Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention will feature new characters, stories, and systems from the original Disgaea 3 game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 22, 2012
    90
    The only fault of the game is that if you've played it on PS3, there isn't much reason to come back. Otherwise this is one of the deepest tactical RPGs available and the Vita version is the definitive release.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    85
    The nature of the system makes for more forgiving ventures into the depths of the game's item worlds and the pixel art may be easier to forgive on the smaller screen. Platform aside, this was already an excellent turn-based strategy game that, although too heavy on frivolous exposition, can be explored and enjoyed from here to eternity.
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    82
    The old fashioned visuals collide with the humongous amount of content and the immense tactical depth.
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    If you aren't scared off by the incredible depth, there is a lot of fun to be had in Disgaea 3. The game makes a smooth transition to the handheld arena, and it is a solid choice for killing either 10 minutes or an hour.
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    78
    This version of Disgaea 3 is a direct port from the classic PS3 appeared in 2008. This Tactical RPG retains the trademark sense of humor, "siliness" and fresh ideas of the NIS franchise, including some new (minor) features and whistles.
  6. May 6, 2012
    75
    Even though it only looks slightly better than its PSP counterparts, the game is still fun, and the core game will keep strategy RPG fans busy for a long, long time. For those who've already gone through the PS3 incarnation, there isn't enough of a reason to get this one unless you never invested in the DLC. For everyone else who are fans of the genre, this is a worthy enough purchase.
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    60
    There are the trademark Disgaea hooks that'll keep you deeply engaged, but they're undermined by a lifeless cast, bland story, and some awkward control design decisions that you'll want to get away from immediately. It's a game with a huge leap forward and quite a few backward steps that add up through the experience.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    Oldtime, bigtime gamer here (I.e 50 yr old!). I play everything, not just RPGs. Picked this up last night on launch day after reading some reviews,a little hesitant for a JSRPG. I must say, a FANTASTIC game. Very pleased with purchase. I've never played the other Disgaeas, so don't be afraid to pickup if you have not. I picked things up pretty quickly, although I need to learn more on team attacks, combos and the whole homeroom strategy.
    Love it, the graphics are good, not Uncharted Vita graphics, but darn good...Seems like a REALLY big game to sink time into, should keep me busy til FF10 comes out for Vita in a year...
    So, dont be afraid to pickup if new to series. I'm so glad I did.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This is the 1st Disgaea I played, and to my surprise I liked it. I bought it because there's hardly any PS Vita games and forced my self to play it. After I completed the game I bought Disgaea 4 for the PS3 because I was so impressed. The reason this game doesn't have a high score is because of all the previous Disgaea 3 players who were expecting something new from the PS3 version. I would definitely recommend it if you're into RPG and level grinding games. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    If you like RPGs or just plain good quality and deep gameplay, along with an awesomely entertaining story, this is the game for you. I have already own Disgae 3 for my PS3 but these types of games are much better suited for portable play IMO, so dont miss out on it.

    Have fun and dont let your dad step on your SlayStation portable and lose the 4million hours of gaming you put into it! :P
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Really Really deep and solid RPG game for everyone to play. So many hours can be invested in this that it's unbelievable. Currently 14 hours in, but on the fourth chapter! I believe that this game should be purchased by everyone who is an RPG fan and anyone who has a Vita! The music is incredible, and the gameplay is the way of a classic RPG. Customization is maxed out and is also one of the deepest, richest experiences on a portable console. Buy this game now!

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Music: 9.5/10
    Presentation: 9.5/10
    Length: 10/10
    Overall: 9.3/10
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    I picked up Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention used a couple of days ago. I bought it used, fully expecting to take it back; however, from the first two minutes of storyline, I was hooked. I have never owned a turn-based game before because, quite frankly, I didn't see the point of them. Tried one before and was completely underwhelmed. This game is different. It grabs your attention with its witty story base. The actual fighting isn't all that bad either. In fact, It's quite good! Give it at least an hour or two, and you will understand why this game is so great. If you are new to the series, like I am, this will be a refreshing experience. If you've never played this type of RPG, buy it used and test it out. I have a feeling you won't be returning it though, ( as long as you give it a decent chance.) I've only put four hours into the game and haven't seen many weaknesses in it. The one thing I did notice is that there is no explanation of all the abbreviations for your character's stats, so I deducted a point and gave it a score of 9/10. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    I'm a big fan of SRPGs and this game delivers with story (nothing serious mind you), characters and content. There is so much to do in this game as well as all the DLC that has ever been released. This is the definitive version of the game. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    7
    Nice (except the design of all characters - pixel art ?!), fun and really addictive. I regret few things like the bad use of the touchscreen, absence of localisation (ger, fra, ita, esp, ...) and the price (too high imo). Expand

See all 22 User Reviews