User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Call of Duty Declassified was overall a disappointment. At £35 for a portable game it seemed expensive, however, the single-player campaign which was only 45 minutes was lackluster. The multi-player is 4 vs 4 on tiny maps where you spawn next to the enemy was awful. A complete embarrassment to the Call of Duty series. Note: Most of the user reviews giving it undeserved praise are PS3Call of Duty Declassified was overall a disappointment. At £35 for a portable game it seemed expensive, however, the single-player campaign which was only 45 minutes was lackluster. The multi-player is 4 vs 4 on tiny maps where you spawn next to the enemy was awful. A complete embarrassment to the Call of Duty series. Note: Most of the user reviews giving it undeserved praise are PS3 fanboys who want to defend any exclusive game, however terrible it is. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like.First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like. Unit 13 was praised for this method and received a good score, but this game was punished for the exact same thing? As for the MP, I believe that this was done very well too because the maps need to be small to ensure non-stop action to accomodate the fact that you are playing 4v4. I'm sure there will be patches to stabilize the connectivity issue, but this happens to many games on console as well. I am not a COD fanboy by any means and I usually purchase the console versions way past their initial release date. Finally, if you are an avid trophy collector like myself, you will find that this game is not a walk in the park due to some very challenging trophies. The price is kinda steep for a handheld, but UC:GA was priced pretty high too and I soon forgot about it. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O melhor fps que qualquer portatil ja teve, acho que ele deve ser comparado como tal e não como fps de console de mesa apesar de ter como ambição. parabens pelo bom trabalho corrigindo o pessimo trabalho feito no resistance burning skies. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasisI've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasis on teamwork and less camping for killstreaks. Cannot wait to be playing this on my lunch break :-) Expand
  5. IBY
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ok, let me start by saying that Activition has made a faithful attempt to give Cod fanatics a enthralling and fast-paced FPS as we all know and respect it to be. After a few hours gameplay, i'm yet to find any glitches so the smoothness of the game took me by surprise, the game is impressive graphically but obviously toned down to suit its capabilities. The main killsteaks are includedOk, let me start by saying that Activition has made a faithful attempt to give Cod fanatics a enthralling and fast-paced FPS as we all know and respect it to be. After a few hours gameplay, i'm yet to find any glitches so the smoothness of the game took me by surprise, the game is impressive graphically but obviously toned down to suit its capabilities. The main killsteaks are included but i would of preferred a few more options when choosing. Aiming down the site is beautiful not to mention doing a 360 sniper kill! All the guns from the previous black ops are included as you would expect . My only dissapointment about the game was that Search & Destroy and Domination was not included in the game modes, with these game modes the game would of easily been a PS Vita legend. overall, i reccommend this to any Call of Duty fan as this Action-packed beauty will keep you occupied daily. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Black ops:Declassified is one last effort from now extinct company, Nihilistic. In interviews I have heard the developers' COD finaticism, upon playing the game this shone through the usual COD-aesthetics because unlike BO2; this game has been finely tuned for the Vita apart from the dash controls of which appear to be a minor flaw and are picked up after time is spent with this gem.Black ops:Declassified is one last effort from now extinct company, Nihilistic. In interviews I have heard the developers' COD finaticism, upon playing the game this shone through the usual COD-aesthetics because unlike BO2; this game has been finely tuned for the Vita apart from the dash controls of which appear to be a minor flaw and are picked up after time is spent with this gem.
    Goodbye Nihilistic and thankyou! It's a shame you can't make one next year!
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Much better than I expected. Very much a genuine COD experience on a handheld. Recommend to any FPS fan. Only thing i wish for is ZOMBIES!! ( could be introduced in DLC).
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    A very good port... When it works. Half of the games I join I get booted out of immediately. Another good portion of games have terrible lag. The maps are a little small. Spawn points are unintuitive. Good for on-the-go fun, but not a worthy port of the console versions. Also, everyone camps. It's not fun.
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Call of Duty: Black Ops: Declassified is not a good game. There is only one metric by which a consumer of this product could deem it good, and that's to be both starved of a worthy first-person shooter on the Vita and desperately attempting to rationalise one's purchase. Declassified is a bad game.

    Lots of games are bad, in lots of creatively bad ways. Many games have curious new ideas
    Call of Duty: Black Ops: Declassified is not a good game. There is only one metric by which a consumer of this product could deem it good, and that's to be both starved of a worthy first-person shooter on the Vita and desperately attempting to rationalise one's purchase. Declassified is a bad game.

    Lots of games are bad, in lots of creatively bad ways. Many games have curious new ideas that are flawed in their premise. Many others are not made to a high enough standard. Some are just developed by those who lack the skill to accomplish what they set out to do. Declassified is painfully, crushingly unambitious. It does very little, possibly because after Resistance: Burning Skies the developer reasoned that the less they make, the less they can make badly. It doesn't work. Declassified is a strangely empty package from a franchise that is known for wringing a great deal of value for the price of a boxed game, and what it brings to the table is positively rotten.

    Single player is dull, plagued by ugly, short levels stuffed with braindead enemies while lacking any of the series' signature set-pieces. It's also very, very short - ten levels that each last five minutes or so to complete and lack any real cohesive plot - and have leaderboards that nobody should worry about bothering with.

    Hostiles is a wave-based coop mode without coop. You take on swarms of soldiers that come your way and, alone, that's about it. The combat isn't dynamic and tactical enough to make it interesting.

    Multiplayer, the franchise's mainstay, is a ghastly approximation of the real thing. Maps are small, game modes sparse and the feel, sound and look of the combat is all unsatisfying. It's plagued by technical issues that make the idea of finding a game upon booting the game an unsavoury and laborious thought. Having played six consecutive years of Call of Duty on consoles and PC, the sudden difficulty and wait in finding a stable match stands as a stark reminder of how un-CoDlike this abomination is.

    Activision should be careful. The Call of Duty brand is, if anything, thought of providing consistent quality. This travesty of a release could do more damage to that image than sales would offset.

    This game does not justify the price tag, the Call of Duty name or a spot on anyone's Vita. I strongly advise you against purchasing.
    Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    I bought this game today and was pleasantly surprised. The games looks good for a handheld and runs really smooth. I've played a lot of multiplayer, a couple campaign missions and quite a bit of the hostiles mode. So far critics have been harsh but I truly think they're butt hurt because of who made it, all the criticism they had for itbefore the game even came out, and the fact that itsI bought this game today and was pleasantly surprised. The games looks good for a handheld and runs really smooth. I've played a lot of multiplayer, a couple campaign missions and quite a bit of the hostiles mode. So far critics have been harsh but I truly think they're butt hurt because of who made it, all the criticism they had for itbefore the game even came out, and the fact that its not just like the console. People need to understand its a handheld. And for a handheld it's a hell of a lot of fun. Anyone who rates this lower than they rated Resistance Burning Skies shouldn't even be listened to because this beats that game out of the water. And I enjoyed the Resistance game for what it was but it doesn't come anywhere near this game. Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    People were eager for an opportunity to bash the CoD franchise. There wouldn't be a more appropriate moment to do it than now that it released on the (almost) universally hated PS Vita platform. There, 2 birds with one stone, bash both CoD and Vita at once.
    CoD: Declassified is not a bad game considered it is a handheld experience. The campaign is shorter than the console counterparts
    People were eager for an opportunity to bash the CoD franchise. There wouldn't be a more appropriate moment to do it than now that it released on the (almost) universally hated PS Vita platform. There, 2 birds with one stone, bash both CoD and Vita at once.
    CoD: Declassified is not a bad game considered it is a handheld experience. The campaign is shorter than the console counterparts probably due to portability - if they were any longer, I could see the reviewers saying "too long, not suitable for a portable game". The graphics are not groundbreaking, vita could do better, but they are not gamebreaking either - just decent enough. Gameplay is fine and multiplayer is the best moment of the game, as usual for a CoD game.
    Does this game deserve a 9/10? Probably not, but I'm giving it a 9 to offset all the undeserved hate it is getting. It's probably a 7/10.
    Expand
  12. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    The series of Call of Duty has always been about multiplayer and co-op and Declassified is exactly the same. Call of Duty: Declassified is a fantastic display of the fact that the PS Vita can play big name games like Need for Speed and in this case Call of Duty. The game plays and feels like your usual Call of Duty games and will definably quench your thirst for some run and gun, highThe series of Call of Duty has always been about multiplayer and co-op and Declassified is exactly the same. Call of Duty: Declassified is a fantastic display of the fact that the PS Vita can play big name games like Need for Speed and in this case Call of Duty. The game plays and feels like your usual Call of Duty games and will definably quench your thirst for some run and gun, high action multiplayer thrills.The game is a steal in the UK for only £20 (I brought mine for £35 at release) and will probably stay at that price till Killzone. I highly recommend this game and in fact can even say that i have had more fun on this game than COD: MW3! The game does contain some flaws such as: no more support, glitched killstreaks, dumb AI and few invisible walls during Hostiles mode. Expand
  13. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified is one of the biggest disappointments for the Vita game library in 2012. After much deliberation due to the negative reviews online, I eventually took the plunge with low expectations
  14. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good game.

