any handheld. I won't compare it to the console versions because let's face it... It is a handheld device. The duel analog sticks feel great after a few hours of getting used to it.

    SP: I am enjoying this. The missions are quite short but bump up the difficulty and missions should take a while longer to
    beat. AI is ok, Not great. Some parts can be quite tricky on the hardest setting however. Save points would have been nice..

    MP: Great fun! I really enjoy this aspect of the game. Maps are relatively small but you still feel like you are getting a COD experience. Games are pretty much always full and i rarely have any connection issues. Kill streaks, Perks and level ups are all here too which is great as I look to prestige 400 times.. Not

    Final comments:
    If you're after a quick FPS fix and then you should grab a copy of this game. It is a solid shooter and negative reviews should be overlooked.

    7/10 Good
    Expand
  22. Jul 1, 2013
    1
    When they ported Black Ops, they could have at least kept in everything that made black ops great, not strip it down to the bone and remove any substance of greatness that it had. Zombies, gone, SP, Short and unsatisfying and for the MP, wow, hardly any maps, half the guns, 8 players, hard to find a game and last but not least, it looks horrible. It's already been proven that the PS-Vita has enough power to make a game look beautiful, Uncharted was near identical to it's console counterpart. The only explanation is that the team that made the port were just terrible at coding and had about the same thinking power as a pea.

    Plus why do portable counterparts always have to be stripped down?, especially condiering that there is nothing about the PS-Vita that makes it a weak platform, it has more than enough power and more than enough memory on it's game cards to support the full version of Black Ops, if the Wii can, the Vita can, this is lazy developers looking for a quick buck at it's best.

    Didn't Rockstar prove with GTA LCS and VCS that a portable game doesn't have to be a featureless port? They rebuilt the entire world of Liberty City and built an entire new backstory around it, with a lengthy campaign and tons extra to do, with the things that made the console games great.

    Call Of Duty Black Ops: Declassified, Does not include anything that made the console version great.
    Expand
  23. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game, it is a broken pile of crap from Nihilistic. Animations, visuals, environments, and the bugs bring this game down. Not to mention the unstable servers. If you want a portable quality shooter experience, pre-order or go by Killzone: Mercenary when it comes out.
  24. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Okay I'll make this short and honest. I gave it a 7. Why? It's not that I want to "inflate" the score or make up for what I bought. It's because I thought of it as such. The game's story is MEEEHHHHH all throughout. But seriously? This is a handheld who's sole reputation on FPS games is last to everything. It's new, so obviously, the way they make games like COD to this system would be expectantly mediocre. Developers just doesn't stick what they see on home consoles and stick what they can to a handheld, they had to start ALL OVER again and optimize what fits to the system. It's like making a game from scratch. For me, its understandable how this turned out, and I can't deny that I expected more. Despite this, the Multiplayer seemed good and (although with smaller and mediocre levels) playable enough to make me go back and play again when bored. It's NOTHING like its console counter-parts. CRAPPY even if compared. NO KUDOS to you Nihilistic. My 7 is merely for the decent, and sometimes fun, Multiplayer. I hope there will still be a COD for the Vita next time. A new and improved one. I also hope, that the upcoming Killzone:M would be different and 35 times better. Expand
  25. May 19, 2013
    3
    Black ops declassified the 2nd FPS on the ps vita had a lot of hype surrounding it but the execution was horrible the game had nothing good the only thing it did ok was the shooting it feels a bit clunky but it manges to get the job done (with the aim assist turned on) but everything else is broken to performance issues glitches and other mad mishaps if you look on my black ops 2 review you see i have lost hope on the call of duty franchise but this abomination of a game has completely destroyed.
    do not buy this game! never buy this game! not even if its £1 pound at game station it is a pile of mess
    Expand
  26. May 16, 2013
    8
    it did what it was made to do give us a portable cod so this has to have a good score not only that but now it has a survival mode kindy and its fun ok so get it dont listen to these people
  27. May 1, 2013
    2
    This has absolutely the worst single player shooter I can ever remember playing. The fact that I even finished the missions is a testament to my own stubborn bloody mindedness. This is an utterly awful game and I'm ashamed of myself for even playing it.
  28. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Este jogo não pode ser substituído por qualquer N.O.V.A Modern Combat ou até Dead Trigger, se você quer um verdadeiro Fps na palma de sua mão este o jogo!
    Só para fechar com chave de ouro, os meus status no multiplayer, são de aproximadamente 500 horas jogadas.
  29. Apr 29, 2013
    4
    Its no secret that the Vita isn't as much of a success as Sony hoped it would be, so they figured they would just get one of Sony's biggest titles, slap it on the cover of a game, and sell it like hotcakes. The Vitas previous FPS game Resistance: Burning Skies was a flop, and despite its failure, Sony has hired THE SAME DEVELOPER to create their Call of Duty game. Trust me when I say, this game is NOT Call of Duty. The weapons, Maps, and music may seem familiar to Black Ops on the PS3, but dont expect this to live up to the expectations of the big Call of Duty titles. There is no story, the gameplay is nothing new, and the graphics have actually only gotten worse since Resistance: Burning Skies. I dont know if this was all due to the developers only have 6 months to make the game, or simply laziness. The game does, however, have a few good sides. Nihilistic (the games developer) now has added some extra content for solo play. There are now both Hostiles mode and Time Trials. Hostiles is fun, but its relatively simple and may lead to you just quitting due to the dumb AI. And the Time Trials mode is essentially a variety of training levels stretched into a whole game mode. Now the thing that really hurts the game is the lack of Zombies. Fans of Call of Duty: World at War and Black Ops should be very familiar with Zombies as it is one of the greatest ideas in Call of Duty history. Well, Zombies is gone and without it, the game is just no good. Finally, the only upside to the game is the Multiplayer. While the multiplayer is not up to par with Black Ops on the consols, its still relatively fun. Fans of Call of Duty should feel right at home with its classes, killstreaks, and perks. SCORE: 4.0/10 Expand
  30. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The campaign is short and boring with hardly a real story, hostiles isn't much better due to the horrible enemy AI, and the multiplayer has a ton of connection issues. About 50% of the time when trying to get into a multiplayer match it would load the match, but then immediately kick me me out as soon as it got done. Otherwise the multiplayer is fun, but the maps are all crowded and get dull after a while. The single player will last you about an hour, and isn't very fun. The graphics are okay, the enemy AI sucks and all in all you should only pick up this game if your really desperate for a COD experience on the go. Expand
  31. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Just plain terrible. Call of Duty is a quality series with an awful fanbase, but Declassified is a terrible entry that even the CoD fanbase knows to steer clear of. All the people giving this game a 10 are obviously massive Kony Cumpooper Unentertainment fanboys that want to see their "precious" Vita (or should I say Mortis) outsell actually good gaming systems. The way you do it isn't lying to the consumer and disguising bad games with perfect 10s, damn it. Expand
  32. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    After reading a lot of reviews on this game, I must admit I haven't touched the single player aspect of this game. Multiplayer, however, I've spent many hours with. Aside from often having to make 2-3 attempts to join a match, I haven't run into many connectivity problems. Once I'm able to join a game I am able to coast along from match to match without issue.

