User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    Shattered my last hopes for the Vita. For a portable gaming system that claims to have that console quality experience on the go, I'd say the PS Vita comes far from living up to that statement. After playing almost every game in its library so far, the only games that come close to that experience would be LBP and Need for Speed Most Wanted. As I looked to the future for upcoming Vita games it seemed to be vast and empty as little to no developers are jumping on board. So it seemed COD BO Declassified was one of its last hopes of redeeming itself and keeping a place in my hands. For such a HUGE AAA title of Call of Duty, what could possibly go wrong when shrunken down to a handheld? Alot. Now, at first playing the game it looks, feels and plays just like call of duty. So what could be wrong? Here's what's good and bad: Good: Looks and plays like COD on consoles. That's it for the pros.Bad: Super short campaign. Terrible A.I. Compressed multiplayer with plenty of connection issues. Tiny maps( Nuketown is cut in half!). Boring hostiles mode. Graphics are barely better than Resistance BS. Everything just seems so unpolished in this game and all modes are just not that fun at all. I tried to enjoy the Multiplayer but the maps are just so small that its hard to enjoy always responding right infront of someone. Just a big disappointment all the way and it brings the Vita down even farther as well as the Call of Duty name. These other reviewers may have liked when they first popped it in and turned it on like I did, but just give them a few days and they'll see what I mean(gets boring and repetitive fast). Please save your money on this one as your only paying an extra $10 on another crappy COD psp title that it comes with. Thought this would save the Vita, but oh well. I can always get a Wii U or something. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I expected this game to be complete garbage based on all the negative press it was receiving before its launch. However, I went ahead and bought it for my Vita and yesterday while waiting for a doctor's appointment I started in. The visuals and gun sounds are greatly improved since the TGS video that's out there. And the game is just plain fun. I've had a good time playing, and I'm surprised at how well it controls. This is not the turd everyone predicted it will be. Haters gonna be hating. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    I take this game for what a Call of Duty game has always been for me: a fun multiplayer experience. With all due respect, I have never enjoyed the Single Player campaign in a Call of Duty game all that much and was glad that a hefty chunk of it was taken out to focus on why everyone buys it, which is the multiplayer. Multiplayer is solid, has the same perks and level system from console iterations and overall is an enjoyable experience. The reviews from critics are actually a little shocking to me. I rate this game one point higher than I would have normally in hopes that it will compensate for the unnecessarily poor Critic reviews. If you are on the fence, proceed with caution. It would not hurt to wait until it went down in price. That being said, this is Call of Duty multiplayer on a handheld and it is done in a respectable manner, in my opinion. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    What a shame. The game is incredibly unimpressive given the system it's on license it is supposed to represent. I find it astonishing that users here rate games like halo 4 and black ops 2 down, but put all their support behind this unfinished turd in alpha state. Nihilistic changed its name during development, I suspect it's to avoid any connection with this game in the future. Resistance burning skies was actually better than this game. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Wow I'm pleasantly surprised to say that this is a legitimate call of duty game for the vita. I wasn't expecting much and only got it cuz I had a target gift card but wow I'd have to say better than ac3 liberation. Does not lag at all on the frame rate or when you actually get into a game. This is exactly like black ops on consoles other than one small thing, getting kicked out of the lobby almost half the time. But I'll chalk that issue up to it only being the first day it was released and servers usually do have trouble on the first day. If you like cod ill like declassified and if ur a cod hater I would have to say ur hate this game, cuz it's exactly the same. Nihilistic surprises for the first time, I only wish resistance could have been this good haha Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Its an awesome game! Hostiles and time trial are pretty challenging ,good replay value.Played just one mission of Operations and it was so smooth with the "COD known " cinematics .Put it in veteran and then beat it for 42 minutes [ LOL that PSU guy is ridicilous ] .Now multiplayer ,man I just played 3 rounds of TDM on my lunch break using my iPhone as a hotspot .Jeezus guys this is COD everywhere!! If you have a VITA and love COD ,its a MUSTBUY .Putting 9 as there are still some glitches that could be patched very easily .Its the VITA GOTY for me .Safe

    cheers
    chris
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The general populous have been crippled on behest of the truly numerous hit driven titles that have landed on PlayStation Vita but with the latest title, +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++, THEY once again must burrow beneath their breezy wallets for more dough as +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++ is MOST stunning, radiant like a colourful bucket.

