User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 11 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    Average frame rate of 30 is the compromise made for the Vita version of Child of Light, which stands above its home console counterparts as a result of the optional touchscreen or back touchpad controls for Igniculus.

    Character models are slightly less detailed, but everything else stands equal to the home console/PC versions.
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    Vita Version comes with all the DLC previously released for console version. Child Of Light features the same engine as Rayman series and i should say the art work is superb, the areas are wonderfully drawn as it is hand crafted, I often spend sometimes staring at the beauty of the artstyle in the game.
    Story is set in a sad looking world but its wonderfully told and its meaningful and
    Vita Version comes with all the DLC previously released for console version. Child Of Light features the same engine as Rayman series and i should say the art work is superb, the areas are wonderfully drawn as it is hand crafted, I often spend sometimes staring at the beauty of the artstyle in the game.
    Story is set in a sad looking world but its wonderfully told and its meaningful and fantastic. Music is fantastic too. only downside is that the combats might not be that challenging if you play RPG and Turn based RPGs on regular basis .
    it takes about 12 to 14 hours to complete the whole game as well.
    Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    This 2D RPG game is a gem, it seriously even puts some AAA (supposedly) games to shame, Props to Ubisoft for creating the best environments and music iv seen and heard in a game. Think Final Fantasy 7 mixed with Muramasa Rebirth.
  4. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Excellent game. Mind blowing graphics and art direction, great music (especially when using headphones) and the gameplay is addicting and fun. This is how a game on Vita should be done.
    You owe it to yourself to buy this game.
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    For $15, I find no need to wait for it to go on discount to pick it up. It's a ridiculously great game, as I can't seem to put it down when I pick it back up. I'm not much of a fan of turn-based battle, though this kept my fancy just the same. It has a platformer-feel in an RPG setting; a wonderful blend indeed. :D
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    A little over a month after the release of the Japanese RPG made by French guys, Child of light has finally come to the Vita. But with only one trailer and a small nod at E3 people of wondering whether or not it is any good, I here to tell you today that yes the game is good. Child of light is still as colourful and vibrant as it was one month ago; this is thanks to the lack of anyA little over a month after the release of the Japanese RPG made by French guys, Child of light has finally come to the Vita. But with only one trailer and a small nod at E3 people of wondering whether or not it is any good, I here to tell you today that yes the game is good. Child of light is still as colourful and vibrant as it was one month ago; this is thanks to the lack of any compression or corner cutting from Ubisoft to bring the game to the Vita. The game looks excellent and also plays excellent due to a smooth frame rate. Simply put it it’s a solid port of a solid game.
    The story of the game revolves around main character Princess Aurora trying to bring back the sun, moon and stars, during her quest she is helped by various playable townsfolk. The story is serviceable and allows the game to flow but is nothing to cry home about. Interestingly the game is told rhyme, which should be credited but the main problem is that there is no voicing for the most part of the game, which leads to a barrage of text and reading which ultimately makes the story less interesting.
    The game itself is a turn-based RPG with a lot of depth, the casting system of waiting and interrupting enemy’s is very well done and makes Child of Light stand out from the crowd. There is a lot of variety in the characters within the party as each character plays as a traditional RGP character such as a Mage or a healer. There’s also a massive skill tree for each character and what’s really cool is that all characters gain experience in every fight even if they did not fight. This eliminates the problem of having a few strong characters and a bunch of completely useless weaklings later on in the game as everyone is a viable option in an encounter. There is also an open map to explore filled with power buffs and collectables however there is no platinum trophy which is disappointing as there isn’t too much incentive to find all of the confession notes. My only real gripe with the gameplay is that the melee attacks don’t actually connect with the enemies which results in awkward animations of Aurora swinging her sword in the air and damaging enemies.
    Overall Child of light is another great addition to the Vita library and if you haven’t already bought the game than the Vita is the best place to get it as it comes with all the DLC packs of the console versions for free but unfortunately is not cross-buy meaning that if you already own the game, you’re going to have to pay for it again if you want to play it on the Vita.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    Jogo absolutamente surpreendente. Um poema em forma de game. A versão do Vita possui taxa de quadros estável e o visual está praticamente identico a versão do PS3. Realmente, um dos melhores jogos em todas as plataformas desse ano.
  8. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    I'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all that knew story is non existent honestly and the audio is good but that won't make a game for me at least I did not like this one bit
  9. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    This game, while certainly looks gorgeous, is just plain dull and boring. Uninteresting story about.. Well i'm not even sure what it's really about. Bland characters, both story- and gameplay-wise, i've ended up using just 3 out of 7. Unsatisfying development, most skills are just more powerful versions of what you already have, oculi (gems) system is also completely uninteresting.

    So,
    This game, while certainly looks gorgeous, is just plain dull and boring. Uninteresting story about.. Well i'm not even sure what it's really about. Bland characters, both story- and gameplay-wise, i've ended up using just 3 out of 7. Unsatisfying development, most skills are just more powerful versions of what you already have, oculi (gems) system is also completely uninteresting.

    So, pros: beautiful picture, nice soundtrack. Cons: everything else, weak story and gameplay. At least it's short.
    Expand
  10. Oct 26, 2014
    9
    Beautiful... Just beautiful, the visuals, art, fighting mechanics, the music. The story is a little bit simple, but the bed time book narrative justified that, besides that, the only problem i had with this one is that, it is very short
  11. Apr 16, 2015
    8
    Well written dialog that rhymes throughout. Interesting story with some nice characters. Gameplay is standard turn based combat and 2d platform/exploring with some extra flair. It's a little on the short side, but well worth playing.
  12. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Amazing game. Beautiful art direction, charming story, very good sound. My only complain its that the game is a little short and the dialogue its a bit cheesy.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. This 'Western-JRPG' has been faithfully ported. Lack of cross-save/buy is annoying. [September 2014, p73]
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    85
    Even on the PsVita, this old-school RPG shines: bright colours, fascinating atmospheres, and a solid gameplay. A perfect conversion for one of the most intriguing digital titles of this year.
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is worth checking out, even if you don’t normally follow the role-playing genre. And although there are a few downsides, it is still one of the biggest surprises of 2014 so far.