    Game play exceeds my
    expectations, which based on the stigma surrounding this game were pretty low to begin with. Graphics are decent and feels smoother that Resistance. I think the reason this game gets a bad rap is that with the vita, it's easy to forget you're playing a handheld. I can identify with that feeling after playing UC and LBP on the Vita, both really maintained the feel of the console counterpart with some added functionality for the Vita. Declassified however, is without a doubt feels watered down in relation to the console installments of the series. But in relation to a handheld experience it's pretty solid.

    I rate this a 7 because, while not "great," this game does offer a solid online fps experience for a handheld system. If something like this would have found it's way on to the PSP I think people would have gone nuts over it. I've played both this and Resistance: Burning Skies multiplayer, and BO: Declassified is much more fun due to the kill streaks and perks.

    In the end, is the game worth the $50? Hell no. I think $30 would be much more appropriate. If you can find the game for around 30 bucks and enjoy online shooters, pick it up without hesitation. Otherwise, it would probably be a good idea to wait until you find such a deal.
    Expand
  33. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Im giving it a 9 I love this game on my vita! I think the reason why its getting bad rating is because people compare it to console version and I think that's dumb! This is a portable fps. So I think as a portable fps, it's very fun! I recommend this game for sure. Good job Nihilistic!
  34. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome, a lot of people hate it simply for the fact that it isn't a blockbuster Call of Duty that were use to on the console but for a portable on the go shooter it is really great. Hostile mode will keep you busy for any long bus or train ride to or from school/work. Campaign although short it's simply more about doing the missions at your fastest time. Stop being so critical and enjoy this game for what it was meant to be a on the go fast paced first person shooter Expand
  35. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    The campaign is 1 hour long, has a week story, each mission is 5 minutes long, all the multiplayer maps are smaller versions of the original Black Ops (ex: Nukehouse), the hostiles mode is the same as MW3's Survival mode, Bad controls and bad AI. Its a okay game, but it has some major flaws
  36. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general
  37. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    for a while now i have always heard that Call of duty black ops declassified is the worst vita game ever even doe i heard this i still haded to try the game so i did first i tried the campaign at first it really impressed me with the outstanding voice acting and the slow motion scenes on the vita looked great seriously i was loving the game then i noticed there are no checkpointz then i noticed the levels are short well some level are short and boring and some are ztill short but entertaining but where thiz game really forgot was that COD Action!!There was no plane flying,no driving motocycles or cars just plain shooting (sigj).but i kinda enjoyed time trial it was unique and fun.the hostile(replace for zombies)is pretty addicting but not like zombies.Multiplayer is the best thing about this game customized classez,Skill ranks,good variety of modes itz a blast.this game is a big dissapointment but it doesnt deverse 1/10,2/10 ,etc.its fun and exciting(sometimes)its a great fps for me the controls are definitley better than 3ds Expand
  38. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    El peor call of duty de la historia una campaña corta y que no aporta nada a la historia como prometían y un multijugador con mapas reciclados y lleno de lag.
  39. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    This game deserves a bit of praise because it was made in under 6 months and is a game with a fully functional Multiplayer. I did love the Multiplayer part of the game, but the Single Player and Hostiles left me wanting to puke. So this game deserves a solid 5.

