User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    Honestly, it's about what I expected a Call of Duty game on the Vita to be. It's nothing amazing, but it's not horrible either. The controls are very rough and take a long time to get used to. The story is disjointed and takes place across small bite sized missions which last about 5-10 minutes each (maybe 10-12 in total, forgot to count) and the visuals are muddy at best. But, at the end of the day, it's a Call of Duty game on the Vita and if you are a big fan, you'll look past a lot to have that. This should only be for the hardest of the hardcore CoD fans as the online is troublesome to find games, but the games are decent fun on the go. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This game will sell Vita's.
    I didn't expect much from this game, however, I purchased it yesterday and I am very pleased.
    The frame rate is great, the loading times aren't to bad. There are a lot of multiplayer options like dropzone kill confirmed, a survival mode, a campaign, its all there.
    The Uzi and the M60 are so far my favorite weapons.
    Finally we have a CoD for a handheld that
    kicks butt!
    This will be one of those games that when people only own one game, this will be it.
    @Pocket Gamer UK nice pre-mature review. Since we all know that this game wasn't given out to reviewers before the game. You video game critics are the biggest joke in the industry.
    Its like how you douches always slam all the asian video games because you don't understand them or appreciate them for what they are trying to do. But then you guys rate all the final fantasies that are vintage re-releases a 9/10 when really its just the same thing. You pander to the sheep.
    Well guess what, there is a user score section for meta-score for those of us that spend hard earned cash for our games and guess what. We say this game is good so screw off!
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    I just don't understand why professional reviewers are giving this game such low marks. The characters play smoothly, shooting is great (with some aim assist), the multiplayer is the usual cod experience, with minor differences. The graphics are not as good as in Uncharted, but they're nice - much better than Resistance: Burning Skies, for example, which deserved all the bad marks it received. I'm glad I didn't pay too much attention to reviewers with this game. I'm giving it a 9 to compensate for the really bad reviews it had; I think the correct grade would be 8, actually. I think most people will enjoy this game. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    This atrocity almost made me regret buying Sony's hardcore handheld. It's just another nail to the coffin of struggling piece of hardware. Biggest franchise on most advanced and hardcore-oriented turned out enormous in terms of failure and overpriced in terms of bang for a buck epicly epic flop. Great showcase of Vita's future. Can't believe Sony allowed Activision to do this. Can't believe Sony certificated this atrocity. It doesn't even work without crashing and freezing the whole system. No awesomeness of Little Big Planet on Vita can't fix this damage done to platform. Thanks for free psn plus month I can play games that don't SUCK AT LITERALLY EVERYTHING, and not broken to the point of resetting the whole Vita mid-match. Way to go, Sony and Activision, good work. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    As if Black Ops 2 wasn't already meh, let's take that and make it worse! This is what this game is. The single player campaign it's just a huge borefest, piss easy and short as f*ck. The multi player it's stripped down with crappy maps and less players. If you want a great online multiplayer for your PS Vita, just wait until Phantasy Star Online 2 or Monster Hunter Hunter will come.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Playing this and loving it... definitely a step up from Resistance Burning Skies and it certainly has the 'feel' of a real COD game - all it needs now is a nice raft of DLC cough *zombies* cough or some additional missions / modes / challenges. But even if it doesn't get DLC love I'll be playing this addictive shooter for some time to come!!
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This is basically Black Ops in your pocket. Following on from Black Ops 1 - set in the same era.
    Honestly - it's great. Don't listen to the critics or the haters who are upset they can't afford a premium game.
    If you want to play COD multiplayer on the go then this is it.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    This game it so boring, broken and no fun at all, that i cant recommend this game under no circumstances to anyone ever. Almost no sp, bad mp make this game an insult to every gamer. Better play the real COD on 360/PS3.
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Declassified is giving Vita a bad name for a good old fashioned Game of the Year candidate. I don't really care about Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified anymore. The critics are absolutely right, I even watch the review on the now-cancelled X-Play. This game is a complete disaster. AI is terrible, a campaign that deserves the right to be punished, and bad timing of the game makes you wanna play the game for less than 10 hours a week. I urge every Call of Duty fan to avoid this portable dump and get back to action while playing... I don't know. Modern Warfare 3 or Black Ops II? It's your call. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    This game is a terrible mess. it's just to painful an experience to write any more about it.

    And lol @ anyone giving this game a 10 ,I don't think many people will ever take your user reviews serious again....
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Do n NOT pay attention to these wanna be hippster review sites low balling this game for hits...if you want a portable CoD that has fun multiplayer, Declassified is your game, period.
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    People need to stop inflating the score for this game.

    I get it, you are trying to justify the purchase of your new handheld and want to see it, and Sony, succeed. You don't do that by lying to the consumer, trying to get them to buy the system and a lackluster game simply to support Sony.

    The truth is, the system is just too expensive at the moment, with a games catalogue too
    insignificant to justify grabbing one at this time. For the game itself, it is CoD. The gameplay, for the most part is there. However, with this release, almost anything meaty that the series has to offer has been stripped away. The singleplayer content is astonishingly brief, the multiplayer is stripped down with small maps and a reduced player count, and the visuals themselves are simply par for the course, as far as the system goes.

    It is not a game worth owning. Not at full price, anyway. If you are a die-hard CoD fan, it might be worth your while. For everyone else, wait on this, and certainly don't buy the system for it. It's a sub-par game, nothing more.
    Expand
  13. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Graphics? Good. Gameplay and controls? Perfect.
    The game does exactly what it needs to. The multiplayer is great (only TINY level is nuketown but it's still not that bad), and with the 1.02 patch I get a full game in a matter of 3-5 seconds. The campaign is good for quick on the go missions but don't expect to be pulled into anything deep or meaningful. Just fun little missions. I'm
    loving the multiplayer and my older brother couldn't put it down when I let him try it on my Vita. All he does is play COD multiplayer (all of them from MW2->BO->MW3->BO2) and he loved it. If you're into COD then do yourself the favor and pick it up. It's a great game. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    To be honest it's a very good game. Of course some people expected a real console version, but from a Handheld view, this game is very good. I like the Unit13 kind of single player mode, this because it's a handheld version of COD and therefore it should give you a short entertainment. It's addictive. @Azinot, I think you have never really played Black ops or other FPS games from the Franchise? Because the maps etc are pretty much in-line with the Franchise so I have a feeling that you try to troll the score! Expand
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    While this is not a great game, it's good. I never get a COD game for the main campaign, just the online multiplayer. With being said, the small part of the single player game I played was okay. The online only has three modes, and none of them was domination (my favorite) it does have drop zone which is similar. I have had a few issues with dropped games while online (my biggest issue with the game.) Don't expect to get the grand experience of COD on PS3/360/PC. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I just don't get it.
    Call of duty games are known for a short campaign mode and customizable online multiplayer.
    In this game is not different so the game is fine by me.
    A decent port, but nothing special
  17. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Game is OK. Major glitches experienced, No reply from Nihilistic regarding patches. Ive experience 20 attempts to get into a full MP game, invisible players, unable to collect tags, Shows enemies on UAV and nobody there, Grenades not exploding. thats for MP. Now only issue had with Hostiles is everytime i played a certain map you cannot move, shoot or stab and is just juddering all over. had to restart twice to get in it normally. If we had updates regafrom the Developer or something then we would feel at ease BUT they do NOT care! They get ya money and RUN. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    How cute, all those nihihihilistic developers giving their own games a 10 in the hope it sells.. well the campain takes about 45 minuts (yes indeed) the multiplayer is bad, it lacks content, gameplay and fun..

    The only good thing about this game is that the controls are good..
  19. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Call of Duty Declassified was overall a disappointment. At £35 for a portable game it seemed expensive, however, the single-player campaign which was only 45 minutes was lackluster. The multi-player is 4 vs 4 on tiny maps where you spawn next to the enemy was awful. A complete embarrassment to the Call of Duty series. Note: Most of the user reviews giving it undeserved praise are PS3 fanboys who want to defend any exclusive game, however terrible it is. Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    the best way to review this game for me is to describe you my experience with it and it went thus.

    I visited my cousin and he has the game so I asked him to lend it to me while I'm there, so I started playing the single player like I always do and after an hour or so, done, story over, you've finished the game... Then when the shock had passed and I started to believe than a developer
    had the balls to charge 45 dollars for a game than I can finish quicker than a pie I went to the multiplayer in hopes that I would get something worth of the game, then I gave it back to my cousin telling him "boy I hope you're renting this". let's be honest not even the multiplayer justifies this sad excuse for even a Spunkgargleweewee. save yourself the money a get a PS Plus account Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I expected this game to be complete garbage based on all the negative press it was receiving before its launch. However, I went ahead and bought it for my Vita and yesterday while waiting for a doctor's appointment I started in. The visuals and gun sounds are greatly improved since the TGS video that's out there. And the game is just plain fun. I've had a good time playing, and I'm surprised at how well it controls. This is not the turd everyone predicted it will be. Haters gonna be hating. Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Very suprised by the game, the Multiplayer is brilliant! The most time i've ever spent playing my vita! I sat on the sofa for 3 hours straight. No connection issues like R:BS had, no lag. Matchmaking is quick and they just patched in Ad-Hoc play! Great effort Nihilistic!
  23. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Pros: -feels like COD -plays well with a good fps -multiplayer Cons: -lack of zombies -lack of vita microphone support making matches feel empty -lag issues. I find myself putting a full clip into someone and then they shoot me, I die, then the shot registers on them after my death causing both of us to die. pretty ridiculous. -glitches -lack of maps -low player count and obvious lack of development time for the graphics could of been better.
    -terrible AI
    -no killcam/ final kill
    Conclusion: basically this game needs a patch for mic support, less glitches, lag problems, and killcam implementation. Some DLC for more maps and zombies and this game could be a 9/10. If you want a quick COD fix on the go this is the game for you, but its a step down and unless you are a true fan or want a fps on the go I wouldn't recommend this unless a patch comes out, which of 12/3 it has not.
    Expand
  24. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    A lot has been said (and of course, written) about Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassisfied since it hit store shelves last month. Most of it negative, very little positive, almost all accurate in one way or another. While the gaming media have thrown tons of three's and four's (out of ten) at CoD Vita, with waves and waves of users posting either tens or zeros, the user reviews posted on this site have been far more polarised. The reason I decided to type this quick review is because neither of these points of view are at all accurate. The gamers that trawl through these very reviews deserve a neutral, more measured point of view with which to help them make an informed decision. With neither gushing adoration or utter disdain helping one iota, what is needed right now is a little perspective. Personally speaking, I hit the shops and grabbed Declassified within a day or so of it's UK release. At which point, no media reviews had yet been published, and only a couple of very brief user reviews had been posted here on Metacritic. Both of which were overwhelmingly positive, aiding my decision to spend a whopping £42.99 on the game. But do I regret it? Mmmm, yes and no. Despite it's brevity, I personally had a lot of fun playing through the single player campaign. For a seasoned Call of Duty vet, it's probably not beyond the realms of possibility to negotiate your way through each of the ten missions in little more than an hour. Maybe even less. Although I admit to enjoying the odd FPS shooter, I certainly do not fall into the 'seasoned vet' catagory, and as such, it took me the best part of four or five hours to beat. I also found the difficulty curve and pacing to be savage yet acceptable. Many have laid criticism at the games lack of mission checkpoints - citing their absence as a wholly underhand means of adding to the longevity of the campaign - but I considered this to be all part of challenge, adding an extra layer of tension. While it certainly isn't in the same ballpark as it's console counterparts, there's still a good deal of mileage to be had from CoD Vita's multiplayer component too. While there have been many well documented issues regarding stability and connection woes, Activision has now provided patch (that went live last week) which addresses most of these foibles. While still isn't perfect, multiplayer reliability is now vastly improved. Unfortunately however, Declassified's primary achilles heel remains. And that my friends, is the enemy AI. No matter how impartial I attempt to be, there is just no getting away from the fact that Declassified is home to some of the worst (and dumbest) AI I have encountered in a very, very long time. At this time, one can only assume that there are no plans to provide a fix for this issue, and that is a real shame. In summation, Declassified is a flawed portable FPS experience, but one that can be an awful lot of fun too. It isn't perfect, it isn't awful. It's somewhere in the middle. And that warrants a score which reflects this. That score isn't a zero and it certainly isn't a ten. For me, it is a seven. And that my pedigree chums, is perspective. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Great story, great cards, many of the best oruzhie.Odna chastey.Vse just velikolepno.Rezhim otpad.Dolzhen buy every zombie!It is a shooter game goda.Eto bright
  26. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    It amazes me just how many ignorant consumers are content with settling for less. "Call of Duty in the palms of your hands!" says one clown. "Surprised by the quality!" says another. This title fails in every possible way. The single-player campaign is incredibly short. Multiplayer is limited to simplistic 4-on-4 action. There is absolutely no Zombies mode -- a crime of unspeakable severity. This is absolutely not the "Call of Duty" experience on a handheld system. Instead, it's just another sloppy, half-hearted effort from the goons at Nihilistic. Much like their previous failure, Resistance: Burning Skies, Call of Duty lacks polish and content. The Playstation Vita is capable of oh-so-much more, but if developers like this continue to be handed the rights to create titles for such large, successful, and important franchises as Call of Duty and even Resistance, I often wonder if we'll ever see it. Killzone and perhaps BioShock remain the two "last hopes" on the shooter scene, and who knows how those will fare. It's just a crying shame knowing that we could have had so much more on this system and that Nihilistic, once again, has delivered a title that's embarrassing not only to the franchise it represents, but the platform on which it's available. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    COD Declassified feels like a COD game, even though it has been condensed dramatically for the Vita. Overall, I am having a blast with it. However, I do not think it is worth 50 dollars for such a short story mode, and such a limited amount of multiplayer maps. Not to mention, there are numerous glitches and laughably dumb AI issues that players will have to put up with. For starters, the main single player story mode is not exactly a story. It consists of 10 short separate missions that lasts roughly 5 minutes each if not less. Theoretically, all 10 missions should take less than 50 minutes to beat. But if you play on an advanced difficulty, it could take up to 4 or 5 hours to complete them all. Given the price that I paid for it, I would have expected at least 20 short missions. 10 just made the game feel incomplete. There are 5 maps available for survival mode(single player only), which helps to add some extra replay value to the single player element. What I don't like about it though, is that the difficulty increases between each wave to such an extreme, that the most waves I've ever survived was 5. On Modern Warfare 3 for the console, my record was 40 waves, so the difficulty spikes for the Vita version in comparison definitely cuts down the amount of time you can play each survival level. Multiplayer is probably the main meat of the game, just like it has always been for COD. Instead of 16 player games like the console COD games, Declassified supports a maximum of 4 vs 4 on 5 different maps. This may be a turn off at first thought, but to my surprise it actually felt just as fun as the console experiences. The maps are more cramped though, so there are less opportunities to snipe. Now let's talk about the worst part of the game; the glitches and dumb AI. I've heard quite a few complaints about the numerous glitches in the game, but I've only really been bothered by one in particular. I'm talking about the function of picking up an enemy grenade and throwing it back. More than half the time, when I try that tactic, I end up chucking it 90 degrees to the left of me even though I am aiming straight ahead. I found that pretty frustrating, but I believe if you preset your aim before you chuck the grenade back, it will more than likely go straight. The enemy AI is the part that I am most disappointed with. Enemies will act real aggressive and make you believe that they are going to blow your head off instantly. But after a few play throughs, I realized that some of that behavior is just an empty threat. Enemies at times will charge into you, but instead of attacking like you would expect, they just retreat, or run around in circles, and then look at you for 5 seconds before finally deciding to pull the trigger. The enemy is some cases are suicidal as well. I've seen enemies hide behind cars for cover and just unload their mags into the car in an attempt to shoot you, which eventually leads to the car exploding and them dying. Other times enemies will attempt to throw a grenade at you, but the grenade would bounce off a wall and they would end up blowing themselves up. Once on the second operation (the timed hostage rescue), I actually ran around in a methodical manner and managed to make 3 enemies kill themselves without me having to fire a single round. I laughed. It was like watching a comedy show. However, even with all these issues being considered, the game is still quite enjoyable over all. The only reason why this game is not getting a 10/10 from me is because of the dumb AI and the lack of single player missions. Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like. Unit 13 was praised for this method and received a good score, but this game was punished for the exact same thing? As for the MP, I believe that this was done very well too because the maps need to be small to ensure non-stop action to accomodate the fact that you are playing 4v4. I'm sure there will be patches to stabilize the connectivity issue, but this happens to many games on console as well. I am not a COD fanboy by any means and I usually purchase the console versions way past their initial release date. Finally, if you are an avid trophy collector like myself, you will find that this game is not a walk in the park due to some very challenging trophies. The price is kinda steep for a handheld, but UC:GA was priced pretty high too and I soon forgot about it. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Wow, well my first thought is I'm relieved and pleasantly surprised...the trailer they previously released did not do what the finish product has done: Impress. This is a true Call of Duty for a handheld for the first time ever. It feels like the console versions with Perks, Killstreaks, lots of weapons and customizations; only more compact and tighter. So far I've barely touched the campaign, I've played hostiles somewhat, and I've been rocking multiplayer A LOT (which matters the most, right?), and I'm thoroughly impressed. After playing Nihilistic's last effort Resistance: Burning Skies and trying really hard to like it, it just felt half-assed and unfinished. This doesn't feel that way (maybe R:BS was half-assed because they were working on this?), it feels much more polished, the movements, animations feel very much like a console COD. For any FPS fan and Vita owner I consider this a must buy. By the way, I don't play COD on consoles, hate them (I'm a BF3 player), but for the Vita it feels great. Good job, Nihilistic! Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    I've long since lost love with the Call of Duty franchise, but even by my own checked expectations this is absolutely diabolical. It's an absolute unflattering slap to the face of anyone who purchased the Vita in confidence of developer's taking it seriously. Nihilistic have appropriately closed their doors and sworn off ever developing for retail again, as they should. This is an absolute joke, the Vita is more than capable of delivering something worth standing alongside the rest of the franchise and deserved much better than this pathetic effort. Looks dates, feels dated and the absolute absence of character or identity makes Declassified feel like one of those pointless mobile download games. Nothing but a name and a couple of, barely, recognisable pixel collections. I seriously can't believe this piece of **** managed to slip on to the market. How didn't ANYONE at Nihilistic realise - oh forget it. Just avoid, avoid, avoid, avoid! Expand
  31. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Well surprise, surprise. I was one of the many foolish individuals who wrote off Black Ops: Declassified as a bad game from a bad developer. Before I played a single minute of gameplay I pre-judged this game. But then something interesting happened. People got copies of the game early and started posting gameplay footage and it looked pretty darn good. So I used a $25 Off coupon and traded in an old game to purchase BO:D this morning and it hasn't disappointed. Everything from Campaign, to Hostiles, to Multiplayer plays like classic CoD. It just FEELS right. Disregard the people who are silly enough to give this game a 0 (as well as those who give it a 10). While you're at it, disregard IGN's impending pathetic review in which they will likely give BO:D a much lower score than it deserves. The game is fun and it feels right. Shooting feels right. Perks are in. Killstreaks are in. Multiplayer is great. Is it a 10? No. Not enough maps or Single Player content to make it a 10. But it is classic CoD gameplay in your pocket. Best portable FPS ever. Buy it. Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    No suprise..To me it just seems a bit rushed this game, and it does not look interesting overall. And since the devs is the same as Resistance Burning **** lol

