User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    No wonder nihlistic made resistance burning skies so poorly. It was because they had to spend time working on this. This game passed my poor expectations and this game has awesome graphics for a handheld COD game, a good Unit 13-like story, great frame-rate, and good multiplayer, but it's only 4 vs 4. The adaptation to that was good by making smaller maps. Overall, the first good COD gameNo wonder nihlistic made resistance burning skies so poorly. It was because they had to spend time working on this. This game passed my poor expectations and this game has awesome graphics for a handheld COD game, a good Unit 13-like story, great frame-rate, and good multiplayer, but it's only 4 vs 4. The adaptation to that was good by making smaller maps. Overall, the first good COD game i've played in a long time. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This game is not as bad as everyone says it is, the story mode does not make sence but it is fun. Hostiles mode is very fun but once you've played on all the maps it gets boring. The multiplayer is the best thing about this game. Its 4vs4 online with modes like team deathmatch, kill confirmed and two other modes, but once again it gets boring with only 5 maps, they should have atleastThis game is not as bad as everyone says it is, the story mode does not make sence but it is fun. Hostiles mode is very fun but once you've played on all the maps it gets boring. The multiplayer is the best thing about this game. Its 4vs4 online with modes like team deathmatch, kill confirmed and two other modes, but once again it gets boring with only 5 maps, they should have atleast added another 4 maps with DLC. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    A lot has been said (and of course, written) about Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassisfied since it hit store shelves last month. Most of it negative, very little positive, almost all accurate in one way or another. While the gaming media have thrown tons of three's and four's (out of ten) at CoD Vita, with waves and waves of users posting either tens or zeros, the user reviews posted onA lot has been said (and of course, written) about Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassisfied since it hit store shelves last month. Most of it negative, very little positive, almost all accurate in one way or another. While the gaming media have thrown tons of three's and four's (out of ten) at CoD Vita, with waves and waves of users posting either tens or zeros, the user reviews posted on this site have been far more polarised. The reason I decided to type this quick review is because neither of these points of view are at all accurate. The gamers that trawl through these very reviews deserve a neutral, more measured point of view with which to help them make an informed decision. With neither gushing adoration or utter disdain helping one iota, what is needed right now is a little perspective. Personally speaking, I hit the shops and grabbed Declassified within a day or so of it's UK release. At which point, no media reviews had yet been published, and only a couple of very brief user reviews had been posted here on Metacritic. Both of which were overwhelmingly positive, aiding my decision to spend a whopping £42.99 on the game. But do I regret it? Mmmm, yes and no. Despite it's brevity, I personally had a lot of fun playing through the single player campaign. For a seasoned Call of Duty vet, it's probably not beyond the realms of possibility to negotiate your way through each of the ten missions in little more than an hour. Maybe even less. Although I admit to enjoying the odd FPS shooter, I certainly do not fall into the 'seasoned vet' catagory, and as such, it took me the best part of four or five hours to beat. I also found the difficulty curve and pacing to be savage yet acceptable. Many have laid criticism at the games lack of mission checkpoints - citing their absence as a wholly underhand means of adding to the longevity of the campaign - but I considered this to be all part of challenge, adding an extra layer of tension. While it certainly isn't in the same ballpark as it's console counterparts, there's still a good deal of mileage to be had from CoD Vita's multiplayer component too. While there have been many well documented issues regarding stability and connection woes, Activision has now provided patch (that went live last week) which addresses most of these foibles. While still isn't perfect, multiplayer reliability is now vastly improved. Unfortunately however, Declassified's primary achilles heel remains. And that my friends, is the enemy AI. No matter how impartial I attempt to be, there is just no getting away from the fact that Declassified is home to some of the worst (and dumbest) AI I have encountered in a very, very long time. At this time, one can only assume that there are no plans to provide a fix for this issue, and that is a real shame. In summation, Declassified is a flawed portable FPS experience, but one that can be an awful lot of fun too. It isn't perfect, it isn't awful. It's somewhere in the middle. And that warrants a score which reflects this. That score isn't a zero and it certainly isn't a ten. For me, it is a seven. And that my pedigree chums, is perspective. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    I would give this game a 7.5 in reality. It certainly has some substantial flaws but I think any game I can play for hours on end deserves a solid score. Single player is just ok. The missions are short but serviceacible. The hostiles mode is a decent distraction but I do find it can get boring after awhile. The real value of COD is in the same location as the console version, in theI would give this game a 7.5 in reality. It certainly has some substantial flaws but I think any game I can play for hours on end deserves a solid score. Single player is just ok. The missions are short but serviceacible. The hostiles mode is a decent distraction but I do find it can get boring after awhile. The real value of COD is in the same location as the console version, in the multiplayer. When the game launched getting into a game could be a real pain but after they released an update I would say it is only slightly less stable than the console version. You might get the odd dropped game but not often. Over Christmas I logged many hours on the multiplayer and what I noticed first was the fact that I had just as much fun playing it as I did when I played the xbox version. It certainly is not on par with the XBOX version but it was still a lot of fun. I was worried about only having 6 maps but they all play well. Having nukehouse and seeing the return of my all time favourite shipment really dulled the pain. I found the customization options deep and fun to play with. I would say my main complaint with the online is the lack of game types. deathmatch, kill confirmed, free for all and dropzone. The first 3 play the same. I would have enjoyed seeing a few different types just for a change of pace but at least dropzone keeps things fresh. My bottom line is It's not perfect but its fun. If you are looking for a Vita shooter. I would recommend this as a great multiplayer option. If you are looking for a deeper single player option I would grab Unit 13 ( although it is 3rd person) Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    The multiplayer alone makes the game deserve probably a 6. It's nothing close to the same experience you'll get on pc or consoles, however for a handheld this does some things pretty well. I had little difficulty adjusting to the gameplay on the Vita, and found that the multiplayer still felt just like Call of Duty. It's a bit more sluggish, and takes a little adjusting, but ultimatelyThe multiplayer alone makes the game deserve probably a 6. It's nothing close to the same experience you'll get on pc or consoles, however for a handheld this does some things pretty well. I had little difficulty adjusting to the gameplay on the Vita, and found that the multiplayer still felt just like Call of Duty. It's a bit more sluggish, and takes a little adjusting, but ultimately it's pretty fun. This is coming from a consumer who got the game free with the Vita bundle. I would not recommend anyone go out of their way to buy this game for $50, that's just not fair. However, if you can grab a copy on ebay for around $20 or and you want Call of Duty on the go, this really is not near as bad as the critics have hammered it. Cheers! Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    Honestly, it's about what I expected a Call of Duty game on the Vita to be. It's nothing amazing, but it's not horrible either. The controls are very rough and take a long time to get used to. The story is disjointed and takes place across small bite sized missions which last about 5-10 minutes each (maybe 10-12 in total, forgot to count) and the visuals are muddy at best. But, at theHonestly, it's about what I expected a Call of Duty game on the Vita to be. It's nothing amazing, but it's not horrible either. The controls are very rough and take a long time to get used to. The story is disjointed and takes place across small bite sized missions which last about 5-10 minutes each (maybe 10-12 in total, forgot to count) and the visuals are muddy at best. But, at the end of the day, it's a Call of Duty game on the Vita and if you are a big fan, you'll look past a lot to have that. This should only be for the hardest of the hardcore CoD fans as the online is troublesome to find games, but the games are decent fun on the go. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    COD Declassified feels like a COD game, even though it has been condensed dramatically for the Vita. Overall, I am having a blast with it. However, I do not think it is worth 50 dollars for such a short story mode, and such a limited amount of multiplayer maps. Not to mention, there are numerous glitches and laughably dumb AI issues that players will have to put up with. For starters,COD Declassified feels like a COD game, even though it has been condensed dramatically for the Vita. Overall, I am having a blast with it. However, I do not think it is worth 50 dollars for such a short story mode, and such a limited amount of multiplayer maps. Not to mention, there are numerous glitches and laughably dumb AI issues that players will have to put up with. For starters, the main single player story mode is not exactly a story. It consists of 10 short separate missions that lasts roughly 5 minutes each if not less. Theoretically, all 10 missions should take less than 50 minutes to beat. But if you play on an advanced difficulty, it could take up to 4 or 5 hours to complete them all. Given the price that I paid for it, I would have expected at least 20 short missions. 10 just made the game feel incomplete. There are 5 maps available for survival mode(single player only), which helps to add some extra replay value to the single player element. What I don't like about it though, is that the difficulty increases between each wave to such an extreme, that the most waves I've ever survived was 5. On Modern Warfare 3 for the console, my record was 40 waves, so the difficulty spikes for the Vita version in comparison definitely cuts down the amount of time you can play each survival level. Multiplayer is probably the main meat of the game, just like it has always been for COD. Instead of 16 player games like the console COD games, Declassified supports a maximum of 4 vs 4 on 5 different maps. This may be a turn off at first thought, but to my surprise it actually felt just as fun as the console experiences. The maps are more cramped though, so there are less opportunities to snipe. Now let's talk about the worst part of the game; the glitches and dumb AI. I've heard quite a few complaints about the numerous glitches in the game, but I've only really been bothered by one in particular. I'm talking about the function of picking up an enemy grenade and throwing it back. More than half the time, when I try that tactic, I end up chucking it 90 degrees to the left of me even though I am aiming straight ahead. I found that pretty