Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. May 1, 2014
    83
    That may make Conception II one of the weirder (and arguably creepier) games to come out in quite some time, but anyone looking for an RPG with a unique personality need look no further.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    An unabashed celebration of modern otaku culture, Conception II is a dungeon crawler that hits a just right-balance of silly and enjoyable if you don't take it too seriously.
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    75
    Conception II is a title I feel wanted to be a contender to P4G’s crown of the best Vita JRPG, and while it borrows some elements from the king, it falls short of its goal and presents a solid, albeit unremarkable title with its own unique quirks.
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    75
    With its incessant jiggly boobs, drab story, naughty baby-making imagery, and harem tropes-a-plenty, I'd get why some would steer clear of Conception II. But I'm here to recommend it.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    75
    Don’t let the concept scare you off if you’re a role-playing fan. Yes, Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars does revolve around making “battle babies” with a collection of female companions, but there’s a Persona-esque addictive quality to the package, and RPG players shouldn’t be ashamed to tote this one around on the bus or plane.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    70
    It’s not a great RPG – it’s too easy for starters – but I feel Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is good enough that I can recommend this B-tier social linking, dungeon crawler to the diehard JRPG fans looking for a unique twist on the genre for their Vita.
  7. May 20, 2014
    70
    An adolescent males fantasy coming to life in your hands.
  8. 70
    With a handful of interesting chances taken with the combat and core mechanics of Classmating, it is a shame that the combat itself becomes a grind.
  9. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is a strange title, but it offers an intriguing experience that’s let down by a few issues. Indeed, the bizarre story elements, off-putting sexual material, and repetitive gameplay mechanics may turn you away from this eccentric title, but look past these problems and you will find a way to appreciate its otherwise interesting narrative and entertaining cast.
  10. Jun 24, 2014
    65
    There's both a lot of JRPG and a lot of dating sims better than Conception II out there, especially on PSVita and 3DS, but if you want a taste of both genres in a single game, this is the way to go.
  11. Jun 2, 2014
    65
    Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is bland, tedious, and unexceptional.
  12. May 19, 2014
    65
    It's a pretty decent RPG, even though its pieces don't really fit together. Still, it's a good experience if you know what you're buying.
  13. May 13, 2014
    60
    Putting aside it’s controversial nature, Conception II is okay as a JRPG. If you can handle the identikit dungeons and by-the-numbers gameplay (and if you haven’t played the many other great JRPGs on both 3DS & Vita), then you may find some enjoyment here, but it’s unlikely to last very long.
  14. May 12, 2014
    60
    The overall feeling that endures throughout Conception II is that it's a game that is by no means bad, but also not great.
  15. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    Conception II overrelies on eccentricity to mask its unexciting game mechanics.
  16. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    What ultimately brings down Conception 2, however, is that none of its elements manage to rise above a general feeling of mediocrity. The combat is too dull and repetitious to ever be addictive. The dating sim, jiggly boobs and all, is interesting, but too limited to carry the game on its own.
  17. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    Outside of the dungeons, the racier half of Conception 2’s content will be the make-or-break point for most players.
  18. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    Some of the most exciting RPGs work with relationship building, like Persona and Fire Emblem, but this just takes it in a bizarre direction. Merely giving players a chance to pair up isn't enough; the actual relationship building needs have genuine developments and substance, and Conception II hits all the wrong notes.
  19. May 26, 2014
    59
    Crude mixture of dating sim and dungeon crawler that would appeal to boys in puberty rather than roleplaying aficionados.
  20. May 2, 2014
    50
    It seems impossible that a game featuring multi-partner dating and demon-battling with an army of combat children could somehow be boring, but there it is.
  21. 50
    Perhaps if Conception II added some challenge to combat and handled the plot and characters less like side attractions and more like plot and characters, the game could have been an above average title.
  22. Apr 22, 2014
    50
    If your measure of a game’s quality is in its length, you won’t be disappointed by this 50-hour epic, but I couldn’t bring myself to dedicate that much time to it.
  23. Apr 15, 2014
    50
    It's competent, certainly, but it's hard to shake the feeling that the stork could have left us something a little more interesting.
  24. Apr 18, 2014
    40
    As if the game's drab gameplay wasn't enough to turn me away, Conception 2's underage eroticism is alienating and just plain icky. Animated scenes feel like an ode to upskirts, and the game has enough boob jiggling to give me whiplash. It's a trashy, thoroughly underwhelming experience I cannot wait to forget.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This game is being ridiculously underrated for reasons entirely separate from quality.
    It started with a hack gaming pundit who accused this
    game of supporting eugenics. Yes, Conception II: Children of The Seven Stars supports killing off the weak and the sick, and sterilizing mental degenerates. Chlotz is especially guilty in this regard, having a callous disregard for human life, that is comparable to Stalin. They say satire is funniest when the people don't realize it's satire, but in this case it is tiresome. Accusing this game of any moral crime is like saying The Life of Brian is deeply offensive to Christians. It doesn't just objectify women, it objectifies absolutely everything, it objectifies the men, it objectifies the women, it objectifies the children, it even objectifies the monsters. That's What Makes It Funny!!! Most of the reviewers here appear to have gone, "This game has fanservice, automatic 6!" Fanservice?! In a dating sim?... Stop The Presses!! Well screw you, fanservice is awesome. If only it could have reached to the heights of OliOli. The story is ludicrous, you are a professional douche, on his way to the academy, you want to kill monsters, or get laid or something, within the first 3 and a half minutes they discover with machines that you have a massive overabundance of male sexual energy, which can only mean you have been sent by God, to have sexytime with pretty girls. By getting sexy with pretty girls, you can produce children, which you use as minions to fight for you in the dungeons. That's the PG version. The game is a lot less subtle. Everybody is perverted. Really perverted. If you liked Leisure Suit Larry you'll like this game. You've got Chlotz, who is just a douche, if Junpei and Yosuke had a baby, it would be Chlotz. This is actually starting to piss me off. There's absolutely nothing wrong with this game, it's fine. I'm starting to wonder exactly how many hidden gems have been buried by these reviewers over the years, never to be seen again. Do you know what I'm giving this? In my world this deserves an 8.5 or a 9, it's not perfect, it's just harmless fun, a guilty pleasure. But if you're going to give this a 5, with absolutely no regard for the quality of the game, whatsoever, just because of your personal agenda, then screw you I'm giving this a 10. There's problems... The waifus seem a bit empty and lifeless, they're kind of just waifus for the sake of waifus. Chie was the best Waifu, because she was such an amazing character. Incidentally, the Japanese reviews were generally positive. If you hate this game, you have no sense of humor. The gameplay is good. The battle system is neat. It's a really decent approximation of the Persona dungeons. They're all randomly generated, you run around killing monsters and leveling up on your way to kill bosses. The battle system is great, it's weird, they're doing their own thing, there's so many layers it's kind of difficult to even know what the hell is going on. They expect you to pour over those tutorials, because they're throwing systems at you by the dozen, at least at the start. But you don't really need to know what's going on to win, so whatever. The graphics are really nice. Also this game has the best porn music ever. As for the visual novel style story, I surrendered to visual novels long ago, and it no longer bothers me. I find it massively entertaining. Practically every scene has me on the verge of giggling crazily. It's just so damn stupid, it's wonderful. It's just about getting laid, everybody just wants to get laid, with monsters. Maybe they do something with the plot, I hope not, because this is hilarious. It even has 8 endings, one ending for each of the girls, and, heheh, the harem ending. Really the best way to describe this game is that it's a parody of the Persona games, but that's the point, they boiled Persona down to it's component parts, threw away all the good stuff, and kept the fat. Every time you play Persona, you're actually playing this game, on some level. That is why it's glorious. Keep in mind, I've only played this for about 4 hours, but so far I've enjoyed every minute. So I can't really give this game a fair hearing yet, my opinion might change, one way or the other. But I'm glad I bought this, it's pure stupid fun. ATLUS games aren't always well received, but even the bad games maintain a level of quality. This game is a love letter to ATLUS from Spike Chunsoft, the love letter says; "Screw you". Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    This game is a lot of fun! If you enjoy SMT and persona games it is for you. It's part dating sim and part dungeon crawl rpg. Its turn based combat is great and new.