    Anyway,This game is just another overhyped COD title, sad see gamers hyped this type game in this days...
  33. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    Firstly, this is not a good game. However, this is still the best first person shooter on the Vita... but that's just not saying very much though as it's just not a good game aside from being able to see somewhat of what you will (hopefully) be able to do in FPS on the Vita.
  34. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    No wonder nihlistic made resistance burning skies so poorly. It was because they had to spend time working on this. This game passed my poor expectations and this game has awesome graphics for a handheld COD game, a good Unit 13-like story, great frame-rate, and good multiplayer, but it's only 4 vs 4. The adaptation to that was good by making smaller maps. Overall, the first good COD game i've played in a long time. Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    I'll just start off by saying that the biggest problem with this game, is that there is simply not enough content, especially if you are not interested in replaying the same missions over again to beat it on the highest difficulty and beat your friends. There are ten single player missions, each of which can roughly be completed in about 4-5 minutes, so if you do the math, thats right timmy, the game can be beat in under an hour. However, the game is refreshingly challenging, so in reality, especially if you play it on higher difficulties, you could easily double your time with the single player operations mode, but then again, that's still only two hours. Thankfully though, the single player doesn't stop there. There are time trials to complete with cardboard targets too shoot, which was a lot of fun, and hostiles mode, which is effectively a somewhat stripped down version of the MW3 survival mode. I am a huge fan of survival modes so I got a big kick out of hostiles, especially since it was also quite challenging. I would have liked to see some more weapon customization and more strategizing between waves (between each wave all you can do is pick up a dropped care package) but still, fans of survival based gameplay should enjoy it, however, keep in mind that hostiles is not cooperative, which is a downside. Ofcourse, single player is only half of the game, or if you have the attitude of the majority of COD players, 10% of the game. Multiplayer in BOD is surprisingly well fleshed out, and although it does have some omissions, (killcams, no in game voice chat, no weapon camo) it does a fantastic job of translating and replicating the intense fast paced combat of its console brothers with killstreaks, tons of gun customizations, perks, custom loadouts and the like. Just like COD on consoles, its far too easy to get sucked in to the multiplayer and refuse to put the game down. But, unfortunatley, there are some key problems that detract from the multiplayer, and one of these issues is common to the problems I had with singleplayer: lack of content. There are only six maps, and most of them are very tiny and somewhat cramped. Nukehouse is basically nuketown cut in half, which gets really crazy really fast, which you will either love or hate. Personally, I would have preffered if they had just left nuketown untouched. Ultimately, it makes sense that the maps in this game are so small, since the game has a limit of 8 players, and the smaller maps do do a pretty adequate job of hiding this fact, but its brings spawning and other issues to the forefront. Even though one of the maps is a nearly exact replica of COD4's shipment (awesome!) I would have preffered more maps with a larger variety of game modes. Multiplayer also only has four game modes (team DM, kill confirmed, free for all, and a mode called drop zone) much fewer weapons, very few perks, some of which aren't even that useful, and a small amount of kill streaks that are somewhat unbalanced. The 10 kill streak attack chopper can be shot down with 1 quick shot of a rocket launcher, which makes the final and most difficult killstreak to achieve not very rewarding. However the most annoying problem with the multiplayer is the gliches and connection problems. Very frequently I would wait to load a match only to have it instantly revert back to the main menu, a few times I was abruptly disconnected from a match with no notice or pop up that said why this happened. I will say however that when connecting to a match did work, it was very quick. Glitches were also unfortunatley common. Expect to see attack choppers and spy planes stuck in the ground, among other things. All in all though, the multiplayer can be a blast if your able to work around some of the issues I have discussed. If there one thing I cant say about BOD, its that it plays poorly. This is the exact gameplay you know and love wonderfully translated to the vita. The framerate is generally very smooth, and the controls work extremely well. These are bar none the best controls I have ever experienced for a handheld shooter, even if throwing grenades can be a little cumbersome at times. Graphics are also surprisingly decent, there are some uglies at time but looks good on the whole. Sound is also good.

