Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    70
    As much as Disgaea 3 can get along on the qualities of the original and of course still is a good game: you just canĀ“t help the feeling, that the Vita should instead have deserved the fourth release of the franchise.
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    70
    With its tons of content and its inventive gameplay, Disgaea 3 : Absence of Detention is a great game. But this version is totally dispensable for PlayStation 3 owners and for newcomers who can be frustrated by the disappearance of the french translation. More characters, more stories, but for a limited audience.
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    70
    It's not the best the series has to offer, and it's clearly just a PlayStation 3 port, but Disgaea was made for portables and has never worked better than on the PS Vita.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    In the end, Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention is a fine port of the PlayStation 3 original. It tweaks the gameplay in interesting ways, and improves the look and feel of story sequences. It's not all great, as the gameplay graphics have not been improved from the original, and the added Vita touch controls and GPS functionality to get minor bonuses are largely pointless. With a lengthy story, additional post game challenges, and the many optional endeavors present in a Disgaea game, it still makes for an exceptional package of content.
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Disgaea 3 does a lousy job of familiarizing you with its complex mechanics, but rewarding tactical depth and goofy humor make the learning curve worth climbing.
  6. May 24, 2012
    60
    I know there are many players out there who haven't touched a game like this whose eyes would be opened by a game as deep and challenging as this one. Unless you're willing to spend a bunch of time reading FAQs and other external sources of information, though, I'm not sure that Disgaea 3 will be that game. Possible, absolutely, but unlikely.
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    60
    There are the trademark Disgaea hooks that'll keep you deeply engaged, but they're undermined by a lifeless cast, bland story, and some awkward control design decisions that you'll want to get away from immediately. It's a game with a huge leap forward and quite a few backward steps that add up through the experience.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    Oldtime, bigtime gamer here (I.e 50 yr old!). I play everything, not just RPGs. Picked this up last night on launch day after reading someOldtime, bigtime gamer here (I.e 50 yr old!). I play everything, not just RPGs. Picked this up last night on launch day after reading some reviews,a little hesitant for a JSRPG. I must say, a FANTASTIC game. Very pleased with purchase. I've never played the other Disgaeas, so don't be afraid to pickup if you have not. I picked things up pretty quickly, although I need to learn more on team attacks, combos and the whole homeroom strategy.
    Love it, the graphics are good, not Uncharted Vita graphics, but darn good...Seems like a REALLY big game to sink time into, should keep me busy til FF10 comes out for Vita in a year...
    So, dont be afraid to pickup if new to series. I'm so glad I did.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    A prt of one of the best Strategy based RPGs on the PS3. With all of the DLC built right in (there was tons) and some post story extras,A prt of one of the best Strategy based RPGs on the PS3. With all of the DLC built right in (there was tons) and some post story extras, there's plenty here for a good price. If you never got to play 3, or really enjoyed it, this is the best title on the vita for you so far. Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    If you like RPGs or just plain good quality and deep gameplay, along with an awesomely entertaining story, this is the game for you. I haveIf you like RPGs or just plain good quality and deep gameplay, along with an awesomely entertaining story, this is the game for you. I have already own Disgae 3 for my PS3 but these types of games are much better suited for portable play IMO, so dont miss out on it.

    Have fun and dont let your dad step on your SlayStation portable and lose the 4million hours of gaming you put into it! :P
    Full Review »