    It's without question the best FPS shooter I have played on any handheld. I won't compare it to the console versions because let's face it... It is a handheld device. The duel analog sticks feel great after a few hours of getting used to it. SP: I am enjoying this. The missions are quite short but bump up the difficulty and missions should take a while longer to
    This is a good game.

    It's without question the best FPS shooter I have played on any handheld. I won't compare it to the console versions because let's face it... It is a handheld device. The duel analog sticks feel great after a few hours of getting used to it.

    SP: I am enjoying this. The missions are quite short but bump up the difficulty and missions should take a while longer to beat. AI is ok, Not great. Some parts can be quite tricky on the hardest setting however. Save points would have been nice..

    MP: Great fun! I really enjoy this aspect of the game. Maps are relatively small but you still feel like you are getting a COD experience. Games are pretty much always full and i rarely have any connection issues. Kill streaks, Perks and level ups are all here too which is great as I look to prestige 400 times.. Not

    Final comments:
    If you're after a quick FPS fix and then you should grab a copy of this game. It is a solid shooter and negative reviews should be overlooked.

    7/10 Good
    Expand
  15. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    NOTE: I'm reviewing the game in its final patched state, which is really quite fun. Early reviews are based on the unpatched version, which apparently was absolutely awful. This is stripped-down Call of Duty, with an accelerated campaign, a truncated survival mode (here called "Hostiles") and a mostly-intact multiplayer. Graphics and AI both take an understandable hit. What the game lacksNOTE: I'm reviewing the game in its final patched state, which is really quite fun. Early reviews are based on the unpatched version, which apparently was absolutely awful. This is stripped-down Call of Duty, with an accelerated campaign, a truncated survival mode (here called "Hostiles") and a mostly-intact multiplayer. Graphics and AI both take an understandable hit. What the game lacks in features, though, it makes up for in the Call of Duty magic. This really actually feels like a Call of Duty game you can play in between classes or on the bus, and that (for me) makes up for all the cut corners. Expand
  16. May 19, 2014
    7
    Don't know why too much bad reviews for this game. It's not the best game of the series, but I think it's a good game. It's very alike the Call of Duty Black Ops (PS3), but it has a very quick campaign, but if you try it in veteran you can maintain yourself playing it for hours. And about the multiplayer mode, I haven't experienced any lag matches, since my network isn't any good. ^_^
  17. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    Я могу сказать одно. Кампания, это не для шутеров. Игру спасает отличный мультиплеер. Если вам нужен именно он, тогда берите КоД.
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Very suprised by the game, the Multiplayer is brilliant! The most time i've ever spent playing my vita! I sat on the sofa for 3 hours straight. No connection issues like R:BS had, no lag. Matchmaking is quick and they just patched in Ad-Hoc play! Great effort Nihilistic!
  19. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand the low scores this game has been getting. I have had it for a week now, and I love it. I am not trying to justify my purchase, it is a fun game, sure the ai is terrible, and the campaign is too short, but it's still fun, and so is the multiplayer.
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Nihilistic goes out with a bang! Declassified has everything one would want from a portable CoD effort: Bite-sized campaign missions, AI waves (but not zombies), and fantastic 4v4 online multiplayer. I'm blown away by how fluid the multiplayer action is, too - especially considering how poor Resistance Burning Skies was. I digress. If you're looking for Call of Duty on the go, look noNihilistic goes out with a bang! Declassified has everything one would want from a portable CoD effort: Bite-sized campaign missions, AI waves (but not zombies), and fantastic 4v4 online multiplayer. I'm blown away by how fluid the multiplayer action is, too - especially considering how poor Resistance Burning Skies was. I digress. If you're looking for Call of Duty on the go, look no further than Declassified. It may just be the best portable FPS of all time. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    im really desapointed about this game, the campaing is ridiculous short, dont buy this game just for the name or because you are looking for a fps in vita, its not a right choice....
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    We all need to ignore this isn't a console game. The handheld will live up to its console brethren. I don't even care how good a game may be on the PSVITA, games are better on consoles, so its pointless to compare. However, considering what handhelds use to be like with game boys, sega game gears, virtual boys, and psp's, this particular COD game is very impressive. Graphics are not theWe all need to ignore this isn't a console game. The handheld will live up to its console brethren. I don't even care how good a game may be on the PSVITA, games are better on consoles, so its pointless to compare. However, considering what handhelds use to be like with game boys, sega game gears, virtual boys, and psp's, this particular COD game is very impressive. Graphics are not the best, but comparing it to past handhelds and even the PS2 the game looks great. Gameplay... Gameplay is the most important element to a successful game and I personally think they did a good job. The maps are too small, but it's a handheld. Who wants to run around a big map not finding someone to murder? Not me. I want to jump right in. There isn't a story mode, even though its trying to have one. People buying cod on the handheld are more interested in multiplayer anyways so, if you want to play a COD multiplayer game on the go or on the sofa while the wife hogs the television, than this is perfect. Multiplayer has all or most of the perks you'd find on the big brother game. People who are hating it either haven't played the game or they are hell bent on discouraging people from buying this game. The game deserves a solid 8. Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    my xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lackingmy xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lacking in the writing department and are a bit bland but are a challenge especially on hardened. multiplayer has a few glitches which a patch will fix in a week or so but is really fun. even if its quite tight. best portable f.p.s made. Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    What a shame. The game is incredibly unimpressive given the system it's on license it is supposed to represent. I find it astonishing that users here rate games like halo 4 and black ops 2 down, but put all their support behind this unfinished turd in alpha state. Nihilistic changed its name during development, I suspect it's to avoid any connection with this game in the future. ResistanceWhat a shame. The game is incredibly unimpressive given the system it's on license it is supposed to represent. I find it astonishing that users here rate games like halo 4 and black ops 2 down, but put all their support behind this unfinished turd in alpha state. Nihilistic changed its name during development, I suspect it's to avoid any connection with this game in the future. Resistance burning skies was actually better than this game. Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My thoughts with about an hour of play as nobody else has reviewed yet: This game will sell Vitas. I've just hit level 3 on both mission and multi, and this is loads of fun. Perks, streaks etc is all there, fast network with very little lag on WiFi, its exactly what you think it could/hoped it would be. Sure its smaller maps, and watered down graphically from ps3, but this is a handheldMy thoughts with about an hour of play as nobody else has reviewed yet: This game will sell Vitas. I've just hit level 3 on both mission and multi, and this is loads of fun. Perks, streaks etc is all there, fast network with very little lag on WiFi, its exactly what you think it could/hoped it would be. Sure its smaller maps, and watered down graphically from ps3, but this is a handheld unit, and I think too many already draw that comparison with all console game conversions. It feels slick to play, and my first impressions are all very positive. Campaign obviously isn't going to be as immersive as a console, but again I think they've done the franchise proud in representing the king of fps on a handheld. Must buy game IMO. Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Сониблядь пришла к врачу, В игор я играть хочу, Помогите мне сСониблядь пришла к врачу, В игор я играть хочу, Помогите мне с проблемой, Денег горы заплачу. Только слышится ответ - На плейстейшон игор нет Есть кинцо, мыльцо, унчартед, Игр ты будешь ждать сто лет. Что же делать? Как тут быть? Где же игры раздобыть? И пришлося сонишлюхе все ж ПеКа себе купить. На ПеКа как на ПеКа, жизнь прекрасна и легка. Есть фолач второй, планетка, Игры просто на века. Можно клипы рисовать, фотошопом баловать, Можно даже и вишмастер всем ньюфагам раздавать. Вот проснулась сониблядь Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game has exceeded my expectations. The short missions in campaign mode is great for on the go however there should be more (DLC maybe?). The multiplayer works well and I have had a ball playing. Nihilistic deserve more respect for their effort especially as Resistance was so far off the mark. This is a solid game and I am glad I purchased before being put off by misguided reviews onThis game has exceeded my expectations. The short missions in campaign mode is great for on the go however there should be more (DLC maybe?). The multiplayer works well and I have had a ball playing. Nihilistic deserve more respect for their effort especially as Resistance was so far off the mark. This is a solid game and I am glad I purchased before being put off by misguided reviews on game websites such as IGN (not out yet but bound to be negative knowing them). The game should probably sit around 8.0 however I see a lot of ratings sitting at 0 which simply cannot be legit therefore I have scored the game a 10 to help balance things up. Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is a great handheld version of Call of Duty. You cannot compare this to the console version. That is unfair. This game is great on the Vita and will keep you addicted to the Vita for the holidays at least. The campaign is fine, but the meat is in the multiplayer and hostile modes. The graphics are amazing. My only complaint is that the campaign is short, but there is a lot of replayThis is a great handheld version of Call of Duty. You cannot compare this to the console version. That is unfair. This game is great on the Vita and will keep you addicted to the Vita for the holidays at least. The campaign is fine, but the meat is in the multiplayer and hostile modes. The graphics are amazing. My only complaint is that the campaign is short, but there is a lot of replay value if you want to play all the difficulty levels. I highly recommend this game. Do not listen to naysayers. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    This is a game we vita owners have been waiting for. Some excited. Some terrified. Me? I was on the fence with this one. I love the cod multiplayer experiance, I would love to have that same experiance on the vita. After playing this game for a good couple hours I do have to say I am impressed, Not as much as I wished though. We all know this is made by the same people who brought us theThis is a game we vita owners have been waiting for. Some excited. Some terrified. Me? I was on the fence with this one. I love the cod multiplayer experiance, I would love to have that same experiance on the vita. After playing this game for a good couple hours I do have to say I am impressed, Not as much as I wished though. We all know this is made by the same people who brought us the sub par game resistance Burning skies. I bought this knowing it was low rated. I gave it a shot and ran into so many issues with online games such as freezing when a match ends, other players not dieing when shooting them or stabbing them and my least favorite, getting booted from matches the second its about to start. So far I have seen a couple of these same instances in declassified although this is not even close to the amount of times I had that happen in burning skies. The gun models and sounds stick rather well to what you get in black ops 1 for the big name consoles. The run feature has to be the most confusing choice, in burning skies you could tap the back pad to make them run, in cod declassified, you run after holding the move joystick for a second, this is auto run feature. Some may dig it but I like to control my running. There is a option to change this but to run you press down on the d pad. Not to bad but I can say the back pad would have been a better choice. I also had the impression of single player having a solid story but feels like I am playing hostiles. As I played the story, every enemy who dies will earn you XP. I understand its a seperate thing but the game almost gets sucked away from the story when you see 100xp on your screen for every kill, I maybe nit picking here but thats just me. Hostiles is nice to waste some time on but we all know that zombies was the better choice but for some reason it was left out, it didnt ruin the game for me but it would have been cooler to shoot some undead then some bland character model. Hands down this is the best vita online game that there is to offer. I enjoy being able to play my own music to online matches since the lack of music in this game. Overall, its a good game and will probably be the best FPS shooter for vita until we see killzone get released. So far the experiance has been good but hoping that I dont continue to run into those same online issues that I had with burning skies. Fingers crossed all. Expand
  30. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Forget about all the bad critics and rumors, this game is really worth the money and a must have for FPS fans. Nihilistic did a good job, CoD Declassified is a fun and entertaining shooter. My expectations were really low because of the bad previews...and now i'm pleasantly surprised!

    The single player is composed of many loosely coupled episodes. They are challenging, fun to play and
    Forget about all the bad critics and rumors, this game is really worth the money and a must have for FPS fans. Nihilistic did a good job, CoD Declassified is a fun and entertaining shooter. My expectations were really low because of the bad previews...and now i'm pleasantly surprised!

    The single player is composed of many loosely coupled episodes. They are challenging, fun to play and absolutely right designed for playing on the way, in the train or elsewhere away from home. Each episode takes round about 10 minutes and you must repeat them several times, in order to complete all challenges. It's NOT a full-fledged campaign as you know it from the Xbox or PS3, but enough for many hours of single player fun. Most important, of course, is the multiplayer and belive me, this game delivers as expected for a CoD. As a veteran Xbox360 CoD player i can ensure you, the multiplayer really feels like a compact version of the big brother. Perks, killstreaks, customization etc everything is there and the most important fact: It's really fun to play!! Even the often criticized limitation to 4 vs 4 is no problem in reality, the maps are well designed for this constellation. They added an ad-hoc option into the game with the first patch, so even playing on private lan is possible, really nice.

    The graphics are good, not on par with e.g. Uncharted, but very close to it and FPS is very stable. The sound is ok, nothing special. Controls and handling takes some minutes, overall you get used to it pretty fast and besides the concept for throwing grenades it is good (maybe i still need some time for the touch throw for grenades...).

    There is room for improvement, like in every game. Multiplayer is e.g. only available on Wifi. Why not on mobile networks, my connection is pretty fast and good?! Some cooperative missions would have been nice, room for improvement for the next CoD for the Vita ;-)

    Don't believe the stuff written by all these "experts" without any adequate knowledge of the final product. Just give it a try and form an opinion for yourself. For me Declassified is a really great shooter and worth 9/10 points. Good job Nihilistic!
    Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    Even if you like the run and gun playstyle of Call of Duty this game will leave you wanting your $50 back. The controls are not very good since they use the rear touch and touchscreen for actions like trowing grenades . The campaign missions are only minutes long with no checkpoints. The enemy AI is atrocious, just standing there waiting for you to waste a bullet on them. Multiplayer mapsEven if you like the run and gun playstyle of Call of Duty this game will leave you wanting your $50 back. The controls are not very good since they use the rear touch and touchscreen for actions like trowing grenades . The campaign missions are only minutes long with no checkpoints. The enemy AI is atrocious, just standing there waiting for you to waste a bullet on them. Multiplayer maps are tiny. If you hated being killed every 10 seconds in multiplayer and bad spawn points (some of them spawn you right in your enemy's reticule sights), then you can not even imagine the chaos formed in Nukehouse, a recycled, half a map of nuke town. All maps are tiny. Call of Duty deserves better. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    This is a very good shooter - for a handheld. People don't seem to understand that the Vita is a handheld system and instead of rating a game on its merit and comparing to 3DS games they instead compare it with PS3 and 360 which is flattering to the Vita in a way. For those who played Resistance BS this is a far superior game, I'd give RBS a 3/10 as it was pitiful. The multiplayer is solidThis is a very good shooter - for a handheld. People don't seem to understand that the Vita is a handheld system and instead of rating a game on its merit and comparing to 3DS games they instead compare it with PS3 and 360 which is flattering to the Vita in a way. For those who played Resistance BS this is a far superior game, I'd give RBS a 3/10 as it was pitiful. The multiplayer is solid and probably on par with CoD 3. The SP is short but only if you play it on easy difficulty, play it on even the 2 star difficulty and I bet you that you won't be finishing up within 5 hours - 3 stars (Veteran) will take longer still. Then there is Hostile mode (similar to Gears Of War 3 Hoard mode) There's a decent amount of content here, a solid but short campaign and a solid multiplayer with no problems getting a game and lots of fun to be had. My advice is to give it a try. Expand
  33. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    Campaign is short but gives you a standard shooting experience. Enemy AI is my biggest complaint from the campaign as it can be like shooting targets that either stand and wait or just pop in and out of cover. Hostile mode is fun mindless shooting experience, definitely good practice for the multiplayer...which I bought the game for. Maps are small even for 4v4. They look okay but notCampaign is short but gives you a standard shooting experience. Enemy AI is my biggest complaint from the campaign as it can be like shooting targets that either stand and wait or just pop in and out of cover. Hostile mode is fun mindless shooting experience, definitely good practice for the multiplayer...which I bought the game for. Maps are small even for 4v4. They look okay but not up to the Vita's power. The main problem comes when trying to get into a match. You get into a lobby, things look like they are going good, about to start...main menu. This can go on and on for a while before actually getting into a match and even sometimes while in a match, you'll get booted from that. I give a six because, if there was seamless starting of matches, I would actually enjoy this game because it is a mini COD for the Vita. Expand
  34. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    A truly awful set of micro missions masquerading as a single-player campaign is balanced, in part, by an entertaining challenge mode and a solid multi-player offering. There is certainly fun to be had in the online mode, but whether that's worth the full price of admission is debatable. Read my full review at ukvitablog.co.uk
  35. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I'm very happy with this game. Although the singleplayer is short, there is a solid multiplayer experience. All the critic reviews are utter rubbish!
  36. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I think the bad reviews for this game are so far from right that the people who reviewed this game should be fired. It offers a great campaign built to be on the go or playableeven if you're just on your couch. I play this more than any other vita game in my library. The only gripe I had was there needed to be either a zombies mode or more perks and rewards for kill streaks. Other thanI think the bad reviews for this game are so far from right that the people who reviewed this game should be fired. It offers a great campaign built to be on the go or playableeven if you're just on your couch. I play this more than any other vita game in my library. The only gripe I had was there needed to be either a zombies mode or more perks and rewards for kill streaks. Other than that I am telling everyone to buy it! Expand
  37. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    Ok so this game dissappointed me very much. I was expecting a way better job from the franchise. There are too many glitches and bugs. The game causes my vita to crash at all times. Sometimes im stuck on a frozen screen, sometimes im playing multiplayer and out of no where i get booted back to the menu screen. The story mode or campaign is extremely short and easy. Overall i think theyOk so this game dissappointed me very much. I was expecting a way better job from the franchise. There are too many glitches and bugs. The game causes my vita to crash at all times. Sometimes im stuck on a frozen screen, sometimes im playing multiplayer and out of no where i get booted back to the menu screen. The story mode or campaign is extremely short and easy. Overall i think they have alot of work to do. I have seriously considered getting rid of my vita. I was one of the first to get my vita and i have been waiting since for call of duty. I am very upset at the lack of effort put into this game. Not worth getting as a christmas gift at all. Expand
  38. Nov 17, 2012
    6
    Listen... I had this game for about 3 days. A lot of people have negative outputs for this game but for what? Yea, the campaign is horrible but its really multiplayer that drives COD. This game has a decent multiplayer. It's very entertaining and I'm happy for this title. All in all, no one really cares about campaign.. Stick to multiplayer, which is great.
  39. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    WOW. SONY VITA MAKES THIS GAME LOOK SICK!!!!

    BUy it now!! Handheld COD action in full60FPS

    Sick brah.git it git it.

