Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Nation features online and offline two-player cooperative play, a lengthy campaign littered with hidden treasures, hugely upgradeable weapons and armor, and tremendous replay value thanks to a host of difficulty levels. The fifth and final difficulty level -- "Undead" -- will leave you breathless! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation for PlayStation Vita was a version screamed for. Neither the PlayStation 3 nor the PlayStation 4 version can give the same satisfaction found here.
  2. Apr 18, 2014
    79
    Even though the visuals do not match the console version, the experience does, and Dead Nation continues to be a very addictive game that works pretty well on the handheld.
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    75
    Basically the same experience as it is on PS3 and PS4 predecessors, but the game is a bit too dark and the camera too far away from the action to call this a really successful port to Sony's handheld system. It's still worth buying if you haven't played any of the other versions, though.
  4. May 2, 2014
    70
    While Dead Nation is showing signs of age, there's still life in the old girl yet.
  5. May 26, 2014
    65
    Dead Nation will bring you a big load of zombies to shoot down. It's fun to look for loot in cars and the world really looks rough and dark, like the world is supposed to be after an event like this. It is not easy to take this videogame outside, because of the darkness, plus it is a straight PS3-port, so no extra's of the PS4-port.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    Dead Nation isn’t a bad game, it just isn’t a good fit for the Vita.
  7. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    Despite all of its issues, Dead Nation isn’t a bad game.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. May 14, 2014
    10
    Really enjoyed the Vita version of this great game. I was surprised at how well it plays and how smooth the frame rate is considering how many zombies can fit onto the screen at any one time. Also find it to be quite tense when there's a lot happening. One of my favourite Vita games, while writing this I've completed it 6 times so far. I've certainly gotten my monies worth! I'd recommend this to anyone who has a Vita and wants a great game to play on the go. Keep them coming! Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Dead Nation on the Vita is one of my favorite games. As an owner of all three versions (PS4, PS3, and Vita), I can honestly say the Vita version is my favorite way to play the game. Everything is highly detailed and the game overall looks fantastic. Despite what people are saying, the screen is not too small and the game is not too dark to enjoy on the Vita.

    After first playing the PS4 version I was worried about the switch to the Vita, especially the controls. But they work flawlessly. The only drawback is the melee attack is moved from R1 to a face button, meaning we cant exactly change direction while going for a melee attack. A minor inconvenience that's easily overlooked when you release you're playing the full game on a handheld.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    This just came out yesterday, and, so far, I couldn't be happier. I am always looking for something to add to my Vita collection, and this will fit the bill nicely. I have Dead Nation for quite some time on the PS3 and always found it to be an enjoyable take on the twin stick shooter genre. The graphics, in my opinion, were top notch, not the least of which was because of the awesome atmospheric lighting on display. The controls were spot on, the sound was good, and the gameplay was satisfying. All these factors rolled up in a nice little downloadable package made an excellent addition to that library.

    I feel the Vita iteration holds itself up equally well considering the limitations of portable gaming. So far I have looked at some of the reviews out for this version of the game and many complain about the frame rate, or the twitchy-ish controls, or the downgraded graphics. Lets face it, these are all simply concessions that have to be made to get this game on the Vita. We should be happy to have it all. It is still a perfectly serviceable port of a perfectly fun game. Of course the frame rate will suffer a bit, there is a lot going on. The controls are naturally going to be compromised due to the Vita's hardware restrictions. You are never going to best a true console controller setup. The graphics, I believe, are quite good having all things considered.

    This all being said, I feel most Vita owners will be well served to give this one a go. If you already own the PS3 version, you are in luck as this is part of the cross buy program. Certainly can't complain about that. If you are not familiar with this series I think it's definitely worth looking at. It comes from the house of Super Stardust and now, most recently Resogun. These are guys that know how to polish a game, and Dead Nation is no different. For $7.99 it really is a pretty good deal, and well worth considering. I give my seal of approval. I will be playing for some time to come, even with the nuances of portable gaming that hold it back slightly.
    Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2014
    4
    I was soo hyped for this. Housemarque made great stardust games, and I love twin stick shooters and idea of killing zomibes (especially after watching walking dead series). But this game is just bad gameplay wise. It has lots of potential, but if you want to play good twinstick i recommend GEOMETRY WARS 2 - this is how this kind of games should be... It has one cool thing - multiplayer leaderboard, but damn that is the best aspect of the game and its really sad..
    Graphics - 4/10, Sound 6/10, Gameplay 3/10.
    Verdict: Dont waste Your time on this one.
    Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2014
    4
    This would have been an OK time killer if not for being crippled by the tiny characters on a small dark screen. Half the time you die will be because your character got snagged on a piece of debris and got clobbered by an invisible enemy. Switching weapons is a chore since it requires you to take your finger off the left movement thumbstick to switch on the pad - an act that means death if you're being attacked by a horde or boss monster. The only redeeming factor is that this is a cross-buy so if you purchased this for the first time and own a PS3 you can play the game on a screen that allows you to see what you're fighting. Otherwise pass. Expand
  6. May 19, 2014
    2
    It took them long enough! Sorry this was a bad port. There's no excuse for a game like this to run this bad. Looks like a copy paste of the ps3 version. =/ Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Dead Nation for PS Vita is a very ugly port. The whole game takes place in total darkness with small characters, which is almost impossible to discern. Do not waste your money on this game. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews