Destiny of Spirits PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2014
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 2, 2014
    83
    The great news about Destiny of Spirits is that, as Free-to-Play games go, it's pretty awesome.
  2. Play UK
    Jun 1, 2014
    76
    There's not a great deal to it but even so, Destiny of Spirits still manages to be an addictive social RPG. [Issue#244, p.70]
  3. May 5, 2014
    70
    As far as role-playing games go, Destiny of Spirits may come across as sticking to the essentials. However, the GPS and social features are a nice touch, if not one we would have preferred to see in a DS Pokémon title, rather than a free-to-play Vita title.
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    70
    It has its flaws and combat can get boring, but compared to many of the other F2P games out there, Destiny of Spirits stands on its own as a decent example of F2P done right.
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    70
    Destiny of Spirits is less inviting than a longform Biblical analysis at first, but the game gradually gets its hooks into you once you traverse its steep learning curve.
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    70
    We feel it has been developed as a game to spend some time with once in a while, and as such, it works pretty well. We recommend you to give it a try, since you might like what it has to offer.
  7. Apr 1, 2014
    70
    An authentic but a bit repetitive board and RPG-like adventure, one of the first Free to Play games available for PS Vita.
  8. Aug 15, 2014
    65
    Although I'm not satisfied with its economics and it still needs polish, I freely admit that Destiny of Spirits remains strangely compelling, and putting together a roster of fantasy creatures holds appeal.
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    As is the case with any free-to-play game, you really have nothing to lose but time by trying out Destiny of Spirits. It helps if you're a hardcore Sony fan and strive for some of the more unique characters, but otherwise the pace is far too slow, and the rewards are far too little for the amount of time you need to invest in it.
  10. Apr 14, 2014
    60
    Destiny of Spirits gets a pat on the head for trying to be better than the worst free-to-play games out there, but since that's not difficult, and since there are far better examples in existence, the reliance on cooldown periods and senseless restrictions come are disappointing.
  11. Apr 11, 2014
    60
    Destiny of Spirits is very peculiar and interesting at first, but it soon becomes too much repetitive and dull while in-app purchases feel like mandatory at times.
  12. Apr 30, 2014
    50
    Destiny of Spirits ends up being a manifesto of what a free-to-play title should not be: tedious, slow, online-only, and, most of all, not so honest with the players, that are given the choice to wait or to pay.
  13. 50
    I wouldn't spend money on it because it's a shallow grind hiding under some very pretty character design. In other words, it's great, but only at a cost of nothing.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    It is fun and enjoyable game. I have been playing everyday since release.

    Despite being the free game, it definitely is not pay-to-win
    It is fun and enjoyable game. I have been playing everyday since release.

    Despite being the free game, it definitely is not pay-to-win game. The hp regen system is not very frustrating once you collect quite a few spirits as you can just rotate your team. The only currency which you need to pay is destiny obs and I get quite a few just from logging in daily. And it is also not necessary as the summoned spirits using the free currency is quite strong and I did not have any problem clearing the areas with those.

    The only things I do not like are the poor aspect of the strategy in game, lack of PvP and fustrating trading UI. But I can cope with it since I do not need to spend single cent on that game and I am sure it is still improving since it only been like 2 week since release.

    My apologies for my poor english since english is not my first language.

    Cheers...
    Full Review »
  2. P0p
    Apr 9, 2014
    8
    Destiny of Spirits has a very catchy UI, very pleasing to look at. Much like Pokemon, you collect spirits from around the world to do battleDestiny of Spirits has a very catchy UI, very pleasing to look at. Much like Pokemon, you collect spirits from around the world to do battle to destroy chaos spirits. You can summon and hunt down spirits to add to your collection. The game uses your real world location to track where your at in order for you to get the spirits in your location. You progress by defeating areas that unlock other areas around it. Every day you get assigned luck, bad to great blessing. Only real negative for me is the combat is very basic. Wish it had a little more variety. It's free, so you should pick this up. Great game. Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    5
    50/100: Destiny of Spirits is fun and very enjoyable most of the time. The game has a very catchy world and the battle system goes quite deep.50/100: Destiny of Spirits is fun and very enjoyable most of the time. The game has a very catchy world and the battle system goes quite deep. In the beginning of the game, the tutorial explains everything really well. But sometimes the repetitive battling and the loading times can be quite annoying and makes you bored. And a really stupid mistake are the network problems. The game requires to have a connection to the network or it will just simply not work. And when you're playing and you lose your connection for one second, the game quits itself. The game could have been better! Full Review »