    SOme sick gamplay , you get guns, you shoot zombies, you have a great time. Amazing.
  40. TGR
    Nov 22, 2012
    3
    Disappointing. That's one of the many words I could use to describe just how bad Call of Duty: Black Ops Decalcified is. From its pointless campaign to its buggy multiplayer. Declassified's campaign has stupid A.I.s who shoot at walls and stare at you. The story is pointless with missions giving you a random reason to go in and kill some guys. It has nothing to do with the Black Ops storyDisappointing. That's one of the many words I could use to describe just how bad Call of Duty: Black Ops Decalcified is. From its pointless campaign to its buggy multiplayer. Declassified's campaign has stupid A.I.s who shoot at walls and stare at you. The story is pointless with missions giving you a random reason to go in and kill some guys. It has nothing to do with the Black Ops story line. It's multiplayer is buggy and has horrible maps. On the bright side it stays true to the franchises multiplayer modes and the ability to create a class. This game is not worth picking up. You are way better off spending that forty dollars on some fun smaller games on PSStore, Xbox Arcade, or Steam. Expand
  41. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    WARNING; the multiplayer for this game (the only reason to buy a Call of Duty game imo) absolutely will NOT WORK IF YOU ARE USING ANYTHING OTHER THAN WIFI off of a home internet connection. All of my other vita games will work using 4g/LTE tethering with my android phone. This is the only game that does not. There are no error messages, the ps vita simply boots me back to the main screenWARNING; the multiplayer for this game (the only reason to buy a Call of Duty game imo) absolutely will NOT WORK IF YOU ARE USING ANYTHING OTHER THAN WIFI off of a home internet connection. All of my other vita games will work using 4g/LTE tethering with my android phone. This is the only game that does not. There are no error messages, the ps vita simply boots me back to the main screen and then freezes when I try to restart a multiplayer game. If I use my home wifi connection, the online multiplayer works fine, and is as one would hope, Call of Duty in your hand. At least they included adhoc multiplayer (I have two vitas). But seriously, what is the point of making a ps vita game that can only be played at home on my wifi connection? Why wouldnt I just use my ps3? And how about some kind of error message about my connection instead of the game just freezing? I gave it a 5 instead of a zero because it is useful for playing via adhoc with my friends using my two vitas, but for most people who dont carry around two ps vitas the only reason to buy this game is if you do not own a ps3. Expand
  42. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    After receiving such bad ratings, I debated whether or not to still purchase this game. But the fact that I could get it AND a 4 GB memory card for free clinched it for me. On the other hand, it still is a bit pricey for a handheld system although I never heard too many complaints when the 3DS debuted for 199 dollars. But on to the game! CoD:Black Ops Declassified is more in theAfter receiving such bad ratings, I debated whether or not to still purchase this game. But the fact that I could get it AND a 4 GB memory card for free clinched it for me. On the other hand, it still is a bit pricey for a handheld system although I never heard too many complaints when the 3DS debuted for 199 dollars. But on to the game! CoD:Black Ops Declassified is more in the line of a pure handheld than a continuation of the original platform-based franchise. The campaign is more like small missions. it seems to try and tell a story and make you as much a part of it as possible but it just seems like one separate mission after another. Basically, it is somewhat disjointed. Although in the games defense, the AI is pretty deadly and if you aren't constantly hitting them they will kill you fairly quickly. The reviewer who said he could beat the game in an hour obviously wasn't playing the game on it's hardest level. Admittedly, the game isn't as immersive as a normal platformer, but I think people are missing the point that it is a handheld game system as well as a FPS (Not an MMO). The multiplayer, as best as I can tell from the few times I have tried it, is horribly glitchy. The maps are (as has been said) too small, it spawns you while asking what class you want to be therefore making spawn kills increase innumerably. As for the hostiles mode, well, its alright. The enemy's strength level increases dramatically at points that are terribly infrequent. So dramatically that they go from horrible to expert in three rounds. On the whole, the game is decent for a Hand-held system, but it pales in comparison to either of the Black-Ops platformers. Unfortunately, I have to give this game a six because of the price. My advice to anyone who wants this system or game: wait until GS has it refurbished and the games are used. Expand
  43. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Steer clear of this piece of garbage that everyone was telling me was going to be "the game" that was going to spike Vita's sales singlehandedly. Two words come to mind.. "Epic Fail."
  44. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    The campaign is 1 hour long, has a week story, each mission is 5 minutes long, all the multiplayer maps are smaller versions of the original Black Ops (ex: Nukehouse), the hostiles mode is the same as MW3's Survival mode, Bad controls and bad AI. Its a okay game, but it has some major flaws
  45. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The campaign is short and boring with hardly a real story, hostiles isn't much better due to the horrible enemy AI, and the multiplayer has a ton of connection issues. About 50% of the time when trying to get into a multiplayer match it would load the match, but then immediately kick me me out as soon as it got done. Otherwise the multiplayer is fun, but the maps are all crowded and getThe campaign is short and boring with hardly a real story, hostiles isn't much better due to the horrible enemy AI, and the multiplayer has a ton of connection issues. About 50% of the time when trying to get into a multiplayer match it would load the match, but then immediately kick me me out as soon as it got done. Otherwise the multiplayer is fun, but the maps are all crowded and get dull after a while. The single player will last you about an hour, and isn't very fun. The graphics are okay, the enemy AI sucks and all in all you should only pick up this game if your really desperate for a COD experience on the go. Expand
  46. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Este jogo não pode ser substituído por qualquer N.O.V.A Modern Combat ou até Dead Trigger, se você quer um verdadeiro Fps na palma de sua mão este o jogo!
    Só para fechar com chave de ouro, os meus status no multiplayer, são de aproximadamente 500 horas jogadas.
  47. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    While this is not a great game, it's good. I never get a COD game for the main campaign, just the online multiplayer. With being said, the small part of the single player game I played was okay. The online only has three modes, and none of them was domination (my favorite) it does have drop zone which is similar. I have had a few issues with dropped games while online (my biggest issueWhile this is not a great game, it's good. I never get a COD game for the main campaign, just the online multiplayer. With being said, the small part of the single player game I played was okay. The online only has three modes, and none of them was domination (my favorite) it does have drop zone which is similar. I have had a few issues with dropped games while online (my biggest issue with the game.) Don't expect to get the grand experience of COD on PS3/360/PC. Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    This game was sentenced to die. Sony and Activision gave the game to Nihilistic Software, who was already working on Resistance Burning Skies. Both games suffered from this decision, because neither game had enough development time to make them anything better than mediocre. Most of the positive reviews are people trying to justify their purchase. Not worth your time or money. Do notThis game was sentenced to die. Sony and Activision gave the game to Nihilistic Software, who was already working on Resistance Burning Skies. Both games suffered from this decision, because neither game had enough development time to make them anything better than mediocre. Most of the positive reviews are people trying to justify their purchase. Not worth your time or money. Do not support this game otherwise more crappy games will come. Vote with your wallet. Expand
  49. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    After all the stories on the that this was going to be really bad, I find myself not that surprised that it is no where near the horror story people believed it would be.

    This is a very enjoyable game, that while not my personal favourite cuppa...I am finding it to be a nice beverage after all the hype. I would give it a 9 when it reaches the £25 mark in the shops I usually
    After all the stories on the that this was going to be really bad, I find myself not that surprised that it is no where near the horror story people believed it would be.

    This is a very enjoyable game, that while not my personal favourite cuppa...I am finding it to be a nice beverage after all the hype.

    I would give it a 9 when it reaches the £25 mark in the shops I usually like to spend on games.

    I mark this as a Vita game and for the purpose I use my Vita....I am not comparing it with any of the PS3 games.
    Expand
  50. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Call of Duty Black Ops:Declassified was the very first COD on the Vita, but how did it stack up?

    GRAPHICS: We know that the Vita can handle some amazing graphics,but we're not at that stage in the Vita's lifetime yet.But the the graphics have gradually been improving. I'd say, this is probably the best looking game for the Vita thus far. CONTROLS: Hey, they work. At first,
    Call of Duty Black Ops:Declassified was the very first COD on the Vita, but how did it stack up?

    GRAPHICS:

    We know that the Vita can handle some amazing graphics,but we're not at that stage in the Vita's lifetime
    yet.But the the graphics have gradually been improving. I'd say, this is probably the best looking game for the Vita thus far.

    CONTROLS:

    Hey, they work. At first, it will feel pretty weird playing the game, but spend a little time and it'll feel just fine.

    STORY:

    Well, that's the thing. There is no story. There is a "Campaign" mode, which isn't really the proper term,
    because it's more like a bunch of missions. 10 missions to be exact. There aren't that many, and it honestly won't take you
    that long. As the name of the game says, "Declassified", The missions are all based on classified missions
    that the characters: Alex Mason and Frank Woods from the original game took part in, aside from the original
    story of the first one. So. No, there really is no story in this one.
    There is also a Hostiles mode, which is similar to the one in MW3. Waves of enemies come at you as you try to survive. Pretty straight-forward.