    I would recommend buying other better Vita games that are cheaper and better. Such as Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation or Rayman Origins.
  40. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    It is hard to understand why this game did so bad. I will break this game down though. The campaign has NO story which is a problem but the short missions are fun. However the enemies can see you before you can see them which makes the campaign difficult. Now in the time trials mode, I enjoy playing those missions and they are good time wasters, which was probably the purpose considering the campaign was short. The hostiles mode is challenging to me because again, the enemies see you before you see them, and that was how I died most of the time. However the game is saved, by the multiplayer. Save the campaign for when you are on the go, and play the multiplayer when you have a wifi connection. The multiplayer is good compared to the rest of the game and you may get kicked from a game every one in 5 games. Also the maps are tiny, like Nukehouse is a map and it is only one of the houses on Nuketown and its 8 player online, but the multiplayer is where this game feels like COD. It feels like COD Black Ops 1, but it is still good for the vita's first COD game.
    PROS: Multiplayer is COD-like, Hostiles and Campaign are challenging, campaign missions are enjoyable as so are the time trials.
    CONS: Multiplayer has tiny maps, Campaign is too short, enemies shoot at you before you get a chance to shoot at them.
    Expand
  41. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    It's definitely a Call of Duty. It looks and plays like one. The singleplayer modes are fun enough. The multiplayer is kind of Black Ops Lite. The main problem I've encountered with it is that it's so buggy online. You'll get dropped from games constantly, you'll have trouble even connecting to a game, or you'll be the only person on one team, versus all four people from their team. Worst of all, I doubt Nihilistic will fix any of this, seeing as how they no longer exist. It's a surprisingly good game, but a really disappointing multiplayer experience. Expand
  42. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    The multiplayer alone makes the game deserve probably a 6. It's nothing close to the same experience you'll get on pc or consoles, however for a handheld this does some things pretty well. I had little difficulty adjusting to the gameplay on the Vita, and found that the multiplayer still felt just like Call of Duty. It's a bit more sluggish, and takes a little adjusting, but ultimately it's pretty fun. This is coming from a consumer who got the game free with the Vita bundle. I would not recommend anyone go out of their way to buy this game for $50, that's just not fair. However, if you can grab a copy on ebay for around $20 or and you want Call of Duty on the go, this really is not near as bad as the critics have hammered it. Cheers! Expand
  43. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I would give this game a 7.5 in reality. It certainly has some substantial flaws but I think any game I can play for hours on end deserves a solid score. Single player is just ok. The missions are short but serviceacible. The hostiles mode is a decent distraction but I do find it can get boring after awhile. The real value of COD is in the same location as the console version, in the multiplayer. When the game launched getting into a game could be a real pain but after they released an update I would say it is only slightly less stable than the console version. You might get the odd dropped game but not often. Over Christmas I logged many hours on the multiplayer and what I noticed first was the fact that I had just as much fun playing it as I did when I played the xbox version. It certainly is not on par with the XBOX version but it was still a lot of fun. I was worried about only having 6 maps but they all play well. Having nukehouse and seeing the return of my all time favourite shipment really dulled the pain. I found the customization options deep and fun to play with. I would say my main complaint with the online is the lack of game types. deathmatch, kill confirmed, free for all and dropzone. The first 3 play the same. I would have enjoyed seeing a few different types just for a change of pace but at least dropzone keeps things fresh. My bottom line is It's not perfect but its fun. If you are looking for a Vita shooter. I would recommend this as a great multiplayer option. If you are looking for a deeper single player option I would grab Unit 13 ( although it is 3rd person) Expand
  44. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    A lot has been said (and of course, written) about Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassisfied since it hit store shelves last month. Most of it negative, very little positive, almost all accurate in one way or another. While the gaming media have thrown tons of three's and four's (out of ten) at CoD Vita, with waves and waves of users posting either tens or zeros, the user reviews posted on this site have been far more polarised. The reason I decided to type this quick review is because neither of these points of view are at all accurate. The gamers that trawl through these very reviews deserve a neutral, more measured point of view with which to help them make an informed decision. With neither gushing adoration or utter disdain helping one iota, what is needed right now is a little perspective. Personally speaking, I hit the shops and grabbed Declassified within a day or so of it's UK release. At which point, no media reviews had yet been published, and only a couple of very brief user reviews had been posted here on Metacritic. Both of which were overwhelmingly positive, aiding my decision to spend a whopping £42.99 on the game. But do I regret it? Mmmm, yes and no. Despite it's brevity, I personally had a lot of fun playing through the single player campaign. For a seasoned Call of Duty vet, it's probably not beyond the realms of possibility to negotiate your way through each of the ten missions in little more than an hour. Maybe even less. Although I admit to enjoying the odd FPS shooter, I certainly do not fall into the 'seasoned vet' catagory, and as such, it took me the best part of four or five hours to beat. I also found the difficulty curve and pacing to be savage yet acceptable. Many have laid criticism at the games lack of mission checkpoints - citing their absence as a wholly underhand means of adding to the longevity of the campaign - but I considered this to be all part of challenge, adding an extra layer of tension. While it certainly isn't in the same ballpark as it's console counterparts, there's still a good deal of mileage to be had from CoD Vita's multiplayer component too. While there have been many well documented issues regarding stability and connection woes, Activision has now provided patch (that went live last week) which addresses most of these foibles. While still isn't perfect, multiplayer reliability is now vastly improved. Unfortunately however, Declassified's primary achilles heel remains. And that my friends, is the enemy AI. No matter how impartial I attempt to be, there is just no getting away from the fact that Declassified is home to some of the worst (and dumbest) AI I have encountered in a very, very long time. At this time, one can only assume that there are no plans to provide a fix for this issue, and that is a real shame. In summation, Declassified is a flawed portable FPS experience, but one that can be an awful lot of fun too. It isn't perfect, it isn't awful. It's somewhere in the middle. And that warrants a score which reflects this. That score isn't a zero and it certainly isn't a ten. For me, it is a seven. And that my pedigree chums, is perspective. Expand
  45. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified is one of the biggest disappointments for the Vita game library in 2012. After much deliberation due to the negative reviews online, I eventually took the plunge with low expectations
  46. Dec 29, 2012
    1
    Pros: It's COD on the Vita!
    Cons: Everything else. Glitchy, poor performer. This game is not doing FPS on the Vita any favours! The multiplayer is not fun, nor are the missions. I really wanted this to work, but it doesn't. And believe me, I persisted!
  47. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    This game is just horrible. The single player mode is ridiculously short, the IA sucks (I've seen enemies shoot a wall, throw grenades that kill themselves or just run in circles even though I'm there), the controls feel awkard and the missions are just boring.

    Usually the on-line is the main reason to buy a CoD game is the on-line mode, but in CoD: BOD the on-line mode doesn't work,
    the game keeps kicking me out of every lobby for no reason (and it's not my connection, everything else works fine, hell, I can play the PS3 CoDs without any problem) and the only time I got to play, one of the players was invincible and could not be killed.

    Those problems were supposedly fixed with an update, but after I downloaded the 400 MB patch, it still works as bad as the first day, the only difference being that the game doesn't freeze anymore after I'm kicked of a lobby.

    Graphically the game is okay, textures and models are bad looking, and light effects are nothing special.

    The OST couldn't be more awful, they could put no music and it wouldn't be noticeable. The sound effects are generic.