    Even with all the problems I have discussed, this game still gets a 7 because this game plays nearly as good on the vita as it does on consoles, which is a huge feat. When your zipping around the multiplayer maps shooting up your enemies with all the speed and precision you'd expect from a COD title, or pushing through hostiles to show your friends whose boss, its easy to forget the numerous shortcomings of this game. This game has the potential to be great, but unfortunatley Activision gave Nihilistic the shaft with a low budget, no advertising and a ridiculously short development period. BOD declassified is better than it could've been, but not as good as it should've been.
    Expand
  36. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand the low scores this game has been getting. I have had it for a week now, and I love it. I am not trying to justify my purchase, it is a fun game, sure the ai is terrible, and the campaign is too short, but it's still fun, and so is the multiplayer.
  37. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    I agree 100% with Drumhead19's review. I could not have said it better myself. I gave it a slightly lower rating than Drumhead19 as the narrative for the campaign could have been better and the AI could have been better. I did play MP last night and was having some solid fun.
  38. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Was very surprised by this game. Bought the whole Vita/Black Ops bundle on black friday for 200 and I wasnt expecting much from the game because of the horrible reviews for it. The single player is typical Call of Duty, short but its no where near as well rounded as the console version. Kinda sucks honestly but where this game excels is the multiplayer. So much fun!!! I cant put it down and I find myself playing the vita version over my ps3. Everything is there except smaller which is exactly what the vita is. Stop expecting it to be on par with the console versions and you will find hours and hours of enjoyment in this game. Gave it a 10 even though it deserves an 8 to boost all the haters scores. Expand
  39. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    It's very disappointing that this game doesn't even match the quality of Modern Combat 3 for iPhone. However the multiplayer is fun enough to save the shallow campaign mode.
  40. Jul 1, 2013
    1
    When they ported Black Ops, they could have at least kept in everything that made black ops great, not strip it down to the bone and remove any substance of greatness that it had. Zombies, gone, SP, Short and unsatisfying and for the MP, wow, hardly any maps, half the guns, 8 players, hard to find a game and last but not least, it looks horrible. It's already been proven that the PS-Vita has enough power to make a game look beautiful, Uncharted was near identical to it's console counterpart. The only explanation is that the team that made the port were just terrible at coding and had about the same thinking power as a pea.

    Plus why do portable counterparts always have to be stripped down?, especially condiering that there is nothing about the PS-Vita that makes it a weak platform, it has more than enough power and more than enough memory on it's game cards to support the full version of Black Ops, if the Wii can, the Vita can, this is lazy developers looking for a quick buck at it's best.

    Didn't Rockstar prove with GTA LCS and VCS that a portable game doesn't have to be a featureless port? They rebuilt the entire world of Liberty City and built an entire new backstory around it, with a lengthy campaign and tons extra to do, with the things that made the console games great.

    Call Of Duty Black Ops: Declassified, Does not include anything that made the console version great.
    Expand
  41. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    shockingly high amount of single user review reviews here that stink of the game developers making them here. I loved the guy who suggested it took him 7 hours to complete? the game has it's whole campaign on youtube already and it's completed in under 40mins. well done.
  42. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Terrible game. Only given good reviews by people desperate to justify spending their money on this bomb. Save your money and go and buy something else, ANYTHING else.
  43. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Just plain terrible. Call of Duty is a quality series with an awful fanbase, but Declassified is a terrible entry that even the CoD fanbase knows to steer clear of. All the people giving this game a 10 are obviously massive Kony Cumpooper Unentertainment fanboys that want to see their "precious" Vita (or should I say Mortis) outsell actually good gaming systems. The way you do it isn't lying to the consumer and disguising bad games with perfect 10s, damn it. Expand
  44. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    This game was sentenced to die. Sony and Activision gave the game to Nihilistic Software, who was already working on Resistance Burning Skies. Both games suffered from this decision, because neither game had enough development time to make them anything better than mediocre. Most of the positive reviews are people trying to justify their purchase. Not worth your time or money. Do not support this game otherwise more crappy games will come. Vote with your wallet. Expand
  45. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    I went to my neighbor's house because they are the only ones with a Vita nearby. Asked to try this game. Beat it during the time I was at their house (In about an hour).