    MULTIPLAYER:

    Single-Player wise..there really isn't much content, I'd say the main seller for this game, and basically the
    entirety of the bulk of this game is the Multiplayer. 4 v 4 matches honestly aren't that bad. There are 6
    maps and they do feel really crowded, and despite the controls being fine, it just feels awkward sometimes online.
    But I'm not trying to bash the game here. It's definitely fun. VERDICT:

    I've been hearing a lot of negative feedback from this game, and I can understand why. Content wise there isn't alot
    and the price was pretty high. Would you want to pay $50 for a game with a pretty rushed single player experience
    and mostly focused on the multiplayer? Like I said, and I will say it again: What the game lacks in single player, it definitely
    makes up for it in multiplayer. It sure is fun playing it, and let me tell you, when you play this game with friends
    over the Vita Party Voice-Chat..it's just a great time. The multiplayer isn't anything too innovative though, and is classic COD multiplayer but hey. This is literally the 2nd FPS for the Vita..so we got to be a bit more forgiving. If anything,
    this game feels like a first step. I feel other developers can learn from this game and make better, improved FPS's.

    7/10 for me. All the single player aspects really could've been improved, they felt rushed, and felt like
    not much thought was put in. The multi player is the bulk of this game, for the 2nd FPS on the Vita, it's still
    pretty fun, not bad at all, but of course there is still much room for improvement.
    Expand
  51. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Wow this game is actually good. took about 7 hours to complete. fun, addictive like the console version. as of now this is the Vita game to own(beside liberation and uncharted) If you love long hours online than get this game. Single player? Like all COD games you'll put that to rest after one try. grab this game now, now!!!
  52. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I must say I'm a bit surprised how good COD Declassified actually is! Considering Nihilistic was the developer and I was a little disappointed with Resistance Burning Skies, COD Declassified definitely has a much more refined feel to just about everything in the game from gameplay to graphic. I can already tell with just 3+ hours time spent playing that the survival mode is prettyI must say I'm a bit surprised how good COD Declassified actually is! Considering Nihilistic was the developer and I was a little disappointed with Resistance Burning Skies, COD Declassified definitely has a much more refined feel to just about everything in the game from gameplay to graphic. I can already tell with just 3+ hours time spent playing that the survival mode is pretty addicting and will make Call Of Duty Declassified my most played Vita game even after I've 3 stared all the campaign mission. Expand
  53. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    bought this game last night, all i can say is it plays and looks AWESOME! maybe not exactly like the console version but the multiplayer is wonderfull. call of duty multiplayer in the palm of ur hand! :) ENJOY!
  54. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty Declassified is a must have for any Vita own, the game-play is really impressive and you can take a lot of joy out the maps. the visuals are crisp and the controls are sweet, but sometimes i tend to struggle when throwing a stun lol. The only thing i would like to see included is zombies and a few more game modes such as domination and search and destroy. Qverall, brilliantCall of Duty Declassified is a must have for any Vita own, the game-play is really impressive and you can take a lot of joy out the maps. the visuals are crisp and the controls are sweet, but sometimes i tend to struggle when throwing a stun lol. The only thing i would like to see included is zombies and a few more game modes such as domination and search and destroy. Qverall, brilliant game, i just about put the game down so i can write this review, anyway back to playing for another 6 hours. Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I like many vita owners was worried when, I saw those first few clips of cod vita, I was upset, and gave up hope before the game even had any proper gameplay footage!, Also terrible websites like ign, was putting me off with their terrible reviews.. I've learnt go to lots of web sites not just one, because one person suger is another persons salt!, its an opinion ask for more.

    also the
    I like many vita owners was worried when, I saw those first few clips of cod vita, I was upset, and gave up hope before the game even had any proper gameplay footage!, Also terrible websites like ign, was putting me off with their terrible reviews.. I've learnt go to lots of web sites not just one, because one person suger is another persons salt!, its an opinion ask for more.

    also the devs who made this game also made rburning sky.. which was..turd!

    however, they have redeemed them selves, in making a brilliant shooter, im so happy after doing homework watching a few clips on youtube!.. yes youtube, the game had me interested!, so I took the risk, and so happy I did

    the ingame gameplay, isn't like the black ops 2 to for console which I also own, and loving, but its more bite sized, but great fun, very addictive!, every thing else is the same fast paces addictive, and best looking shooter on handheld ever it looks like black ops 1 on console, brilliant!

    multiplayer is where this game is at, and dont be fooled just because its 4 v 4 don't think you wont be in a gun fight, it has the feel of a console multiplayer you will love it!, controls are great only after 3 or 4 goes it became natural!

    I now feel bad about the things i wrote on forums about the game, this is cod at its best! buy it!!!

    A bit of advice to who ever does advertising for vita, more gameplay less bs adverts, people on youtube did all the hard work, and help me buy this game!

    BUY IT... I also bought need for speed another must have for vita owners, I think the vita will be fine, after a year of uncertainty I now know its capable of bringing great games like the console big brothers!.

    BUY IT NOW.
    Expand
  56. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    So surprised by this game. I've just finished AC3:Liberation and Ragnarok Odyssey so decided to pick this up despite the absolute lack of trailers, screenshots, etc. Previews from several gaming sites like IGN weren't too hot either. However, after booting it up and spending some time on multiplayer, I have to give it a 10. It's practically, a downsized, compacted version of the homeSo surprised by this game. I've just finished AC3:Liberation and Ragnarok Odyssey so decided to pick this up despite the absolute lack of trailers, screenshots, etc. Previews from several gaming sites like IGN weren't too hot either. However, after booting it up and spending some time on multiplayer, I have to give it a 10. It's practically, a downsized, compacted version of the home console multiplayer. 4V4 only but combined with the small maps, it makes for frantic, fun gameplay. It's also pretty much lag and bug free.A good analogy for this would be that Black Ops liberation compared to Black Ops 2 is like the Ipad mini vs the Ipad 4th gen, its smaller, less graphically impressive, yet holds all the joy of the larger version in a smaller package you can bring anywhere you want. Extremely impressed and very pleasantly surprised by Nihilistic. Great job!!! Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Just like everyone else so far, I am completely surprised at how well this game actually came out after playing the mediocre Resistance: Burning Skies by Nihilistic earlier this year. Definitely the best FPS to come to handheld hands down.
  58. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I regret that I bought this game. It is so horrible. Play just not interested. The levels are boring and monotonous, as weapons. AI is awful and nothing can take, so bad. Multiplayer is boring and dull, but the schedule is awful as the levels from the artistic point of view.
  59. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general. TheI'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general. The MP is quite entertaining though... 5,5 Expand
  60. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I was really surprised by how good this game is, They did a awesome job on single player and multiplayer. I think the developer should be pleased and this will definately sell Vitas.
  61. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Pure COD in yours hand, if you want more buy the x360/PS3 version. It´s reduced, next version maybe will be best, has a very short campaign... but the feeling playing is like all the COD.
  62. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    It´s very good. It´s a good game. Graphics looks perfect. Control is very good. It´s COD in a great state. Campaing is 2 hours, but is funny of turn play. Online goes perfect
  63. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This is the first handheld true cod experience and in that way it succeeds. The graphics are allot better than expected and so is the game play. It is very fun to play and does feels like cod without question. I highly recommend this game. However on the minus sides its only 4 x 4 multilayer but I heard it was due to the vitals party limitations, it has not got enough maps (althoughThis is the first handheld true cod experience and in that way it succeeds. The graphics are allot better than expected and so is the game play. It is very fun to play and does feels like cod without question. I highly recommend this game. However on the minus sides its only 4 x 4 multilayer but I heard it was due to the vitals party limitations, it has not got enough maps (although downloads hopefully will add more). Nihlistic has done a fabulous job at the same. It is allot better than every expected and hopefully it will help vita success. Buy this game now. Expand
  64. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is the must have vita title. Graphics are much improved over resistance: burning skies as well as controls. Sounds are much better but still slightly compressed. it has almost everything the console version has. Which is a huge plus considering it shouldnt be compared. Many maps are small which make for a great free for all match of up to 8 players or 4 vs 4 team games. AnyoneThis game is the must have vita title. Graphics are much improved over resistance: burning skies as well as controls. Sounds are much better but still slightly compressed. it has almost everything the console version has. Which is a huge plus considering it shouldnt be compared. Many maps are small which make for a great free for all match of up to 8 players or 4 vs 4 team games. Anyone giving this game low scores is just doing it to lower the metacritic score. I have AC3, Uncharted: GOlden Abyss, NFS: Most Wanted, MGS3 HD, Resistance, and more games for my vita but this is by far the very best available. A Short single player campaign but its made for portable playing dont expect the usual CoD campaign. The multiplayer is unmatched by any other game available on a portable. vitas game of the year. Expand
  65. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Picked this up today and was a bit sceptic due to the fact that no reviews could be found anywhere before this game came out but the gamble paid off as this is actually really good! A couple of the multiplayer maps are too small but the actual gameplay is solid COD. Rank system is as in-depth as ever and I found myself constantly playing just one more game to try and unlock that extraPicked this up today and was a bit sceptic due to the fact that no reviews could be found anywhere before this game came out but the gamble paid off as this is actually really good! A couple of the multiplayer maps are too small but the actual gameplay is solid COD. Rank system is as in-depth as ever and I found myself constantly playing just one more game to try and unlock that extra attachment. Despite the appalling rip off that was Fifa 13 and a few unplayable games, this looks to be a good year for Vita overall with the likes of LBP, NFSMW, AC, and finally this. Would recommend. Expand
  66. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Surprised by the quality after all the doom and gloom!
    It's excellent hope it helps sell some vitas!! Looks better graphically than the old trailers which nearly killed this game

