User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    1
    CoD: BOD is a horrible mash up of bad story telling, bad A.I., clunky gunplay, and repetitiveness. The story telling is flat like the soda that's half finished in the back of my fridge. The A.I. is like trying to make a puppet have good movements. The gunplay is akin to trying to untie both your hands with a triple know. The repetitiveness.....is like CoD. See a pattern here? CoD is showing its sloppiness. While I liked Ghosts and BO2 (to an extent), I can't give any merits to the game other than the graphics which are flat out gorgeous for a 3D shooter handheld game. Overall, don't buy it. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    1
    This Call of Duty is one of the worst game of the psvita.Well,I think it's the worst.It's a failure,a fail production in game industry.People just buy it because of it's a Call Of duty,but men,it's awful.If you want a game like this and many,many times better buy Killzone Mercenary.
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    4
    There is indeed a game here. It IS fun. It IS indeed a COD game on a handheld. However, Its as though they've never actually played their own finished product. There are so many niggling refinements that need to be made and without them it makes for a VERY frustrating experience. The AI know where you are at ALL times. They are already shooting you before you come around the corner. On top of that, whenever you are shot, your aim jumps 20 feet up so its impossible to bring it back down to shoot the guy that is shooting you. There are invisible objects, and things you just get stuck on. If you are an achievement hunter, this game will frustrate you beyond anything imaginable. Unfortunately, trophy hunting is the only way to keep playing the single player. Its VERY short. It takes longer to get through all of the annoying slow motion "cut-scenes" at the beginning when you have to repeat play for 3 stars. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Call of duty is gaming biggest series that sell about more than a million copies at launch. I have been a fan of the series for just two years and I think the series is best known on consoles like the Xbox 360, PS3, Wii (no one plays on it anymore), Wii U, and recently on the Xbox One and PS4. There were also ports of the games on the Nintendo DS, but they unique end up being bad for most of them. In 2012 (I think) Activision announce a new Call of Duty game for the vita later that year. It could be the best Call of Duty game on a handheld and when it was released the game got negative reviews both from fans and critics getting fours to even a one out of ten. I purchase the game to the reason why it consider bad first the campaign if you call it that is incredibly short it would take forty-five minutes to complete the campaign making it the short to play through and plus the story doesn't make any sense having the Black Ops characters go through missions with no sense at all. The voice acting is horrible minus Frank Wood's voice actor is still here and the checkpoint system is completely gone making levels hard to complete levels on higher difficulty. The positives the gameplay is the same like other games in the series and the multiplayer is good to come back and play. The last thing a need to say the game was developed in five months and that a fact. Don't play this game, play the new killzone on the Vita instead. Also the game come with Call of Duty Road to Victory for PSP downloadable making the game fifty dollars it's better than this game. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    3
    What was originally planned to be the Vita's "big break" in todays competitive market ultimately resulted in what I can only see as one of the most disappointing games of the generation. Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified, while occasionally guilty fun, is the epitome of disappointment. Declassified's single player content is broken up into three modes: Contracts, Hostiles, & Time Trials. Operations mode is nothing more than a series of uninspired missions. Additonally, these missions can be completed in under an hour on the preset difficulty. Oddly enough, players can earn XP from completeing these missions. Unfortunately, this XP cannot be transferred to multiplayer. This bears the question of why this was even added in at all. This really is a sorry excuse for a campaign. Next is Time Trials mode, which is definitely the odd one of the bunch. Time Trials is basically just target practice with a timer. This is undoubtedly the least interesting of Declassified's modes, as well as the easiest. The last of the single player content is Hostiles. In Hostiles, players face off against endless waves of enemies. This mode had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it falls flat. The lack of co-op support means players will have to go in solo. Without anyone to play with, this mode was outright boring. This is easily the best of the single player modes, but that isn't saying much. Unfortunately, things don't get much better in multiplayer. Maps are just inferior rehashes from previous games. Also, accuracy plays practically no part in Declassified. Simply spraying your weapon is the best way to go. Finally, connection in general is horrid. Every two out three matches will crash, even with a perfect connection. Declassified developer Nihilistic clearly had a "quantity over quality" mindset when creating Declassified. Overall, Declassified feels rushed, boring, and broken. Its one redeeming value is it's multiplayer, at least when it works. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    1
    This sorry excuse for a game made me waste my time and waste 60 bucks. It has a 30 MINUTE campaign mode full of bugs and glitches, a poor A.I. and a unplayable multiplayer. Ignore the positive reviews, they're people paid by Treyarch to give good reviews OR CoD fanboys that can't admit that there is a bad CoD game. Don't dare touch a copy of this game, if it even can be called a game!
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    this is one of the worst games i ever play its is so bad that i cried hint hint big black ops fan so yeah. the worst thing is the whole game they need a whole new storyline
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    I know that people hate the Call of Duty games (for little to no good reason), but if there's one game that deserves every bit of hate it gets, it's this one. I like the Call of Duty games, but this game is just GARBAGE.
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This is a buggy horrible mess!

    The 1 hour long campaign lacking a story line bored me to death.

    Nearly unplayable due to massive look acceleration.

    Nauseatingly low FOV.

    Random crashes.

    Can only play multiplayer if you have a NAT type 2 Internet connection.

    FPS Issues.

    Good

    The create a class system is just the same.

    Has kill streaks.
  10. Jul 13, 2013
    2
    i just don't understand how Activision could fund such a disasters. Bugs and everywhere. players getting stuck on a door, a respawn point puts you behind enemy lines. controls don't feel good just yuck
  11. Jul 1, 2013
    1
    When they ported Black Ops, they could have at least kept in everything that made black ops great, not strip it down to the bone and remove any substance of greatness that it had. Zombies, gone, SP, Short and unsatisfying and for the MP, wow, hardly any maps, half the guns, 8 players, hard to find a game and last but not least, it looks horrible. It's already been proven that the PS-Vita has enough power to make a game look beautiful, Uncharted was near identical to it's console counterpart. The only explanation is that the team that made the port were just terrible at coding and had about the same thinking power as a pea.

    Plus why do portable counterparts always have to be stripped down?, especially condiering that there is nothing about the PS-Vita that makes it a weak platform, it has more than enough power and more than enough memory on it's game cards to support the full version of Black Ops, if the Wii can, the Vita can, this is lazy developers looking for a quick buck at it's best.

    Didn't Rockstar prove with GTA LCS and VCS that a portable game doesn't have to be a featureless port? They rebuilt the entire world of Liberty City and built an entire new backstory around it, with a lengthy campaign and tons extra to do, with the things that made the console games great.

    Call Of Duty Black Ops: Declassified, Does not include anything that made the console version great.
    Expand
  12. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game, it is a broken pile of crap from Nihilistic. Animations, visuals, environments, and the bugs bring this game down. Not to mention the unstable servers. If you want a portable quality shooter experience, pre-order or go by Killzone: Mercenary when it comes out.
  13. May 19, 2013
    3
    Black ops declassified the 2nd FPS on the ps vita had a lot of hype surrounding it but the execution was horrible the game had nothing good the only thing it did ok was the shooting it feels a bit clunky but it manges to get the job done (with the aim assist turned on) but everything else is broken to performance issues glitches and other mad mishaps if you look on my black ops 2 review you see i have lost hope on the call of duty franchise but this abomination of a game has completely destroyed.
    do not buy this game! never buy this game! not even if its £1 pound at game station it is a pile of mess
    Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    2
    This has absolutely the worst single player shooter I can ever remember playing. The fact that I even finished the missions is a testament to my own stubborn bloody mindedness. This is an utterly awful game and I'm ashamed of myself for even playing it.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    4
    Its no secret that the Vita isn't as much of a success as Sony hoped it would be, so they figured they would just get one of Sony's biggest titles, slap it on the cover of a game, and sell it like hotcakes. The Vitas previous FPS game Resistance: Burning Skies was a flop, and despite its failure, Sony has hired THE SAME DEVELOPER to create their Call of Duty game. Trust me when I say, this game is NOT Call of Duty. The weapons, Maps, and music may seem familiar to Black Ops on the PS3, but dont expect this to live up to the expectations of the big Call of Duty titles. There is no story, the gameplay is nothing new, and the graphics have actually only gotten worse since Resistance: Burning Skies. I dont know if this was all due to the developers only have 6 months to make the game, or simply laziness. The game does, however, have a few good sides. Nihilistic (the games developer) now has added some extra content for solo play. There are now both Hostiles mode and Time Trials. Hostiles is fun, but its relatively simple and may lead to you just quitting due to the dumb AI. And the Time Trials mode is essentially a variety of training levels stretched into a whole game mode. Now the thing that really hurts the game is the lack of Zombies. Fans of Call of Duty: World at War and Black Ops should be very familiar with Zombies as it is one of the greatest ideas in Call of Duty history. Well, Zombies is gone and without it, the game is just no good. Finally, the only upside to the game is the Multiplayer. While the multiplayer is not up to par with Black Ops on the consols, its still relatively fun. Fans of Call of Duty should feel right at home with its classes, killstreaks, and perks. SCORE: 4.0/10 Expand
  16. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Just plain terrible. Call of Duty is a quality series with an awful fanbase, but Declassified is a terrible entry that even the CoD fanbase knows to steer clear of. All the people giving this game a 10 are obviously massive Kony Cumpooper Unentertainment fanboys that want to see their "precious" Vita (or should I say Mortis) outsell actually good gaming systems. The way you do it isn't lying to the consumer and disguising bad games with perfect 10s, damn it. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    The campaign is 1 hour long, has a week story, each mission is 5 minutes long, all the multiplayer maps are smaller versions of the original Black Ops (ex: Nukehouse), the hostiles mode is the same as MW3's Survival mode, Bad controls and bad AI. Its a okay game, but it has some major flaws
  18. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general
  19. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    El peor call of duty de la historia una campaña corta y que no aporta nada a la historia como prometían y un multijugador con mapas reciclados y lleno de lag.
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    1
    Pros: It's COD on the Vita!
    Cons: Everything else. Glitchy, poor performer. This game is not doing FPS on the Vita any favours! The multiplayer is not fun, nor are the missions. I really wanted this to work, but it doesn't. And believe me, I persisted!
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    This game is just horrible. The single player mode is ridiculously short, the IA sucks (I've seen enemies shoot a wall, throw grenades that kill themselves or just run in circles even though I'm there), the controls feel awkard and the missions are just boring.

    Usually the on-line is the main reason to buy a CoD game is the on-line mode, but in CoD: BOD the on-line mode doesn't work,
    the game keeps kicking me out of every lobby for no reason (and it's not my connection, everything else works fine, hell, I can play the PS3 CoDs without any problem) and the only time I got to play, one of the players was invincible and could not be killed.

    Those problems were supposedly fixed with an update, but after I downloaded the 400 MB patch, it still works as bad as the first day, the only difference being that the game doesn't freeze anymore after I'm kicked of a lobby.

    Graphically the game is okay, textures and models are bad looking, and light effects are nothing special.

    The OST couldn't be more awful, they could put no music and it wouldn't be noticeable. The sound effects are generic.

    This game is not worth buying, it should be a 3$ iOS game.
    Expand
  22. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Steer clear of this piece of garbage that everyone was telling me was going to be "the game" that was going to spike Vita's sales singlehandedly. Two words come to mind.. "Epic Fail."
  23. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Declassified is giving Vita a bad name for a good old fashioned Game of the Year candidate. I don't really care about Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified anymore. The critics are absolutely right, I even watch the review on the now-cancelled X-Play. This game is a complete disaster. AI is terrible, a campaign that deserves the right to be punished, and bad timing of the game makes you wanna play the game for less than 10 hours a week. I urge every Call of Duty fan to avoid this portable dump and get back to action while playing... I don't know. Modern Warfare 3 or Black Ops II? It's your call. Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    considerando que es un juego para una consola portátil considero que esta bien pero como van a sacar un black ops sin zombies??? que mierda es esta yo pensé wowww voy a tener zombies a la mano mientras estoy en el trabajo o en una cola a la oficina pues no todo se limita a misiones al estilo de call of duty pero con la peor jugabilidad que puedas inmaginar pero en realidad creo que perdí el dinero con este juego carece de toda emosion de la version de blackops 1 y ni hablar de blacops 2... Expand
  25. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    This can't be considered a videogame. This must be considered the worst GARBAGE ever made in the story of videogames. If you don't want to waste a lot of money, don't buy this game: the single player mode can be completed in 45 minutes!
  26. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    I don't actually say i dislike this game but . . . it's was a deception, i like CoD but this one just made me want more, this game could have way better also it should have used the vita system better. My conclusion is that the story sucks . . . and multiplayer bug and crash a lot so i just enjoyed the hostile mode, good try but don't deserves a good critic.
  27. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    This atrocity almost made me regret buying Sony's hardcore handheld. It's just another nail to the coffin of struggling piece of hardware. Biggest franchise on most advanced and hardcore-oriented turned out enormous in terms of failure and overpriced in terms of bang for a buck epicly epic flop. Great showcase of Vita's future. Can't believe Sony allowed Activision to do this. Can't believe Sony certificated this atrocity. It doesn't even work without crashing and freezing the whole system. No awesomeness of Little Big Planet on Vita can't fix this damage done to platform. Thanks for free psn plus month I can play games that don't SUCK AT LITERALLY EVERYTHING, and not broken to the point of resetting the whole Vita mid-match. Way to go, Sony and Activision, good work. Expand
  28. TGR
    Nov 22, 2012
    3
    Disappointing. That's one of the many words I could use to describe just how bad Call of Duty: Black Ops Decalcified is. From its pointless campaign to its buggy multiplayer. Declassified's campaign has stupid A.I.s who shoot at walls and stare at you. The story is pointless with missions giving you a random reason to go in and kill some guys. It has nothing to do with the Black Ops story line. It's multiplayer is buggy and has horrible maps. On the bright side it stays true to the franchises multiplayer modes and the ability to create a class. This game is not worth picking up. You are way better off spending that forty dollars on some fun smaller games on PSStore, Xbox Arcade, or Steam. Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    This is a waste of an unbelievable property. I finished the campaign in one sitting.....That's right, about an hour. I would score game play on its on a 6 or 7, but what good is game play when you don't have time to enjoy it. Shame on you Activision. Let Blizzard start okaying your games or something. This also gives a black eye to an already ailing Vita, which is capable of amazing original games such as Uncharted and Assassin's Creed Liberation. Expand
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    Having moderate experience with recent Call of Duty games (the last played online being Call of Duty 4), Black Ops declassified can be generalized as the typical Call of Duty game nowadays - rushed through development to be put out onto the market to bring in the cash. Thankfully, this game won't be bringing Activision much revenue as it is simply a poor game.
    The singleplayer options are
    absolutely atrocious. What little saving grace new Call of Duty games have nowadays - their campaign stories - have been omitted from this bare bone of a game. The missions are individual and unrelated, there is no story providing incentive to play the next one, checkpoints have been omitted meaning that if you die at the last second in a mission, you will have to replay the entire mission from the beginning. This provides nothing but frustration and even taking into account that Black Ops: Declassified has been developed with the idea of a portable, easy to get in and out of game, it feels like the devs have taken simplification too far.

    The multiplayer whilst retaining the enjoyable and rewarding gameplay of past entries in the franchise is rife with bugs and inconsistencies. You will be lucky to successfully load one game in three, as the game simply kicks you back to the multiplayer menu with no reason and no errors to report. The maps are miniature (as in the backyard of a house) and you will often spawn with an enemy either in your sights or aiming at your head.
    Customization options are however acceptable and have some levels of depth, but then again, that is expected of a game in today's FPS genre.

    My verdict? Unless you're a die-hard CoD fan with a Vita and money to burn, don't bother.
    Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.