    This game is not worth buying, it should be a 3$ iOS game.
    Expand
  48. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Steer clear of this piece of garbage that everyone was telling me was going to be "the game" that was going to spike Vita's sales singlehandedly. Two words come to mind.. "Epic Fail."
  49. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    A new patch came out (late December) for this fixing all the multiplayer issues I was having with the game and ruining my experience. Now the only thing we can complain about is an fps drop in nukehouse from time to time, that and a like of killstreaks/Zombies were used to from the normal COD series. But as a handheld standalone fps it's an amazingly fun/addictive multiplayer experience. You can only chat to friends in a party so you don't have to deal with the trash talking especially as you'd have 7 other people screaming 24/7 it's a God send they don't include that feature. A shame for some of you trolls, It's a great game and i recommend picking it up (only if you want an online fps for your handheld nothing else will come close) and just think how good this could be if they put some real effort in on the whole experience.

    For the single player portion of the game (definitely a 1/10) so the game deserves a 6 for it's more than acceptable multiplayer experience. If you want this game for offline do not buy this at all costs, don't even consider it go and buy the Resistance game instead!
    Expand
  50. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Graphics? Good. Gameplay and controls? Perfect.
    The game does exactly what it needs to. The multiplayer is great (only TINY level is nuketown but it's still not that bad), and with the 1.02 patch I get a full game in a matter of 3-5 seconds. The campaign is good for quick on the go missions but don't expect to be pulled into anything deep or meaningful. Just fun little missions. I'm
    loving the multiplayer and my older brother couldn't put it down when I let him try it on my Vita. All he does is play COD multiplayer (all of them from MW2->BO->MW3->BO2) and he loved it. If you're into COD then do yourself the favor and pick it up. It's a great game. Expand
  51. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This is everything that's right with COD. Huge multiplayer and a killer campaign. Not since COD 4 has there been such s pure, fantastic Call of Duty experience.
  52. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Declassified is giving Vita a bad name for a good old fashioned Game of the Year candidate. I don't really care about Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified anymore. The critics are absolutely right, I even watch the review on the now-cancelled X-Play. This game is a complete disaster. AI is terrible, a campaign that deserves the right to be punished, and bad timing of the game makes you wanna play the game for less than 10 hours a week. I urge every Call of Duty fan to avoid this portable dump and get back to action while playing... I don't know. Modern Warfare 3 or Black Ops II? It's your call. Expand
  53. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    I was thinking for two weeks to decide on buying this game because of bad "professional" reviews.. Finaly I bought it second hand so I did not take too much risk. I only play multiplayer and I simply dont't fiund the issues described in the reviews of sites.. I can get in to a battle mostly for the first time I try, no waiting, no disconnect. The maps are perfectly sized for the amount of players, they are not small at all! Graphics could have been better but at least frame rate is good, not like in AC Lberation. I think that's not a perfect game but far more good than in the reviews like IGN's. It's great fun in multiplayer! Expand
  54. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Game is OK. Major glitches experienced, No reply from Nihilistic regarding patches. Ive experience 20 attempts to get into a full MP game, invisible players, unable to collect tags, Shows enemies on UAV and nobody there, Grenades not exploding. thats for MP. Now only issue had with Hostiles is everytime i played a certain map you cannot move, shoot or stab and is just juddering all over. had to restart twice to get in it normally. If we had updates regafrom the Developer or something then we would feel at ease BUT they do NOT care! They get ya money and RUN. Expand
  55. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    considerando que es un juego para una consola portátil considero que esta bien pero como van a sacar un black ops sin zombies??? que mierda es esta yo pensé wowww voy a tener zombies a la mano mientras estoy en el trabajo o en una cola a la oficina pues no todo se limita a misiones al estilo de call of duty pero con la peor jugabilidad que puedas inmaginar pero en realidad creo que perdí el dinero con este juego carece de toda emosion de la version de blackops 1 y ni hablar de blacops 2... Expand
  56. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Pros: -feels like COD -plays well with a good fps -multiplayer Cons: -lack of zombies -lack of vita microphone support making matches feel empty -lag issues. I find myself putting a full clip into someone and then they shoot me, I die, then the shot registers on them after my death causing both of us to die. pretty ridiculous. -glitches -lack of maps -low player count and obvious lack of development time for the graphics could of been better.
    -terrible AI
    -no killcam/ final kill
    Conclusion: basically this game needs a patch for mic support, less glitches, lag problems, and killcam implementation. Some DLC for more maps and zombies and this game could be a 9/10. If you want a quick COD fix on the go this is the game for you, but its a step down and unless you are a true fan or want a fps on the go I wouldn't recommend this unless a patch comes out, which of 12/3 it has not.
    Expand
  57. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    After receiving such bad ratings, I debated whether or not to still purchase this game. But the fact that I could get it AND a 4 GB memory card for free clinched it for me. On the other hand, it still is a bit pricey for a handheld system although I never heard too many complaints when the 3DS debuted for 199 dollars. But on to the game! CoD:Black Ops Declassified is more in the line of a pure handheld than a continuation of the original platform-based franchise. The campaign is more like small missions. it seems to try and tell a story and make you as much a part of it as possible but it just seems like one separate mission after another. Basically, it is somewhat disjointed. Although in the games defense, the AI is pretty deadly and if you aren't constantly hitting them they will kill you fairly quickly. The reviewer who said he could beat the game in an hour obviously wasn't playing the game on it's hardest level. Admittedly, the game isn't as immersive as a normal platformer, but I think people are missing the point that it is a handheld game system as well as a FPS (Not an MMO). The multiplayer, as best as I can tell from the few times I have tried it, is horribly glitchy. The maps are (as has been said) too small, it spawns you while asking what class you want to be therefore making spawn kills increase innumerably. As for the hostiles mode, well, its alright. The enemy's strength level increases dramatically at points that are terribly infrequent. So dramatically that they go from horrible to expert in three rounds. On the whole, the game is decent for a Hand-held system, but it pales in comparison to either of the Black-Ops platformers. Unfortunately, I have to give this game a six because of the price. My advice to anyone who wants this system or game: wait until GS has it refurbished and the games are used. Expand
  58. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    I am going to be honest, black ops declasified isn't, slick, innovative, or anything new, but it's is exactly what it needs to be for the vita. The story mode is incredibly short and in 3-5 min chunks, which is what you would want in a handheld version, it has a survival mode which isn't great but it's a nice distraction, it has time trials which will keep you coming back from time to time. But the gem is the multiplayer. It's fast, has great maps, kill streaks but most importantly, it feels like call of duty. I know some people don't like the small maps but I personally think they are perfect. It's only 4v4 so anything bigger would make it to difficult to find people which is exactly what happens in the games one and only bigger map. The negatives are the graphics, AI and the fact you can randomly be kicked out of a match. The graphics aren't bad it's the colour scheme, its always a kind of washed out brown. But the AI on the survival and campaign mode are awfull. The enemies shoot at you before they can even see you and they seem to have perfect accuracy all the time because they hit you an unbelievale amount of times. And the online sometimes has connection problems which seems to be consistent with other peoples reviews. Overall black ops declassified gets the job done but it needed more development time to make it a high level product, but if you have been waiting for a good fps on the go, this is it. But it will certainly make the wait for killzone on the vita a bit easyier. Expand