    I think thats a nuff said. The online may be decent, but this doesn't live up to the COD name and it doesn't help that this isn't a true reflection of Vita's capabilities.
  46. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I love this game! A big improvement from Resistance Burning Skies! The Online is basically Black Ops on the consoles. The hostiles mode is good and so are the Operation Missions. Great game!
  47. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Nihilistic goes out with a bang! Declassified has everything one would want from a portable CoD effort: Bite-sized campaign missions, AI waves (but not zombies), and fantastic 4v4 online multiplayer. I'm blown away by how fluid the multiplayer action is, too - especially considering how poor Resistance Burning Skies was. I digress. If you're looking for Call of Duty on the go, look no further than Declassified. It may just be the best portable FPS of all time. Expand
  48. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O melhor fps que qualquer portatil ja teve, acho que ele deve ser comparado como tal e não como fps de console de mesa apesar de ter como ambição. parabens pelo bom trabalho corrigindo o pessimo trabalho feito no resistance burning skies. Expand
  49. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    im really desapointed about this game, the campaing is ridiculous short, dont buy this game just for the name or because you are looking for a fps in vita, its not a right choice....
  50. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Without a shred of doubt the closest anyone has ever come to getting a full fledged FPS onto a portable console. Certainly not perfect but really commendable. Good job nihilistic, you're forgiven for Resistance: Burning Skies
  51. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Its really simple, this game has had effectively no exposure prior to launch which is really shocking for what could have been a system seller. After playing it for like 10 hours, have to say, its a 10/10 for a handheld. Fun singleplayer, relatively bug free and smooth multiplayer and a very authentic FPS/COD experience on the go. Get it!
  52. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    We all need to ignore this isn't a console game. The handheld will live up to its console brethren. I don't even care how good a game may be on the PSVITA, games are better on consoles, so its pointless to compare. However, considering what handhelds use to be like with game boys, sega game gears, virtual boys, and psp's, this particular COD game is very impressive. Graphics are not the best, but comparing it to past handhelds and even the PS2 the game looks great. Gameplay... Gameplay is the most important element to a successful game and I personally think they did a good job. The maps are too small, but it's a handheld. Who wants to run around a big map not finding someone to murder? Not me. I want to jump right in. There isn't a story mode, even though its trying to have one. People buying cod on the handheld are more interested in multiplayer anyways so, if you want to play a COD multiplayer game on the go or on the sofa while the wife hogs the television, than this is perfect. Multiplayer has all or most of the perks you'd find on the big brother game. People who are hating it either haven't played the game or they are hell bent on discouraging people from buying this game. The game deserves a solid 8. Expand
  53. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    The multiplayer alone makes the game deserve probably a 6. It's nothing close to the same experience you'll get on pc or consoles, however for a handheld this does some things pretty well. I had little difficulty adjusting to the gameplay on the Vita, and found that the multiplayer still felt just like Call of Duty. It's a bit more sluggish, and takes a little adjusting, but ultimately it's pretty fun. This is coming from a consumer who got the game free with the Vita bundle. I would not recommend anyone go out of their way to buy this game for $50, that's just not fair. However, if you can grab a copy on ebay for around $20 or and you want Call of Duty on the go, this really is not near as bad as the critics have hammered it. Cheers! Expand
  54. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general
  55. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Many of you may be enjoying this game for what it is, but the reality is, it's a shadow of what it could and should have been. It was stunted by a short deadline and a poor developer, but that's fixable.
    Now I'm not sure in nStigate is still responsible for the patches or if Activision has fully taken over, but here are some of the things I believe could revive the name of portable CoD
    and maybe even sell more Vitas. ADD AIM ACCELLERATION. One of the staples of the CoD experience is the aim accleration. This helps fine aiming and allows for quick movement at the same time. BOD does not have this, turning is done at a fixed rate of speed. The introduction of aim acceleration like its console brothers would really enhance the experience. SHORTEN GRENADE FUSES AND THROW ANIMATION TIMES. They are way too slow. It's very important to be able to chuck out a flash as you retreat, and if my character is stuck fumbling with the pin and trying to remember how to throw, I can't use flashes to their full capability. Also, grenade timers are too long. Match grenade timers and throw times with the console versions. FIX AUTO-SPRINT This is a broken feature, whoever designed it should be shot. It never works for more than a consecutive second or two without glitching in and out of sprint, and if I turn it off, I can no longer sprint. Bring back Resistance's feature of double-tapping the rear touchpad. That was perfect. MAKE HOSTILES MODE MULTIPLAYER. Good Lord, what were you thinking? Taking out Zombies and then making the survival mode you replaced it with single player? Please, please fix this.
    INCREASE AI DIFFICULTY BY 100 IQ POINTS. They see through walls, but don't seem to care that there is a wall there as they shoot at it, and throw grenades at it. AI needs a complete redo, TBH. MORE MAPS. I will gladly pay for them. But please, make them a little bigger. Spwaning in front of the enemy is no fun. ADD S&D, Domination, and Headquarters. These are staples of the CoD experience. Please put them back in. Also, Sony, you need to fix the input lag times for the analog sticks. It's very noticeable, especially in FPS games.
    Expand
  56. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Very disappointing, to say the least. Declassified should've been a polished and impressive FPS debut for the franchise, however, sadly, it's anything but. Featuring very rough graphics, such as textures that are poorly done, as well as an inconsistent framerate, Declassified shows the bare minimum effort in making a functional game and then stopping there. So it's even worse than the game often doesn't work. The online has been having issues, including random disconnects, not very smooth online play once you get into a match, etc. So at least you have a good single player, right? Wrong. There's less than an hour of single player in Declassified. This is, quite frankly, the worst Vita game I've played. Expand
  57. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    Jack Tretton from Sony should resign or be fired. He mismanaged the Vita from the start. Call Of Duty is a bigger mess than Resistance Burning Skies. Sony and Activision should have given Nihilistic the boot. It was clearly obvious that Declassified was horrible cause Activision didn't endorse it on their website. The Vita should be renamed the Morte the latin name for death cause the Vita is beyond saving. Expand
  58. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    I take this game for what a Call of Duty game has always been for me: a fun multiplayer experience. With all due respect, I have never enjoyed the Single Player campaign in a Call of Duty game all that much and was glad that a hefty chunk of it was taken out to focus on why everyone buys it, which is the multiplayer. Multiplayer is solid, has the same perks and level system from console iterations and overall is an enjoyable experience. The reviews from critics are actually a little shocking to me. I rate this game one point higher than I would have normally in hopes that it will compensate for the unnecessarily poor Critic reviews. If you are on the fence, proceed with caution. It would not hurt to wait until it went down in price. That being said, this is Call of Duty multiplayer on a handheld and it is done in a respectable manner, in my opinion. Expand
  59. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasis on teamwork and less camping for killstreaks. Cannot wait to be playing this on my lunch break :-) Expand
  60. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    It's definitely a Call of Duty. It looks and plays like one. The singleplayer modes are fun enough. The multiplayer is kind of Black Ops Lite. The main problem I've encountered with it is that it's so buggy online. You'll get dropped from games constantly, you'll have trouble even connecting to a game, or you'll be the only person on one team, versus all four people from their team. Worst of all, I doubt Nihilistic will fix any of this, seeing as how they no longer exist. It's a surprisingly good game, but a really disappointing multiplayer experience. Expand
  61. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    my xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lacking in the writing department and are a bit bland but are a challenge especially on hardened. multiplayer has a few glitches which a patch will fix in a week or so but is really fun. even if its quite tight. best portable f.p.s made. Expand
  62. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    Having played the Multiplayer of the game for 2+ I believe I can safely say that Nihlistic have done a good job here, at least on that part, and maybe with the Hostiles mode, the single player is shoddy at best, not much of a story and small missions that you can complete quickly, the graphics are not amazing by any stretch of the imagination but they do the job here, I haven't run into many frame rate issues, sometimes it will happen when I'm shooting 2 people and they are shooting back, but most time it runs smoothly. The Hostiles mode is like the one on the Modern Warfare series of COD, where you and teammates will fight waves of enemies, at the end of each wave a crate is dropped for you to pick up a weapon from to help you against harder waves of enemies. Wish it was Zombies though. Now then the MultiPlayer the only reason why anyone would buy a COD game, its here, the mini COD, the best shooter on the VITA and to me best game on the VITA, I'm a huge Uncharted fan but this game is really good in the multiplayer aspect, I've had a really good time on it, the controls to me haven't been all that hard to get used to, the snap in when scoping is also a nice touch when shooting or it probably would've been harder, the touchscreen controls are also really nicely done here, with the grenades and knife on the right side and your killstreaks on the left, tapping these will immediately activate them. I see some people complaining about the controls so I would recommend maybe turning up the sensitivity to see if that helps, but I have had no trouble with it so far. Also another nice touch is the smaller maps and the quicker respawn, giving players a small map means you can immediately get back into the action and quickly re spawning means there is no wait for the enemy. There are many guns to choose from here, there are only two snipers here which seemed pointless to put them in because the maps won't work with them. Oooh before I forget I sometimes have trouble connecting to an online match, basically what will happen is I will join the game but I will be dropped out before the game starts, or in a few occasions be dropped out when i'm in the middle of a game, which in these instances it seems like everybody playing the game drops out, this happened quite a few times and is really annoying, so if you get into a good game where you haven't been dropped out of I recommend staying there as it might be hard to find another one, however I think that this can be fixed with an update to the game.

