User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This game will sell Vita's.
    I didn't expect much from this game, however, I purchased it yesterday and I am very pleased.
    The frame rate is great, the loading times aren't to bad. There are a lot of multiplayer options like dropzone kill confirmed, a survival mode, a campaign, its all there. The Uzi and the M60 are so far my favorite weapons. Finally we have a CoD for a handheld that
    This game will sell Vita's.
    I didn't expect much from this game, however, I purchased it yesterday and I am very pleased.
    The frame rate is great, the loading times aren't to bad. There are a lot of multiplayer options like dropzone kill confirmed, a survival mode, a campaign, its all there.
    The Uzi and the M60 are so far my favorite weapons.
    Finally we have a CoD for a handheld that kicks butt!
    This will be one of those games that when people only own one game, this will be it.
    @Pocket Gamer UK nice pre-mature review. Since we all know that this game wasn't given out to reviewers before the game. You video game critics are the biggest joke in the industry.
    Its like how you douches always slam all the asian video games because you don't understand them or appreciate them for what they are trying to do. But then you guys rate all the final fantasies that are vintage re-releases a 9/10 when really its just the same thing. You pander to the sheep.
    Well guess what, there is a user score section for meta-score for those of us that spend hard earned cash for our games and guess what. We say this game is good so screw off!
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    I just don't understand why professional reviewers are giving this game such low marks. The characters play smoothly, shooting is great (with some aim assist), the multiplayer is the usual cod experience, with minor differences. The graphics are not as good as in Uncharted, but they're nice - much better than Resistance: Burning Skies, for example, which deserved all the bad marks itI just don't understand why professional reviewers are giving this game such low marks. The characters play smoothly, shooting is great (with some aim assist), the multiplayer is the usual cod experience, with minor differences. The graphics are not as good as in Uncharted, but they're nice - much better than Resistance: Burning Skies, for example, which deserved all the bad marks it received. I'm glad I didn't pay too much attention to reviewers with this game. I'm giving it a 9 to compensate for the really bad reviews it had; I think the correct grade would be 8, actually. I think most people will enjoy this game. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Playing this and loving it... definitely a step up from Resistance Burning Skies and it certainly has the 'feel' of a real COD game - all it needs now is a nice raft of DLC cough *zombies* cough or some additional missions / modes / challenges. But even if it doesn't get DLC love I'll be playing this addictive shooter for some time to come!!
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This is basically Black Ops in your pocket. Following on from Black Ops 1 - set in the same era.
    Honestly - it's great. Don't listen to the critics or the haters who are upset they can't afford a premium game.
    If you want to play COD multiplayer on the go then this is it.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Do n NOT pay attention to these wanna be hippster review sites low balling this game for hits...if you want a portable CoD that has fun multiplayer, Declassified is your game, period.
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Graphics? Good. Gameplay and controls? Perfect.
    The game does exactly what it needs to. The multiplayer is great (only TINY level is nuketown but it's still not that bad), and with the 1.02 patch I get a full game in a matter of 3-5 seconds. The campaign is good for quick on the go missions but don't expect to be pulled into anything deep or meaningful. Just fun little missions. I'm
    Graphics? Good. Gameplay and controls? Perfect.
    The game does exactly what it needs to. The multiplayer is great (only TINY level is nuketown but it's still not that bad), and with the 1.02 patch I get a full game in a matter of 3-5 seconds. The campaign is good for quick on the go missions but don't expect to be pulled into anything deep or meaningful. Just fun little missions. I'm loving the multiplayer and my older brother couldn't put it down when I let him try it on my Vita. All he does is play COD multiplayer (all of them from MW2->BO->MW3->BO2) and he loved it. If you're into COD then do yourself the favor and pick it up. It's a great game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    To be honest it's a very good game. Of course some people expected a real console version, but from a Handheld view, this game is very good. I like the Unit13 kind of single player mode, this because it's a handheld version of COD and therefore it should give you a short entertainment. It's addictive. @Azinot, I think you have never really played Black ops or other FPS games from theTo be honest it's a very good game. Of course some people expected a real console version, but from a Handheld view, this game is very good. I like the Unit13 kind of single player mode, this because it's a handheld version of COD and therefore it should give you a short entertainment. It's addictive. @Azinot, I think you have never really played Black ops or other FPS games from the Franchise? Because the maps etc are pretty much in-line with the Franchise so I have a feeling that you try to troll the score! Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I just don't get it.