    Developed by devout
    TREYARCH cousins, Nihilistic Software(tm). +++Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified+++ takes the CALL OF DUTY to a wholesome level, gun banging has never been more offending...or ferocious. Controls work like a swinging charm as you quell superfluous targets and music is swelling, hellishly swell.

    This squashes competitor VIDEO GAMES ( ---3DS--- ) and rushes to a new era of online power play stretching beyond mankind
    Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. not what i expected. i believe in nihilistic to keep patching the game just like resistence. the character can run forever w/out getting tires and cannot dive. i like multiplayer though. didnt go to school because of this. Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    When it comes to shooters for the PS Vita Call of Duty Declassified takes game of the year. One of the best gaming franchises comes to the PS vita and a must have game for all PS vita owners. This game is packed with action on a 4 vs 4 a total of 8 players on a map. It has a great level system to unlock weapons and more but what makes this even more fun is the way it plays on a true mobile gaming system.

    by otic101: http://www.psnsharingcommunity.com
    Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best FPS, multi-player experience on a handheld ever. It's pretty awesome to be able to kick off a party, start a game and be chatting and playing COD from just about anywhere. 2 big thumbs up!
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    A truly awful set of micro missions masquerading as a single-player campaign is balanced, in part, by an entertaining challenge mode and a solid multi-player offering. There is certainly fun to be had in the online mode, but whether that's worth the full price of admission is debatable. Read my full review at ukvitablog.co.uk
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    What the hell are you people smoking that are giving this game a 9 or 10? Must be Sony plants. This is a really really really bad game. Nothing about this game makes it worth renting let alone buying. A short so called campaign of no story and 16 very short 5 minute missions. Broken multi player that sucks! To early large patches that fix nothing. This game is a joke rush job to cash in on the COD name. This was the last straw on if I was going to keep my Vita with this last straw failure I'm selling or trading it in tonight. Like everything on this over priced joke of a system it Sucks hard! I hear they are going to release a new triple game pack on it next AC Liberation, Resistance burning skies, and COD BLOPS Declassified. They are going to call it the Steaming Dog Pile collection! Yuck Fou Sony Yuck Fou!!! Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    This game is tough to review because it depends so much on what each individual was expecting because of the COD name. If you wanted a great single player campaign then look elsewhere. The campaign here is divided up into about 15 short missions exactly like Unit 13. AI is sub-par and there is no story to grab onto anywhere. It is simply a dud.
    If you are looking for a COD multiplayer
    experience then for the most part I would have to say it is here. It has all the familiar elements of COD such as killstreaks and custom classes. The online games are 4 vs. 4 but don't let that fool you, they actually seem perfect due to the scaled down map sizes. The controls are smooth(after a little sensitivity tweaking in options) and after a little time the touch screen grenades actually aren't all that bad. The graphics are much better than we were shown in the trailers too. All in all, this game perfectly fills a void in my vita collection but it may not for everyone. I would buy this game again. Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This game will sell Vita's.
    I didn't expect much from this game, however, I purchased it yesterday and I am very pleased.
    The frame rate is great, the loading times aren't to bad. There are a lot of multiplayer options like dropzone kill confirmed, a survival mode, a campaign, its all there.
    The Uzi and the M60 are so far my favorite weapons.
    Finally we have a CoD for a handheld that
    kicks butt!
    This will be one of those games that when people only own one game, this will be it.
    @Pocket Gamer UK nice pre-mature review. Since we all know that this game wasn't given out to reviewers before the game. You video game critics are the biggest joke in the industry.
    Its like how you douches always slam all the asian video games because you don't understand them or appreciate them for what they are trying to do. But then you guys rate all the final fantasies that are vintage re-releases a 9/10 when really its just the same thing. You pander to the sheep.
    Well guess what, there is a user score section for meta-score for those of us that spend hard earned cash for our games and guess what. We say this game is good so screw off!
    Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    This game it so boring, broken and no fun at all, that i cant recommend this game under no circumstances to anyone ever. Almost no sp, bad mp make this game an insult to every gamer. Better play the real COD on 360/PS3.
  16. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Pros: -feels like COD -plays well with a good fps -multiplayer Cons: -lack of zombies -lack of vita microphone support making matches feel empty -lag issues. I find myself putting a full clip into someone and then they shoot me, I die, then the shot registers on them after my death causing both of us to die. pretty ridiculous. -glitches -lack of maps -low player count and obvious lack of development time for the graphics could of been better.