    All in all the multiplayer feels and plays like a COD game, the graphics aren't the best on consoles so why expect something amazing here? Hostiles mode is fun but holds nothing to Multiplayer which is the bread and butter of this game here, and when I said this is the best game on the VITA I meant it. So far I have not had any fun on most VITA games, Uncharted and Liberation are probably the most fun, but for some reason I just can't stop playing this for the moment.

    If you want to play with just add LFC_Onder8
    Expand
  63. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    every one who give this game a high score is really play it not like all the battlefield fan boys who give it a low score and they even not try the game but want to harm the score and they must now that the most favorite shooter game is cod
  64. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    i think this is a must buy game for any vita owners do not miss all the fun in this game the multiplayer is a blast wow i love you call of duty black ops declassified
  65. NT1
    Nov 17, 2012
    2
    This is the biggest **** for a PS Vita owner. What I expected was a action packed single player like the other CoD games. Instead, this game is meant for multiplayer, and multiplayer only. I DONT WANT TO PLAY MULTIPLAYER ON A HANDHELD!!! Because it's crap and i don't want an online experience. I want to play a thrilling single player with lots of explosions and **** Nothing thrilling on this. Buy Resistance Burning Skies instead. Expand
  66. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    I don't see how people would buy Vita to get this game only, but is the only CoD that is actually fun to play in a PORTABLE device... Its arcade-style of gameplay don't make me sick of playing, most complaints are from 'hardcore' CoD players that find superiority on the Console and PC versions, and frankly they are right, but that doesn't bring this game down... The major issue is that Activision released this together with BO2, same thing that did Ubisoft, making players choose the Console official game rather than the Portable spin-off... Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    It is frustrating the lack of official reviews, and its obvious way really..
    No agenda at the end of the day as far as I'm concerned.
    I've been gaming since early 80s.. Know what in talking, clearly the guy reviewing for pocket gamer has no idea or is being slightly hysterical..
    It's a fantastic game, very good graphics, sound, superb gameplay..
    Hostiles= brilliant on the train..
    Campaign is short but lots of fun..
    It is a true hand hold call of duty!!! I don't know why everybody is being so picky..
    Seriously.. It's amazing but it for yourself.. You will be playing it for months to come..
    Online is amazing even though I get my ass kicked a lot..
    An yes it's true, the reason resistance was so poorly put together because obviously all efforts were focused on call of duty declassified!
    But it today and don't listen to silly so called reviewers shooting it down..
    Amazing feat. The king is impressed
    Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    I've picked this game today along with the Black ops 2 itself for pc, I do not want to compare this game to Black Ops 2 since its simply a sequel to Black Ops I. Well No one ever forced sony to give this franchise to Nihilistic ! sony could buy themselves a huge score with these games....unfortunately that is only a dream. Its shame to see the single player is completed over 3-4 hours on veteran diffuclty, there is not much a story there as well....the gameplay is only limited only walking toward different alleys where the design of all of em looks quiet similar and just like resistance very dead and killing some enemies which are positioned behinde the boxed around ...
    Multiplayer experience is much better than it was on resistance although it has nth to be compared with black ops 1 itself....
    graphics are as bad as they were in Resistance, just the frame rate is more stable .... in generall its not in a same level with Uncharted, AC, NFS at all....
    well dun waste money for this game since there are much more better choices such as NFS and perhaps AC and of corz awesome choices like Zero Escape, Persona 4, LBP
    Expand
  69. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    After all the stories on the that this was going to be really bad, I find myself not that surprised that it is no where near the horror story people believed it would be.

    This is a very enjoyable game, that while not my personal favourite cuppa...I am finding it to be a nice beverage after all the hype.

    I would give it a 9 when it reaches the £25 mark in the shops I usually
    like to spend on games.

    I mark this as a Vita game and for the purpose I use my Vita....I am not comparing it with any of the PS3 games.
    Expand
  70. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    What a shame. The game is incredibly unimpressive given the system it's on license it is supposed to represent. I find it astonishing that users here rate games like halo 4 and black ops 2 down, but put all their support behind this unfinished turd in alpha state. Nihilistic changed its name during development, I suspect it's to avoid any connection with this game in the future. Resistance burning skies was actually better than this game. Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    DUmb Ai , awful graphics, soldiers giving a pose before shooting, tiny tiny maps, made by nihilistic what can u expect nothing really , dont buy this crap.
  72. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Call of Duty Black Ops:Declassified was the very first COD on the Vita, but how did it stack up? GRAPHICS: We know that the Vita can handle some amazing graphics,but we're not at that stage in the Vita's lifetime yet.But the the graphics have gradually been improving. I'd say, this is probably the best looking game for the Vita thus far. CONTROLS: Hey, they work. At first, it will feel pretty weird playing the game, but spend a little time and it'll feel just fine.

    STORY:


    Well, that's the thing. There is no story. There is a "Campaign" mode, which isn't really the proper term,
    because it's more like a bunch of missions. 10 missions to be exact. There aren't that many, and it honestly won't take you
    that long. As the name of the game says, "Declassified", The missions are all based on classified missions
    that the characters: Alex Mason and Frank Woods from the original game took part in, aside from the original
    story of the first one. So. No, there really is no story in this one.
    There is also a Hostiles mode, which is similar to the one in MW3. Waves of enemies come at you as you try to survive. Pretty straight-forward.

