Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation for PlayStation Vita was a version screamed for. Neither the PlayStation 3 nor the PlayStation 4 version can give the same satisfaction found here.
  2. Apr 18, 2014
    79
    Even though the visuals do not match the console version, the experience does, and Dead Nation continues to be a very addictive game that works pretty well on the handheld.
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    75
    Basically the same experience as it is on PS3 and PS4 predecessors, but the game is a bit too dark and the camera too far away from the action to call this a really successful port to Sony's handheld system. It's still worth buying if you haven't played any of the other versions, though.
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    75
    The same superb action oriented arcade game found in PS3 and PS4 with new bells and whistles.
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    75
    Dead Nation on PS Vita isn't as strong as it is on PS3 and PS4, but it's still a lot of fun to play. It's eerie and difficult, whether online with a friend or on your own in a dimly-lit room.
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    75
    Dead Nation is a great game. But not on PsVita. Framerate Drops, clumsy graphics and an inaccurate control scheme.
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    74
    Dead Nation, on PS Vita, is not a technical masterpiece, but it is surely an enjoyable, meaty port that fits perfectly on a handheld device.
  8. May 2, 2014
    70
    While Dead Nation is showing signs of age, there's still life in the old girl yet.
  9. May 26, 2014
    65
    Dead Nation will bring you a big load of zombies to shoot down. It's fun to look for loot in cars and the world really looks rough and dark, like the world is supposed to be after an event like this. It is not easy to take this videogame outside, because of the darkness, plus it is a straight PS3-port, so no extra's of the PS4-port.
  10. May 13, 2014
    60
    Dead Nation isn’t a bad game, it just isn’t a good fit for the Vita.
  11. Apr 20, 2014
    60
    After three years and a half, Dead Nation is still a solid twin analog shooter, but the PlayStation Vita version suffers from inaccurate controls and frame rate drops.
  12. Apr 20, 2014
    50
    The worst version of Dead Nation.
  13. Apr 15, 2014
    50
    Dead Nation on PlayStation Vita is simply the worst version of Housemarque's zombie shooter.
  14. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    Despite all of its issues, Dead Nation isn’t a bad game.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    This just came out yesterday, and, so far, I couldn't be happier. I am always looking for something to add to my Vita collection, and thisThis just came out yesterday, and, so far, I couldn't be happier. I am always looking for something to add to my Vita collection, and this will fit the bill nicely. I have Dead Nation for quite some time on the PS3 and always found it to be an enjoyable take on the twin stick shooter genre. The graphics, in my opinion, were top notch, not the least of which was because of the awesome atmospheric lighting on display. The controls were spot on, the sound was good, and the gameplay was satisfying. All these factors rolled up in a nice little downloadable package made an excellent addition to that library.

    I feel the Vita iteration holds itself up equally well considering the limitations of portable gaming. So far I have looked at some of the reviews out for this version of the game and many complain about the frame rate, or the twitchy-ish controls, or the downgraded graphics. Lets face it, these are all simply concessions that have to be made to get this game on the Vita. We should be happy to have it all. It is still a perfectly serviceable port of a perfectly fun game. Of course the frame rate will suffer a bit, there is a lot going on. The controls are naturally going to be compromised due to the Vita's hardware restrictions. You are never going to best a true console controller setup. The graphics, I believe, are quite good having all things considered.

    This all being said, I feel most Vita owners will be well served to give this one a go. If you already own the PS3 version, you are in luck as this is part of the cross buy program. Certainly can't complain about that. If you are not familiar with this series I think it's definitely worth looking at. It comes from the house of Super Stardust and now, most recently Resogun. These are guys that know how to polish a game, and Dead Nation is no different. For $7.99 it really is a pretty good deal, and well worth considering. I give my seal of approval. I will be playing for some time to come, even with the nuances of portable gaming that hold it back slightly.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    For a person who as not played the game on the PS3, I have found the game very enjoyable. At first I did not know what I was going or why, butFor a person who as not played the game on the PS3, I have found the game very enjoyable. At first I did not know what I was going or why, but spending a few hours playing I was able to get used to the control's. Now, I noticed that a lot of people are complaining about how the game is not bundles with the DLC and the fact that you cannot see your character during the day, because the screen is so dark, but in my honest opinion...why would you play the game during the day? I mean the game is meant to be played with headphones in a dark room with friends (co-op or multiplayer). Anyways most games on the Vita you cant see during the day anyways and this game is not excluded from that list. For those who love zombie shooters I would say to definitely give this game a shot. I am enjoying it thus far and I sure I will continue to enjoy it for the next few months. Full Review »
  3. May 14, 2014
    10
    Really enjoyed the Vita version of this great game. I was surprised at how well it plays and how smooth the frame rate is considering how manyReally enjoyed the Vita version of this great game. I was surprised at how well it plays and how smooth the frame rate is considering how many zombies can fit onto the screen at any one time. Also find it to be quite tense when there's a lot happening. One of my favourite Vita games, while writing this I've completed it 6 times so far. I've certainly gotten my monies worth! I'd recommend this to anyone who has a Vita and wants a great game to play on the go. Keep them coming! Full Review »