Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified explores original fiction in the Call of Duty Black Ops universe with an all-new campaign of Special Ops missions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    65
    A competent but overly streamlined CoD experience that, despite having all the ingredients, fails to provide enough of anything to be an essential buy. [Jan 2013, p.102]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    49
    It feels unfinished and rushed through development. We really think it could've been polished to make it a better game, but unless an important patch comes out, it's really hard to recommend taking into account all the constant crashes when playing online and the extremely short single player modes.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    40
    Call of Duty Black Ops Declassified is one of the worst chapters of this popular franchise. The short campaign and the clumsy multiplayer are lethal shots to the poor PS Vita existence.
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    30
    Call of Duty Black Ops: Declassified has only its name going for it. Everything else is piss poor, from both design and production standpoints.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    30
    A frustrating game, uninspired and just smears the name of the series that sells the most in the industry today.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    20
    The single player campaign of Declassified is barely worth mentioning; within one hour you've seen it all. The multiplayer doesn't keep you interested for much longer. It's light on maps and modes, but more importantly it misses action. Black Ops Declassified makes us miss the time of the UMD, when a sub-par game could at least be used as a fancy coaster.
  7. 10
    Rather than add a few more multiplayer stages, fix the glitches, fix the connection problems, write a story that might matter to Black Ops fans, add at least a few more campaign missions, and tweak the AI a bit, they released the game in this undercooked state. There's no excuse for that.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 240
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Wow this game is actually good. took about 7 hours to complete. fun, addictive like the console version. as of now this is the Vita game to own(beside liberation and uncharted) If you love long hours online than get this game. Single player? Like all COD games you'll put that to rest after one try. grab this game now, now!!! Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Great story, great cards, many of the best oruzhie.Odna chastey.Vse just velikolepno.Rezhim otpad.Dolzhen buy every zombie!It is a shooter game goda.Eto bright Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    It´s very good. It´s a good game. Graphics looks perfect. Control is very good. It´s COD in a great state. Campaing is 2 hours, but is funny of turn play. Online goes perfect Collapse
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    This is a very good shooter - for a handheld. People don't seem to understand that the Vita is a handheld system and instead of rating a game on its merit and comparing to 3DS games they instead compare it with PS3 and 360 which is flattering to the Vita in a way. For those who played Resistance BS this is a far superior game, I'd give RBS a 3/10 as it was pitiful. The multiplayer is solid and probably on par with CoD 3. The SP is short but only if you play it on easy difficulty, play it on even the 2 star difficulty and I bet you that you won't be finishing up within 5 hours - 3 stars (Veteran) will take longer still. Then there is Hostile mode (similar to Gears Of War 3 Hoard mode) There's a decent amount of content here, a solid but short campaign and a solid multiplayer with no problems getting a game and lots of fun to be had. My advice is to give it a try. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    It is hard to understand why this game did so bad. I will break this game down though. The campaign has NO story which is a problem but the short missions are fun. However the enemies can see you before you can see them which makes the campaign difficult. Now in the time trials mode, I enjoy playing those missions and they are good time wasters, which was probably the purpose considering the campaign was short. The hostiles mode is challenging to me because again, the enemies see you before you see them, and that was how I died most of the time. However the game is saved, by the multiplayer. Save the campaign for when you are on the go, and play the multiplayer when you have a wifi connection. The multiplayer is good compared to the rest of the game and you may get kicked from a game every one in 5 games. Also the maps are tiny, like Nukehouse is a map and it is only one of the houses on Nuketown and its 8 player online, but the multiplayer is where this game feels like COD. It feels like COD Black Ops 1, but it is still good for the vita's first COD game.
    PROS: Multiplayer is COD-like, Hostiles and Campaign are challenging, campaign missions are enjoyable as so are the time trials.
    CONS: Multiplayer has tiny maps, Campaign is too short, enemies shoot at you before you get a chance to shoot at them.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    I don't actually say i dislike this game but . . . it's was a deception, i like CoD but this one just made me want more, this game could have way better also it should have used the vita system better. My conclusion is that the story sucks . . . and multiplayer bug and crash a lot so i just enjoyed the hostile mode, good try but don't deserves a good critic. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    This game is just horrible. The single player mode is ridiculously short, the IA sucks (I've seen enemies shoot a wall, throw grenades that kill themselves or just run in circles even though I'm there), the controls feel awkard and the missions are just boring.

    Usually the on-line is the main reason to buy a CoD game is the on-line mode, but in CoD: BOD the on-line mode doesn't work, the game keeps kicking me out of every lobby for no reason (and it's not my connection, everything else works fine, hell, I can play the PS3 CoDs without any problem) and the only time I got to play, one of the players was invincible and could not be killed.

    Those problems were supposedly fixed with an update, but after I downloaded the 400 MB patch, it still works as bad as the first day, the only difference being that the game doesn't freeze anymore after I'm kicked of a lobby.

    Graphically the game is okay, textures and models are bad looking, and light effects are nothing special.

    The OST couldn't be more awful, they could put no music and it wouldn't be noticeable. The sound effects are generic.

    This game is not worth buying, it should be a 3$ iOS game.
    Expand

See all 240 User Reviews