  59. Dec 2, 2012
    5
    The multi player is actually quite good fun if you can get in.... However the game is so buggy I only manage to get online 2 times out of 10 I've submitted more bug reports than I can remember its just an epic fail. What a terrible game that could of been so much more. I'm glad I got it bundled with my Vita and didn't pay the full $50.
  60. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand the low scores this game has been getting. I have had it for a week now, and I love it. I am not trying to justify my purchase, it is a fun game, sure the ai is terrible, and the campaign is too short, but it's still fun, and so is the multiplayer.
  61. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    This can't be considered a videogame. This must be considered the worst GARBAGE ever made in the story of videogames. If you don't want to waste a lot of money, don't buy this game: the single player mode can be completed in 45 minutes!
  62. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I dont know what the problem is with all the "Critic" reviews but this game kicks ass if you want COD on the go. I play multiplayer all day at work on our wifi and its awesome. Really works well.......I think they tweaked the log on process from the first week of release....much better now. I even dig the offline modes in this game. Sure the AI is not perfect but its ok to good. Awesome VITA game.....go get it. Expand
  63. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    While this is not a great game, it's good. I never get a COD game for the main campaign, just the online multiplayer. With being said, the small part of the single player game I played was okay. The online only has three modes, and none of them was domination (my favorite) it does have drop zone which is similar. I have had a few issues with dropped games while online (my biggest issue with the game.) Don't expect to get the grand experience of COD on PS3/360/PC. Expand
  64. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    I don't actually say i dislike this game but . . . it's was a deception, i like CoD but this one just made me want more, this game could have way better also it should have used the vita system better. My conclusion is that the story sucks . . . and multiplayer bug and crash a lot so i just enjoyed the hostile mode, good try but don't deserves a good critic.
  65. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    WARNING; the multiplayer for this game (the only reason to buy a Call of Duty game imo) absolutely will NOT WORK IF YOU ARE USING ANYTHING OTHER THAN WIFI off of a home internet connection. All of my other vita games will work using 4g/LTE tethering with my android phone. This is the only game that does not. There are no error messages, the ps vita simply boots me back to the main screen and then freezes when I try to restart a multiplayer game. If I use my home wifi connection, the online multiplayer works fine, and is as one would hope, Call of Duty in your hand. At least they included adhoc multiplayer (I have two vitas). But seriously, what is the point of making a ps vita game that can only be played at home on my wifi connection? Why wouldnt I just use my ps3? And how about some kind of error message about my connection instead of the game just freezing? I gave it a 5 instead of a zero because it is useful for playing via adhoc with my friends using my two vitas, but for most people who dont carry around two ps vitas the only reason to buy this game is if you do not own a ps3. Expand
  66. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    Not to be confused with a console game. That said, Call of Duty on the Vita is nicely done, with decent enough graphics, multiplayer, and lots of practice chances. For what this is; a handheld compliment to a great game, it works quite well. If you're expecting this to be THE game for Vita though, you'll be sadly disappointed; as the levels seem small, and the game itself is short. The small issues take away from the perfection that is the console versions, but seeing this for what it is, it's a good foray into the mobile gaming market for non-cannon nihilistic. Giving it an 8/10. Expand
  67. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    This atrocity almost made me regret buying Sony's hardcore handheld. It's just another nail to the coffin of struggling piece of hardware. Biggest franchise on most advanced and hardcore-oriented turned out enormous in terms of failure and overpriced in terms of bang for a buck epicly epic flop. Great showcase of Vita's future. Can't believe Sony allowed Activision to do this. Can't believe Sony certificated this atrocity. It doesn't even work without crashing and freezing the whole system. No awesomeness of Little Big Planet on Vita can't fix this damage done to platform. Thanks for free psn plus month I can play games that don't SUCK AT LITERALLY EVERYTHING, and not broken to the point of resetting the whole Vita mid-match. Way to go, Sony and Activision, good work. Expand
  68. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Was very surprised by this game. Bought the whole Vita/Black Ops bundle on black friday for 200 and I wasnt expecting much from the game because of the horrible reviews for it. The single player is typical Call of Duty, short but its no where near as well rounded as the console version. Kinda sucks honestly but where this game excels is the multiplayer. So much fun!!! I cant put it down and I find myself playing the vita version over my ps3. Everything is there except smaller which is exactly what the vita is. Stop expecting it to be on par with the console versions and you will find hours and hours of enjoyment in this game. Gave it a 10 even though it deserves an 8 to boost all the haters scores. Expand
  69. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    Having played the Multiplayer of the game for 2+ I believe I can safely say that Nihlistic have done a good job here, at least on that part, and maybe with the Hostiles mode, the single player is shoddy at best, not much of a story and small missions that you can complete quickly, the graphics are not amazing by any stretch of the imagination but they do the job here, I haven't run into many frame rate issues, sometimes it will happen when I'm shooting 2 people and they are shooting back, but most time it runs smoothly. The Hostiles mode is like the one on the Modern Warfare series of COD, where you and teammates will fight waves of enemies, at the end of each wave a crate is dropped for you to pick up a weapon from to help you against harder waves of enemies. Wish it was Zombies though. Now then the MultiPlayer the only reason why anyone would buy a COD game, its here, the mini COD, the best shooter on the VITA and to me best game on the VITA, I'm a huge Uncharted fan but this game is really good in the multiplayer aspect, I've had a really good time on it, the controls to me haven't been all that hard to get used to, the snap in when scoping is also a nice touch when shooting or it probably would've been harder, the touchscreen controls are also really nicely done here, with the grenades and knife on the right side and your killstreaks on the left, tapping these will immediately activate them. I see some people complaining about the controls so I would recommend maybe turning up the sensitivity to see if that helps, but I have had no trouble with it so far. Also another nice touch is the smaller maps and the quicker respawn, giving players a small map means you can immediately get back into the action and quickly re spawning means there is no wait for the enemy. There are many guns to choose from here, there are only two snipers here which seemed pointless to put them in because the maps won't work with them. Oooh before I forget I sometimes have trouble connecting to an online match, basically what will happen is I will join the game but I will be dropped out before the game starts, or in a few occasions be dropped out when i'm in the middle of a game, which in these instances it seems like everybody playing the game drops out, this happened quite a few times and is really annoying, so if you get into a good game where you haven't been dropped out of I recommend staying there as it might be hard to find another one, however I think that this can be fixed with an update to the game.

