Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    83
    Is it repetitive? Sure, if you don't get a perverse thrill out of launching people through the air and into the path of an oncoming boulder. But if you do — and boy, do I ever — then Deception IV should be right up your alley.
  2. 80
    Despite being limited in scope and the very definition of a cult game, Deception IV: Blood Ties is a darkly comic and entertaining game.
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    It might not be a game you'll want to play in public, but Deception IV is a unique puzzler that's as dark as it is satisfying.
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    78
    Deception IV is a gloriously silly celebration of the exhibition combo, those impractical yet impressive strings of attacks fighting experts throw together in combo videos paraphrased here with bonkers chain reactions of spikes, boulders, rakes, bombs, blades and banana peels.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Deception IV is a hint of Japan in a standardised market, a solid sequel that preserves the taste of an uncommon gameplay.
  6. 70
    Much of the fun of Deception IV comes from what you make out of it.
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    70
    Utterly stupid and often frustrating, Deception IV: Blood Ties is one of those games that manages to be enjoyable in spite of itself. It's a "bad" game, by most standards, but it's good in that "not good" way.
  8. Mar 25, 2014
    70
    More creative or, dare I say, gorier death animations would have been welcome, but on the whole Deception IV: Blood Ties is something different. Fans of the franchise will know what to expect, but newcomers might find themselves pleasantly surprised by the mix of strategy, sadism and dark humour.
  9. Mar 25, 2014
    70
    Tecmo at last brings us after almost a decade another piece of its cult series Deception. Blood Ties doesn't change very much of the style and mechanics after PlayStation 2's Trapt, but it does well reorganizing the controls, and puts some seriously cold-blooded, funny-to-death (literally) new trapts and devices clearly invented by a demonic version of Rube Goldberg. It is sometimes so over the top that it justifies for itself a game that still has low-res graphics and issues with the camera. But, how many times can we turn ourselves into a virtual Reaper and bring this sadistic medieval justice?
  10. Mar 25, 2014
    68
    I appreciate the new freedom that Blood Ties affords combos, but there isn’t much else in place that dramatically changes up the formula from what we’ve seen before.
  11. Apr 7, 2014
    65
    Deception IV: Blood Ties isn't a bad game, it just wasn't my cup of tea.
  12. Mar 26, 2014
    65
    You'll likely know by now whether or not Deception 4 is for you, but there is an intriguing idea here waiting for you to discover if you do.
  13. Apr 21, 2014
    60
    Deception IV requires a special sensibility to Japanese games, as it's something original that could be much better and that is still made for a market niche.
  14. Apr 12, 2014
    60
    Despite its apparent flaws, the game clearly welcomes its niche labeling with open arms, swiftly constructing a pitfall for gamers on the prowl for something unfamiliar, albeit ponderously off-kilter.
  15. 60
    Deception IV: Blood Ties is one of those games that wants you to spend a fair amount of time setting up traps, but then gives you ever chance to skip all that and easily defeat each level with minimal investment.
  16. 60
    Fun in small doses, Deception IV: Blood Ties ultimately suffers from a bad case of repetition and is unlikely to keep you hooked for long.
  17. Mar 25, 2014
    60
    While it demands a high level of investment, Deception IV: Blood Ties is still a decent game.
  18. Mar 25, 2014
    50
    Besides adding a wealth of content, Tecmo Koei hasn’t done much to bring this series into a new generation, and its difficulty and tedium might alienate anyone but the most hardcore fans. This is one classic that should have stayed where it belongs — in the past.
  19. Jun 14, 2014
    45
    In its current state, it's a relic with a coat of paint on top, and it's not likely to keep anyone's attention for very long.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    When I saw these reviews, I was really worried. I thought I'd thrown away my money when I preordered this game. When I was a kid I remember Deception II - Kagero being one of the best games on the PS1. At the time I enjoyed playing a game that cast you as the villain. The concept has aged, these reviews make sense, compared to modern games this is a bit lacking. But if you enjoyed the Deception games, this is the best game in the series. It's everything I could want out of a sequel, hundreds of traps, lots and lots of heroes foolishly entering your domain with detailed backgrounds, good graphics, decent writing, a deeply evil main character, they're sacrificing people to summon the Devil, and, well.... It's got sexy girls, I get that in the post Anita age any manifestation of male sexuality is automatically evil, but as a guy I enjoyed the main character's outfit. Anyway that's a minor aspect. Being able to play this game again on handheld is wonderful. The story is pretty decent, with lots of backstory for each character. The only thing I'm not sure about is how long the game is. I assume and would be happy with 10 hours, no entry on howlongtobeat, and gamefaqs says the game is 60 hours which must be trolling. Still, it's a pretty substantial game. Be prepared to sink a pretty serious amount of time into it if you want to beat the game. Incidentally, this game is stupid hard, 1997 hard. You can only save every third fight, you can expect to spend well over an hour on some of the chapters, you die again and again and again. But when you finally kill the boss or get a perfect combo it's very satisfying. It's far from perfect, but it's fun. I'm enjoying it. It's another great game in the Vita's growing library of excellent titles. Also, you're not just fighting foolish heroes that invaded your domain, you will also encounter civilians. And of course Laegrinna coldly kills them, because she's a jerk. In the GTA era this isn't particularly shocking, but for me this is delicious nostalgia. This is my retro fix for the next six months. Some of the descriptions actually made me feel bad for killing them. I also really like the way your sisters exert a terrible influence on Laegrinna, encouraging her to murder her victims in strange and cruel ways, for big rewards. In addition they have 100 challenge missions, a mission editor, and a practice mode. Also, hey, multiple endings. I assumed they'd cheap out on that for the sequel, but they're present. This is everything you could want from a Deception game. Not everybody want's a Deception game. It's not amazing, but it's not bad either, people who enjoy that sort of thing will find that this is the sort of thing they enjoy. Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Deception has never tested well with critics. It's playfully irreverent, single-minded in what it tries to accomplish, and highly stylized. But if you have ever played and enjoyed a Deception, then this latest installment will likely exceed your expectations, as it is the meatiest and most user-friendly (yet still challenging) game in the series. Complaining that its gameplay is repetitive is like saying Tetris sucks because it's nothing but falling block puzzles. Deception players want a large variety of traps to set up chain attacks and inflict tons of pain on their opponents, and IV gives you more tools than ever, even allowing you to create missions and share them online once the story campaign is done. There are about 100 challenges to clear, plenty of unlockables, and a handful of unique locales to explore. The graphics are clean and run at a smooth framerate, even if they're not the most cutting-edge on the system, and while the game isn't exactly focused on narrative, what's there is fun and well-written (and in its original Japanese audio only, which is a good thing). Don't be fooled by the mediocre reviews; those are kind of expected from any Deception game. This is an unapologetic puzzle-strategy mash-up, and it won't be for everyone. But it's fantastic for any fan of the PSX cult classics, and it's actually not a bad entry point for new players. I do recommend the Vita version over PS3 if you have the choice, both because its gameplay style really shines on the portable and because it's a lower risk at $40 instead of PS3's $50. Full Review »