frustrating, but I believe if you preset your aim before you chuck the grenade back, it will more than likely go straight. The enemy AI is the part that I am most disappointed with. Enemies will act real aggressive and make you believe that they are going to blow your head off instantly. But after a few play throughs, I realized that some of that behavior is just an empty threat. Enemies at times will charge into you, but instead of attacking like you would expect, they just retreat, or run around in circles, and then look at you for 5 seconds before finally deciding to pull the trigger. The enemy is some cases are suicidal as well. I've seen enemies hide behind cars for cover and just unload their mags into the car in an attempt to shoot you, which eventually leads to the car exploding and them dying. Other times enemies will attempt to throw a grenade at you, but the grenade would bounce off a wall and they would end up blowing themselves up. Once on the second operation (the timed hostage rescue), I actually ran around in a methodical manner and managed to make 3 enemies kill themselves without me having to fire a single round. I laughed. It was like watching a comedy show. However, even with all these issues being considered, the game is still quite enjoyable over all. The only reason why this game is not getting a 10/10 from me is because of the dumb AI and the lack of single player missions. Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    I'll just start off by saying that the biggest problem with this game, is that there is simply not enough content, especially if you are not interested in replaying the same missions over again to beat it on the highest difficulty and beat your friends. There are ten single player missions, each of which can roughly be completed in about 4-5 minutes, so if you do the math, thats rightI'll just start off by saying that the biggest problem with this game, is that there is simply not enough content, especially if you are not interested in replaying the same missions over again to beat it on the highest difficulty and beat your friends. There are ten single player missions, each of which can roughly be completed in about 4-5 minutes, so if you do the math, thats right timmy, the game can be beat in under an hour. However, the game is refreshingly challenging, so in reality, especially if you play it on higher difficulties, you could easily double your time with the single player operations mode, but then again, that's still only two hours. Thankfully though, the single player doesn't stop there. There are time trials to complete with cardboard targets too shoot, which was a lot of fun, and hostiles mode, which is effectively a somewhat stripped down version of the MW3 survival mode. I am a huge fan of survival modes so I got a big kick out of hostiles, especially since it was also quite challenging. I would have liked to see some more weapon customization and more strategizing between waves (between each wave all you can do is pick up a dropped care package) but still, fans of survival based gameplay should enjoy it, however, keep in mind that hostiles is not cooperative, which is a downside. Ofcourse, single player is only half of the game, or if you have the attitude of the majority of COD players, 10% of the game. Multiplayer in BOD is surprisingly well fleshed out, and although it does have some omissions, (killcams, no in game voice chat, no weapon camo) it does a fantastic job of translating and replicating the intense fast paced combat of its console brothers with killstreaks, tons of gun customizations, perks, custom loadouts and the like. Just like COD on consoles, its far too easy to get sucked in to the multiplayer and refuse to put the game down. But, unfortunatley, there are some key problems that detract from the multiplayer, and one of these issues is common to the problems I had with singleplayer: lack of content. There are only six maps, and most of them are very tiny and somewhat cramped. Nukehouse is basically nuketown cut in half, which gets really crazy really fast, which you will either love or hate. Personally, I would have preffered if they had just left nuketown untouched. Ultimately, it makes sense that the maps in this game are so small, since the game has a limit of 8 players, and the smaller maps do do a pretty adequate job of hiding this fact, but its brings spawning and other issues to the forefront. Even though one of the maps is a nearly exact replica of COD4's shipment (awesome!) I would have preffered more maps with a larger variety of game modes. Multiplayer also only has four game modes (team DM, kill confirmed, free for all, and a mode called drop zone) much fewer weapons, very few perks, some of which aren't even that useful, and a small amount of kill streaks that are somewhat unbalanced. The 10 kill streak attack chopper can be shot down with 1 quick shot of a rocket launcher, which makes the final and most difficult killstreak to achieve not very rewarding. However the most annoying problem with the multiplayer is the gliches and connection problems. Very frequently I would wait to load a match only to have it instantly revert back to the main menu, a few times I was abruptly disconnected from a match with no notice or pop up that said why this happened. I will say however that when connecting to a match did work, it was very quick. Glitches were also unfortunatley common. Expect to see attack choppers and spy planes stuck in the ground, among other things. All in all though, the multiplayer can be a blast if your able to work around some of the issues I have discussed. If there one thing I cant say about BOD, its that it plays poorly. This is the exact gameplay you know and love wonderfully translated to the vita. The framerate is generally very smooth, and the controls work extremely well. These are bar none the best controls I have ever experienced for a handheld shooter, even if throwing grenades can be a little cumbersome at times. Graphics are also surprisingly decent, there are some uglies at time but looks good on the whole. Sound is also good.

    Even with all the problems I have discussed, this game still gets a 7 because this game plays nearly as good on the vita as it does on consoles, which is a huge feat. When your zipping around the multiplayer maps shooting up your enemies with all the speed and precision you'd expect from a COD title, or pushing through hostiles to show your friends whose boss, its easy to forget the numerous shortcomings of this game. This game has the potential to be great, but unfortunatley Activision gave Nihilistic the shaft with a low budget, no advertising and a ridiculously short development period. BOD declassified is better than it could've been, but not as good as it should've been.
    Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    For the love of Sakaguchi-sensei, if you don't have something constructive to say, stay homeg. Such bitterness over a simple piece of software... It's just shameful. We are gamers. We use our minds to solve problems more often than encyclopedia brown. Frkn act like it.

    Going bat-pile over the casual trivializing and glamorization of war i'd fully understand. I think the more
    For the love of Sakaguchi-sensei, if you don't have something constructive to say, stay homeg. Such bitterness over a simple piece of software... It's just shameful. We are gamers. We use our minds to solve problems more often than encyclopedia brown. Frkn act like it.

    Going bat-pile over the casual trivializing and glamorization of war i'd fully understand. I think the more contemporary war games have an obligation to touch on the horror and brutality of warfare as more than just a set piece. It breaks my heart that so few developers truly take this obligation seriously.

    Now, on the flip side, NOBODY CARES how you feel about Sony, the Vita, how CoD compares to MoH, or if you had dinner for breakfast and pounded the cat while yer mom watched, all the while shouting encouragement in perfect aramaic.

    Frankly, it just comes off as petty and small. Review the game or stay home. Please?

    Seriously, for the love of Carl Sagan, if you must act the viturpative child, at least keep the spiritual anemia and whining ON topic.

    I digress. On to business:

    CoD:BOD is a well made, if comparatively basic, kill 'em all shooter. I haven't bothered with online multi-player, but even if it was comparable to cleopatra in a hot tub with helen of troy, I still wouldn't buy it with my own money. Not right now, anyway.

    It just costs way too much. As of today, it's still a $49.99 download. Far too expensive for what it is. On the other hand, at $24.99, i'd prolly scoop it right up.

    But as is, spend the money on 3 or 4 other games.