    All in all the multiplayer feels and plays like a COD game, the graphics aren't the best on consoles so why expect something amazing here? Hostiles mode is fun but holds nothing to Multiplayer which is the bread and butter of this game here, and when I said this is the best game on the VITA I meant it. So far I have not had any fun on most VITA games, Uncharted and Liberation are probably the most fun, but for some reason I just can't stop playing this for the moment.

    If you want to play with just add LFC_Onder8
    Expand
  70. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    What is wrong with you people? This has to be the most awesome fps ever made for a handheld. Forget what these sad reviewers are saying, the online multi ROCKS! Its got the perks, the challenges, smooth game play, great graphics and killstreaks. Reviewers these days on a handheld amaze me, how far the gaming world has come, great work. Oh, don't give a game a bad review because you get owned, go play Lego and leave the reviewing to the big boys, OK? Expand
  71. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    People were eager for an opportunity to bash the CoD franchise. There wouldn't be a more appropriate moment to do it than now that it released on the (almost) universally hated PS Vita platform. There, 2 birds with one stone, bash both CoD and Vita at once.
    CoD: Declassified is not a bad game considered it is a handheld experience. The campaign is shorter than the console counterparts
    probably due to portability - if they were any longer, I could see the reviewers saying "too long, not suitable for a portable game". The graphics are not groundbreaking, vita could do better, but they are not gamebreaking either - just decent enough. Gameplay is fine and multiplayer is the best moment of the game, as usual for a CoD game.
    Does this game deserve a 9/10? Probably not, but I'm giving it a 9 to offset all the undeserved hate it is getting. It's probably a 7/10.
    Expand
  72. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    I don't see how people would buy Vita to get this game only, but is the only CoD that is actually fun to play in a PORTABLE device... Its arcade-style of gameplay don't make me sick of playing, most complaints are from 'hardcore' CoD players that find superiority on the Console and PC versions, and frankly they are right, but that doesn't bring this game down... The major issue is that Activision released this together with BO2, same thing that did Ubisoft, making players choose the Console official game rather than the Portable spin-off... Expand
  73. TGR
    Nov 22, 2012
    3
    Disappointing. That's one of the many words I could use to describe just how bad Call of Duty: Black Ops Decalcified is. From its pointless campaign to its buggy multiplayer. Declassified's campaign has stupid A.I.s who shoot at walls and stare at you. The story is pointless with missions giving you a random reason to go in and kill some guys. It has nothing to do with the Black Ops story line. It's multiplayer is buggy and has horrible maps. On the bright side it stays true to the franchises multiplayer modes and the ability to create a class. This game is not worth picking up. You are way better off spending that forty dollars on some fun smaller games on PSStore, Xbox Arcade, or Steam. Expand
  74. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    This is a waste of an unbelievable property. I finished the campaign in one sitting.....That's right, about an hour. I would score game play on its on a 6 or 7, but what good is game play when you don't have time to enjoy it. Shame on you Activision. Let Blizzard start okaying your games or something. This also gives a black eye to an already ailing Vita, which is capable of amazing original games such as Uncharted and Assassin's Creed Liberation. Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    Firstly, this is not a good game. However, this is still the best first person shooter on the Vita... but that's just not saying very much though as it's just not a good game aside from being able to see somewhat of what you will (hopefully) be able to do in FPS on the Vita.
  76. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    Having moderate experience with recent Call of Duty games (the last played online being Call of Duty 4), Black Ops declassified can be generalized as the typical Call of Duty game nowadays - rushed through development to be put out onto the market to bring in the cash. Thankfully, this game won't be bringing Activision much revenue as it is simply a poor game.
    The singleplayer options are
    absolutely atrocious. What little saving grace new Call of Duty games have nowadays - their campaign stories - have been omitted from this bare bone of a game. The missions are individual and unrelated, there is no story providing incentive to play the next one, checkpoints have been omitted meaning that if you die at the last second in a mission, you will have to replay the entire mission from the beginning. This provides nothing but frustration and even taking into account that Black Ops: Declassified has been developed with the idea of a portable, easy to get in and out of game, it feels like the devs have taken simplification too far.

    The multiplayer whilst retaining the enjoyable and rewarding gameplay of past entries in the franchise is rife with bugs and inconsistencies. You will be lucky to successfully load one game in three, as the game simply kicks you back to the multiplayer menu with no reason and no errors to report. The maps are miniature (as in the backyard of a house) and you will often spawn with an enemy either in your sights or aiming at your head.
    Customization options are however acceptable and have some levels of depth, but then again, that is expected of a game in today's FPS genre.