    -terrible AI
    -no killcam/ final kill
    Conclusion: basically this game needs a patch for mic support, less glitches, lag problems, and killcam implementation. Some DLC for more maps and zombies and this game could be a 9/10. If you want a quick COD fix on the go this is the game for you, but its a step down and unless you are a true fan or want a fps on the go I wouldn't recommend this unless a patch comes out, which of 12/3 it has not.
    Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Great story, great cards, many of the best oruzhie.Odna chastey.Vse just velikolepno.Rezhim otpad.Dolzhen buy every zombie!It is a shooter game goda.Eto bright
  18. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    COD Declassified feels like a COD game, even though it has been condensed dramatically for the Vita. Overall, I am having a blast with it. However, I do not think it is worth 50 dollars for such a short story mode, and such a limited amount of multiplayer maps. Not to mention, there are numerous glitches and laughably dumb AI issues that players will have to put up with. For starters, the main single player story mode is not exactly a story. It consists of 10 short separate missions that lasts roughly 5 minutes each if not less. Theoretically, all 10 missions should take less than 50 minutes to beat. But if you play on an advanced difficulty, it could take up to 4 or 5 hours to complete them all. Given the price that I paid for it, I would have expected at least 20 short missions. 10 just made the game feel incomplete. There are 5 maps available for survival mode(single player only), which helps to add some extra replay value to the single player element. What I don't like about it though, is that the difficulty increases between each wave to such an extreme, that the most waves I've ever survived was 5. On Modern Warfare 3 for the console, my record was 40 waves, so the difficulty spikes for the Vita version in comparison definitely cuts down the amount of time you can play each survival level. Multiplayer is probably the main meat of the game, just like it has always been for COD. Instead of 16 player games like the console COD games, Declassified supports a maximum of 4 vs 4 on 5 different maps. This may be a turn off at first thought, but to my surprise it actually felt just as fun as the console experiences. The maps are more cramped though, so there are less opportunities to snipe. Now let's talk about the worst part of the game; the glitches and dumb AI. I've heard quite a few complaints about the numerous glitches in the game, but I've only really been bothered by one in particular. I'm talking about the function of picking up an enemy grenade and throwing it back. More than half the time, when I try that tactic, I end up chucking it 90 degrees to the left of me even though I am aiming straight ahead. I found that pretty frustrating, but I believe if you preset your aim before you chuck the grenade back, it will more than likely go straight. The enemy AI is the part that I am most disappointed with. Enemies will act real aggressive and make you believe that they are going to blow your head off instantly. But after a few play throughs, I realized that some of that behavior is just an empty threat. Enemies at times will charge into you, but instead of attacking like you would expect, they just retreat, or run around in circles, and then look at you for 5 seconds before finally deciding to pull the trigger. The enemy is some cases are suicidal as well. I've seen enemies hide behind cars for cover and just unload their mags into the car in an attempt to shoot you, which eventually leads to the car exploding and them dying. Other times enemies will attempt to throw a grenade at you, but the grenade would bounce off a wall and they would end up blowing themselves up. Once on the second operation (the timed hostage rescue), I actually ran around in a methodical manner and managed to make 3 enemies kill themselves without me having to fire a single round. I laughed. It was like watching a comedy show. However, even with all these issues being considered, the game is still quite enjoyable over all. The only reason why this game is not getting a 10/10 from me is because of the dumb AI and the lack of single player missions. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    First, let me start by saying that this game might not be for everyone, but for all critics to review it so lowly is rediculous. This game is meant to be played as a portable, which means everything needs to be pint size to accomplish this feat. I really like how the campaign is made because it allows for you to pick up and go at any time; without worrying about story plots and the like. Unit 13 was praised for this method and received a good score, but this game was punished for the exact same thing? As for the MP, I believe that this was done very well too because the maps need to be small to ensure non-stop action to accomodate the fact that you are playing 4v4. I'm sure there will be patches to stabilize the connectivity issue, but this happens to many games on console as well. I am not a COD fanboy by any means and I usually purchase the console versions way past their initial release date. Finally, if you are an avid trophy collector like myself, you will find that this game is not a walk in the park due to some very challenging trophies. The price is kinda steep for a handheld, but UC:GA was priced pretty high too and I soon forgot about it. Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    shockingly high amount of single user review reviews here that stink of the game developers making them here. I loved the guy who suggested it took him 7 hours to complete? the game has it's whole campaign on youtube already and it's completed in under 40mins. well done.