    Call of duty games are known for a short campaign mode and customizable online multiplayer.
    In this game is not different so the game is fine by me.
    A decent port, but nothing special
  9. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I expected this game to be complete garbage based on all the negative press it was receiving before its launch. However, I went ahead and bought it for my Vita and yesterday while waiting for a doctor's appointment I started in. The visuals and gun sounds are greatly improved since the TGS video that's out there. And the game is just plain fun. I've had a good time playing, and I'mI expected this game to be complete garbage based on all the negative press it was receiving before its launch. However, I went ahead and bought it for my Vita and yesterday while waiting for a doctor's appointment I started in. The visuals and gun sounds are greatly improved since the TGS video that's out there. And the game is just plain fun. I've had a good time playing, and I'm surprised at how well it controls. This is not the turd everyone predicted it will be. Haters gonna be hating. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Very suprised by the game, the Multiplayer is brilliant! The most time i've ever spent playing my vita! I sat on the sofa for 3 hours straight. No connection issues like R:BS had, no lag. Matchmaking is quick and they just patched in Ad-Hoc play! Great effort Nihilistic!
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Great story, great cards, many of the best oruzhie.Odna chastey.Vse just velikolepno.Rezhim otpad.Dolzhen buy every zombie!It is a shooter game goda.Eto bright
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like.First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like. Unit 13 was praised for this method and received a good score, but this game was punished for the exact same thing? As for the MP, I believe that this was done very well too because the maps need to be small to ensure non-stop action to accomodate the fact that you are playing 4v4. I'm sure there will be patches to stabilize the connectivity issue, but this happens to many games on console as well. I am not a COD fanboy by any means and I usually purchase the console versions way past their initial release date. Finally, if you are an avid trophy collector like myself, you will find that this game is not a walk in the park due to some very challenging trophies. The price is kinda steep for a handheld, but UC:GA was priced pretty high too and I soon forgot about it. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Wow, well my first thought is I'm relieved and pleasantly surprised...the trailer they previously released did not do what the finish product has done: Impress. This is a true Call of Duty for a handheld for the first time ever. It feels like the console versions with Perks, Killstreaks, lots of weapons and customizations; only more compact and tighter. So far I've barely touched theWow, well my first thought is I'm relieved and pleasantly surprised...the trailer they previously released did not do what the finish product has done: Impress. This is a true Call of Duty for a handheld for the first time ever. It feels like the console versions with Perks, Killstreaks, lots of weapons and customizations; only more compact and tighter. So far I've barely touched the campaign, I've played hostiles somewhat, and I've been rocking multiplayer A LOT (which matters the most, right?), and I'm thoroughly impressed. After playing Nihilistic's last effort Resistance: Burning Skies and trying really hard to like it, it just felt half-assed and unfinished. This doesn't feel that way (maybe R:BS was half-assed because they were working on this?), it feels much more polished, the movements, animations feel very much like a console COD. For any FPS fan and Vita owner I consider this a must buy. By the way, I don't play COD on consoles, hate them (I'm a BF3 player), but for the Vita it feels great. Good job, Nihilistic! Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Well surprise, surprise. I was one of the many foolish individuals who wrote off Black Ops: Declassified as a bad game from a bad developer. Before I played a single minute of gameplay I pre-judged this game. But then something interesting happened. People got copies of the game early and started posting gameplay footage and it looked pretty darn good. So I used a $25 Off coupon andWell surprise, surprise. I was one of the many foolish individuals who wrote off Black Ops: Declassified as a bad game from a bad developer. Before I played a single minute of gameplay I pre-judged this game. But then something interesting happened. People got copies of the game early and started posting gameplay footage and it looked pretty darn good. So I used a $25 Off coupon and traded in an old game to purchase BO:D this morning and it hasn't disappointed. Everything from Campaign, to Hostiles, to Multiplayer plays like classic CoD. It just FEELS right. Disregard the people who are silly enough to give this game a 0 (as well as those who give it a 10). While you're at it, disregard IGN's impending pathetic review in which they will likely give BO:D a much lower score than it deserves. The game is fun and it feels right. Shooting feels right. Perks are in. Killstreaks are in. Multiplayer is great. Is it a 10? No. Not enough maps or Single Player content to make it a 10. But it is classic CoD gameplay in your pocket. Best portable FPS ever. Buy it. Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand the low scores this game has been getting. I have had it for a week now, and I love it. I am not trying to justify my purchase, it is a fun game, sure the ai is terrible, and the campaign is too short, but it's still fun, and so is the multiplayer.