    My verdict? Unless you're a die-hard CoD fan with a Vita and money to burn, don't bother.
    Expand
  77. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Let me just start off by saying I have been a big call of duty fan since CoD Modern Warfare the original on the Xbox console, and have owned all but WaW. I got my PS Vita because it is the highest quality portable system, with much greater graphics than the PSP, with graphics much more comparable to those of the PS3 or Xbox 360. Black Ops Declassified looks very nice on the Vita (graphically speaking), and has wowed many people I know who simply glance at it and can tell it is a Call of Duty game by the similarities of all of the character animations and guns. I waited to review until after I played through everything, and am overall impressed with this game. The campaign is definitely short, especially if you only try to beat it on the easiest difficulty level (there are three difficulty levels). It took me about 3 hours to beat it on the easiest level, and I intend on redoing it on each level on a harder difficulty. There are also many fun trophy achievements to try to achieve as well, that you can attain from both the campaign and hostiles mode. The multiplayer mode of this game is honestly buggy at times, but 90% of the time I try a multiplayer game, it works with no problems at all. The multiplayer is fast paced and addictive (especially with a friend in your lobby playing with flawless Vita voice chat), and ranking up and customizing classes also very closely resembles the original console multiplayer. My biggest disappointment with this game besides the sometimes annoying AI, is the absence of Nazi Zombies (and even multiplayer hostiles is missing, which was very surprising to me). Hostiles is very fun at times, but is not even close to the caliber of fun as the classic zombies, and feels empty in comparison. Overall, I rate this game a 7.5 (8 rounding up) and feel that people should stop comparing it to the PS3 and Xbox 360's Black Ops and Black Ops II, because it is not a console game and is the first of its kind on this platform. This game certainly does not deserve to be rated worse than Spy Hunter or Silent Hill just because it does not exceed the console version of Black Ops. I would definitely recommend this game to any fan of FPS games, as this is a great step for it in the right direction for the PS Vita. Expand
  78. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    I just don't understand why professional reviewers are giving this game such low marks. The characters play smoothly, shooting is great (with some aim assist), the multiplayer is the usual cod experience, with minor differences. The graphics are not as good as in Uncharted, but they're nice - much better than Resistance: Burning Skies, for example, which deserved all the bad marks it received. I'm glad I didn't pay too much attention to reviewers with this game. I'm giving it a 9 to compensate for the really bad reviews it had; I think the correct grade would be 8, actually. I think most people will enjoy this game. Expand
  79. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    I agree 100% with Drumhead19's review. I could not have said it better myself. I gave it a slightly lower rating than Drumhead19 as the narrative for the campaign could have been better and the AI could have been better. I did play MP last night and was having some solid fun.
  80. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    Jack Tretton from Sony should resign or be fired. He mismanaged the Vita from the start. Call Of Duty is a bigger mess than Resistance Burning Skies. Sony and Activision should have given Nihilistic the boot. It was clearly obvious that Declassified was horrible cause Activision didn't endorse it on their website. The Vita should be renamed the Morte the latin name for death cause the Vita is beyond saving. Expand
  81. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    WOW. SONY VITA MAKES THIS GAME LOOK SICK!!!!

    BUy it now!! Handheld COD action in full60FPS

    Sick brah.git it git it.

    SOme sick gamplay , you get guns, you shoot zombies, you have a great time. Amazing.
  82. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    Nihilistic is getting thrown to the wolves by Activision. The savage reviews and frothing rage are completely out of context and misdirected. The original schedule for this title was 2 years. 18 months were spent by two studios who could not make it run at better than 10 FPS on Vita. NSI was brought in to save Activision from their own disaster. There was no concurrent development during the production of Burning Skies. From a cold start they made this game in six months. And no, this is not a re-skinned Resistance. A lot of new tech was written for it. Given the circumstances and time frame this was an amazing achievement.

    Achievement Unlocked: Game Crunch Warrior!
    Make a solid Hand-Held FPS in 1/4 of a realistic schedule

    The price was not set by the studio, it was set by the publisher. The limited scope of the game was dictated purely by the ludicrously short amount of time they had.

    Quit kicking the studio that pulled off a miracle. Save your venom for the publisher that set this whole debacle up.

    @codbod_insider
    Expand
  83. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    Even the most hardcore of Call of Duty fans will be disappointed by this game. The campaign was only about an hour long, almost all of the models are recycled from previous call of duty games, and the multiplayer is extremely limited.
    Definitely not worth the money. I legitimately feel bad for anyone unfortunate enough to have bought the Call of Duty Vita bundle.
  84. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    It's not perfect, not bad... just a great game for standalone special ops and multiplayer. Multipalyer it's fun, with classes and all.

    Forget the campaign, stupid AI, short... etc.

    Would be a great purchase if you want to play special ops on your freetime or waste time playing on multiplayer.
  85. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    It's very disappointing that this game doesn't even match the quality of Modern Combat 3 for iPhone. However the multiplayer is fun enough to save the shallow campaign mode.
  86. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like. Unit 13 was praised for this method and received a good score, but this game was punished for the exact same thing? As for the MP, I believe that this was done very well too because the maps need to be small to ensure non-stop action to accomodate the fact that you are playing 4v4. I'm sure there will be patches to stabilize the connectivity issue, but this happens to many games on console as well. I am not a COD fanboy by any means and I usually purchase the console versions way past their initial release date. Finally, if you are an avid trophy collector like myself, you will find that this game is not a walk in the park due to some very challenging trophies. The price is kinda steep for a handheld, but UC:GA was priced pretty high too and I soon forgot about it. Expand
  87. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    Garbage like most vita games.Half ass made game and robbery at 50 bucks. I am not selling my ps vita i have owned just about every game and need 4 speed is the only game like the cousole. Nail in the coffen for the vita with big name garbage
  88. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    As if Black Ops 2 wasn't already meh, let's take that and make it worse! This is what this game is. The single player campaign it's just a huge borefest, piss easy and short as f*ck. The multi player it's stripped down with crappy maps and less players. If you want a great online multiplayer for your PS Vita, just wait until Phantasy Star Online 2 or Monster Hunter Hunter will come.
  89. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    im really desapointed about this game, the campaing is ridiculous short, dont buy this game just for the name or because you are looking for a fps in vita, its not a right choice....
  90. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified is a total nonsense game that relies only on the name of the franchise to offer an unfinished product with numerous errors. A title totally expendable and it adds nothing to the catalog of Vita.
  91. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    The multi-player in this game is a ton of fun. i rarely touch single player on COD games so i can't comment on that part of this game. Even though it is a stripped down version of the console experience, i it is still very easy to let yourself get immersed in the action and realize you've been playing for hours. sometimes the game dumps me back to the main menu or gives an error. but this was more common the first day or two i owned it. the past few days have been fine. the controls are fine with everything but grenades i find. if you hold the grenade with your right hand thumb, you cannot turn your character which can sometimes be necessary. you either have the drag your thumb back to the grenade icon to cancel the throw, or just toss it away. aiming, firing, turning are all fine.