    MULTIPLAYER:


    Single-Player wise..there really isn't much content, I'd say the main seller for this game, and basically the
    entirety of the bulk of this game is the Multiplayer. 4 v 4 matches honestly aren't that bad. There are 6
    maps and they do feel really crowded, and despite the controls being fine, it just feels awkward sometimes online.
    But I'm not trying to bash the game here. It's definitely fun. VERDICT:


    I've been hearing a lot of negative feedback from this game, and I can understand why. Content wise there isn't alot
    and the price was pretty high. Would you want to pay $50 for a game with a pretty rushed single player experience
    and mostly focused on the multiplayer? Like I said, and I will say it again: What the game lacks in single player, it definitely
    makes up for it in multiplayer. It sure is fun playing it, and let me tell you, when you play this game with friends
    over the Vita Party Voice-Chat..it's just a great time. The multiplayer isn't anything too innovative though, and is classic COD multiplayer but hey. This is literally the 2nd FPS for the Vita..so we got to be a bit more forgiving. If anything,
    this game feels like a first step. I feel other developers can learn from this game and make better, improved FPS's.


    7/10 for me. All the single player aspects really could've been improved, they felt rushed, and felt like
    not much thought was put in. The multi player is the bulk of this game, for the 2nd FPS on the Vita, it's still
    pretty fun, not bad at all, but of course there is still much room for improvement.
    Expand
  73. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    So they can port Mortal Kombat, Need for Speed Most Wanted, Ratchet & Clank, Playstation All Stars, Persona 4. Make decent games such as AC:Liberation and LBP... SO WHY ON EARTH DID THEY NOT PORT THE MULTI STRAIGHT TO THE VITA AND HAVE CROSS PLAY! Avoid this game like the plague.
  74. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Wow this is bad. After playing Black Ops 2 on Xbox 360, I thought it couldn't get any worse. But then I played this. The campaign is very short and on rails. Definitely not worth even close to $50.
  75. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My thoughts with about an hour of play as nobody else has reviewed yet: This game will sell Vitas. I've just hit level 3 on both mission and multi, and this is loads of fun. Perks, streaks etc is all there, fast network with very little lag on WiFi, its exactly what you think it could/hoped it would be. Sure its smaller maps, and watered down graphically from ps3, but this is a handheld unit, and I think too many already draw that comparison with all console game conversions. It feels slick to play, and my first impressions are all very positive. Campaign obviously isn't going to be as immersive as a console, but again I think they've done the franchise proud in representing the king of fps on a handheld. Must buy game IMO. Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Wow this game is actually good. took about 7 hours to complete. fun, addictive like the console version. as of now this is the Vita game to own(beside liberation and uncharted) If you love long hours online than get this game. Single player? Like all COD games you'll put that to rest after one try. grab this game now, now!!!
  77. IBY
    Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ok, let me start by saying that Activition has made a faithful attempt to give Cod fanatics a enthralling and fast-paced FPS as we all know and respect it to be. After a few hours gameplay, i'm yet to find any glitches so the smoothness of the game took me by surprise, the game is impressive graphically but obviously toned down to suit its capabilities. The main killsteaks are included but i would of preferred a few more options when choosing. Aiming down the site is beautiful not to mention doing a 360 sniper kill! All the guns from the previous black ops are included as you would expect . My only dissapointment about the game was that Search & Destroy and Domination was not included in the game modes, with these game modes the game would of easily been a PS Vita legend. overall, i reccommend this to any Call of Duty fan as this Action-packed beauty will keep you occupied daily. Expand
  78. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I must say I'm a bit surprised how good COD Declassified actually is! Considering Nihilistic was the developer and I was a little disappointed with Resistance Burning Skies, COD Declassified definitely has a much more refined feel to just about everything in the game from gameplay to graphic. I can already tell with just 3+ hours time spent playing that the survival mode is pretty addicting and will make Call Of Duty Declassified my most played Vita game even after I've 3 stared all the campaign mission. Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    bought this game last night, all i can say is it plays and looks AWESOME! maybe not exactly like the console version but the multiplayer is wonderfull. call of duty multiplayer in the palm of ur hand! :) ENJOY!
  80. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Call of Duty Declassified is a must have for any Vita own, the game-play is really impressive and you can take a lot of joy out the maps. the visuals are crisp and the controls are sweet, but sometimes i tend to struggle when throwing a stun lol. The only thing i would like to see included is zombies and a few more game modes such as domination and search and destroy. Qverall, brilliant game, i just about put the game down so i can write this review, anyway back to playing for another 6 hours. Expand
  81. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I like many vita owners was worried when, I saw those first few clips of cod vita, I was upset, and gave up hope before the game even had any proper gameplay footage!, Also terrible websites like ign, was putting me off with their terrible reviews.. I've learnt go to lots of web sites not just one, because one person suger is another persons salt!, its an opinion ask for more.

    also the
    devs who made this game also made rburning sky.. which was..turd!

    however, they have redeemed them selves, in making a brilliant shooter, im so happy after doing homework watching a few clips on youtube!.. yes youtube, the game had me interested!, so I took the risk, and so happy I did

    the ingame gameplay, isn't like the black ops 2 to for console which I also own, and loving, but its more bite sized, but great fun, very addictive!, every thing else is the same fast paces addictive, and best looking shooter on handheld ever it looks like black ops 1 on console, brilliant!

    multiplayer is where this game is at, and dont be fooled just because its 4 v 4 don't think you wont be in a gun fight, it has the feel of a console multiplayer you will love it!, controls are great only after 3 or 4 goes it became natural!

    I now feel bad about the things i wrote on forums about the game, this is cod at its best! buy it!!!

    A bit of advice to who ever does advertising for vita, more gameplay less bs adverts, people on youtube did all the hard work, and help me buy this game!

    BUY IT... I also bought need for speed another must have for vita owners, I think the vita will be fine, after a year of uncertainty I now know its capable of bringing great games like the console big brothers!.