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Was very surprised by this game. Bought the whole Vita/Black Ops bundle on black friday for 200 and I wasnt expecting much from the game because of the horrible reviews for it. The single player is typical Call of Duty, short but its no where near as well rounded as the console version. Kinda sucks honestly but where this game excels is the multiplayer. So much fun!!! I cant put it downWas very surprised by this game. Bought the whole Vita/Black Ops bundle on black friday for 200 and I wasnt expecting much from the game because of the horrible reviews for it. The single player is typical Call of Duty, short but its no where near as well rounded as the console version. Kinda sucks honestly but where this game excels is the multiplayer. So much fun!!! I cant put it down and I find myself playing the vita version over my ps3. Everything is there except smaller which is exactly what the vita is. Stop expecting it to be on par with the console versions and you will find hours and hours of enjoyment in this game. Gave it a 10 even though it deserves an 8 to boost all the haters scores. Expand
  17. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I love this game! A big improvement from Resistance Burning Skies! The Online is basically Black Ops on the consoles. The hostiles mode is good and so are the Operation Missions. Great game!
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Nihilistic goes out with a bang! Declassified has everything one would want from a portable CoD effort: Bite-sized campaign missions, AI waves (but not zombies), and fantastic 4v4 online multiplayer. I'm blown away by how fluid the multiplayer action is, too - especially considering how poor Resistance Burning Skies was. I digress. If you're looking for Call of Duty on the go, look noNihilistic goes out with a bang! Declassified has everything one would want from a portable CoD effort: Bite-sized campaign missions, AI waves (but not zombies), and fantastic 4v4 online multiplayer. I'm blown away by how fluid the multiplayer action is, too - especially considering how poor Resistance Burning Skies was. I digress. If you're looking for Call of Duty on the go, look no further than Declassified. It may just be the best portable FPS of all time. Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Without a shred of doubt the closest anyone has ever come to getting a full fledged FPS onto a portable console. Certainly not perfect but really commendable. Good job nihilistic, you're forgiven for Resistance: Burning Skies
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Its really simple, this game has had effectively no exposure prior to launch which is really shocking for what could have been a system seller. After playing it for like 10 hours, have to say, its a 10/10 for a handheld. Fun singleplayer, relatively bug free and smooth multiplayer and a very authentic FPS/COD experience on the go. Get it!