    Love and Battlefield Infections,
    the Doctor.
    Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    for a while now i have always heard that Call of duty black ops declassified is the worst vita game ever even doe i heard this i still haded to try the game so i did first i tried the campaign at first it really impressed me with the outstanding voice acting and the slow motion scenes on the vita looked great seriously i was loving the game then i noticed there are no checkpointz then ifor a while now i have always heard that Call of duty black ops declassified is the worst vita game ever even doe i heard this i still haded to try the game so i did first i tried the campaign at first it really impressed me with the outstanding voice acting and the slow motion scenes on the vita looked great seriously i was loving the game then i noticed there are no checkpointz then i noticed the levels are short well some level are short and boring and some are ztill short but entertaining but where thiz game really forgot was that COD Action!!There was no plane flying,no driving motocycles or cars just plain shooting (sigj).but i kinda enjoyed time trial it was unique and fun.the hostile(replace for zombies)is pretty addicting but not like zombies.Multiplayer is the best thing about this game customized classez,Skill ranks,good variety of modes itz a blast.this game is a big dissapointment but it doesnt deverse 1/10,2/10 ,etc.its fun and exciting(sometimes)its a great fps for me the controls are definitley better than 3ds Expand
  11. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    This game deserves a bit of praise because it was made in under 6 months and is a game with a fully functional Multiplayer. I did love the Multiplayer part of the game, but the Single Player and Hostiles left me wanting to puke. So this game deserves a solid 5.

    I would recommend buying other better Vita games that are cheaper and better. Such as Assassin's Creed 3: Liberation or Rayman Origins.
  12. Nov 1, 2014
    7
    The game is good for it's multiplayer the Campaign it's really not a Campaign it's just operations with people from the black ops games the only reason you might get this is for it's multiplayer.

    The game cost 20 bucks.
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    It is hard to understand why this game did so bad. I will break this game down though. The campaign has NO story which is a problem but the short missions are fun. However the enemies can see you before you can see them which makes the campaign difficult. Now in the time trials mode, I enjoy playing those missions and they are good time wasters, which was probably the purpose consideringIt is hard to understand why this game did so bad. I will break this game down though. The campaign has NO story which is a problem but the short missions are fun. However the enemies can see you before you can see them which makes the campaign difficult. Now in the time trials mode, I enjoy playing those missions and they are good time wasters, which was probably the purpose considering the campaign was short. The hostiles mode is challenging to me because again, the enemies see you before you see them, and that was how I died most of the time. However the game is saved, by the multiplayer. Save the campaign for when you are on the go, and play the multiplayer when you have a wifi connection. The multiplayer is good compared to the rest of the game and you may get kicked from a game every one in 5 games. Also the maps are tiny, like Nukehouse is a map and it is only one of the houses on Nuketown and its 8 player online, but the multiplayer is where this game feels like COD. It feels like COD Black Ops 1, but it is still good for the vita's first COD game.
    PROS: Multiplayer is COD-like, Hostiles and Campaign are challenging, campaign missions are enjoyable as so are the time trials.
    CONS: Multiplayer has tiny maps, Campaign is too short, enemies shoot at you before you get a chance to shoot at them.
    Expand
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    I am going to be honest, black ops declasified isn't, slick, innovative, or anything new, but it's is exactly what it needs to be for the vita. The story mode is incredibly short and in 3-5 min chunks, which is what you would want in a handheld version, it has a survival mode which isn't great but it's a nice distraction, it has time trials which will keep you coming back from time toI am going to be honest, black ops declasified isn't, slick, innovative, or anything new, but it's is exactly what it needs to be for the vita. The story mode is incredibly short and in 3-5 min chunks, which is what you would want in a handheld version, it has a survival mode which isn't great but it's a nice distraction, it has time trials which will keep you coming back from time to time. But the gem is the multiplayer. It's fast, has great maps, kill streaks but most importantly, it feels like call of duty. I know some people don't like the small maps