    Thanks god it's good!!!
  67. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Way better than I expected, graphics, multiplayer, low on maps and only 4x4 but it plays great and really feels like COD. Singleplayer is too short, but I never played it anyway in console, I will be playing this game for months since I travel a lot. It's a bit expensive but well worth it, well done Niihilistic, incredible but true.
  68. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    I'll preface this by saying that I have barely played the game, just picked it up while grabbing coffee this morning and snuck in the tutorial and first singleplayer OP. Thus far, it does feel much more like a CoD game than Burning Skies felt like a Resistance game...
    However, it seems like some of the sound effects are indeed lifted directly from that other Nihilistic title. I'm not
    I'll preface this by saying that I have barely played the game, just picked it up while grabbing coffee this morning and snuck in the tutorial and first singleplayer OP. Thus far, it does feel much more like a CoD game than Burning Skies felt like a Resistance game...
    However, it seems like some of the sound effects are indeed lifted directly from that other Nihilistic title. I'm not playing with headphones on currently, but yeah, gunfire sounds similarly lackluster. However, the visuals and the feel of the game are right in line with your average CoD experience on a console. Big dumb Michael Bay style action movie sequences, breaching doors and taking people out in slow-mo, plenty of explosions.
    The enemy AI is a little retarded, just like in Burning Skies. They just suddenly spawn on the map once you get to certain points. And sometimes they just immediately know where you are and start taking potshots at you.
    Overall the singleplayer "campaign" appears to be more fun than Burning Skies was. Will chime in with more comments when I've had some time to play with headphones for full sound immersion, but this game isn't as terrible as we feared. Still not sure the price was warranted...
    But for perspective, let's take a look at a screenshot from the NDS version of Black Ops I. Going to go out on a limb and say that Declassified is the best handheld CoD ever.
    I'd love to post some screenshots of my playthrough, but apparently screenshots are disabled in Declassified. Which is annoying... like they did not want people with press copies posting their own screens??
    Expand
  69. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I gave the game an 8.5 because of how fluid it ran, how well the controls work, and how closely it resembles the call of duty formula. Everyones been talking about what this game could have been, but unlike resistance, this game keeps the cod formula intact, and is a great stepping stone. If the next iteration is too similar, then knock it points for what it could have been. But this is aI gave the game an 8.5 because of how fluid it ran, how well the controls work, and how closely it resembles the call of duty formula. Everyones been talking about what this game could have been, but unlike resistance, this game keeps the cod formula intact, and is a great stepping stone. If the next iteration is too similar, then knock it points for what it could have been. But this is a great portable title for on-the-go gaming Expand
  70. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is like the earliest formula of this gens call of duty like world at war or modernwarfare which is not a bad thing at all, im not going to compare it graphically gameplay wise with its console counterparts because it's an entirely different game and is tailored to portable gaming for what this game offers its really good it is the call of duty experience in your hands on the moveThis game is like the earliest formula of this gens call of duty like world at war or modernwarfare which is not a bad thing at all, im not going to compare it graphically gameplay wise with its console counterparts because it's an entirely different game and is tailored to portable gaming for what this game offers its really good it is the call of duty experience in your hands on the move its great fun im sick and tired of seeing g reviews comparing it to consoles and giving it crap scores just because it's not black ops 2, this game has abetted user score than black ops. But seriously buy this game it's worth it lots of replay value great visuals for a handheld can only get better in time when optimisation of the software starts to kick in you won't regret have fun and PS pardon my bad wording etc using my phone Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    I had seen some trailers and pictures but it had ugly grafics, low frame... Finally it seams to be solved because the game is pretty good, grafics, smooth... online it's amazing and even you might forget you'r playing on a handheld console, i have to say that i got a trigger grip and it makes feel like a dualshock controller
  72. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    It's actually pretty good! Probably the most addictive game I've played on the Vita. The best FPS on handheld that there has ever been. It's not 100% as good as the main console version but it's definitely good enough to be enjoyable and it's worth playing. It's in a completely different league to Resistance which I thought was dire. This is actually a quality game!
  73. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I'm not a call of duty fan boy but I do like most of the console releases. This game feels like real cod. The only thing its missing is zombies. But for what it is its awesome. Lots of fun. Add me and let's play. Psn:lowlifemalakye
  74. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The Game Is Awesome...I Didnt Expect That!!The Graphics Are very good and The multiplayer Awesome too No Lags.....and very quick to join a match no need to wait at all........!!
  75. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Just spent.an hour playing this on the train. Controls are a bit too.sensitive. Fixed in options though. Operations mode only played first mission. Play it on regular and it is a breeze. Hardened though, I can only get 3 minutes in to the level. Hostiles mode is great.fun.and perfect for mobile play. Plus the time trials are short and fun challenges.

    Apart from that it looks, sounds and
    Just spent.an hour playing this on the train. Controls are a bit too.sensitive. Fixed in options though. Operations mode only played first mission. Play it on regular and it is a breeze. Hardened though, I can only get 3 minutes in to the level. Hostiles mode is great.fun.and perfect for mobile play. Plus the time trials are short and fun challenges.

    Apart from that it looks, sounds and plays like a Call of Duty game. Think this might get unfairly criticised as it is not the full COD game people wanted but it is well suites for formats style of play.
    Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Wow I'm pleasantly surprised to say that this is a legitimate call of duty game for the vita. I wasn't expecting much and only got it cuz I had a target gift card but wow I'd have to say better than ac3 liberation. Does not lag at all on the frame rate or when you actually get into a game. This is exactly like black ops on consoles other than one small thing, getting kicked out of theWow I'm pleasantly surprised to say that this is a legitimate call of duty game for the vita. I wasn't expecting much and only got it cuz I had a target gift card but wow I'd have to say better than ac3 liberation. Does not lag at all on the frame rate or when you actually get into a game. This is exactly like black ops on consoles other than one small thing, getting kicked out of the lobby almost half the time. But I'll chalk that issue up to it only being the first day it was released and servers usually do have trouble on the first day. If you like cod ill like declassified and if ur a cod hater I would have to say ur hate this game, cuz it's exactly the same. Nihilistic surprises for the first time, I only wish resistance could have been this good haha Expand
  77. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It definitely is a Call of Duty in your pocket. Period. Even more: it is probably the best portable FPS on any platform and the closest experience that you can have of a console. I am not a CoD fanboy and this was a game that I had zero interest when it was announced. The trailer and the screenshots were just too bad. Everything has changed when I started to see some players footage of theIt definitely is a Call of Duty in your pocket. Period. Even more: it is probably the best portable FPS on any platform and the closest experience that you can have of a console. I am not a CoD fanboy and this was a game that I had zero interest when it was announced. The trailer and the screenshots were just too bad. Everything has changed when I started to see some players footage of the finished game, before the launch. What I saw really amazed me, so I decided to buy this game on day one. I am so glad that I have made that decision. It is a solid FPS, with great graphics and gameplay. Everything that we have seen and are used to in CoD games are there (obviously, some things are compressed), even the sound resembles his big brothers. I see a lot of people complaining about the single player... well, first, Nihilistic was very clear about that: Black Ops Declassified is focused on the multiplayer. And, personally, I play shooters in general for the multiplayer. I never played a single campaign in CoD games or Battlefield. So I cannot tell you about the single player experience, but one thing I guarantee: the multiplayer is awesome. I played for hours and hours, I just stopped because my battery was too low. So, if you are looking for a solid single player experience in your Vita, maybe this is not for you. But if you are looking for a great multiplayer experience, probably the best so far on Vita, this is a must buy. Congratulations Nihilistic for the great job on Black Ops Declassified. That was a beautiful surprise for all of us, PS Vita owners. Expand
  78. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Black Ops Declassified is truly one of the most disappointing games I've bought in a while. While the graphics, guns and framerate are good, everything else is just awful. The single player campaign consists of 10 missions that last 5-10 minutes each, and there really isn't a story. The cutscenes are just pieces of declassified papers flying around with someone talking. You play as woods and Mason, but they aren't in any rendered cutscenes, because there are none. So the single player campaign is very linear, one dimensional and truly feels like a watered down port of black ops 1. Another problem I have is that the maps are very bland and boring. They all have an urban feel to them, there's no natural levels to be found. Also nuketown comes back as a map, but its been cut in half for some reason. Then there's hostiles mode, a mode where you face off against waves of soldiers similar to MW3. It was honestly the only mode I enjoyed. Then there's multiplayer, the problem isn't 4v4, the problem is the layout. I don't know why but all the times I've played online there were less than 8 people. It also takes awhile to load and you get dropped alot. Also nukehouse is very laggy online. The multiplayer is really disappointing for me. As for the game as a whole it just feels limited compared to black ops 2, even black open 1. The graphics are good but there are alot of jagged edges indicating that the game is not running at native resolution and is intact upscaled(seriously, why are all vital games upscaled?).