  21. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    We all need to ignore this isn't a console game. The handheld will live up to its console brethren. I don't even care how good a game may be on the PSVITA, games are better on consoles, so its pointless to compare. However, considering what handhelds use to be like with game boys, sega game gears, virtual boys, and psp's, this particular COD game is very impressive. Graphics are not theWe all need to ignore this isn't a console game. The handheld will live up to its console brethren. I don't even care how good a game may be on the PSVITA, games are better on consoles, so its pointless to compare. However, considering what handhelds use to be like with game boys, sega game gears, virtual boys, and psp's, this particular COD game is very impressive. Graphics are not the best, but comparing it to past handhelds and even the PS2 the game looks great. Gameplay... Gameplay is the most important element to a successful game and I personally think they did a good job. The maps are too small, but it's a handheld. Who wants to run around a big map not finding someone to murder? Not me. I want to jump right in. There isn't a story mode, even though its trying to have one. People buying cod on the handheld are more interested in multiplayer anyways so, if you want to play a COD multiplayer game on the go or on the sofa while the wife hogs the television, than this is perfect. Multiplayer has all or most of the perks you'd find on the big brother game. People who are hating it either haven't played the game or they are hell bent on discouraging people from buying this game. The game deserves a solid 8. Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    I take this game for what a Call of Duty game has always been for me: a fun multiplayer experience. With all due respect, I have never enjoyed the Single Player campaign in a Call of Duty game all that much and was glad that a hefty chunk of it was taken out to focus on why everyone buys it, which is the multiplayer. Multiplayer is solid, has the same perks and level system from consoleI take this game for what a Call of Duty game has always been for me: a fun multiplayer experience. With all due respect, I have never enjoyed the Single Player campaign in a Call of Duty game all that much and was glad that a hefty chunk of it was taken out to focus on why everyone buys it, which is the multiplayer. Multiplayer is solid, has the same perks and level system from console iterations and overall is an enjoyable experience. The reviews from critics are actually a little shocking to me. I rate this game one point higher than I would have normally in hopes that it will compensate for the unnecessarily poor Critic reviews. If you are on the fence, proceed with caution. It would not hurt to wait until it went down in price. That being said, this is Call of Duty multiplayer on a handheld and it is done in a respectable manner, in my opinion. Expand
  23. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasisI've been playing FPS since Half Life and this game does not disappoint. The negative reviews are astounding. The online is excellent, the challenges and perks/customisation. To call the online unplayable is ridiculous. The campaign took me two hours less than black ops for the ps3. The online however I have played for about 8 hours or so. Absolutely love it. Great maps, increased emphasis on teamwork and less camping for killstreaks. Cannot wait to be playing this on my lunch break :-) Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    my xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lackingmy xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lacking in the writing department and are a bit bland but are a challenge especially on hardened. multiplayer has a few glitches which a patch will fix in a week or so but is really fun. even if its quite tight. best portable f.p.s made. Collapse
  25. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    Having played the Multiplayer of the game for 2+ I believe I can safely say that Nihlistic have done a good job here, at least on that part, and maybe with the Hostiles mode, the single player is shoddy at best, not much of a story and small missions that you can complete quickly, the graphics are not amazing by any stretch of the imagination but they do the job here, I haven't run intoHaving played the Multiplayer of the game for 2+ I believe I can safely say that Nihlistic have done a good job here, at least on that part, and maybe with the Hostiles mode, the single player is shoddy at best, not much of a story and small missions that you can complete quickly, the graphics are not amazing by any stretch of the imagination but they do the job here, I haven't run into many frame rate issues, sometimes it will happen when I'm shooting 2 people and they are shooting back, but most time it runs smoothly. The Hostiles mode is like the one on the Modern Warfare series of COD, where you and teammates will fight waves of enemies, at the end of each wave a crate is dropped for you to pick up a weapon from to help you against harder waves of enemies. Wish it was Zombies though. Now then the MultiPlayer the only reason why anyone would buy a COD game, its here, the mini COD, the best shooter on the VITA and to me best game on the VITA, I'm a huge Uncharted fan but this game is really good in the multiplayer aspect, I've had a really good time on it, the controls to me haven't been all that hard to get used to, the snap in when scoping is also a nice touch when shooting or it probably would've been harder, the touchscreen controls are also really nicely done here, with the grenades and knife on the right side and your killstreaks on the left, tapping these will immediately activate them. I see some people complaining about the controls so I would recommend maybe turning up the sensitivity to see if that helps, but I have had no trouble with it so far. Also another nice touch is the smaller maps and the quicker respawn, giving players a small map means you can immediately get back into the action and quickly re spawning means there is no wait for the enemy. There are many guns to choose from here, there are only two snipers here which seemed pointless to put them in because the maps won't work with them. Oooh before I forget I sometimes have trouble connecting to an online match, basically what will happen is I will join the game but I will be dropped out before the game starts, or in a few occasions be dropped out when i'm in the middle of a game, which in these instances it seems like everybody playing the game drops out, this happened quite a few times and is really annoying, so if you get into a good game where you haven't been dropped out of I recommend staying there as it might be hard to find another one, however I think that this can be fixed with an update to the game.