but I personally think they are perfect. It's only 4v4 so anything bigger would make it to difficult to find people which is exactly what happens in the games one and only bigger map. The negatives are the graphics, AI and the fact you can randomly be kicked out of a match. The graphics aren't bad it's the colour scheme, its always a kind of washed out brown. But the AI on the survival and campaign mode are awfull. The enemies shoot at you before they can even see you and they seem to have perfect accuracy all the time because they hit you an unbelievale amount of times. And the online sometimes has connection problems which seems to be consistent with other peoples reviews. Overall black ops declassified gets the job done but it needed more development time to make it a high level product, but if you have been waiting for a good fps on the go, this is it. But it will certainly make the wait for killzone on the vita a bit easyier. Expand
  15. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    It's definitely a Call of Duty. It looks and plays like one. The singleplayer modes are fun enough. The multiplayer is kind of Black Ops Lite. The main problem I've encountered with it is that it's so buggy online. You'll get dropped from games constantly, you'll have trouble even connecting to a game, or you'll be the only person on one team, versus all four people from their team.It's definitely a Call of Duty. It looks and plays like one. The singleplayer modes are fun enough. The multiplayer is kind of Black Ops Lite. The main problem I've encountered with it is that it's so buggy online. You'll get dropped from games constantly, you'll have trouble even connecting to a game, or you'll be the only person on one team, versus all four people from their team. Worst of all, I doubt Nihilistic will fix any of this, seeing as how they no longer exist. It's a surprisingly good game, but a really disappointing multiplayer experience. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    I don't see how people would buy Vita to get this game only, but is the only CoD that is actually fun to play in a PORTABLE device... Its arcade-style of gameplay don't make me sick of playing, most complaints are from 'hardcore' CoD players that find superiority on the Console and PC versions, and frankly they are right, but that doesn't bring this game down... The major issue is thatI don't see how people would buy Vita to get this game only, but is the only CoD that is actually fun to play in a PORTABLE device... Its arcade-style of gameplay don't make me sick of playing, most complaints are from 'hardcore' CoD players that find superiority on the Console and PC versions, and frankly they are right, but that doesn't bring this game down... The major issue is that Activision released this together with BO2, same thing that did Ubisoft, making players choose the Console official game rather than the Portable spin-off... Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    I feel like expectations are different for different people on this game. I was expecting a game where I could play a short mission on the go, as well as get a multiplayer experience similar to the console versions. I got exactly what I was expecting! Graphics are good, but not mind blowing. I think smooth gameplay is more important and the game plays extremely smooth. Controls are greatI feel like expectations are different for different people on this game. I was expecting a game where I could play a short mission on the go, as well as get a multiplayer experience similar to the console versions. I got exactly what I was expecting! Graphics are good, but not mind blowing. I think smooth gameplay is more important and the game plays extremely smooth. Controls are great after adjusting sensitivity. Multiplayer is very fun! Small maps means less camping, which makes this the go to CoD multiplayer of choice for me. Yes the campaign levels are short but they are meant to be replayed on different difficulties. I think the AI is not as smart as it could be but works well enough. Overall 7, since the game is fun, with some things that could improve for a later version. Please be open minded about the mixed reviews here. Low ratings seem to be the people that sit home playing their vita like its a game console. Portable games are not meant to have 30 minute campaign levels! This game was made with the idea that you will play your portable system in places other than your couch with black ops 2 sitting in your home console. Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Pros: -feels like COD
    -plays well with a good fps
    -multiplayer Cons: -lack of zombies -lack of vita microphone support making matches feel empty -lag issues. I find myself putting a full clip into someone and then they shoot me, I die, then the shot registers on them after my death causing both of us to die. pretty ridiculous. -glitches -lack of maps -low player count and
    Pros: -feels like COD
    -plays well with a good fps
    -multiplayer