  21. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    my xbox is at a mates house linked up for halo 4 so i couldnt buy the console version! This is a bare bones call of duty done well! these critics are just being a bit silly, Its the most fun youll have on your vita the graphics enemy animations and controls are surprisingly really tight and give it that c.o.d feel, hostiles is fantastic and will last you forever, story missions are lacking in the writing department and are a bit bland but are a challenge especially on hardened. multiplayer has a few glitches which a patch will fix in a week or so but is really fun. even if its quite tight. best portable f.p.s made. Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Сониблядь пришла к врачу, В игор я играть хочу, Помогите мне с проблемой, Денег горы заплачу. Только слышится ответ - На плейстейшон игор нет Есть кинцо, мыльцо, унчартед, Игр ты будешь ждать сто лет. Что же делать? Как тут быть? Где же игры раздобыть? И пришлося сонишлюхе все ж ПеКа себе купить. На ПеКа как на ПеКа, жизнь прекрасна и легка. Есть фолач второй, планетка, Игры просто на века. Можно клипы рисовать, фотошопом баловать, Можно даже и вишмастер всем ньюфагам раздавать. Вот проснулась сониблядь Expand
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I wasn't impressed by initial footage of this but was desperately hoping they would sort it out as this is what the PS Vita needs, a decent COD game...and they did it! The game plays like you would expect it to. Th campaign is short and broken down into chunks but it works. Graphics are good, along with the Hostiles mode (basically survival over several maps) The multiplayer is basically the same as normal Black Ops (but limited to 4 vs 4 max) The guns are there (along with their own xp levels) attatchments, Perks and challenges. The Maps aren't very big but for 4 vs 4 i would say they are about right. For Call of Duty on the go its pretty good....dive in!! Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    IM surprised at this game campaign was actually fun and its actually good to relax and play some 4v4 multiplayer i would say its better than the console version but not enough to be vita killer app
  25. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Great Game! Feels Just like COD, but on the go. It could it be more cheap because the lack of more maps and missions, but overall it's a great online experience on a portable game.
  26. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Better than expected. Realistically this game deserves to be in the 8s. The online play is a lot of fun, I haven't had an issue with connectivity. Wish there was zombies.
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    This is a very good shooter - for a handheld. People don't seem to understand that the Vita is a handheld system and instead of rating a game on its merit and comparing to 3DS games they instead compare it with PS3 and 360 which is flattering to the Vita in a way. For those who played Resistance BS this is a far superior game, I'd give RBS a 3/10 as it was pitiful. The multiplayer is solid and probably on par with CoD 3. The SP is short but only if you play it on easy difficulty, play it on even the 2 star difficulty and I bet you that you won't be finishing up within 5 hours - 3 stars (Veteran) will take longer still. Then there is Hostile mode (similar to Gears Of War 3 Hoard mode) There's a decent amount of content here, a solid but short campaign and a solid multiplayer with no problems getting a game and lots of fun to be had. My advice is to give it a try. Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I'm very happy with this game. Although the singleplayer is short, there is a solid multiplayer experience. All the critic reviews are utter rubbish!
  29. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    I bought this game today and was pleasantly surprised. The games looks good for a handheld and runs really smooth. I've played a lot of multiplayer, a couple campaign missions and quite a bit of the hostiles mode. So far critics have been harsh but I truly think they're butt hurt because of who made it, all the criticism they had for itbefore the game even came out, and the fact that its not just like the console. People need to understand its a handheld. And for a handheld it's a hell of a lot of fun. Anyone who rates this lower than they rated Resistance Burning Skies shouldn't even be listened to because this beats that game out of the water. And I enjoyed the Resistance game for what it was but it doesn't come anywhere near this game. Expand
  30. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    Even the most hardcore of Call of Duty fans will be disappointed by this game. The campaign was only about an hour long, almost all of the models are recycled from previous call of duty games, and the multiplayer is extremely limited.
    Definitely not worth the money. I legitimately feel bad for anyone unfortunate enough to have bought the Call of Duty Vita bundle.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.