    All in all the multiplayer feels and plays like a COD game, the graphics aren't the best on consoles so why expect something amazing here? Hostiles mode is fun but holds nothing to Multiplayer which is the bread and butter of this game here, and when I said this is the best game on the VITA I meant it. So far I have not had any fun on most VITA games, Uncharted and Liberation are probably the most fun, but for some reason I just can't stop playing this for the moment.

    If you want to play with just add LFC_Onder8
    Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    every one who give this game a high score is really play it not like all the battlefield fan boys who give it a low score and they even not try the game but want to harm the score and they must now that the most favorite shooter game is cod
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    i think this is a must buy game for any vita owners do not miss all the fun in this game the multiplayer is a blast wow i love you call of duty black ops declassified
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    It is frustrating the lack of official reviews, and its obvious way really..
    No agenda at the end of the day as far as I'm concerned.
    I've been gaming since early 80s.. Know what in talking, clearly the guy reviewing for pocket gamer has no idea or is being slightly hysterical.. It's a fantastic game, very good graphics, sound, superb gameplay.. Hostiles= brilliant on the train..
    It is frustrating the lack of official reviews, and its obvious way really..
    No agenda at the end of the day as far as I'm concerned.
    I've been gaming since early 80s.. Know what in talking, clearly the guy reviewing for pocket gamer has no idea or is being slightly hysterical..
    It's a fantastic game, very good graphics, sound, superb gameplay..
    Hostiles= brilliant on the train.. Campaign is short but lots of fun..
    It is a true hand hold call of duty!!! I don't know why everybody is being so picky..
    Seriously.. It's amazing but it for yourself.. You will be playing it for months to come..
    Online is amazing even though I get my ass kicked a lot..
    An yes it's true, the reason resistance was so poorly put together because obviously all efforts were focused on call of duty declassified!
    But it today and don't listen to silly so called reviewers shooting it down..
    Amazing feat. The king is impressed
    Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    After all the stories on the that this was going to be really bad, I find myself not that surprised that it is no where near the horror story people believed it would be.

    This is a very enjoyable game, that while not my personal favourite cuppa...I am finding it to be a nice beverage after all the hype. I would give it a 9 when it reaches the £25 mark in the shops I usually
    After all the stories on the that this was going to be really bad, I find myself not that surprised that it is no where near the horror story people believed it would be.

    This is a very enjoyable game, that while not my personal favourite cuppa...I am finding it to be a nice beverage after all the hype.

    I would give it a 9 when it reaches the £25 mark in the shops I usually like to spend on games.

    I mark this as a Vita game and for the purpose I use my Vita....I am not comparing it with any of the PS3 games.
    Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My thoughts with about an hour of play as nobody else has reviewed yet: This game will sell Vitas. I've just hit level 3 on both mission and multi, and this is loads of fun. Perks, streaks etc is all there, fast network with very little lag on WiFi, its exactly what you think it could/hoped it would be. Sure its smaller maps, and watered down graphically from ps3, but this is a handheldMy thoughts with about an hour of play as nobody else has reviewed yet: This game will sell Vitas. I've just hit level 3 on both mission and multi, and this is loads of fun. Perks, streaks etc is all there, fast network with very little lag on WiFi, its exactly what you think it could/hoped it would be. Sure its smaller maps, and watered down graphically from ps3, but this is a handheld unit, and I think too many already draw that comparison with all console game conversions. It feels slick to play, and my first impressions are all very positive. Campaign obviously isn't going to be as immersive as a console, but again I think they've done the franchise proud in representing the king of fps on a handheld. Must buy game IMO. Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    my xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lackingmy xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lacking in the writing department and are a bit bland but are a challenge especially on hardened. multiplayer has a few glitches which a patch will fix in a week or so but is really fun. even if its quite tight. best portable f.p.s made. Collapse
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    40
    Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Play UK
    Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.