    I never have a problem finding a multiplayer match, regardless of what time of the day or evening it is.

    the only time i feel that a map is cramped is when its more than 2v2 in nuketown. even still, it is still fun - just more hectic, and not very far off, scale wise, from a particular map in one of the modern warfare maps that i cannot think of the name off off hand. The rest of the maps more than big enough for 4v4. I have not experienced any other glitches with graphics or anything else.

    i would not buy the ps vita for this game alone. but i would recommend buying a vita for everything the system has to offer which is a great gaming device with a beautiful screen, that has a collection of games including this one that you will spend a lot of time enjoying.


    pros:
    -great multiplayer experience in the palm of your hand
    -slimmed down version of the console games

    cons:
    -price is higher than most vita games
    -some flaws experienced early on with dumping me back to the main menu during multi-player, but those have not happened recently.
    Expand
  92. Nov 17, 2012
    3
    Bought the Limited Bundle edition hoping they'd be some sort of unique design to the iteration, like a call of duty logo on the back. It was my first PS Vita so I dropped my money in with the mentality that I was just buying the PS vita on sale and it just so happened to come with the COD game so if it sucked, I wouldn't be at a lost.

    I have to say the game is just the worst game I have
    experienced in such a long time. In fact, Modern Warfare on the iOS tablets have more subsistence than this game.

    People that are justifying the sloppy single player and the worst AI by saying its a MP centric game is clearly in delusion. To say not to expect a console counterpart on a handheld doesn't excuse the national tragedy Nhilistic has brought upon the COD Franchise. They guy that said he took 7 hours to complete.. has to be one of the worst player ever because this game takes around 30minutes to defeat in any difficulty.. I've never seen a game finish that fast, even on a phone .99$ game.
    Expand
  93. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    I took the plunge after hearing mixed reviews on both extremes. Nihilistic has a chip on their shoulder, especially with their last vita release debacle Resistance. I was pleasantly surprised that the multiplayer is actually quite good. I am pleased with the multiplayer and it is really addictive. I haven't had any major connection problems. For those whining about the single player campaign, we all know that games like these we buy for the multiplayer! The graphics are good and although it may not be the grand slam, Nihilistic has redeemed themselves from Resistance. I bought Resistance and that was just horrid, both single and multiplayer in Resistance was horrid. Needless to say, I traded that deplorable game. Expand
  94. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This is basically Black Ops in your pocket. Following on from Black Ops 1 - set in the same era.
    Honestly - it's great. Don't listen to the critics or the haters who are upset they can't afford a premium game.
    If you want to play COD multiplayer on the go then this is it.
  95. Nov 17, 2012
    6
    Listen... I had this game for about 3 days. A lot of people have negative outputs for this game but for what? Yea, the campaign is horrible but its really multiplayer that drives COD. This game has a decent multiplayer. It's very entertaining and I'm happy for this title. All in all, no one really cares about campaign.. Stick to multiplayer, which is great.
  96. NT1
    Nov 17, 2012
    2
    This is the biggest **** for a PS Vita owner. What I expected was a action packed single player like the other CoD games. Instead, this game is meant for multiplayer, and multiplayer only. I DONT WANT TO PLAY MULTIPLAYER ON A HANDHELD!!! Because it's crap and i don't want an online experience. I want to play a thrilling single player with lots of explosions and **** Nothing thrilling on this. Buy Resistance Burning Skies instead. Expand
  97. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasis on teamwork and less camping for killstreaks. Cannot wait to be playing this on my lunch break :-) Expand
  98. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    I cant believe the critic reviews on this game. Yeah its not perfect but does it deserve scores as low as a 3?!?!? no. This is from the same company that made resistance burning skies. That game didnt score the best either but I gave it a 6.5-7. Call of Duty Declassified expands on the resistance idea and brings an almost console like call of duty mulitplayer on a handheld. Its got create a class, killstreaks, perks and all that jazz. It's certainly not as good as a console game but for short bursts of 15-20 minute gameplay its freaking awesome. The campaign is pretty poor. its only a little over an hour long but it has replay value with the star system you earn for each level. Of course if you compare this to a console call of duty it would get a score of a 3 or 4. But if you dont expect too much, and realize this is on a handheld with dual sticks?? Its a fun game. Expand
  99. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    shockingly high amount of single user review reviews here that stink of the game developers making them here. I loved the guy who suggested it took him 7 hours to complete? the game has it's whole campaign on youtube already and it's completed in under 40mins. well done.
  100. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    Ok so this game dissappointed me very much. I was expecting a way better job from the franchise. There are too many glitches and bugs. The game causes my vita to crash at all times. Sometimes im stuck on a frozen screen, sometimes im playing multiplayer and out of no where i get booted back to the menu screen. The story mode or campaign is extremely short and easy. Overall i think they have alot of work to do. I have seriously considered getting rid of my vita. I was one of the first to get my vita and i have been waiting since for call of duty. I am very upset at the lack of effort put into this game. Not worth getting as a christmas gift at all. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.