    Cons:
    -lack of zombies
    -lack of vita microphone support making matches feel empty
    -lag issues. I find myself putting a full clip into someone and then they shoot me, I die, then the shot registers on them after my death causing both of us to die. pretty ridiculous.
    -glitches
    -lack of maps
    -low player count and obvious lack of development time for the graphics could of been better.
    -terrible AI
    -no killcam/ final kill
    Conclusion: basically this game needs a patch for mic support, less glitches, lag problems, and killcam implementation. Some DLC for more maps and zombies and this game could be a 9/10. If you want a quick COD fix on the go this is the game for you, but its a step down and unless you are a true fan or want a fps on the go I wouldn't recommend this unless a patch comes out, which of 12/3 it has not.
    Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    I agree 100% with Drumhead19's review. I could not have said it better myself. I gave it a slightly lower rating than Drumhead19 as the narrative for the campaign could have been better and the AI could have been better. I did play MP last night and was having some solid fun.
  20. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Game is OK. Major glitches experienced, No reply from Nihilistic regarding patches. Ive experience 20 attempts to get into a full MP game, invisible players, unable to collect tags, Shows enemies on UAV and nobody there, Grenades not exploding. thats for MP. Now only issue had with Hostiles is everytime i played a certain map you cannot move, shoot or stab and is just juddering all over.Game is OK. Major glitches experienced, No reply from Nihilistic regarding patches. Ive experience 20 attempts to get into a full MP game, invisible players, unable to collect tags, Shows enemies on UAV and nobody there, Grenades not exploding. thats for MP. Now only issue had with Hostiles is everytime i played a certain map you cannot move, shoot or stab and is just juddering all over. had to restart twice to get in it normally. If we had updates regafrom the Developer or something then we would feel at ease BUT they do NOT care! They get ya money and RUN. Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    Firstly, this is not a good game. However, this is still the best first person shooter on the Vita... but that's just not saying very much though as it's just not a good game aside from being able to see somewhat of what you will (hopefully) be able to do in FPS on the Vita.
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Many of you may be enjoying this game for what it is, but the reality is, it's a shadow of what it could and should have been. It was stunted by a short deadline and a poor developer, but that's fixable.
    Now I'm not sure in nStigate is still responsible for the patches or if Activision has fully taken over, but here are some of the things I believe could revive the name of portable CoD
    Many of you may be enjoying this game for what it is, but the reality is, it's a shadow of what it could and should have been. It was stunted by a short deadline and a poor developer, but that's fixable.
    Now I'm not sure in nStigate is still responsible for the patches or if Activision has fully taken over, but here are some of the things I believe could revive the name of portable CoD and maybe even sell more Vitas. ADD AIM ACCELLERATION. One of the staples of the CoD experience is the aim accleration. This helps fine aiming and allows for quick movement at the same time. BOD does not have this, turning is done at a fixed rate of speed. The introduction of aim acceleration like its console brothers would really enhance the experience. SHORTEN GRENADE FUSES AND THROW ANIMATION TIMES. They are way too slow. It's very important to be able to chuck out a flash as you retreat, and if my character is stuck fumbling with the pin and trying to remember how to throw, I can't use flashes to their full capability. Also, grenade timers are too long. Match grenade timers and throw times with the console versions. FIX AUTO-SPRINT This is a broken feature, whoever designed it should be shot. It never works for more than a consecutive second or two without glitching in and out of sprint, and if I turn it off, I can no longer sprint. Bring back Resistance's feature of double-tapping the rear touchpad. That was perfect. MAKE HOSTILES MODE MULTIPLAYER. Good Lord, what were you thinking? Taking out Zombies and then making the survival mode you replaced it with single player? Please, please fix this.
    INCREASE AI DIFFICULTY BY 100 IQ POINTS. They see through walls, but don't seem to care that there is a wall there as they shoot at it, and throw grenades at it. AI needs a complete redo, TBH. MORE MAPS. I will gladly pay for them. But please, make them a little bigger. Spwaning in front of the enemy is no fun. ADD S&D, Domination, and Headquarters. These are staples of the CoD experience. Please put them back in. Also, Sony, you need to fix the input lag times for the analog sticks. It's very noticeable, especially in FPS games.
    Expand
  23. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    It's very disappointing that this game doesn't even match the quality of Modern Combat 3 for iPhone. However the multiplayer is fun enough to save the shallow campaign mode.
  24. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    A new patch came out (late December) for this fixing all the multiplayer issues I was having with the game and ruining my experience. Now the only thing we can complain about is an fps drop in nukehouse from time to time, that and a like of killstreaks/Zombies were used to from the normal COD series. But as a handheld standalone fps it's an amazingly fun/addictive multiplayer experience.A new patch came out (late December) for this fixing all the multiplayer issues I was having with the game and ruining my experience. Now the only thing we can complain about is an fps drop in nukehouse from time to time, that and a like of killstreaks/Zombies were used to from the normal COD series. But as a handheld standalone fps it's an amazingly fun/addictive multiplayer experience. You can only chat to friends in a party so you don't have to deal with the trash talking especially as you'd have 7 other people screaming 24/7 it's a God send they don't include that feature. A shame for some of you trolls, It's a great game and i recommend picking it up (only if you want an online fps for your handheld nothing else will come close) and just think how good this could be if they put some real effort in on the whole experience.

    For the single player portion of the game (definitely a 1/10) so the game deserves a 6 for it's more than acceptable multiplayer experience. If you want this game for offline do not buy this at all costs, don't even consider it go and buy the Resistance game instead!
    Expand
  25. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Okay I'll make this short and honest. I gave it a 7. Why? It's not that I want to "inflate" the score or make up for what I bought. It's because I thought of it as such. The game's story is MEEEHHHHH all throughout. But seriously? This is a handheld who's sole reputation on FPS games is last to everything. It's new, so obviously, the way they make games like COD to this system would beOkay I'll make this short and honest. I gave it a 7. Why? It's not that I want to "inflate" the score or make up for what I bought. It's because I thought of it as such. The game's story is MEEEHHHHH all throughout. But seriously? This is a handheld who's sole reputation on FPS games is last to everything. It's new, so obviously, the way they make games like COD to this system would be expectantly mediocre. Developers just doesn't stick what they see on home consoles and stick what they can to a handheld, they had to start ALL OVER again and optimize what fits to the system. It's like making a game from scratch. For me, its understandable how this turned out, and I can't deny that I expected more. Despite this, the Multiplayer seemed good and (although with smaller and mediocre levels) playable enough to make me go back and play again when bored. It's NOTHING like its console counter-parts. CRAPPY even if compared. NO KUDOS to you Nihilistic. My 7 is merely for the decent, and sometimes fun, Multiplayer. I hope there will still be a COD for the Vita next time. A new and improved one. I also hope, that the upcoming Killzone:M would be different and 35 times better. Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    if you consider that the cost of this portable title is almost equal the PC/360 counterparts you should be expecting the same amount of content and depth in the game. Instead you get 10 missions without any story that you can play through in an hour and multi player which is more like baby multiplayer with handful of maps/weapons etc.. Playing the game is very similar to hugelyif you consider that the cost of this portable title is almost equal the PC/360 counterparts you should be expecting the same amount of content and depth in the game. Instead you get 10 missions without any story that you can play through in an hour and multi player which is more like baby multiplayer with handful of maps/weapons etc.. Playing the game is very similar to hugely unsuccessful Resistance for Vita from the same developer - it isn't bad, and the multiplayer works better this time around - but it's just lacking on all fronts. If this game cost £5 like games on Appstore it would be great value for money - for £34.99 we should expect much more than this.. SONY should really reconsider how much they are charging us for Vita games... Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    A very good port... When it works. Half of the games I join I get booted out of immediately. Another good portion of games have terrible lag. The maps are a little small. Spawn points are unintuitive. Good for on-the-go fun, but not a worthy port of the console versions. Also, everyone camps. It's not fun.
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    I bought this game today and was pleasantly surprised. The games looks good for a handheld and runs really smooth. I've played a lot of multiplayer, a couple campaign missions and quite a bit of the hostiles mode. So far critics have been harsh but I truly think they're butt hurt because of who made it, all the criticism they had for itbefore the game even came out, and the fact that itsI bought this game today and was pleasantly surprised. The games looks good for a handheld and runs really smooth. I've played a lot of multiplayer, a couple campaign missions and quite a bit of the hostiles mode. So far critics have been harsh but I truly think they're butt hurt because of who made it, all the criticism they had for itbefore the game even came out, and the fact that its not just like the console. People need to understand its a handheld. And for a handheld it's a hell of a lot of fun. Anyone who rates this lower than they rated Resistance Burning Skies shouldn't even be listened to because this beats that game out of the water. And I enjoyed the Resistance game for what it was but it doesn't come anywhere near this game. Expand
  29. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    The series of Call of Duty has always been about multiplayer and co-op and Declassified is exactly the same. Call of Duty: Declassified is a fantastic display of the fact that the PS Vita can play big name games like Need for Speed and in this case Call of Duty. The game plays and feels like your usual Call of Duty games and will definably quench your thirst for some run and gun, highThe series of Call of Duty has always been about multiplayer and co-op and Declassified is exactly the same. Call of Duty: Declassified is a fantastic display of the fact that the PS Vita can play big name games like Need for Speed and in this case Call of Duty. The game plays and feels like your usual Call of Duty games and will definably quench your thirst for some run and gun, high action multiplayer thrills.The game is a steal in the UK for only £20 (I brought mine for £35 at release) and will probably stay at that price till Killzone. I highly recommend this game and in fact can even say that i have had more fun on this game than COD: MW3! The game does contain some flaws such as: no more support, glitched killstreaks, dumb AI and few invisible walls during Hostiles mode. Expand
  30. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified is one of the biggest disappointments for the Vita game library in 2012. After much deliberation due to the negative reviews online, I eventually took the plunge with low expectations
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.