    Overall this game was a huge disappointment. Obviously its not good if you can't even find reveiws on it. You can trust mine because I have the game and just finished it. The thing that bugged me the most was the price. This game is 49.99$ both retail and in the PlayStation Store. Why? 50$ for the retail version is a ripoff, but the digital version costs the same? For 10$ more you can get black ops 2 which is better in every single way. But this game was just a huge waste of money and makes me want to sell my vital, it's that bad. Heck, I enjoyed modern combat 2 on my android phone more than this game. Its just a very big letdown and you should just stick to consoles because its cheap, greedy stunts like this that really hurts the vital. In fact I don't think Sony cares for it, they release NOTHING for it. The latest vita app was the YouTube one they released 5 months ago. Overall do not get this game, if the price ever drops to 20$ then it would be worthwhile to me.
    Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Call of duty black ops declassified is not the best game ever, but it does what it was meant to do; bring the call of duty experience to the handheld. People who are giving it tiny scores arent using there heads. this isnt supposed to be the big block buster shooter, that runs at 60fps and has a top-notch score and amazing graphics. This is just a on the go cod that has the stapleCall of duty black ops declassified is not the best game ever, but it does what it was meant to do; bring the call of duty experience to the handheld. People who are giving it tiny scores arent using there heads. this isnt supposed to be the big block buster shooter, that runs at 60fps and has a top-notch score and amazing graphics. This is just a on the go cod that has the staple multi-player. I'll do a pros and cons thing below. PROS
    -Not to bad single-player for a handheld. it feature's small cut scenes at the begining of the levels.
    -A fair amount of weapons and attachments.
    -Pretty good graphics for a hand held. They did some major improvements on whatever engine resistance was running on. -Good amount of replay value with all the different mode's (operations, time trial, wave's)
    -Perfect for on the go
    -The awesome call of duty multi-player for on the go

    CONS

    -While the frame-rate is good, it tends to dip when multiple things are happening -the animation for your weapon while moving looks strange compared to the regular cod games. (could be fixed in a patch though, same as the framerate)

    -there could be a little more MP levels (mind you there might be DLC for this game)
    -I've encountered some network problems (randomly getting kicked out)
    -the knife button is to close to the grenade button on the touch screen for me (example in level 2 i tried to throw a grenade back at the enemy but instead grazed over the knife button and killed a hostage)

    -running feels is awkward to acomplish as you have to hold the dpad down while moving the joystick forward.

    -No zombies, need i say more -The wave based mode does not have multi-player -some MP are abit to small (nukehouse) Those are my pros and cons, there are probably more for each but i cant remember right now. There are a few things i find strange though and that is in MP there is now capture the flag, or gun game mode. I thought those two would make it in because they could be quick. All in all this game is good, its what the VITA needed. I normally would give it a 7.5 but because some of the people on here are giving it 0 for a un-justified reason, i went a little higher.
    Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Short game, bad graphics, not a real COD, a waste of money. Please ignore this game and move forward. The ones who say this is a good game are clearly its developers. None else feels like that.
  81. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I wasn't impressed by initial footage of this but was desperately hoping they would sort it out as this is what the PS Vita needs, a decent COD game...and they did it! The game plays like you would expect it to. Th campaign is short and broken down into chunks but it works. Graphics are good, along with the Hostiles mode (basically survival over several maps) The multiplayer is basicallyI wasn't impressed by initial footage of this but was desperately hoping they would sort it out as this is what the PS Vita needs, a decent COD game...and they did it! The game plays like you would expect it to. Th campaign is short and broken down into chunks but it works. Graphics are good, along with the Hostiles mode (basically survival over several maps) The multiplayer is basically the same as normal Black Ops (but limited to 4 vs 4 max) The guns are there (along with their own xp levels) attatchments, Perks and challenges. The Maps aren't very big but for 4 vs 4 i would say they are about right. For Call of Duty on the go its pretty good....dive in!! Expand
  82. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Its an awesome game! Hostiles and time trial are pretty challenging ,good replay value.Played just one mission of Operations and it was so smooth with the "COD known " cinematics .Put it in veteran and then beat it for 42 minutes [ LOL that PSU guy is ridicilous ] .Now multiplayer ,man I just played 3 rounds of TDM on my lunch break using my iPhone as a hotspot .Jeezus guys this is CODIts an awesome game! Hostiles and time trial are pretty challenging ,good replay value.Played just one mission of Operations and it was so smooth with the "COD known " cinematics .Put it in veteran and then beat it for 42 minutes [ LOL that PSU guy is ridicilous ] .Now multiplayer ,man I just played 3 rounds of TDM on my lunch break using my iPhone as a hotspot .Jeezus guys this is COD everywhere!! If you have a VITA and love COD ,its a MUSTBUY .Putting 9 as there are still some glitches that could be patched very easily .Its the VITA GOTY for me .Safe

    cheers
    chris
    Expand
  83. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Great Game! Feels Just like COD, but on the go. It could it be more cheap because the lack of more maps and missions, but overall it's a great online experience on a portable game.
  84. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Better than expected. Realistically this game deserves to be in the 8s. The online play is a lot of fun, I haven't had an issue with connectivity. Wish there was zombies.
  85. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Great game. Wasn't expecting much when I heard Nihilistic were developing but they proved everyone wrong. Multi player is very similar to console. Lots of people here giving bad review because of bad presumptions me thinks.
  86. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The general populous have been crippled on behest of the truly numerous hit driven titles that have landed on PlayStation Vita but with the latest title, +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++, THEY once again must burrow beneath their breezy wallets for more dough as +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++ is MOST stunning, radiant like a colourful bucket.

    Developed by devout
    The general populous have been crippled on behest of the truly numerous hit driven titles that have landed on PlayStation Vita but with the latest title, +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++, THEY once again must burrow beneath their breezy wallets for more dough as +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++ is MOST stunning, radiant like a colourful bucket.

    Developed by devout TREYARCH cousins, Nihilistic Software(tm). +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++ takes the CALL OF DUTY to a wholesome level, gun banging has never been more offending...or ferocious. Controls work like a swinging charm as you quell superfluous targets and music is swelling, hellishly swell.

    This squashes competitor VIDEO GAMES ( ---3DS--- ) and rushes to a new era of online power play stretching beyond mankind
    Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Got CoD: Declassified yesterday and I got to say this is a nice game, but a little expensive. It includes a PSN Voucher for CoD: Road to Victory, which is nice but people shouldn´t be force to pay the extra $10 bucks for it, it should have been a bonus. CoD: Declassified has a very arcade feel to it, the meat of the single player experience is made up by bite sized missions (about 5Got CoD: Declassified yesterday and I got to say this is a nice game, but a little expensive. It includes a PSN Voucher for CoD: Road to Victory, which is nice but people shouldn´t be force to pay the extra $10 bucks for it, it should have been a bonus. CoD: Declassified has a very arcade feel to it, the meat of the single player experience is made up by bite sized missions (about 5 min. each) where you must complete a set of objectives. If you fail is back to the beginning of the mission, so yes it kind of takes you back to the arcade times back the 80/90´s. I found the missions challenging and even puzzle like, replay value could be nice if you´re a completionist, but if you don´t like to replay the same scenarios all over, please stay away from this!!!. Graphics are nice but not excellent (it´s a portable title, guess I´m spoiled by consoles), sound department was kind of weak but functional. Multiplayer is very very nice, but I´m kind of worried that the map selection is scarce so it could get repetitive on the long run... maybe I´m being picky since I think the same about Halo 4. I think it was a terrible decision to charge you extra for the PSP title, but CoD: Declassified is CoD on the Run, simplified to a portable device, it´s not excellent but it will certainly satisfy your FPS craving when you´re away from home. It works for me and I´m happy with it. Expand
  88. Nov 14, 2012
    3
    i have just spent £42.99 on this game..... absolute wast of my money! the operations are poor, the a.i is unfair to shockingly poor, the graphics for a handheld game are fine... not brilliant, the gameplay is mediocre and the online is not great, do not buy this game....

    I've had my vita since launch and really want to love it... it is a great piece of kit but the software is
    i have just spent £42.99 on this game..... absolute wast of my money! the operations are poor, the a.i is unfair to shockingly poor, the graphics for a handheld game are fine... not brilliant, the gameplay is mediocre and the online is not great, do not buy this game....