    Story is also fun and the characters are adorable as heck. This isn't a game for everyone however, if you don't like RPG's or persona games don't bother getting this game you won't enjoy it at all.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Same Review from my Amazon CA Review. This game is totally worth.....it niche for sure but for system that needs traction, it is one that delivers. Akiba Trip, Demon Gaze, and many of the games that we don't expect to hit western shores are showing up. If you one of the few that are into this type of game than it a 10 for you. The average person not going to feel comfortable about it and will probably give it an average score.

    I can see the child making aspect being a turn off to some people and the fan service may seem uncomfortable.

    Past that the gameplay is simple while having enough variety to be entertaining. The story is decent but the comedy is stellar. It entertaining to keep going for an hour or so a day.

    I liked the English dubs, would prefer having Japanese voice to switch every now and then. Many did not like the voice acting.....tbh most Jdub games aren't always great because it hard to voice Japanese influences and traditions.

    There a problem of overleveling...it could get stale because the game is not timed....you can do whatever you want in your pace. I liked that I am not stressed out on time like the Atelier games.

    Obvious here I have to manage my time with the ladies and the levels before proceeding to the story....so that game does not get too easy.

    For me it a new concept....never got to experience such quirky Japanese games because they don't usually release these type of games here. It a breath of fresh air....don't listen to the average scores this might get. Give it a chance.

    This is probably the best JRPG of 2014 for Vita so far. Worth the full price...for the others on the fence I would wait a bit if you aren't interested in the limited first run edition. Still worth it to have in your collection.
    Full Review »