    BUY IT NOW.
    Expand
  82. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    So surprised by this game. I've just finished AC3:Liberation and Ragnarok Odyssey so decided to pick this up despite the absolute lack of trailers, screenshots, etc. Previews from several gaming sites like IGN weren't too hot either. However, after booting it up and spending some time on multiplayer, I have to give it a 10. It's practically, a downsized, compacted version of the home console multiplayer. 4V4 only but combined with the small maps, it makes for frantic, fun gameplay. It's also pretty much lag and bug free.A good analogy for this would be that Black Ops liberation compared to Black Ops 2 is like the Ipad mini vs the Ipad 4th gen, its smaller, less graphically impressive, yet holds all the joy of the larger version in a smaller package you can bring anywhere you want. Extremely impressed and very pleasantly surprised by Nihilistic. Great job!!! Expand
  83. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Just like everyone else so far, I am completely surprised at how well this game actually came out after playing the mediocre Resistance: Burning Skies by Nihilistic earlier this year. Definitely the best FPS to come to handheld hands down.
  84. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I regret that I bought this game. It is so horrible. Play just not interested. The levels are boring and monotonous, as weapons. AI is awful and nothing can take, so bad. Multiplayer is boring and dull, but the schedule is awful as the levels from the artistic point of view.
  85. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Сониблядь пришла к врачу, В игор я играть хочу, Помогите мне с проблемой, Денег горы заплачу. Только слышится ответ - На плейстейшон игор нет Есть кинцо, мыльцо, унчартед, Игр ты будешь ждать сто лет. Что же делать? Как тут быть? Где же игры раздобыть? И пришлося сонишлюхе все ж ПеКа себе купить. На ПеКа как на ПеКа, жизнь прекрасна и легка. Есть фолач второй, планетка, Игры просто на века. Можно клипы рисовать, фотошопом баловать, Можно даже и вишмастер всем ньюфагам раздавать. Вот проснулась сониблядь Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general. The MP is quite entertaining though... 5,5 Collapse
  87. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I was really surprised by how good this game is, They did a awesome job on single player and multiplayer. I think the developer should be pleased and this will definately sell Vitas.
  88. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Pure COD in yours hand, if you want more buy the x360/PS3 version. It´s reduced, next version maybe will be best, has a very short campaign... but the feeling playing is like all the COD.
  89. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    It´s very good. It´s a good game. Graphics looks perfect. Control is very good. It´s COD in a great state. Campaing is 2 hours, but is funny of turn play. Online goes perfect
  90. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This is the first handheld true cod experience and in that way it succeeds. The graphics are allot better than expected and so is the game play. It is very fun to play and does feels like cod without question. I highly recommend this game. However on the minus sides its only 4 x 4 multilayer but I heard it was due to the vitals party limitations, it has not got enough maps (although downloads hopefully will add more). Nihlistic has done a fabulous job at the same. It is allot better than every expected and hopefully it will help vita success. Buy this game now. Expand
  91. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is the must have vita title. Graphics are much improved over resistance: burning skies as well as controls. Sounds are much better but still slightly compressed. it has almost everything the console version has. Which is a huge plus considering it shouldnt be compared. Many maps are small which make for a great free for all match of up to 8 players or 4 vs 4 team games. Anyone giving this game low scores is just doing it to lower the metacritic score. I have AC3, Uncharted: GOlden Abyss, NFS: Most Wanted, MGS3 HD, Resistance, and more games for my vita but this is by far the very best available. A Short single player campaign but its made for portable playing dont expect the usual CoD campaign. The multiplayer is unmatched by any other game available on a portable. vitas game of the year. Expand
  92. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Picked this up today and was a bit sceptic due to the fact that no reviews could be found anywhere before this game came out but the gamble paid off as this is actually really good! A couple of the multiplayer maps are too small but the actual gameplay is solid COD. Rank system is as in-depth as ever and I found myself constantly playing just one more game to try and unlock that extra attachment. Despite the appalling rip off that was Fifa 13 and a few unplayable games, this looks to be a good year for Vita overall with the likes of LBP, NFSMW, AC, and finally this. Would recommend. Expand
  93. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Surprised by the quality after all the doom and gloom!
    It's excellent hope it helps sell some vitas!! Looks better graphically than the old trailers which nearly killed this game

    Thanks god it's good!!!
  94. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Way better than I expected, graphics, multiplayer, low on maps and only 4x4 but it plays great and really feels like COD. Singleplayer is too short, but I never played it anyway in console, I will be playing this game for months since I travel a lot. It's a bit expensive but well worth it, well done Niihilistic, incredible but true.
  95. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    I'll preface this by saying that I have barely played the game, just picked it up while grabbing coffee this morning and snuck in the tutorial and first singleplayer OP. Thus far, it does feel much more like a CoD game than Burning Skies felt like a Resistance game...
    However, it seems like some of the sound effects are indeed lifted directly from that other Nihilistic title. I'm not
    playing with headphones on currently, but yeah, gunfire sounds similarly lackluster. However, the visuals and the feel of the game are right in line with your average CoD experience on a console. Big dumb Michael Bay style action movie sequences, breaching doors and taking people out in slow-mo, plenty of explosions.
    The enemy AI is a little retarded, just like in Burning Skies. They just suddenly spawn on the map once you get to certain points. And sometimes they just immediately know where you are and start taking potshots at you.
    Overall the singleplayer "campaign" appears to be more fun than Burning Skies was. Will chime in with more comments when I've had some time to play with headphones for full sound immersion, but this game isn't as terrible as we feared. Still not sure the price was warranted...
    But for perspective, let's take a look at a screenshot from the NDS version of Black Ops I. Going to go out on a limb and say that Declassified is the best handheld CoD ever.
    I'd love to post some screenshots of my playthrough, but apparently screenshots are disabled in Declassified. Which is annoying... like they did not want people with press copies posting their own screens??
    Expand
  96. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Well down Nihilistic! A big step up from Resistence Burning Skies. Its not perfect but it sets the basis for future Call of Dutys on the vita. Multiplayer is very entertaining and will have longevity. Must have for vita owners.
  97. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game has exceeded my expectations. The short missions in campaign mode is great for on the go however there should be more (DLC maybe?). The multiplayer works well and I have had a ball playing. Nihilistic deserve more respect for their effort especially as Resistance was so far off the mark. This is a solid game and I am glad I purchased before being put off by misguided reviews on game websites such as IGN (not out yet but bound to be negative knowing them). The game should probably sit around 8.0 however I see a lot of ratings sitting at 0 which simply cannot be legit therefore I have scored the game a 10 to help balance things up. Expand
  98. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I gave the game an 8.5 because of how fluid it ran, how well the controls work, and how closely it resembles the call of duty formula. Everyones been talking about what this game could have been, but unlike resistance, this game keeps the cod formula intact, and is a great stepping stone. If the next iteration is too similar, then knock it points for what it could have been. But this is a great portable title for on-the-go gaming Expand
  99. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    if you consider that the cost of this portable title is almost equal the PC/360 counterparts you should be expecting the same amount of content and depth in the game. Instead you get 10 missions without any story that you can play through in an hour and multi player which is more like baby multiplayer with handful of maps/weapons etc.. Playing the game is very similar to hugely unsuccessful Resistance for Vita from the same developer - it isn't bad, and the multiplayer works better this time around - but it's just lacking on all fronts. If this game cost £5 like games on Appstore it would be great value for money - for £34.99 we should expect much more than this.. SONY should really reconsider how much they are charging us for Vita games... Expand
  100. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is like the earliest formula of this gens call of duty like world at war or modernwarfare which is not a bad thing at all, im not going to compare it graphically gameplay wise with its console counterparts because it's an entirely different game and is tailored to portable gaming for what this game offers its really good it is the call of duty experience in your hands on the move its great fun im sick and tired of seeing g reviews comparing it to consoles and giving it crap scores just because it's not black ops 2, this game has abetted user score than black ops. But seriously buy this game it's worth it lots of replay value great visuals for a handheld can only get better in time when optimisation of the software starts to kick in you won't regret have fun and PS pardon my bad wording etc using my phone Expand
  101. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I'm very disappointed with this game. All over scripted rail shooter. This fps has one of the stupidest stories I have ever come across in a game,the characters are boring. The graphics are mediocore at best and bad at worst. This game is very short also,you can complete it in about 5 hours,definataly not worth your time and money.Horrible map design, horrible game design in general. The MP is quite entertaining though... 5,5 Collapse
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.