    I've had my vita since launch and really want to love it... it is a great piece of kit but the software is average there are 1 or 2 great games but the last 2 that i have spent (quite a lot) of money on have been big name games, assassins creed and cod... neither of which are great come on sony! sort it out please!
    Expand
  89. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    This game is just a bad joke, its absolutely horrible, single player ridiculous, just ten very tiny mission (keeps about 5 min each to complete), there is no story, the multiplayer is awful, it tooks me about 5 hours for play just 2 session, and also in the second one my system freeze with a nice pop up error message, people dont buy this game, dont waste money like me, this game is anThis game is just a bad joke, its absolutely horrible, single player ridiculous, just ten very tiny mission (keeps about 5 min each to complete), there is no story, the multiplayer is awful, it tooks me about 5 hours for play just 2 session, and also in the second one my system freeze with a nice pop up error message, people dont buy this game, dont waste money like me, this game is an abomination under a franchise name just for stole your money from your pocket, just one word to the developers, you should be ashamed of yourself for sell this kind of product for 50 bucks!!! Expand
  90. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. not what i expected. i believe in nihilistic to keep patching the game just like resistence. the character can run forever w/out getting tires and cannot dive. i like multiplayer though. didnt go to school because of this. Expand
  91. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    Bought it - not impressed. The online is glitchy and the framerate sluggish. Would not recommend. At times it feels like the console version, but many times just falls flat.
  92. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    When it comes to shooters for the PS Vita Call of Duty Declassified takes game of the year. One of the best gaming franchises comes to the PS vita and a must have game for all PS vita owners. This game is packed with action on a 4 vs 4 a total of 8 players on a map. It has a great level system to unlock weapons and more but what makes this even more fun is the way it plays on a true mobileWhen it comes to shooters for the PS Vita Call of Duty Declassified takes game of the year. One of the best gaming franchises comes to the PS vita and a must have game for all PS vita owners. This game is packed with action on a 4 vs 4 a total of 8 players on a map. It has a great level system to unlock weapons and more but what makes this even more fun is the way it plays on a true mobile gaming system.

    by otic101: http://www.psnsharingcommunity.com
    Expand
  93. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I think people are forgetting to review this game for what it is, a portable version of cod with campaign for on the go, hostiles for a different challenge then online multiplayer for home/on the move. After playing this game I think they have a done a good job, the graphics are good, the gameplay is good and it's what I want on my vita. No doubt if ACtivision grow some b**ls they couldI think people are forgetting to review this game for what it is, a portable version of cod with campaign for on the go, hostiles for a different challenge then online multiplayer for home/on the move. After playing this game I think they have a done a good job, the graphics are good, the gameplay is good and it's what I want on my vita. No doubt if ACtivision grow some b**ls they could produce better, but they didnt and I think nihilistic have done well after resistance and have produced this to my surprise, good job. Expand
  94. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    I have the game and its the first time I have bought and enjoyed a game that has received such horrible scores. Seriously, 1,2,3 out of 10 suggests that the game is actually broken (bubsy 3d). At worst this game deserves 5/10 but even that is if youre silly enough to expect a 360 cod on vita. I think reviewers are mad they had to pay for a game and others clearly do not have/have notI have the game and its the first time I have bought and enjoyed a game that has received such horrible scores. Seriously, 1,2,3 out of 10 suggests that the game is actually broken (bubsy 3d). At worst this game deserves 5/10 but even that is if youre silly enough to expect a 360 cod on vita. I think reviewers are mad they had to pay for a game and others clearly do not have/have not played the game and its a case of chinese whispers. If this exact game was on 3DS it would have been sang to high heaven! The single player missions may take 50 minutes on easy but I dont recall anyone slating star fox 3d or mario kart where you can see all levels and beat them in an hour (with only harder difficulty to come back for) and the online in those games is no way near as robust as this! Anyway, the graphics are good, the frame rate is rock solid, the controls are good, the sound is good. The missions are fun and OTT as you'd expect - both operations and time trials - which will take hours to beat on 3 star difficulty.

    Hostiles (aka zombies with living enemies) has 11 maps and again to 3 star each will take hours and is very challenging

    Finally the online games connect quick with no lag! I play free for all so am used to 8 players in a game. I have played team deathmatch and its never a case of running around the map just looking for opponents! Small maps = this is not a game for campers or snipers and forcing running and gunning. This, for me, makes the online here more enjoyable than far superior console shooters like battlefield or cod. I would say at the least play the game for yourself.
    Expand
  95. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best FPS, multi-player experience on a handheld ever. It's pretty awesome to be able to kick off a party, start a game and be chatting and playing COD from just about anywhere. 2 big thumbs up!
  96. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    People who are scoring this 0 - 4 need to grow up (including gaming websites) and what's with the 10's and 9's ? it ain't that good people. Review games fair ! Is it perfect ? far from it, but its not the total mess that people are making it out to be either ! Nihilistic have made some improvements to the game since the 1st trailer.

    The graphics have been polished up a bit, and while
    People who are scoring this 0 - 4 need to grow up (including gaming websites) and what's with the 10's and 9's ? it ain't that good people. Review games fair ! Is it perfect ? far from it, but its not the total mess that people are making it out to be either ! Nihilistic have made some improvements to the game since the 1st trailer.

    The graphics have been polished up a bit, and while not the best looking Vita game it does its job of looking like COD and I've not noticed any major framerate problems. Controls are standard COD controls with a few things mapped to the touch screen like knife and grenades, they work well enough. The sound is a ok but the weapons sound weak.

    The single play is short and a little disappointing, It feels more like Spec Ops with short missions, instead of a real story. The survival mode is ok if a little basic but the multiplayer is the highlight, and apart from a few connection problems (which should be fixed) it's pretty fun, it feels like mini COD with 4 v 4 matches. Overall it should have been better but its not completely broken, the multiplayer saves it from being a total waste of time. But it shows that a fps can work on the Vita. Judge it on its own, not up against the console version. 7 out of 10
    Expand
  97. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. I was so ready to, what with all the talking heads in gaming setting it up for the fall almost from the beginning. But you know what? It just works. All the little gripes like touch-screen grenade throwing can be easily circumvented. Simply by tapping the gratuitious grenade icon will prime and throw a grenade right to your reticule, just like theI wanted to hate this game, I really did. I was so ready to, what with all the talking heads in gaming setting it up for the fall almost from the beginning. But you know what? It just works. All the little gripes like touch-screen grenade throwing can be easily circumvented. Simply by tapping the gratuitious grenade icon will prime and throw a grenade right to your reticule, just like the console versions. Within minutes, I was angling frags off the walls and having a hell of a time doing it. Thumbstick shooting is tight and concise, and though the campaign is short and not without flaws, the AI was certainly impressive enough. There was definitely some fire-and-maneuver going on as enemies try to outflank you under the cover of (sometimes poorly aimed) machine gun fire. The multiplayer is simply the best shooter experience on a mobile device, and all the customization options are adequately represented. It feels like CoD. It plays like CoD. You'll get out of it what you want from it. Expand
  98. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is clearly the best vita game to date. The vita games to choose from were pretty horrible for a while and now us vita owners finally have a nice game to choose from. Good multiplayer, good campaign, its all the call of duty you could ever expect, just its now on vita.
  99. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Shattered my last hopes for the Vita. For a portable gaming system that claims to have that console quality experience on the go, I'd say the PS Vita comes far from living up to that statement. After playing almost every game in its library so far, the only games that come close to that experience would be LBP and Need for Speed Most Wanted. As I looked to the future for upcoming VitaShattered my last hopes for the Vita. For a portable gaming system that claims to have that console quality experience on the go, I'd say the PS Vita comes far from living up to that statement. After playing almost every game in its library so far, the only games that come close to that experience would be LBP and Need for Speed Most Wanted. As I looked to the future for upcoming Vita games it seemed to be vast and empty as little to no developers are jumping on board. So it seemed COD BO Declassified was one of its last hopes of redeeming itself and keeping a place in my hands. For such a HUGE AAA title of Call of Duty, what could possibly go wrong when shrunken down to a handheld? Alot. Now, at first playing the game it looks, feels and plays just like call of duty. So what could be wrong? Here's what's good and bad: Good: Looks and plays like COD on consoles. That's it for the pros.Bad: Super short campaign. Terrible A.I. Compressed multiplayer with plenty of connection issues. Tiny maps( Nuketown is cut in half!). Boring hostiles mode. Graphics are barely better than Resistance BS. Everything just seems so unpolished in this game and all modes are just not that fun at all. I tried to enjoy the Multiplayer but the maps are just so small that its hard to enjoy always responding right infront of someone. Just a big disappointment all the way and it brings the Vita down even farther as well as the Call of Duty name. These other reviewers may have liked when they first popped it in and turned it on like I did, but just give them a few days and they'll see what I mean(gets boring and repetitive fast). Please save your money on this one as your only paying an extra $10 on another crappy COD psp title that it comes with. Thought this would save the Vita, but oh well. I can always get a Wii U or something. Expand
  100. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    The game isn't a 10, but it's not 0 either.
    The multiplayer is fast paced and thrilling, the only thing missing are bigger maps. It's almost similar to the console version.
  101. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    I cant believe the critic reviews on this game. Yeah its not perfect but does it deserve scores as low as a 3?!?!? no. This is from the same company that made resistance burning skies. That game didnt score the best either but I gave it a 6.5-7. Call of Duty Declassified expands on the resistance idea and brings an almost console like call of duty mulitplayer on a handheld. Its got createI cant believe the critic reviews on this game. Yeah its not perfect but does it deserve scores as low as a 3?!?!? no. This is from the same company that made resistance burning skies. That game didnt score the best either but I gave it a 6.5-7. Call of Duty Declassified expands on the resistance idea and brings an almost console like call of duty mulitplayer on a handheld. Its got create a class, killstreaks, perks and all that jazz. It's certainly not as good as a console game but for short bursts of 15-20 minute gameplay its freaking awesome. The campaign is pretty poor. its only a little over an hour long but it has replay value with the star system you earn for each level. Of course if you compare this to a console call of duty it would get a score of a 3 or 4. But if you dont expect too much, and realize this is on a handheld with dual sticks?? Its a fun game. Collapse
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.